HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Magical Chateau set in the heart of the Yonne

9 Reviews
Bedrooms 10
Separate WC's3
Property type chateau / country house
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more


chateau / country house
Minimum Stay
5 - 7 nights


Photos and Description of this 10 bedroom holiday chateau / country house in Châtel-Gérard - Chateau Gérard

8/10 Bedrooms, sleeping up to 20 guests

Enter through the ancient iron gates of Chateau Gerard, you find yourself before a Medieval Country Chateau set in Yonne village of Chatel Gerard.

Wandering up the driveway towards the entrance, you have gardens to your side which lead onto the bamboo surrounded Pool area & further lawned gardens to the rear, ideal to enjoy summer holidays.


Upon entering the Chateau, you find yourself in the Mirrored entrance hall & Spiral stairs accessing all levels. Leading through to the family kitchen boasting Vintage Lacanche range cooker.

Onwards, you will find yourself in the TV Room, with open stone fireplace and enough space for all the family to relax infront of a film on the dark nights. From the TV room, you can access the Round Library which is within the turret where you pick out a book & read at your leisure during your stay.

Moving through to the Grande Salon & Dining room, you will be met by two immense open fires which you can roast chestnuts to your hearts content in the winter months.

Upwards in the turret on the stone spiral staircase to level 1 you will find a secondary Grande Salon & Grande Piano, & WC.

Level 1 of the Chateau also boasts the Master bedroom with views to the rear of the property and the 1st bedroom with views out into the village. These bedrooms share a shower room.

Upwards through the wooden stairs to Level 2 where you will find a further 6 bedrooms and 2 shower rooms + full bathroom and up again to find the final 2 bedrooms and further shower room.


You will find ample space to enjoy outdoor life on the terrace , in the gardens or by the Poolside in summer months.

More Details
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Property Manager
Member since: 2015
Speaks English, French
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
19 October, 2016
Call Manager

About Bourgognemaison

The French dream of Zeph & Leanne, discovered while honeymooning in 2014.

Bourgognemaison purchased this chateau / country house in 2014

What makes this chateau / country house unique

Brilliant access to Noyers, Vezelay Auxerre, Chablis & easily accessed to/from Paris. Great for exploring all that Burgundy has to offer.


based on 9 holidaymaker reviews

Magical Chateau set in the heart of the Yonne
average rating of 4.7777777 based on 9 reviews

Fairytale Castle in Chatel Gerard Yonne

  • 5 of 5

What a fabulous hideaway in Burgundy. We really loved Chateau Gerard - A Castle hidden away in the medieval village of Chatel Gerard just minutes away (by car) from Noyers - One of the designated Beautiful Villages of France. This whole area is packed with stunning villages, quiet roads, world heritage listed historical sites, vineyards, restaurants and artisans presenting their handiwork to the locals and tourists alike.

We had such a wonderful time exploring this area whilst based in this beautiful castle. This castle is fantastic, with a great blend of medieval rustic charm and modern comfortable rooms with all the trimmings we expect as modern day tourists. Clean modern en suites and bathrooms, comfortable beds, beautiful linen, fully equipped kitchen, wifi, TV room, library, pool, outdoor area and privacy.

All the rooms are huge, clean, comfortable and cosy. The thick stone walls provide a quiet and well insulated environment. This castle has all the fun and fantasy that we imagined, afternoon tea with local cheese and bikkies on the turret with a view of the surrounding town and farming fields, a library in another turret, our ensuite in another turret. Sipping local wines and basking in the mild french sun by the pool. Fresh baguettes, cheese, fruit, and other meals prepared in the kitchen.

With 10 bedrooms you can bring your friends and family and have a fantastic getaway.

We thoroughly enjoyed this castle and will make it our new home when next we visit Burgundy.

Thank you to the owners and managers for making this a highlight of our 2016 Europe holiday.

