Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

private pool. 5 minutes walk from restaurants-cafes, mini-market, sea !

Bedrooms 2
Separate WCs1
Space 1,926 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights


About the property

2 bedrooms, pool, very close to the beach.

Despina Villa houses tow (2)spacious well-appointed apartments , with a generous-size sitting room and open-plan kitchen/dining area and private pool.

5 minutes walk from restaurants-cafes, mini-market, water-sports facility, and of course the beach.

The 2 apartments make up the whole property and share one pool between them. One apartment is on the ground floor and the other apartments on the 1st floor.

All bedrooms have air-conditioning, Fully equipped kitchen, with TV, DVD Player, and one washing machine available (home size).

The nearest beach is Agia-Marina, Its long sandy beaches and crystal clear waters makes this an ideal holiday location for young and old alike.

Despina Villa is in Agia Marina village (not in the village Center ) and not far from Platanias busier canter. Both have cafes, bars, restaurants and supermarkets. Platanias has a choice of bars and restaurants and clubs. Agia Marina and Platanias are walkable, Agia Marina village is about 9-13 minutes walk and Platanias is about 10-16 minutes walk. Also Chania town is 9km (about 10-15 minutes by bus) from Despina Villa, Chania is a very beautiful town especially the old Venetian part of the town with night clubs, bars, restaurants, and shops.

More Details

Property Manager
Lefteris Pardalakis
Member since: 2008
Speaks English, Greek
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
17 July, 2018

Why Lefteris Pardalakis chose Agia Marina

Only 10 min from the beach.

Only 15 min from bars, cafe and restaurants.

Only 45 min from Chania airport.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Agia Marina in Nea Kidonia

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 1926 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:30
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:30
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • beach
  • near the sea
  • village
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Outdoor Shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed , 1 Cot , 1 Sofa bed/Futon
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed , 1 Cot
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Veranda
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • churches
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • sailing
  • diving
  • ski
  • snorkelling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


4/5 -
(4 traveller reviews)

50% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
private pool. 5 minutes walk from restaurants-cafes, mini-market, sea !
average rating of 4.0 based on 4 reviews

Clean ,great views,modern,spacious ,near the town

  • 5 of 5

Really friendly family,made us so welcome, a true Greek experience .

Lovey location,modern ,roomy apartment ,can also use their wonderful taverna and private beach/ pool at Stavros studios .

A real gem , fantastic stay

  • Review Submitted: 14-Feb-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Inhospitable, rude & aggressive owner.

  • 2 of 5

I booked the ground floor apartment having young kids & wanting to keep an eye on them while using the pool. Less than 24hrs before the flight I got an email saying the keys would be in the door of the 1st floor apartment. I replied expressing my concerns but got no response. Had to try several phone numbers before I got to speak to Lefteris who can only be described as rude & aggressive. He blamed the mess up on the live booking process, I booked 8 months before so hard to believe someone else booked the exact same room at the exact same time? After expressing my disbelief I was told the only other solution was to move rooms halfway through the week(no chance) or for him to cancel my holiday & give me a refund!! As I was obviously not going to get the room I booked, & if I wasn't careful even a holiday I asked if there was anything he was willing to do to compensate me for the mistake to which I was shouted at "I'm not falling for your UK tricks". I explained I hadn't rang for an argument but thought it only right for him to at least leave us a couple of bottles of wine or offer us a complimentary meal at his beach front accommodation to which he said we could have a meal to the value of 20 Euros! For a family of 4 it would not have bought us a Greek salad & drink each, very generous Lefteris. It was obvious I was going to get nowhere with this "man" so accepted his most ungracious offer just to be sure of getting a holiday. I did suggested however I come & find him on arrival to discuss the matter face to face to which he said he would be out of the country? Really Lefteris?? We did not take advantage of the 20 euro "snack", I suggest you pay your cleaners with it instead of asking your guests to tip them at the end of their stay!! I needn't have worried about the pool as it was so filthy, mosquito ridden & with a large amount of the tiles from the bottom all gathered in one corner plus my daughters eye swelling up, we didn't use it again. The surrounding open fields are better described as waste land with scrapped cars overgrown with weeds. The apartment bedrooms were a good size but with one set of balcony doors un-lockable. The room safe is charged extra & the 7 euros a day aircon is per unit adding 98 euros to your week for both of them. On looking up the running cost for one unit google says 13 cents an hour so you could run it 24hrs a day & it would only cost 3.12 euros a day, they suggest you use it an hour at each end of the day. Avoid

  • Review Submitted: 29-Jan-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Steve, Thank you for your review(5 months later) unfortunately most of your comments are NOT true !! I do have all our communication (e-mails etc) to prove it. 1. Firstly, I need to clarify that you did know about being booked in to the top floor apartment - weeks in advance, however you chose to call me a day before your arrival.During that phone call, I explained to you that you that you had not actually booked the apartment on the ground floor but a larger apartment and ALL large apartments are on the top floor. I also explained to you that for your group size I recommend for you to occupy the larger apartment and you agreed.This is why I booked you on the top floor. 2.Following the above, I did give you the opportunity for you to cancel your booking and FULLY REFUND YOU, but you insisted that you wanted to have something for free, either a dinner or the A/C.I did offer you a discount of 20 euros on a dinner which is is half the cost of a dinner for 4 people as a goodwill gesture 3. On the third day of your stay, the ground floor apartment became vacant again and I did offer you to move in, I even offered to help you with moving your belongings, but after you had a look on the ground floor your refused and said you preferred to stay at the large apartment on the top floor and stated that you preferred the large apartment on the top floor and that I was right about the comfortable size. I also have ALL your e-mails and txt messeges that we exchanged regarding this subject. 4. All through your stay you never complained about the pool or anything else !Had you let us know,we could have rectified the situation at the time. 5. Regarding the A/C charge, you were fully aware of the cost from before your arrival (as are all our customers informed beforehand) and you agreed.The price you paid is only the 1/3 of the real cost. As a consumer, you would not know what the actual running costs are for the A/C, as there are also hidden costs for business owners. After your check out, it was reported from the visiting maid, that the apartment was left in a very bad condition , with a big stain on the double bed, plastic bags with garbage in the kitchen (outside bins), half of the cutlery and 3 towels missing and the shower blocked !! I have to say here, that I did receive a phone call asking me what will I offer (possible half price) for a booking on summer 2017!As a family business, we can not honour this ,due to your comments made
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
Maidstone, Kent

Nice apartment; busy resort

  • 4 of 5

My husband and I stayed here for ten nights in September. The spacious apartment is situated down a short unmade up single track road about five-ten minutes' stroll from nearest restaurants. It was fairly quiet if you can ignore the neighbour's dogs.

The popular nearby beaches have free sun beds and umbrellas owned by the numerous restaurants but you are expected to buy food or drink from the establishments. For me the beach/es (one huge bay comprising of several parts) were too crowded and the people using the adjacent beds were close enough to read your book. However there were areas where you could put a towel down and get some privacy. Other, quieter or less commercialised beaches are a short car drive away.

The apartment was clean and had a nice balcony (distant sea view over rooftops) and was equipped well although the kettle didn't work and there was insufficient cutlery for two (let alone four) when we arrived but this was quickly rectified by the owner when she visited us the next morning. The pool was not large but was cleaned on our first day. Plenty of sun loungers but I didn't see any parasols. We only used the area once.

I was disappointed that the air conditioning was an additional cost, which is not made clear at any time prior to arrival (unless it was in the small print) so we suffered the heat. Likewise use of the safe, which was sunk into a bedroom wall, was subject to an additional charge (how much does a static safe cost to maintain apart from a lost key, which could be charged for?).

Despite the negatives mentioned above, our stay at Despina Apartments was enjoyable and I would recommend it for couples or families looking for a holiday in a lively, friendly resort with a large variety of bars, restaurants and entertainment with a huge beach (partly sandy and partly light shingle) which is safe for swimmers (life guards are situated every few yards along the beach).

We would return to Crete but not necessarily to Aghia Marina but it is a popular resort for many who return year after year.

  • Review Submitted: 29-Sep-2016
  • Date of Stay: September 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

tutto perfetto

  • 5 of 5

casa molto accogliente, a pochi passi dal mare e da tutti i servizi.

la proprietaria gentilissima e disponibile.

molto pulita. assolutamente consigliatissima

  • Review Submitted: 14-Jul-2016
  • Date of Stay: June 2016
  • Source: Homelidays, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
35 Kilometres
Nearest Ferry
34 Kilometres
Souda Port
Nearest Beach
459 Metres


Prices & Availability

Ask Manager a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £35
Additional Guest Fee £15 per person per night

Price includes, accommodation ,all local taxes, VAT, Maid service, all linen. Free Wi-Fi by the pool/restaurant .
EXTRAS:The Air conditioning is €8 per day per A/C (if need it). Safe box is €10 per week.
Check IN time: 15:30-22:30.
Check OUT time: 10:30.

We do not accept bookings from groups under the age of 21 years old

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar holiday rentals