Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Genteel Home Retiro I - One Bedroom Apartment, Sleeps 4

Bedrooms 1
Space 645 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 1 - 5 nights


About the property

One Bedroom Apartment, Sleeps 4

It is a superb apartment which is situated in Calle Academia, in the most exclusive neighborhood of Madrid: Los Jerónimos. The apartment has an unbeatable location; it is just a few meters from the Parque del Retiro and the Museo del Prado, Museo Thysenn or the Cortes Generales (General Courts). Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor, etc. are also just a few minutes walking from it. The street is very quiet during the day as well as during the night although the best shops of the city are really close to it (Calle Serrano) and the bars and restaurants are just a few meters passing through the the Paseo del Prado. Doubtlessly, its location is a remarkable privilege.

The apartment was first opened in autumn 2015. It is very bright because it is an external apartment which has large windows that cheer up and brighten every meter. The kitchen is totally equipped with the essentials and it is integrated in the living room. This one has a double sofa bed to host up to 4 people. Everything is decorated and well looked after. The bedroom has a double bed (1.50 x 2.00 m) with a dressing room and a full en suite bathroom.

The Apartment Retiro I is the perfect choice to anyone who wanted to enjoy a very special stay in the center of Madrid.

More Details

Property Manager
Member since: 2011
Speaks English, French, Spanish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
23 May, 2018

About Genteel-Home

Genteel-Home offers the best apartments in Seville, Madrid and Granada. Houses, penthouses, lofts,...the offer is varied but all our properties have a common denominator: the quality and a great location, just in the best areas of each city. To enjoy a cup of tea on a terrace overlooking the Cathedral of Seville, stay in a modern loft located in the very centre of Madrid or contemplate the Alhambra from the garden are just some of the wonders that offer our apartments.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Jerónimos in Retiro

Property Type:
  • apartment
Floor Area:
  • 645 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 18
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Air Conditioning
  • Lift
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • 1 Bathroom
  • - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • - 1 Double Bed
    - 1 Sofa bed/Futon
  • Television


Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(14 traveller reviews)

42% Complete
35% Complete
14% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
Genteel Home Retiro I - One Bedroom Apartment, Sleeps 4
average rating of 4.142857 based on 14 reviews

Cómodo y Buena ubicación

  • 3 of 5

Un apartamento muy bien ubicado y cómodo. Al utilizar el sofá cama de la sala el baño dentro de la habitación es un poco incomodo. A pesar de que el colchón de la habitación es bueno, haría falta que además del edredón y la sabana esquinera colócaran sábanas para arroparse. La presión del agua caliente era muy escasa y la cortina de la ducha puede mejorarse.

  • Review Submitted: 03-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Estimado Nelson: Le agradecemos su comentario y valoración pues gracias a ello intentamos sacar la parte positiva y mejorar día a día. La cortina de ducha fue momentánea mientras se ponía una mampara nueva. En cuanto al agua caliente hemos estado probando y funciona perfectamente. Es verdad que en invierno ponemos la sábana bajera y el nórdico (con su funda) directamente pues creemos que es mucho más cómodo y confortable. Muchas gracias de nuevo y esperamos volver a verles pronto.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Apple Valley, MN

Convenient Location, Comfortable Stay

  • 5 of 5

Lovely Apartment, located just behind the Prado Museum. Easy walking distance to the other museums. Property was clean and well maintained. Windows took care of street noise. Great for a couple. We stayed a week and loved it. Minimal staples. We would definitely recommend and would stay here again next time we visit Madrid. Genteel Homes communicated well and we met for check in with no problems. Good suggestions on taxi service, restaurants and groceries. Great restaurants nearby.

  • Review Submitted: 06-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Anita, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a such a positive comment about your stay in our apartment. We are glad to hear that you took the advantage of the location of the apartment and the stay in the apartment was very comfortable and quiet for you. We do our best to give our guests the best service and make their stay enjoyable. Hope to welcome you back again in near future!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Noosa Heads, Australia

Stylish property in an excellent location

  • 5 of 5

Great location very near the Prado and Retiro Park. We were in Madrid for a combination holiday and participation in and filming of two Pickleball Tournaments so we had a lot of gear with cameras, tripods, etc and PB equipment. Though the apartment is on the small side, we had enough room for everything! It was very clean and is a nicely furnished place with a good-sized bedroom and large walk-in closet. The bathroom works well. Airconditioning was very much appreciated early on in our stay. There is some traffic and people noise at night, but overall it was quieter than I expected being in the center of Madrid, except for very early morning trash removal (!). Nice building with two lifts; never had to wait. Communication with Genteel Home was excellent. They were very responsive to all my queries, met us at the apartment, gave us useful information re banks, stores and restaurants (which were all within walking distance) and were most accommodating to some last minute changes in our schedule. A couple of minor things: the bed for us was on the hard side and an iron and a coffee maker/machine would have been nice to have. Funnily enough there was a box in a drawer that an iron came in, but not the iron. :) Overall, we very much enjoyed our stay and would recommend the property.

  • Review Submitted: 07-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great location, but....

  • 2 of 5

This may be due to the fact that my cousin arrived before us, but we did not receive any instructions from Ignacio. The bed was very hard. It took us 3 days to connect on the internet, and then the connection was very poor. Shower was a little difficult. Could not figure out the coffee maker. Finally asked doorman(very helpful) where nearest market was at for toilet paper, etc. I knew it would take us considerable time to get through passport check, and Ignacio just seemed to be in a hurry. We arrived at the airport at 10AM(30 minutes late). I believe it was 1PM by the time we got to the apartment.

  • Review Submitted: 23-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Lisa, First at all, thanks for your comment and your interest in valueing us. We regret to your opinion and we are very affected cause the experience for our guest is our priority. After we contact to our colleague Iñigo, he had explained all the information to your cousin, no directly you , maybe this reason have motivated your value. Although, if we had this knowledge we had been pleased to attend you during your staying, if you had any problem,we didn't have any calling or email to notificate it us. In other hand, we have check the signal of our Wi-Fi, the signal is fine and works fastly, we haven't seen any anomaly. Maybe, this situation was punctual in your stay. Finally, we regret to our beds seems hard for you. They are totally new, they were bought in 2017. We chose them for its quality. In any case, we understand that it is not possible that this situation pleases to everyone. Do not hesitate that we'll try to improve our services. We do our best to doing that in your next time you are totally satisfied with our services. Best regards, Genteel-Home team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Adelaide South Australia

At the heart of the cultural precinct.

  • 5 of 5

We found the apartment as described and perfectly situated for access to the cultural heart of Madrid. Retiro Park is adjacent and was a pleasant relief from the heat. The only negative for us was the distance to the nearest supermarket and metro station. We would rent this apartment again.

  • Review Submitted: 09-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

sweet, well-located apartment

  • 4 of 5

The apartment was nicely located between the park and the Prado. It is very clean and the pictures provide a good representation of the inside. The building itself is modern--the picture of the building that is provided is the one that you see looking toward the park.

It would have been nice to know that construction was taking place at the entrance to the building but the workers did cover up the trenches at the front door and the work didn't start too early. All in all, a very nice place to stay.

  • Review Submitted: 04-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Good morning George Thank you for your comment. We feel very glad for your pleasant stay. We always make an effort for everything is perfect and for our guests have a wonderful experience. We hope to see you soon in one of our Genteel Home apartments.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Prices & Availability

Ask Manager a Question

You might like these similar holiday rentals