Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Beautiful & Luxurious Seaside Home

Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


About the property

Well equipped home in arguably one of the prettiest parts of the Island

Charlton House is a detached home set in a private and tucked away location on the edge of the highly sought after and picturesque village of Bonchurch, adjacent to the very popular Victorian town of Ventnor. The Village pond and idyllic beaches are just a short walk away as is the quaint historic Bonchurch Inn, an absolute gem of a pub and restaurant that is full of history and hidden away with its private courtyard. The popular bay of Ventnor is within walking distance with it's pretty beach and seafront accessed via the winding cascade down to it. Here you will find some of the best pubs and eateries that the Island has to offer. Charlton has a safe and level private enclosed garden, complete with a bar and separate shower/wet room. There is plenty of terrace for sunbathing and alfresco dining too. Opposite the house is the foot of St.Boniface Downs where you can explore and walk for miles and miles, it's a steep walk up but the views and scenery at the top are spectacular.

The master bedroom 1 is en-suite with a shower room and sliding patio doors taking you out on to a large balcony. It has a Kingsize bed and Sky TV.

Bedroom 2 consists of two bunk beds (sleeps 4) and sky TV plus WC & wash hand basin.

Bedroom 3 consists of a Kingsize bed and Sky TV.

Bedroom 4 consists of two single beds.

Charlton House is a high spec and very comfortable property with all mod cons to make your holiday as comfortable and relaxing as possible.

More Details

Member since: 2015
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
19 August, 2018


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Ventnor in Isle of Wight

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00 / Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • near the sea
  • rural
  • town
  • village
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Shower Enclosure , En-suite with large double shower with glass block screening
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Outside wet room with changing & WC
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , En-Suite with patio doors to large balcony
    Bedroom 2 - 4 Single Bed , Two sets of bunkbeds sleeping 4. Seperate WC and wash basin.
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Single Bed , 1 Child Bed
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • bay
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
The house manager lives in a self contained annexe at the rear of the property but does not affect privacy as it is accessed via a private path and entrance. He is on hand should help be needed or problems arise.


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(8 traveller reviews)

75% Complete
12% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Beautiful & Luxurious Seaside Home
average rating of 4.625 based on 8 reviews

Lovely stay

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful stay! Lovely house, very pleasent! Would definitely reccomend and return!

  • Review Submitted: 16-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you had a great stay and look forward to seeing you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Overall view from all the family of 9

  • 4 of 5

It was lovely and spacious and a nice location. Lovely big, well equipped kitchen although we really missed a cafetière. We all found the beds a bit uncomfortable too, but overall we really liked it.

  • Review Submitted: 29-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your feedback and always appreciated. I would just like to mention that all matresses are of a high quality memory foam and are all less than 12 months old. Obviously it is hard to gauge firmness etc for individual needs due to the nature of the business. Pleased that you enjoyed the house and the area and had a great holiday with the family. Regards Steve
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very comfortable house

  • 5 of 5

Beautifully decorated, very comfortable house. Separate living room and conservatory so lots of space to spread out. Shortish drive to lovely beaches at Shanklin and Sandown, and everything on the island can be reached by car within 30 minutes so it's a perfect location for a family holiday. Highly recommended!

  • Review Submitted: 17-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely house, very well equiped.

  • 5 of 5

We booked this house for 11 people (5 of which are children) owner had no issues with the number of children, which was great . All the party loved the house from my 3 year old right upto my 65 year old mother.

The house is in a lovely location, brilliant as a base point or fab for just chilling at.

1st class place A*.

  • Review Submitted: 05-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words, was a pleasure to have you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fantastic stay!

  • 5 of 5

Had a great holiday at Charlton House in March …. House was beautiful, location perfect and provided for our every need as we attended a family wedding on the Island. We are hoping to book another holiday there for next year. Thanks Steve for all the recommendations and advice of places to visit and eat in the area.

  • Review Submitted: 26-Apr-2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Charlton House, Ventnor

  • 3 of 5

Large house situated in a good position. The house has good appointments in regards bedding, seating and kitchen utilities. However, the armchairs are uncomfortable and one recliner broken. The property needs in TLC, with the flooring in the en-suite to main bedroom cracked, wallpaper coming away behind the bed in that bedroom and the King-size mattress badly spoiled. Also the curtains torn to the bottom. The frames to many of the windows are caked with spider-webs and general dirt and do not seem to have been cleaned for a time. The window glass also need a clean. When booking the holiday there was advertised a hot tub in the garden, this tipped the balance in our decision. There is a bar and wet room to facilitate this tub but we were very disappointed to find that the hot tub had been removed. We were not told this prior to the holiday and Steve, the resident caretaker, who is cheerful and helpful, just said 'yes, it will have to be taken off the internet'. This statement did not help us and, together with the tired state of the house (which definitely needs ceiling fans installed) the £2,000 hire for the week was overpriced.

  • Review Submitted: 13-Sep-2016
  • Date of Stay: August 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am very pleased that you had a great holiday and enjoyed the home and the location, which you certainly seemed to going by the conversations that we had. I can only apologise about the wallpaper peeling and faulty armchair. This is the first time that they have been brought to our attention and have been dealt with as soon as we were made aware. Regarding the mattress, they were brand new at the start of the season and would like to assure you that any marks are thoroughly cleaned and in addition have mattress protectors. You did mention a hot tub upon your arrival and I pointed out that the property has never been let with a hot tub nor ever advertised with one, but did offer you details of a local company that provided hot tub hire should you wish to have one for your stay. I can only assume that my property was confused with another property at point of booking and I am sure that the booking agent can confirm the same. We have never had a need for ceiling fans but I do appreciate that this August experienced heatwave conditions and hotter than past summers. I would add that we have only ever received 5 star reviews from our various booking sites so your points have certainly been taken on board and any areas that need to be addressed will be and feedback is always appreciated.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1


Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Bonchurch Inn
Nearest Ferry
10 Miles
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Ventnor / Sandown & Shanklin
Nearest Train
3 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
500 Metres
Pond Cafe Bonchurch
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
Bonchurch & Ventnor
Car: recommended

Our two most popular attractions are Blackgang Chine & Robin Hill. Small adventure parks in country settings with lots to do for the children.


Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £250

All bookings are non refundable. Should a guest wish to cancel we will do our utmost to re-let the property and offer a refund less any charges incurred by us in doing so.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.

You might like these similar holiday rentals