Paul & Karen from Australia

  • Review Submitted: Oct 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A real medieval castle

  • 5 of 5

Thank you so much. We loved every room, every beam, every stone. The atmosphere was great as filled with family, friends, laughter, good wine and good food. We followed every recommendation on the Castle’s dedicated website and found new gems too, like Epoisses, that definitely requires a visit. At Chatel-Gérard, I met Marie-Ange, the lady who “owns the key of the town” working at the council, at the post office etc. We also met the new owner of the épicerie, Mme Flot, who is great, and here is her number so that guests can order their bread before they even leave for the castle! ( 03 58 46 26 97). We also found a good place for horse riding: MADAME SEVERINE SOURD, ECURIE DE LA FONTAINE 89200 ANNEOT, which was the girls’ highlight. For me, Noyers, the Grottes D’Arcy, the market in Chablis, the lunch at Maison Paillot were some of mine. We were so lucky with the weather too. so thank you so much for a fabulous stay!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Annabel Many thanks for your review & giving us some new ideas of what to see in the area! We would love to welcome you back another time
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Stunning Chateau

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful chateau which took you back in time complete with the creaking front door,inside had everything you need to make your holiday complete,big rooms,big fireplaces everything it should be,loved the property

Bad points no local bars ,cafes or restaurants so car essential

Work in progress so we lost one bathroom,dishwasher didn,t work,swimming pool was supposed to be heated but was very cold hence many of our party didn't swim,lots of lights in the property didn't work,only two large cups in the kitchen so we had to buy our own.

summing up disappionted with lack of facilities within walking distance,shouldn,t have to buy own cups,swimming pool too cold,plus one bathroom not working and no dishwasher is unacceptable

I would not be able to recommend this property to a friend or relative unless these points were sorted out

But as already mentioned the property is amazing and partly makes up for some of the negative comments

  • Review Submitted: Sep 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Ian We were thrilled to hear your overall impression of this stunning chateau was so favourable. You mention the lack of local facilities. Chatel Gerard is a small village but it has a useful store and depot de pain just 100 yards from the property. Our advert clearly states a car is recommended and most visitors love to discover the wonderful local villages, full of fresh food markets and authentic restaurants. Chablis is just half an hour away and the beautiful medieval town of Noyers-sur-Serein, with its' many amenities and artisan shops, is only 10 minutes by car. As you say, one bathroom was out of action but, since the chateau boasts five, plus three separate toilets, we hope this was not too inconvenient. The repair of this bathroom was completed soon after your visit. One of our directors spent 30 minutes replacing light bulbs during your stay but, as you saw, there are hundreds throughout this vast chateau. Although we replace bulbs at every changeover it is possible more will need replacing, hence the supply of spare bulbs for guests to use. Even so, as each room often has multiple light bulbs, it is practically impossible to find a room without sufficient light. The chateau is extremely well equipped and there are cups of many sizes, including Limoges fine china cups and saucers for 20 guests. When you mentioned to our director you had purchased mugs which you intended to take with you on departure, we were unaware of it being a problem. However, we have now purchased a full set of larger cups for future guests’ convenience in the event that they require them over and above the smaller bone china cups and saucers. Regarding the dishwasher, you will appreciate appliance breakdowns cannot be anticipated and you were notified of this issue by email prior to arrival. A new machine was ordered and installed a few days later, before the end of your holiday. We are sorry you did not feel the pool was sufficiently warm but, at the beginning of the season, the weather in Burgundy is a little unpredictable. However, we are delighted to note that several of your party did manage to swim.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Brooklyn, NYC

Wonderful week

  • 5 of 5

We were four families with kids who came to the chateau and had a wonderful stay. The garden was great for the kids to play in. We arranged for a chef to come cook for us a couple of nights and we found two babysitters who looked after the kids twice so that we could enjoy some local restaurants (e.g. Pot d'Etain in Isle-sur-surein). There were nearby woods where you can explore and go running. Overall we were delighted with our stay and would happily return next year!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your review Alan We are so glad you enjoyed the Chateau & the area with your family & friends. We would love to welcome you all back again next year.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

An amazing experience of history & luxury

  • 5 of 5

What an experience! I have experienced a childhood dream of what it's like to live in a castle. With the notable exception that there is no shortage of luxury in this chateau. The beds (I love a comfy bed),

bedrooms, bathrooms and living areas were fantastic, as was the heating (as we visited in winter), but it was that this was all housed in a 15th century fortified chateau with 6 foot thick stone walls, stone spiral staircase, turrets and archer slots that made this a unique experience.

There is no doubt the chateau can easily accommodate a crowd, and I can imagine 20 would still be very comfortable. The dining and lounge room is of castle proportions. The master bedroom was also something special, with the bathroom in the turret. The other bedrooms and bathrooms were also very nice and recently renovated.

We are planning to return in summer with friends and family in tow, and make use of the beautiful pool and visit the vineyards. Although even in mid-winter we were happy and well entertained. Each evening we stayed in and cooked in the impressive kitchen, and sat in front of an open fire fit for a King!

We had some beautiful outings. Each day we paired a visit with a great lunch. The most impressive places we visited were Vezelay, where there is a crypt of Mary Magdelaine in a huge church. We also visited the village of Flavigny-sur-Ozerain where the movie “Chocolat" was filmed. It's one of the "beautiful villages of France". As is the medieval village of

Noyers-sur-Serein, just ten minutes from the chateau, which we also enjoyed.

An unexpected highlight was a visit to the Unesco listed Abbey De Fontenay. Not to be missed (do check opening hours on line).

We also tried to visit the megalithic cave paintings of Grottes d''Arcy (near Avallon) to see the cave paintings - the most ancient decorated cave in the world after that of Chauvet, but it was unfortunately closed for winter. Now we have a good excuse to return!!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for your wonderful account of your time in the Chateau Gerard. We are so happy you enjoyed it & look forward to seeing you all again this summer.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Phenominal French Castle

  • 5 of 5

What an amazing 4 nights we had at this 12th century castle. A historic real castle on the outside, but all the comforts and modern amenities on the inside. Like a 5 star hotel. My wife and I spent 2 weeks in France and this place was the standout.

Modern kitchen, newly renovated bedrooms and the most comfortable beds we slept on in France. The best part of house is the main lounge area (there are 3!) with an incredible fireplace that looks hundreds of years old. It's like stepping back in time but with modern luxuries. You can tell that the Castle is a treasured holiday home for someone because it feels like a very homely and authentically French house.

It's 10 bedrooms so would be great for large parties but given the value it was perfect for my wife and I and another couple (4 people total). Better than a hotel! What a great base to explore Burgundy and then return for luxury in a seriously cool castle. The location is great. Easy drive to a number of small cute French towns and in easy reach of all the must see attractions of Burgundy.

Would highly recommend.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 17, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0


Nearest Barpub
5 Kilometres
Nearest Restaurant
5 Kilometres
Car: recommended


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday chateau / country house in Châtel-Gérard, Yonne

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
Low Season
1 Oct 2016 - 31 May 2017
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
High Season 2017
1 Jul 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £801
Booking Fee £44

Minimum rate is 2100
Cot & Highchair upon request

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 0% refund for cancellations more than 0 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday chateau / country house in Châtel-Gérard in Burgundy

Property Type:
  • chateau / country house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 500 m²
Location Type:
  • village
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 20 people
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 3 Separate WC's
  • WC 2nd Floor - Toilet
    Shower Room 1st Floor - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Shower Room 3rd Floor - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    WC 1st Floor - Toilet
    WC Ground floor - Toilet
    Bathroom 2nd Floor - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Bidet
    Shower Room 2 2nd Floor - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Shower Room 1 2nd Floor - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • Ground Floor WC 1st Floor, Shower room with WC + Separate WC 2nd Floor, Full bathroom, 2 Shower rooms with WCs + Separate WC 3rd Floor, Shower room with WC
  • 10 Bedrooms, Sleeps 20
  • Master Bedroom - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 5 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 6 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 7 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 8 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 9 - 2 Single Bed
  • 2 Bedrooms to the 1st floor with Super King beds 6 Bedrooms to the 2nd floor with 4 King, 1 Double & 2 Single beds 2 Bedrooms to the 3rd Floor with 1 King & 2 single beds
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Tennis ...
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool
  • autumn foliage
  • forests
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • horse riding
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot