Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

A Lovely Modern City Centre Apartment with Private Parking

People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 592 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 1 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

A 2 bedroom apartment located less than a 15 minute walk from Princes Street

NEW FOR JANUARY 2018 - NEW SHOWER ROOM INSTALLED AND REDECORATED THROUGHOUT

Hopetoun Crescent is an excellent location just to the east of the New Town. It is about a 10 minute walk to Princes Street and Waverley Station and less than a 10 minute walk from the tram stop at York Place so access to the airport is very easy. In the immediate vicinity are a host of restaurants and bars thanks to the proximity of the Playhouse Theatre. There is also the renowned Italian deli, Valvona and Crolla on Elm Row, just a 5 minute walk away.

The property is on the second floor (two flights of stairs) of a modern apartment building has the bonus of parking on site. Please note that access to the car park is down a further flight and a half of stairs from the ground floor. The accommodation is well laid out with a good sized sitting room with large TV and DVD player and there is a dining table sitting 6 people. The kitchen has a small dining table and is equipped with a washing machine. The fantastic new shower room features a large shower enclosure with "drench head" shower and secondary shower head. There are 2 bedrooms, 1 double with king size bed and large fitted wardrobes and 1 twin room overlooking Hopetoun Crescent.

More Details

Property Manager
Francois
Member since: 2007
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English, French
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
23 September, 2018

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment around the Edinburgh around the City of Edinburgh

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 592 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • city centre
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • live theatre
  • restaurants
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries

Reviews

Good! 3.8/5 -
(17 traveller reviews)

35% Complete
35% Complete
11% Complete
5% Complete
11% Complete
A Lovely Modern City Centre Apartment with Private Parking
average rating of 3.764706 based on 17 reviews
5

Great location. Comfortable and homely.

  • 5 of 5

We did not encounter any of the previously mentioned issues. We found the apartment comfortable and homely with lots of little added extra's. Would not hesitate to book again.Thank you.

  • Review Submitted: 29-Aug-2018
  • Date of Stay: August 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Don’t be misled, as we were, this apartment is neither lovely or modern. But is in the City Centre.

  • 1 of 5

We were met by Francois at the apartment and although the entrance hall and stairs to the apartment were very grubby we were charmed by Francois in his smart suit and shown into the apartment. Once inside we were hastily shown around and Francois explained the TV, WiFi and local amenities. Our first impressions weren’t great but thought, well it’s not so bad we’ll make do. As soon as Francois had left and we started to unpack and have a proper look around we felt completely cheated, it is not as portrayed in the photographs. They of course don’t show the stained walls in the kitchen, the graffiti scratched kitchen table, the mucky skirting boards, dirty radiators, broken bin, filthy kitchen drawers and cupboards overflowing with mismatched cutlery and kitchen wear or the grubby stained coasters.

As paying guests we were bitterly disappointed and felt ripped off. We had read other reviews, some negative, but we were reassured by the fact that the apartment had recently been redecorated with a new bathroom. Yes the bathroom is lovely but the rest of the apartment left us seriously wondering if it was student accommodation quickly painted over and rented out in the holidays!! We will definitely not be staying again.

  • Review Submitted: 16-Aug-2018
  • Date of Stay: July 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

very comfortable and clean

  • 5 of 5

It is really a warm, comfortable and clean family apartment without encountering any problems. I will certainly revisit it

Thank you, Mr Francois

  • Review Submitted: 05-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Simply wonderful

  • 5 of 5

Our stay was wonderful! The Flat provided us with a wonderful place to rest each evening. We enjoyed the quiet of the neighborhood. Grocery stores and restaurants were very close. There were four adults and we had plenty of room. Yes, there are steps--but we were doing steps everywhere we went. It was a great home-away-from-home. We were sad to leave.

  • Review Submitted: 12-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

great except for the toilet

  • 5 of 5

the worst problem was the toilet flush. When you have 4 people all wanting to use the toilet in the morning a 6 minute wait for it to fill up is not helping. I timed it. That sort of problem is easy to fix so,I advise you to get it done.

  • Review Submitted: 06-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

No respect for paying guests

  • 1 of 5

This experience starts with the climb from the lower ground car park which makes a second floor apartment feel like a fourth is it worth the climb not really. You are greeted with a grubby tied apartment in need of some tlc

In need of a cuppa after your long journey great if you don't mind chipped mugs or a shower in the horrible bathroom with the towels you have been left that have for you with bleach marks on them and you won't stay long in the grubby bathroom which really needs attention

Perhaps you may decide to relax in the lounge the uncomfortable sofa and chairs will keep you on your toes as you look around at the cracked tiles on the fireplace and bits of wood that prop some of the furniture up the chips on the plant pot holders and the dirty window casings even the drink coasters are damaged and have seen better days

No need to set your alarm clock as the mass exodus of buses from the bus station turn under your bedroom window the excruciating noise is guaranteed to wake you

Don't go near the intercom the cleaner hasn't in years

Attempts have been made with the badly fitted laminate floor which gets some getting used to on a second floor apartment but you will wonder why when they got down on their hands and knees to fit the laminate why they didn't clean the skirting boards

There is no respect here for paying guests here so don't expect much and you won't be disappointed

You may wonder why you haven't been asked for a damage security deposit I think ithe reason is that it would be very difficult to work out what was not already damaged before your stay

  • Review Submitted: 21-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review, we do appreciate all comments so we can consider them and act on them for the benefit of our future guests. Firstly we are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay but we assure you that we do respect our guests. It appears as though your stay started badly as you were unhappy with the number of stairs from the car park. The on site car parking is a very useful facility but it is down an extra flight and a half of stairs from the ground floor. I have amended the advert so it makes it clear that there are more stairs so future guests are not surprised by this. After climbing all these stairs you then wanted to enjoy a cup of tea and were confronted with some chipped mugs. I agree that this is very disappointing as these should have been identified and thrown out especially as we have many mugs in the cupboard that are in good condition. It appears as though after these disappointments we lost your confidence from which were we unable to recover. With regards the bathroom we don't believe it is quite as you have described. True, it is now dated which is why we decided a few months ago that we would refurbish it. The bathroom has already been scheduled for replacement after the summer season, unfortunately it could not be programmed in before this. We are confused about the comments on the furniture. The sofa and arm chairs have a wooden frame so one does not "sink" into a soft sofa but they seem comfortable enough in our opinion but we will certainly consider a replacement for these. We could not identify the furniture that was being "propped up" so we are not sure to what this refers. We are sorry that you were disturbed by the buses but the windows are double glazed so it looks as though one just needs to keep the windows closed early in the morning. The twin bedroom overlooks the quieter one way street, along which no buses run, so one should not be disturbed in this room.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

Nearest Airport
9 Miles
Edinburgh
Nearest Barpub
200 Metres
Joseph Pearce
Nearest Train
0.7 Miles
Waverley
Nearest Restaurant
200 Metres
No 1 Chinese
Nearest Beach
3 Miles
Portobello
Car: not necessary

The Playhouse Theatre is less than a 10 minute walk away and next to this is the Omni Centre with its multi-screen cinema and selection of restaurants.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment around the Edinburgh,

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Autumn
16 Sep 2018 - 3 Nov 2018
3 night minimum stay
£345
for 3 nights
From
£115
£550
 
 
Winter
4 Nov 2018 - 20 Dec 2018
3 night minimum stay
£330
for 3 nights
From
£110
£515
 
 
Christmas
21 Dec 2018 - 27 Dec 2018
3 night minimum stay
£405
for 3 nights
From
£135
£630
 
 
New Year
28 Dec 2018 - 6 Jan 2019
5 night minimum stay
£775
for 5 nights
From
£155
£980
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Ask Manager a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals