HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Uninterupted views over the marsh & only 5 mins walk to the beach

People4
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome

Overview

About the property

2 bed cottage with views over the marsh & 5 mins walk to the beach

Mallow Cottage is a modern cosy smugglers cottage on the award winning development of White Sand in Camber Sands. Just a few minutes walk from the beautiful golden sandy beach and overlooking the wildlife rich salt marsh. Perfect for family holidays exploring the incredible history of the local area and enjoying England’s finest sandy beach on your doorstep.

Cottage Summary

Sleeps 4 people

Dog friendly

3 min walk to beach

5 miles from Rye

Quiet location

Modern contemporary furnishing

South facing decked garden

Luxury zip-link beds

Secure shed

Hair dryers

Molton Brown soaps

Entertainment

Flat screen 42” TV

DVD Player

WiFi

Surround sound system

Selection of DVDs, board games and books

Garden table & chairs

Mallow Cottage, Camber Sands, is a pretty, modern, 2 bedroom, white weatherboarded self catering holiday cottage on the Whitesand development in Camber Sands near Rye.

Furnished in a cosy, country come coastal style, the cottage has been equipped to a very high standard.

Situated overlooking SSSI marshland to the rear, dotted with Romney Marsh sheep and just a few minutes stroll to the nearby Camber sands beach with it’s miles of beautiful sands, this cottage is the perfect haven to enjoy a peaceful and relaxed holiday or weekend break.

Mallow Cottage is the ideal retreat for couples or young families, or perhaps you need to get away from it all solo (or with Fido – who is very welcome here) to the peace and tranquility of a cosy hideaway to do some work or take some well earned R&R, Mallow Cottage is the ideal spot.

The cottage is within easy reach of local amenities – a friendly local pub, great restaurant and convenience stores are within a short walking distance. Just a five minute drive away is the picturesque, medieval town of Rye which boasts cobbled streets, antique shops, independent retailers, cosy inns & tea rooms and fine restaurants.

Very well-appointed, Mallow Cottage has two-bedrooms – one double bed and one with twin beds which are able to be zip linked to create a double bed. The cottage can sleep up to 4 guests.

There is a bathroom upstairs with bath and shower, all linen including towels are provided for your stay.

Downstairs the open plan kitchen and living room is a very sociable and relaxed space with very comfortably enough seating for 4 people and a dining table that seats 4 guests.

There is also a separate WC downstairs.

There is a 42” inch flat screen smart TV in the living room and free wi-fi access which works throughout the property.

The kitchen is fully equipped with everything you could possibly need including oven, hob, microwave, dishwasher, fridge freezer as well as a Nespresso coffee machine. A separate utility area contains a washer/drier.

Young guests are well equipped for too, with a travel cot provided [please bring your own cot bedding], high chair and stair gate all provided for your convenience.

To the front of the property is a pretty garden area and a private off road parking space outside the front door – very helpful for getting yours bags in!

The rear garden has seating for al fresco dining and wonderful views over the marsh – with it’s wildlife, sheep and wind farm – as far as the eye can see.

We are sure you will find Mallow Cottage the perfect beach come countryside retreat, so what are you waiting for, check availability today.

More Details

Property Manager
Richard Smith
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
17 March, 2017

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Camber in Shepway District

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 4
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • beach
  • near the sea
  • rural
  • village
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 4
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Television
Outside:
  • Garden
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • pond
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • sailing
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(9 traveller reviews)

Uninterupted views over the marsh & only 5 mins walk to the beach
average rating of 4.4444447 based on 9 reviews
5

Beautifully well kept seaside property

  • 5 of 5

Camber is a beautiful place to visit; rain or shine, beach or seaside. Mallow Cottage caters for your needs whatever your preferences, situated only a five minute walk from camber sands beach or an equally short drive to the cobbled streets in the town of Rye.

The house itself is clean, comfortable and easy to settle into for a long weekend getaway to the Great British coast.

Thank you for a brilliant stay, I would recommend and visit again!

  • Review Submitted: Mar 9, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for this lovely review! We are really pleased you had a great time and hope to see you all back again soon. Richard & Sophie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Surrey, UK
5

Lovely little cottage near an amazing beach

  • 5 of 5

This little cottage was perfect for our family of 4. It was well located, a short walk from Camber Sands beach and tucked away in a little corner of the development with fabulous views out over the plains to the madjestic windmills.

The cottage itself was beautifully decorated in beachy tones, modern, comfy, and well equipped - I especially appreciated the coffee machine and the little basket of goodies - some locally made - were a huge hit too. We'd stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Review Submitted: Feb 27, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for this lovely review of your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very comfortable cottage in a fantastic location

  • 5 of 5

Mallow Cottage is very warm and welcoming even during a cold January weekend. Well equipped, clean and located close to the sea, with views over the marsh. Lovely!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 30, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Gorgeous welcoming cottage, clean, spacious and perfect location

  • 4 of 5

Very lovely cottage with fantastic views and easy access to beach and places to eat. Fairly well equipped in the kitchen and great to have washing machine, although would've like an iron and ironing board. Also a DVD player would be handy if visiting in the winter months. But overall very pleased and would book again.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

lovely cottage near beach with great view

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay at Mallow Cottage. It was clean, stylishly-furnished and very comfortable, and the welcome basket was a bonus (the cake and prosecco didn't last long!). The beach is a few minutes walk away and although a central section is dog-free in summer there's a huge area of beach and dunes to romp along - our dog loved our early morning walks. The cottage helpfully provided ordnance survey maps of the area along with loads of other info and we can recommend the Camber Castle walk from Rye station and a visit to the wildlife reserve. We enjoyed cycling through the eerie landscape of Dungeness and pottering around Rye, Winchelsea and Hastings, where the art gallery is well worth a visit. For an evening out we had an excellent meal at the Landgate Bistro in Rye before strolling up the hill to the excellent Kino Cinema to take in a movie. Within walking distance, the food at The Owl restaurant was very tasty and we treated ourselves to a great breakfast at The Galllivant. What made the cottage stand out for us was the attractive little garden with a marshland view teeming with wildlife - a lovely place to sit with a glass of wine on a summer's evening! The management team of Richard and Sophie were very helpful and I would definitely recommend Mallow Cottage.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for taking the time to submit this lovely review of your stay with us at Mallow cottage. We are really pleased you enjoyed the cottage and its tranquil setting, you certainly managed to fit in a lot during your break! We look forward to welcoming you back to Mallow in the not too distant future. Richard & Sophie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Dissapointing

  • 2 of 5

We have used Owners Direct for the past 2 years and found everything to be as described, so we were confident (especially with the posted reviews) that this would be no different. While the accomodation does at the rear have the uninterupted views over the marsh, is only a five minute walk to the beach, has white stuff hand soap, a coffee machine, wi-fi netflicks, the welcome pack etc, it doesn't come close to describing that it is in the middle of an estate that is a nightmare to get on to and off of in the summer due to day tripers using the estate for free parking, it also doesn't tell you of it's close proximity to Pontins, which has it's trucks out early each morning persumably cleaning up from the night before, you can view the Pontins accomodation as you enter the front of the property, but for me it was the lack of cleaning that was the most important error, no amount of nice extra's can make up for mugs and plates that still had the remains of someone elses drink and food, a worksurface that had remains of food on it, a bedroom that clealy had not been vacumed as there was a used glass on the floor under the bed and plastic wrapping under the chest of drawers( I did leave it there). Someones clothes in the chest of drawets,surely these things should be checked and undertaken by the people the owner clearly trusts to do on their behalf.There are cobwebs in corners and dust that has been there sometime on tops of pictures, the house smelt stale when we arrived. Lastly the front garden is really overgorwn to the point that you cannot get to the door without catching on the foilage/weeds.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 31, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We are incredibly disappointed in your report about the standard of the cleaning. On the arrival instructions, in the houses’ info pack and on a postcard in the welcome pack are our phone numbers to contact us if any issues. Had you notified us we could have put the cleaning issue right. We are however looking into this matter and are in discussion with the owner regarding whether they should look at employing a new cleaning contractor off the back of this negative report. There are a number of things in your review that I would also like to address as there are aspects we feel are a little unfair. Our advert for Mallow Cottage in the very first paragraph states that the cottage is on the award winning ‘development’ of Whitesand. Also the cottage is not 'in the middle of an estate' its located on the edge, hence the uninterrupted views that you also mention in your review. On hot weekends Camber can be busy with people coming down to spend a day at the stunning beach we are lucky to have in walking distance of Whitesand. Although there is plenty of paid for parking available, the general public can be inconsiderate using the entrance to Whitesand as a place to park to avoid paying. Police and local authority are very aware of the issue and have taken steps to ensure that this is improved. We live at Whitesand and we’ve not experienced the issues you clearly have with not being able to get on and off Whitesand, nor did we hear from guests at the other 30+ houses we look after with the same issue, so we are sorry you seem to have been affected by this. Luckily Mallow has a private parking space so you didn’t have to vie for a space on top of the inconvenience you experienced. You mention Pontins in your review as being nearby, yes it is. The small part of Pontins that can be viewed through the trees from Mallows front door is the staff quarters, however the disruption from their bin lorry each morning is being discussed with Pontins at present with hope that they can ensure this necessary aspect of their holiday park is carried out with more respect for everyone affected. If you are a potential guest please do not be put off by this one negative review. Mallow is a lovely cottage in a great location as you can see by reading the other reviews along with those on TripAdvisor and Feefo. Please contact us if you have any questions.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Car: recommended

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Camber, Sussex

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Winter
7 Jan 2017 - 30 Mar 2017
2 night minimum stay
£250
for 2 nights
From
£125
£590
 
 
Easter
31 Mar 2017 - 20 Apr 2017
3 night minimum stay
£465
for 3 nights
From
£155
£720
 
 
Spring
22 Apr 2017 - 27 Apr 2017
2 night minimum stay
£340
for 2 nights
From
£170
£690
 
 
Bank Holiday
28 Apr 2017 - 2 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
£489
for 3 nights
From
£163
£720
 
 
Spring
3 May 2017 - 25 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
£340
for 2 nights
From
£170
£690
 
 
Half Term
26 May 2017 - 2 Jun 2017
3 night minimum stay
£489
for 3 nights
From
£163
£790
 
 
Spring
3 Jun 2017 - 30 Jun 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£690
for 7 nights
£690
 
 
Summer
1 Jul 2017 - 21 Jul 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£790
for 7 nights
£790
 
 
Summer
22 Jul 2017 - 1 Sep 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£890
for 7 nights
£890
 
 
Autumn
2 Sep 2017 - 27 Oct 2017
2 night minimum stay
£340
for 2 nights
From
£170
£690
 
 
Winter
28 Oct 2017 - 16 Nov 2017
2 night minimum stay
£390
for 2 nights
From
£195
£690
 
 
Christmas
16 Dec 2017 - 5 Jan 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,190
for 7 nights
£1,190
 

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £25

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties