Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Trabucco Gardens *Yosemite Gold Country Stargazing Retreat*

Bedrooms 2
Separate WCs1
Space 1,000 sq ft
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

Cabin, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

Conveniently located off Highway 49 in California's Gold Country, on a historic parcel known as Trabucco Gardens.

During the Gold Rush days, Trabucco Gardens was a parcel of land cultivated as a vegetable garden, while Forty-Niners discovered gold in the area. The historic rock walls on property mark the perimeter where the garden once grew.

The joy of discovery continues here today. Now you can discover the vast riches our universe has to offer. Trabucco Gardens, located on 17 privately owned acres, provides you with a grand opportunity to stargaze in privacy using high-end, easy-to-use instruments. The robotic GO-TO telescopes are provided during your stay, and are included in the rental cost. This open, rural stretch of Highway 49, which is considered 'above the fog and below the snow', provides you with many clear night opportunities, even in winter.

The Trabucco Gardens House, newly constructed in 2007, is well appointed and available year round. Mariposa, the county seat, which is 10 miles south, has many essential services, along with many wonderful dining, shopping, and historic sight-seeing experiences. Yosemite National Park's West entrance is located about 45 minutes away up Highway 140 from Mariposa.

We provide housekeeping service (not daily maid service), before and after your stay. Courtesy towels, coffee, tea, cocoa, popcorn, and guest soap are provided to welcome you on the day you arrive. Personal key code access provides you with convenience and security. Along with a fold-away sofa bed in the living room, a queen-sized inflatable Aero-Bed is provided for extra sleeping accommodations.

Because of the rural nature of the area, there is abundant opportunity for wildlife sightings, such as deer, wild turkey, coyote, bobcat, birds of prey, and perhaps an occasional bear. Seasonal creeks at the North and South ends of the property flow during winter and spring. Make sure to leave some time in your schedule during your stay for stargazing too.

Using the telescopes, beautiful views of the Orion Nebula, Andromeda Galaxy, Hercules Cluster, and many other deep sky objects are yours to behold. The telescopes offer a TOUR mode, which takes you to the best and brightest objects in the sky during your stay. Stargazing doesn't get any easier than this.

What on EARTH are you waiting for? Go mining in the INFINITE FRONTIER above! An inspiring adventure of discovery for the young and the young-at-heart is here at Trabucco Gardens.

NOTE: Please include a phone number with your inquiry in case our E-mail reply fails to reach you due to technical reasons. WE ALWAYS REPLY WITHIN A FEW HOURS.

Keywords: Cabin Home, Cottage, Yosemite Stargazing

More Details

Member since: 2008
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
18 July, 2018


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in Mariposa in Mariposa County

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • rural
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Half bathroom upstairs in master bedroom
  • 1.5 Bathrooms
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Cot , 1 Bunk Bed
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon , Sofa Bed, inflatable mattress bed, and (1) twin roll away
  • Queen size beds (1), baby cribs (1), sleep sofa or futons (1) located in living room, bunk beds (1) in kids room, queen inflatable mattress bed and (1) twin roll away bed.
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Barbecue
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • Wildlife Viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • ski
  • caving
  • swimming
  • tennis
Tripod-mounted robotic GO-TO telescopes provided for your stargazing pleasure. Includes eyepieces, accessories and written instructions.


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(135 traveller reviews)

89% Complete
8% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Trabucco Gardens *Yosemite Gold Country Stargazing Retreat*
average rating of 4.8814816 based on 135 reviews

My Experience was Magical

  • 5 of 5

From the time I booked the property until the time we arrived, the owner Mike was so accommodating and great at responding to any questions or concerns I had. You can tell from the time you book that he takes great pride in his property(and what a beautiful property it is!). The Cabin had absolutely everything we needed the whole weekend. even some toys,books, and games for the kids.The grounds keeper Alan came riding up on his horse one day to see if we needed anything (which was a treat for my 10 year old and 6 year old nephew) and they made it clear if we needed anything we could contact them. The only bad thing I can say is that I didn't have enough time to really explore the property and use the telescopes. We plan on making many trips in the future to Mariposa and Yosemite and staying at Trabucco Gardens. Thank you so much Mike, everything you did for me was out of this world and it made my trip everything I had hoped for! -Desiree

  • Review Submitted: 17-Apr-2017
  • Date of Stay: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

great escape

  • 5 of 5

the property was the perfect place for a country getaway. The perfect home away from vacation.

  • Review Submitted: 08-Jul-2018
  • Date of Stay: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Newnan, GA

Private stargazing retreat located about an hour from Yosemite Nat’l Park

  • 5 of 5

This private getaway retreat was the perfect home base for an extended stay while touring Yosemite Nat’l Forest.

Has everything you need from washer/dryer, Directv, updated kitchen and comfortable sleeping arrangements for a family of 4-6.

  • Review Submitted: 30-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Peaceful and beautiful country setting!

  • 5 of 5

Our stay at Trabucco Gardens was relaxing and very peaceful. The house is immaculately clean and we'll appointed. The queen bed upstairs was very comfortable. It was really nice that they provide charcoal for the barbecue. My dogs loved running around and exploring the property and not having to be leashed. My favorite activity there was sitting on the front porch with a glass of wine, listening to the wild turkeys gobble and taking in the sunset.

The location is only 10 minutes from Mariposa, yet it feels like you are in the middle of nowhere...very quiet at night!

Mike was very responsive to my questions and booking was a breeze. I also found it refreshing that the cleaning fee was included in the already reasonable price of the rental!

If you like to thrift, don't miss the SPCA thrift store just down the road towards town. The Pioneer Market in Mariposa has everything that a big town grocery store has, including a good wine and liquor selection, and even a sushi bar, so no need to stop at a large chain store before heading up the hill.

The drive to Yosemite was only about an hour, along the beautiful Merced River and the drive to the small town of Hornitos was fun and scenic as well.

Thanks again, Mike, for a fabulous stay at Trabucco Gardens...we will definitely be back!!

  • Review Submitted: 02-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very comfortable feeling, like a home not a rental property.

  • 5 of 5

Nice quiet escape. Everything that was needed was there. Communication with the owner was very responsive. Rain/snowy weekend but stay very comfortable in the house. Looking forward to another visit.

  • Review Submitted: 04-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Telescopes didn't work!

  • 3 of 5

While our overall stay was very nice there are a few things you should be aware of:

Master Bed: The fitted sheet had red stains, hairs and lint. We decided to put on another set of sheets. The first two that we pulled off the shelves were covered in dog hair. We were finally able to find two that looked fine and remade the bed.

Master Bath: The toilet seat lid was up and the toilet appeared to have been used and not flushed adequately.

Downstairs Bath: We were looking for more bath towels. We found them in the dryer but everything was only about half-dried. We ran the dryer to finish but the towels we used smelled musty.

Owner's response - "I'll be forwarding the housekeeping issues to Mikayla. She is new at doing the housekeeping. I'll make sure she understands our cleaning procedure. I will be having a personal discussion with her soon."

Telescopes: This was the main reason we chose this property. We were looking forward to using the telescopes. We successfully set everything up in the observatory, were able to target our star in the finders scope, but could not get the focal adjustment for the eyepiece to work properly. We tried a number of eyepieces and only had fuzzy success with the 7.5mm but could never get a sharp focus with it and only black field with all the other eyepieces.

Owner's response - "The observatory may need a mirror collimation - I will check it when I'm there."

We got the NexStar5 running in the house but after the keypad said it found Vega it locked up and we couldn’t operate it anymore with the keypad. Even powering it off and unplugging it wouldn’t get it to reset. If it had worked we were confused as to just how and where one would use it outside (power source, stable surface??) It didn’t seem like a good idea to balance it on the porch rail.

Owner's response - no comment

The tripod mounted scope has it’s mount adjustments stripped out. We could sight just fine, but when you tried to tighten it up it couldn’t and would shift.

Owner's response - "I'll check the tripod telescope. Sounds like the tripod may be damaged and needs replacing."

While we enjoyed our vacation, we would probably not have chosen this house if we had known the telescopes would not be available. The information in the listing felt misleading. Because of the issues with housekeeping we would not choose to stay here in the future.

  • Review Submitted: 20-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are not sure why this guest did not contact us during their stay regarding the issues cited. Our contact number and the housekeeper's number can be found inside the house and also in the guest information kit we send to each guest prior to their stay. Contacting us during your stay is the best way to resolve any issue, as someone is always available by phone, or email if preferred. Most issues can be resolved immediately. As for her claims regarding the telescopes being unavailable – all telescopes were made available during her stay and were functional. We do ask that all guests read the downloadable instructions in the links we provide in the information kit and view the YouTube video prior to using the scope. Given the unsettled weather in the Yosemite area during their stay, conditions may have not been favorable for stargazing. The telescopes are available year round, but if weather is uncooperative it may impact your stargazing experience. Optimal stargazing conditions are usually experienced during summer months.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
70 Miles
Fresno Yosemite International
Car: necessary


Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £19.04

• $99 WINTER RATES VALID DURING WINTER MONTHS - Includes holidays within those dates
• PET POLICY: A $25.00 Pet Cleaning Fee Applies / Maximum Pet Weight 40 lbs

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar holiday rentals