HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Historic, Converted Mill w/Beautiful Waterfall & Stream, 2 hr drive from NYC

Bedrooms 4
Separate WC's1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


Minimum Stay
2 - 3 nights

About the property

4 bedrooms, 2.5 baths, large living & dining room, eat in kitchen, large deck

This historic Mill, converted into a dramatic and inviting living space by the owner's parents, an architect and an interior designer, is available for seasonal or long term rental. Open living spaces combine with intimate private nooks to make this property a unique opportunity to experience. This large property has extensive outdoor living spaces also, such as decks, lawns, and of course, the Mill's stream. The Mill's waterfall provides an incredible swimming experience in the summer months. The Mill is a rustic and charming home located in extremely peaceful & private setting.

Property Manager
Member since: 2007
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
19 January, 2017


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(8 traveller reviews)

Historic, Converted Mill w/Beautiful Waterfall & Stream, 2 hr drive from NYC
average rating of 4.5 based on 8 reviews

Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5

We needed a brief respite from a very hectic summer. The mill provided us with an idyllic setting and facility. The house is roomy, with lots of rustic charm combined with modern conveniences. We had planned eat out but the well equipped kitchen and multiple neighborhood farm-stands had us eating in the whole stay. We felt revived and refreshed and will definitely be back.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Thomas, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review! It makes us happy to know that the Mill can be such a respite for people. I'm so glad you enjoyed the local farm stands and had the opportunity to stay in and take it easy at home. Please do come again--anytime you need a break or to get away from it all!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Simply Beautiful!

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay, great family time with our daughter whose attending Vassar. Peaceful, thoughtful, beautiful. The house is more spectacular live than in the photos. We will definitely be returning. Thank you!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your wonderful review, Tom! We're so happy that you were able to relax, enjoy and share the Mill with your daughter. Please do come again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful and Well Equipped

  • 5 of 5

I spent a long weekend in November at Salvato Mill with seven friends and the house was even more beautiful and comfortable than I was led to expect from the photos. Aside from the very comfortable beds and common areas, the best surprise was the really well-equipped and perfectly organized kitchen - so nice if you plan to do any cooking. The three indoor woodstoves and thoughtfully placed stacks of firewood were wonderful. There is some traffic noise in the master bedroom, but the sound of the river and overall beauty of the property more than made up for that. Dawn was so easy to arrange everything with, and she provided a lot of useful information about the area. We can't wait to go back!

  • Review Submitted: Nov 17, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Brooklyn, New York

Weekend Retreat

  • 5 of 5

I just spent a magical, birthday weekend with friends and family at The Mill. Sleeping with the rushing water underneath us made for restful dreams. Waking up and dipping in the private swimming hole and sitting under the waterfall. Enough space to accommodate a large party of people with plenty of little knooks to get away and have a moment to oneself to nap or read or meditate. I can't wait to go back.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 27, 2011
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0


  • 5 of 5

I had read a couple of bad reviews on the property and i have no idea where they are coming from (smell of sulfur, etc.) - the place is beautiful, an absolute hidden gym. We had no problems, it was lovely, it's an amazing and convenient escape from new york city, and I will be heading back. I don't typically write reviews, but the mill provided for an amazing weekend. thank you

  • Review Submitted: Apr 30, 2010
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 2

Beautiful setting but MAJOR drawbacks. Beware!

  • 1 of 5

My husband and I rented the Mill House in September 2009 for what we hoped would be a restful week's vacation with our son and daughter-in-law. We knew the house would be somewhat rustic, but never imagined it would have the serious problems we encountered. Staying in the house turned out to be such an unpleasant experience that we left after two days, even though we had prepaid for a week. Here are some of the issues we faced: The water had such a strong sulfur (rotten egg) odor that we could not drink it, and did not even want to wash or shower in it. The entire house had a musty, moldy smell and feel, causing two of us to have an allergic reaction. When we arrived, we were told we might encounter bats in the house, and were given instructions on how to get rid of them in case they should appear. Truck traffic noise all night was so loud that we could not sleep in the master bedroom that faced the road. Despite our requests, the owners were unwilling to offer us any kind of refund. In the past, we have rented vacation homes online many times -- in Hawaii, New Hampshire, Vermont, Cape Cod, Culebra, Vieques, Jamaica, Costa Rica and Mexico. We thoroughly enjoyed all of those rentals; none of them had problems anything like those we encountered at the Mill House.

This region of New York state is beautiful, and there are a lot of interesting things to do in the area. However, we definitely would NOT recommend staying at the Mill House.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 31, 2009
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We always strive to ensure that our tenants enjoy their stay. We take pains to fully disclose information about the house so that we do not end up with tenants who do not appreciate its quirks and charms. We recognize that the house is not for everyone- and that all parties are happier when it is a good match. We’d rather rent the house to the ‘right’ tenants or not at all. This house is a very special place, built by hand and upkept with love, passed down from father to daughter, and we prefer to fill it with people who can enjoy the experience that it offers. Prior to arrival, tenants are emailed a comprehensive guide. It clearly states that the water is from a well, which sometimes runs ‘soft’. The house is regularly and thoroughly cleaned. We’ve had a full season of renters, none of whom complained of mold. These tenants DID NOT encounter any bats; they were simply informed that it is important to keep the doors shut at dusk, or risk letting a bat in (or mosquitoes, squirrels, raccoons, etc...the house is on an 11 acre wooded lot and is next to water). The implication of excess noise is stunning- we have had many, many tenants over the years who fall in love with the house for the peaceful retreat that it offers. The lease is written in straightforward, fair and clear language that outlines our rules and policies. In the past, we’ve been willing to operate outside of the lease to rectify a complaint or to let tenants out of a lease in emergency situations. We’ve offered money back in situations that we felt that it was appropriate. We are more than happy to work toward a reasonable resolution, when approached respectfully, with problems or complaints. For whatever reason, these tenants did not mention any of their complaints, such as the smell of mold or excess noise, while I personally showed them around the house and grounds for over an hour upon their arrival. After their arrival on a Friday afternoon, we simply got an email at 10pm on Tuesday night, stating that they have gone home and are demanding their money back. I'm not clear on how they believe that they only stayed for two days (?) or that this aggressive email is the way to approach us about a refund.
Did you find this review helpful?
23 7


Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Stewart International
Nearest Train
20 Miles
Poughkeepsie or Dover Plains
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Taconic State Parkway
Car: recommended


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Salt Point, Hudson Valley

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
14 Apr 2017 - 16 Apr 2017
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Mem Day
26 May 2017 - 29 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
July 4th
30 Jun 2017 - 4 Jul 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Labor Day
1 Sep 2017 - 4 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights

Additional pricing information

housekeeping £162
Refundable Damage Deposit £812

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 0% refund for cancellations more than 0 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Salt Point in New York

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Location Type:
  • rural
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Powder room - Toilet , on main floor
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , on upper level
    Master bath - Toilet , Bath with Shower , private master bath
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Master bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed , w/full bath & woodstove
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed , view of waterfall,overlooks living room
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon , view of waterfall, overlooks living room
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Double Bed , view of waterfall
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Piano
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Wood Decking
  • 6 garden chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • pets considered
  • not suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties