HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Beautiful & Luxurious Seaside Home

People10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
People
10
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
3
Minimum Stay
3 - 7 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 4 bedroom holiday home in Ventnor - Charlton House

Well equipped home in arguably one of the prettiest parts of the Island

Charlton House is a detached home set in a private and tucked away location on the edge of the highly sought after and picturesque village of Bonchurch, adjacent to the very popular Victorian town of Ventnor. The Village pond and idyllic beaches are just a short walk away as is the quaint historic Bonchurch Inn, an absolute gem of a pub and restaurant that is full of history and hidden away with its private courtyard. The popular bay of Ventnor is within walking distance with it's pretty beach and seafront accessed via the winding cascade down to it. Here you will find some of the best pubs and eateries that the Island has to offer. Charlton has a safe and level private enclosed garden, complete with a bar and separate shower/wet room. There is plenty of terrace for sunbathing and alfresco dining too. Opposite the house is the foot of St.Boniface Downs where you can explore and walk for miles and miles, it's a steep walk up but the views and scenery at the top are spectacular.

The master bedroom 1 is en-suite with a shower room and sliding patio doors taking you out on to a large balcony. It has a Kingsize bed and Sky TV.

Bedroom 2 consists of two bunk beds (sleeps 4) and sky TV plus WC & wash hand basin.

Bedroom 3 consists of a Kingsize bed and Sky TV.

Bedroom 4 consists of two single beds.

Charlton House is a high spec and very comfortable property with all mod cons to make your holiday as comfortable and relaxing as possible.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
18 November, 2016

Reviews

4.3/5 -
(3 traveller reviews)

Beautiful & Luxurious Seaside Home
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 3 reviews
3

Charlton House, Ventnor

  • 3 of 5

Large house situated in a good position. The house has good appointments in regards bedding, seating and kitchen utilities. However, the armchairs are uncomfortable and one recliner broken. The property needs in TLC, with the flooring in the en-suite to main bedroom cracked, wallpaper coming away behind the bed in that bedroom and the King-size mattress badly spoiled. Also the curtains torn to the bottom. The frames to many of the windows are caked with spider-webs and general dirt and do not seem to have been cleaned for a time. The window glass also need a clean. When booking the holiday there was advertised a hot tub in the garden, this tipped the balance in our decision. There is a bar and wet room to facilitate this tub but we were very disappointed to find that the hot tub had been removed. We were not told this prior to the holiday and Steve, the resident caretaker, who is cheerful and helpful, just said 'yes, it will have to be taken off the internet'. This statement did not help us and, together with the tired state of the house (which definitely needs ceiling fans installed) the £2,000 hire for the week was overpriced.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am very pleased that you had a great holiday and enjoyed the home and the location, which you certainly seemed to going by the conversations that we had. I can only apologise about the wallpaper peeling and faulty armchair. This is the first time that they have been brought to our attention and have been dealt with as soon as we were made aware. Regarding the mattress, they were brand new at the start of the season and would like to assure you that any marks are thoroughly cleaned and in addition have mattress protectors. You did mention a hot tub upon your arrival and I pointed out that the property has never been let with a hot tub nor ever advertised with one, but did offer you details of a local company that provided hot tub hire should you wish to have one for your stay. I can only assume that my property was confused with another property at point of booking and I am sure that the booking agent can confirm the same. We have never had a need for ceiling fans but I do appreciate that this August experienced heatwave conditions and hotter than past summers. I would add that we have only ever received 5 star reviews from our various booking sites so your points have certainly been taken on board and any areas that need to be addressed will be and feedback is always appreciated.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Nice cottage and good customer service

  • 5 of 5

We are a group of 9 adults and we had a wonderful time at this cottage. The cottage is ideally located to all the amenities and major attractions in Ventnor. The cottage was clean and well maintained. Steve(host) was always available our the phone/email and checked with us to make sure we had everything we needed. I would highly recommend this cottage if you are visiting Isle of Wight.

  • Review Submitted: May 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words and very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Regards Steve
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Nice cottage and good customer service

  • 5 of 5

We are a group of 9 adults and we had a wonderful time at this cottage. The cottage is ideally located to all the amenities and major attractions in Ventnor. The cottage was clean and well maintained. Steve(host) was always available our the phone/email and checked with us to make sure we had everything we needed. I would highly recommend this cottage if you are visiting Isle of Wight.

  • Review Submitted: May 5, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Location

Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Bonchurch Inn
Nearest Ferry
10 Miles
Fishbourne
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Ventnor / Sandown & Shanklin
Nearest Train
3 Miles
Shanklin
Nearest Restaurant
500 Metres
Pond Cafe Bonchurch
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
Bonchurch & Ventnor
Car: recommended

Our two most popular attractions are Blackgang Chine & Robin Hill. Small adventure parks in country settings with lots to do for the children.

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Ventnor, Isle of Wight

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Winter 2016
29 Oct 2016 - 22 Dec 2016
3 night minimum stay
£750
for 3 nights
From
£250
£1,000
 
 
Christmas 2016
23 Dec 2016 - 29 Dec 2016
3 night minimum stay
£1,200
for 3 nights
From
£400
£2,000
 
 
New Year 2016/2017
30 Dec 2016 - 6 Jan 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,200
for 3 nights
From
£400
£2,000
 
 
Winter/Spring 2017
7 Jan 2017 - 17 Feb 2017
3 night minimum stay
£750
for 3 nights
From
£250
£1,100
 
 
February Half Term 2017
18 Feb 2017 - 24 Feb 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,050
for 3 nights
From
£350
£1,250
 
 
Easter 2017
1 Apr 2017 - 21 Apr 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,050
for 3 nights
From
£350
£1,500
 
 
Spring/Summer 2017
22 Apr 2017 - 26 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
£750
for 3 nights
From
£250
£1,250
 
 
May half term 2017
27 May 2017 - 2 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,500
for 7 nights
£1,500
 
 
Summer 2017
3 Jun 2017 - 21 Jul 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,050
for 3 nights
From
£350
£1,250
 
 
School Summer Holidays 2017
22 Jul 2017 - 1 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,995
for 7 nights
£1,995
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£750
for 3 nights
From
£250
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £250

All bookings are non refundable. Should a guest wish to cancel we will do our utmost to re-let the property and offer a refund less any charges incurred by us in doing so.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 0% refund for cancellations more than 0 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Ventnor in South East England

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Location Type:
  • near the sea
  • rural
  • town
  • village
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Shower Enclosure , En-suite with large double shower with glass block screening
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Outside wet room with changing & WC
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , En-Suite with patio doors to large balcony
    Bedroom 2 - 4 Single Bed , Two sets of bunkbeds sleeping 4. Seperate WC and wash basin.
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Single Bed , 1 Child Bed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • bay
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The house manager lives in a self contained annexe at the rear of the property but does not affect privacy as it is accessed via a private path and entrance. He is on hand should help be needed or problems arise.

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot