HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Kay Davidson

Member since: 2004
Call Owner
Speaks English, Spanish

BARCELONA LUXURY *** FABULOUS LOCATION*** HISTORIC CENTRE - GREAT REVIEWS

45 Reviews
People6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview

Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday apartment in El Born - The Essence of a Place

2 Bedrooms, 1 bathroom, sleeps 6

All legal short-term rental apartments in Barcelona are required to have a short-term rental license and display it to guests. Our license number is HUTB-003331-11

This stunning apartment is located in the beautiful El Born district of Barcelona’s Historic Centre known as Ciutat Vella.

It is on the doorstep of the Chocolate Museum, the City Park and the magnificent Picasso Museum. It is a 5-minute walk from the beautiful palm-fringed marina and the cathedral, a 10 minute walk from the Ramblas, and just 15 minutes on foot from the beaches that led to Barcelona being crowned Nº1 Beach City in the World 2013 - 2014 by National Geographic Magazine.

The apartment has a floor area of 90m2 and provides real home from home comfort and every luxury to make your holiday accommodation extra special with high speed fibre optic internet at 100mbps, duck down duvets in winter, a Nespresso coffee machine and a home cinema system.

It is spacious with open plan areas in the living room & kitchen/dining room. It has high vaulted ceilings with exposed wooden beams and French windows leading out onto little wrought iron balconies.

It has a telephone, an IPOD docking station, a breakfast bar, a split-level bathroom with glass wall partitions and a separate walk-in shower. It even has a secret door!

The apartment was recently featured on a Spanish TV documentary series about Barcelona interiors. Flick through the photographs to the end and click on play to watch the full 6-minute report.

'We selected the apartment based on the description and reviews and everything exceeded expectation'. Lorraine R. 2013.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Kay Davidson (Owner)
Member since: 2004
Call Owner
Speaks English, Spanish

About Kay Davidson

Hello there! The first thing I should probably tell you is that I came here on holiday for 2 weeks in 1988 and stayed! I guess the sun, the cuisine, the cultural variety and outdoor lifestyle all had something to do with it. The fact is I’ve never stopped enjoying the things I love here. I moved from Valencia to Barcelona in 2000 and have worked throughout that time as a teacher and translator as well as a property manager now too of course! My life is busy and diverse and also involves making regular trips back to Scotland, where I was born. I think I’m really lucky to live between two such beautiful places and I guess I love the contrast and diversity of my lifestyle. Nevertheless, be warned! If my own experience is anything to go by and you do decide to come here on holiday, you may end up staying longer than you bargained for!!

Kay Davidson purchased this apartment in 2003

Why Kay Davidson chose Ciutat Vella

Quite simply – it was love at first sight and the first and last apartment I looked at. I often walk through the gorgeous winding alleyways of the Born with their myriad boutiques and terrace cafés bathed in sunlight before heading back to the apartment and sitting in the peace and quiet of the living room, soaking up the beauty of it all and thinking - yes - this is the essence of what I love here! The Born has become even more charming and beautiful since I bought the apartment in 2003 and if I could come back to Barcelona now and see it all again as if it were the first time, I think it's exactly this apartment in this part of town that I would hope to find.

What makes this apartment unique

Firstly I would say it's the location. It’s right in the middle of the most historic, beautiful and happening area of the city with the benefit of being nestled in a quiet pedestrian-only side street, which is a 15 minute walk from the beach. Then, the apartment itself has the perfect contrast that’s so distinctive to Barcelona of seamlessly blending the old with the new; design without compromising on comfort. Having the award-winning Hoffman bakery and café (best croissants I have ever tasted) just around the corner may also have something to do with it though! Or it might be the proximity to Cal Pep (delicious seafood) or Bar Pla (delicious everything)! Most likely it's a combination of all of these things and coming in through the front door after a day out, sitting down, kicking off my shoes and relishing the strange sensation of feeling at home in a foreign land.

Guestbook comments from the owner

'Thanks Kay. Had a great time! FAB apartment! Not enough time to do everything.'



Tony and Tracy. England, UK. 19th September 2006



We really enjoyed staying in this fantastic apartment. We loved the décor and found it a relaxing place to rest our tired feet at the end of the day. Barcelona is a vibrant, exciting city and this was a great area to explore it from with its wonderful restaurants and bars. Many thanks.’ Jack and Nicola. Penistone, Yorkshire, England, UK. 23rd August 2006



‘Just a quick note to thank you for the use of your wonderful flat - even more specious, lovely and well located than we imagined. Helen Raadelar. England, UK. 18th August 2006



‘We spent a wonderful week in vibrant Barcelona – discovering the tiny streets, shady boulevards, beautiful buildings, lovely restaurants …and a beach too! Kay, your apartment is lovely, so comfortable and beautifully decorated. We’ll be back without question.’ Helen and David. Toronto, Canada. 5th August 2006
Nov 2007
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

5
based on 45 holidaymaker reviews

BARCELONA LUXURY *** FABULOUS LOCATION*** HISTORIC CENTRE - GREAT REVIEWS
average rating of 4.977778 based on 46 reviews
5

Great location, easy communication

  • 5 of 5

We rented this flat for two adults and two kids (under 10) for 3 nights. We had clear communication with the owner, easy check in/out, and the flat was exactly as pictured and nice and clean. It felt chic, yet comfortable, without having to walk on eggshells worrying about what the kids might get into. It had everything we needed and more; there were even beach umbrellas in the closet. No surprises - except for how convenient it really was to everything. Walking distance to many restaurants, bakeries, grocer, the train, metro stations, the parc, museums, cathedrals, everything! We walked most places, using the metro a few times (like to La Sagrada Familia), and used the taxi only to and from the airport. We were worried about catching a taxi at 7am to leave, but it was very easy just by walking towards the train station. The stairs are manageable with children and luggage (trust me, I had a BIG suitcase). I would recommend this flat without hesitation to friends and family visiting Barcelona. We were all sad to leave.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I can't tell you how much it means to get feedback like this. It must be incredibly difficult to choose just one apartment from no many places on offer. We chose to buy this place because thought it was a wonderful apartment in a great location and your review certainly seems to bear that out. I always think that feeling sad to leave a place is by far the best way to go - full of happy memories with a longing to come back this way again. Many thanks for choosing our place and warmest wishes. Kay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect in every way!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and our two boys stayed in Kay's flat for 4 nights and were completely and thoroughly delighted with everything about our stay - the well appointed and comfortable accommodations, communicating with the owner and her proxy, the incredible El Born neighborhood and Barcelona in general. Truly a magical trip and we cannot wait to return! My family said I "hit it out of the park with this one!" Many heartfelt thanks, Kay.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: What a treat to read your review! I'm absolutely thrilled to receive such a glowing report! It's very encouraging to read how much you enjoyed your stay and I hope it won't be long before we can welcome you back. Thank you so much for entrusting us with your holiday accommodation needs. Kay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Portland, ME
5

Lovelu flat, great location

  • 5 of 5

With friends, we spent a week in this lovely flat. It is just as pictured, on a small alley, right around the block from the Picasso Museum, a few blocks from the fabulous fresh market, and with many good restaurants nearby. We especially liked Tapeo and Morelia, both within a block. Our usual practice was to eat out at lunch and have a nice dinner and relaxing evening in the flat.

The rooms are good-sized, it was very clean, and well-equipped

El Born is less touristy than other areas and with lots of charming shops. But within walking distance to other areas.

A highlight was a guitar performance at the incredible Palacio Musicale...

  • Review Submitted: May 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

fabulous

  • 5 of 5

great location, great apartment ..loved everything about the place... just want to go back and visit again.

Larger than we thought and with 2 older teenagers it was perfect.. All the information provided was great, maps etc ...and we loved exploring the area for 10 days thankyou Kay and Rafael

  • Review Submitted: Mar 14, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for sending in this great review. Knowing you were happy with your choice of apartment is what it's all about for us. We are delighted you would like to come again. Hasta pronto!!. Kay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
5

A Hidden Gem !

  • 5 of 5

August, 2015: Down one laneway, then a narrower one, open an unremarkable door, up a flight of stairs - then enter a charming apartment. It is air conditioned, has comfortable beds, is pleasantly appointed and includes a large, flat screen tv (with a stack of English language movies). While the apartment is hidden from major streets, it is beautifully located. We were able to walk to all the places we wanted to visit. A very good grocery store is around the corner. Sagrada Familia being a major tourist site in Barcelona, it is nice to know that it is about a 30 min. walk from the apartment. And, Kay, the owner is gracious, efficient and very pleasant. We enjoyed our stay and would be delighted to stay at this apartment when we next visit Barcelona!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 5, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful, beautifully appointed, perfect location

  • 5 of 5

Loved it! Description is very accurate. So cosy yet a large space. Property was super clean and well maintained. Nicely designed, great beds, lighting, furniture and art. It was like being in a real home, not just a rental with no sense of the owner. Kay is just wonderful, very helpful and caring and always there to answer your questions. We were met by her friend on a corner as close to the apt as we could get. She helped us get our remarkably heavy suitcases up the stairs (what a trooper!). It was lovely to have a single cup coffee maker, champagne and water in the fridge and a packet of bisquits. So appreciated. Also used the washer/dryer and there is a diswasher. Great wifi.

The location was fabulous, and yes, you do feel like part of the neighborhood. The apartment is located on a very narrow street making you feel like you are living in centuries past. One small note: Because of this quaint location, the building across the lane is quite near and there is not a huge amount of light or view. But all in all, it was a fabulous stay. Thank you!!

  • Review Submitted: May 30, 2015
  • Date of Stay: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

Nearest Airport
15 Kilometres
Barcelona Airport
Nearest Barpub
Many in the surrounding area
Nearest Ferry
1 Kilometres
Port of Barcelona
Nearest Golf
20 Kilometres
Sant Cugat Golf Course
Nearest Train
100 Metres
Estación de Francia
Nearest Motorway
1 Metres
Ronda Litoral - exit 22
Nearest Restaurant
Lots to choose from on your doorstep.
Nearest Ski
300 Kilometres
Baqueira-Beret
Nearest Beach
500 Metres
Barcaloneta
Car: not necessary

The entire area surrounding the apartment building is encased in enchanting medieval streets and alleyways. Bustling with life, these little streets house cafés, speciality food shops, small commercial and public galleries, design boutiques and a wide selection of excellent restaurants to suit all tastes and pockets.

Buy your fresh food at the Santa Catarina food market with its famous undulating multi-coloured roof designed by the Catalan architect Enric Miralles. A 2-minute walk away. Open Mon - Sat from 8.00am to 15.00pm.

Wander down to the marina and enjoy a cool drink in the sun as you watch the sail boats come and go. A 5-minute walk away.

The front door of the Picasso Museum is less than a minute's walk away. Go early to avoid the long queues but without having to get up early!

Walk round to the Chocolate Museum to watch the confectioners at work, see the chocolate sculptures and have 'merienda' of sponge fingers (melindros) dipped in hot chocolate in the museum café. A 2-minute walk away.

A 30-second walk down Calle Flassaders will take you to the Hoffman Café which is located in what was built as the City Mint in medieval times. Breakfast outside listening to gentle jazz.

Have a wander through the Ciutadella park - it's just a few minutes walk away or hire one of their canopied cycles for families, or a paddle boat or visit the city zoo which is accessed through the park.

The City Aquarium is a 5-minute walk away and a great way to spend a rainy afternoon - not that we get many of these.

Just beyond the Aquarium you can take a cable car ride across the marinas and up to the top of the Montjuic Hill where you can enjoy panoramic views over the city. Before you come back down you might like to visit the Joan Miró Museum or the Pueblo Español.

A 15-minute walk will take you to Barcelona's award-winning beaches. You might want to hire a beach recliner for the day, enjoy the 5 kilometre-long beachfront promenade - perfect for cycling, jogging, rollerblading, skateboarding or just about anything else on wheels (!) - or sit in one of the 'chiringuitos' (open beach café bars) down on the sands and watch the people go by.

While you're at the beach, you might like to have paella for lunch in Pez Vela. Why? Well, because it's excellent! The restaurant is open to the beach so I suggest you book a table out on the decked terrace where you can gaze up the beaches and wonder whether this was the view that made National Geographic Magazine vote Barcelona 'Best Beach City in the World' in 2013.

Sign up to use the private Nova Icària Sports Club during your stay. Gym, Swimming Pool etc.

Don't miss the Santa Catarina Church - 50 meters from your front door. It's considered to be the best example of Gothic Architecture in Catalonia.

Take a leisurely 10-minute stroll along Carrer Jaume I, past the seat of the Catalan government (the Palau de la Generalitat) in San Jaume Square to the famous Ramblas and the Boqueria Food Market - the largest food market in Europe.

Have a good old rake around the Vila Viniteca - a specialist wine shop a couple of minutes' walk from the apartment - where you can find all the best Riojas, Ribera del Dueros as well as Priorat and Montsant wines (great value for money). Their sister shop next door has a wonderful selection of cheeses and they supply many of Barcelona's best restaurants. Don't miss La Botifarra on your way there or back - the sausage specialist's.

Book a tour of Barcelona's Modernist Palau de la Música - the most beautiful music hall I have ever seen. Even better - go to a concert. A 15 minute walk away.

You can walk to most of the sights but public transport is excellent and the San Jaume and Barceloneta metro stops are about 300 metres away. It's also well connected to the city bus network.

Step back in time by taking the lift down through the ages at the MUHBA Museum in the Plaza del Rei to visit the streets and alleyways of Roman times hidden away beneath the existing city. A fascinating visit for anyone interested in history and learning about life in Roman times. About a 5 minute walk from the apartment.

Visit the recently completed 'Born Cultural Centre' which tells the more recent historical event of how Catalonia was defeated by the Spanish army in 1714. A story sensitively told just a minute's walk away.

There are bicycles for hire in the area, Segway tours of the Historic Centre, walking tours or you can hire go-cars.

Sign up for a cookery course. Go shopping to the Santa Catarina food market with your guide and then go back to the kitchen to cook some Spanish food before sitting down to enjoy your efforts. Less than a minute's walk from the apartment.

Don't miss the Arabian Baths in the Paseo Picasso - a minute's walk away. You can have a massage here too.

Oh - or the Mammoth Museum!

Many scenes from Woody Allen's film 'Vicky Cristina Barcelona' were filmed in the streets around the apartment.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in El Born, Ciutat Vella

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Standard Rate 2016
29 Feb 2016 - 31 Oct 2016
3 night minimum stay
£545
for 3 nights
From
£160
£1,186
 
 
Winter - end 2016
1 Nov 2016 - 19 Dec 2016
3 night minimum stay
£454
for 3 nights
From
£130
£974
 
 
Christmas/New Year 2015
21 Dec 2016 - 6 Jan 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,186
for 7 nights
£1,186
 
 
Winter 2016/17
7 Jan 2017 - 17 Feb 2017
3 night minimum stay
£454
for 3 nights
From
£130
£974
 
 
Standard Rate 2017
19 Mar 2017 - 31 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
£545
for 3 nights
From
£160
£1,186
 
 
Winter 2017/2018
1 Nov 2017 - 21 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£454
for 3 nights
From
£130
£974
 
 
Christmas/New Year 2017/2018
22 Dec 2017 - 7 Jan 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,186
for 7 nights
£1,186
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£545
for 3 nights
From
£160
£1,186
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £173
Cleaning fee £65
Stay tax €1 per night, per person. This amount will be due to the owner upon arrival. Does not apply to children under 16 years.

7 night minimum applies over Easter weekend / Christmas / New Year
A late check in fee of 50€ is payable when checking into the apartment after 8pm.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in El Born in Barcelona

Property Type:
  • apartment (terraced)
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 90 m²
Location Type:
  • beach
  • city centre
  • near the sea
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Luxury
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Free Local Calls
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Safe
  • Security System
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Tumble Dryer ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Built on 3 levels. Separate WC, bath and shower enclosure.
  • The bathroom is on three levels creating different areas which are separated by glass wall partitions. There is a separate walk-in shower with teak flooring, and a bath tub too. The bathroom is equipped with a hairdryer and we have provided a box of emergency toiletries just in case you should discover that you've forgotten something late at night and the shops are closed.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Green Apple - 2 Single Bed , 1 Cot , Push the 2 single beds together or apart as required.
    Living Room - 1 Sofa bed/Futon , Everyone tells us how comfortable it is! Sleeps 2.
    Red Apple - 1 Large Double Bed , Large double bed, double wardrobe and full length mirror.
  • 1 double bedroom, 1 twin bedroom, 1 double sofa bed, 1 cot
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • gambling casinos
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • snorkelling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The apartment also has an IPOD sound docking station to allow you to listen to your own music collection and an Italian central battery charging system for recharging all your batteries at the one hub. We also provide a wall safe and home alarm. The apartment also has over 20 guide books to Barcelona and Catalonia for you to use during your stay.

Learn more about this holiday rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties