HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

North Shore Oahu White Sand Beachfront Home, Ocean View from Every Room

People6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bdrm, 2 Baths (one in garage), Sleeps 6, Permit # 90/TVU-0375, Tax#01649442-01

Hale Moana, House of the Sea, is our ocean front home on the beautiful rural North Shore of Oahu. A flight of 10 sturdy steps takes you from our grassy lawn to the lovely beach. The ever-changing, half-mile-long beach is perfect for exploring, swimming, snorkeling and stand up paddling (SUP) in the summer. Hawaiian green sea turtles are often spotted swimming and sometimes sunning on the beach.

Humpback whales winter in Hawaii and are often spotted in the distance from our yard. Some of the world's best surfers also gather during this season to slide across the North Shore's amazing and famous waves. Popular Chun's Reef and Alligator's surf breaks are just steps away and you can enjoy a glass of wine and watch surfers backlit by beautiful sunsets right from our back yard.

At Hale Moana we are witness to the impressive and fascinating interaction of land and sea. The shoreline may dramatically change from summer to winter, year to year. The tides, currents, waves and wind are constantly rearranging the beach, and sand levels will vary significantly and unpredictably over time.

Our vacation rental home is licensed by the City and County of Honolulu Department of Planning and Permitting (since 1987).

All rooms have ocean views and are beautifully decorated Hawaiian style. The home sleeps four to six guests. The master bedroom has a queen-sized bed and two twin beds in the second bedroom can be converted into one king-sized bed. The den/TV room has a queen-sized sofa bed (queen size Aero-Bed also available). Main bathroom has separate shower and bathtub. An additional shower, toilet and basin is located in the garage. The garage shower is convenient when coming in from the beach. Cooking is a pleasure in the ocean view kitchen with glass cabinet doors, ceramic stove top and Corian countertops. Connect your laptop and mobile devices with our wireless broadband. For added relaxation the library provides many book choices. The flat screen TV has HD cable channels, including HBO, ESPN, an HD-DVR and a DVD player and library.

The beautifully landscaped yard is great for sunbathing, barbecuing, sunset watching and turtle spotting.

Nearby Historic Haleiwa town has surf and clothing shops, art galleries and wonderful restaurants. World famous Waimea Bay, Sunset Beach and Banzai Pipeline are nearby. Visit Hawaii's Number One visitor attraction, the Polynesian Cultural Center. Everything has been thought of to make your vacation stay at Hale Moana relaxing and memorable.

The North Shore is known world wide for its dramatic winter surf. Be aware that swimming in most places during big wave season is best left to experts and children should be closely supervised. In the winter, when the big waves are breaking, put your feet up on our wall and watch the spectacular surfing show.

Our fenced and tree lined property is set between the road and the sea. Our guests find that the sights and sounds of the ocean easily win their attention and hearts. Please check out many years of favorable guest comments at our website at beachhawaii.

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2006
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
16 January, 2018

About The Owner

I lived in this lovely home, "Hale Moana" (house by the sea), for many years. Since moving away into Honolulu I'm able to offer you the amazing experience of living on this special beach. I'd love for you to have a delightful and comfortable vacation, and I strive to provide everything you need so you may enjoy your time together and the magic of Hawaii. My own "Hale Moana" website Guest Book comments from the last nine years will give you an idea of what to expect.

The Owner purchased this house in 1971

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Haleiwa in O'ahu

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • beach
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • rural
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Security System
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , in garage
  • 2nd bath is in garage.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , Incredible ocean view from master
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 2 Twin beds may be converted into king bed
  • Den has TV and sofa bed which can be converted into queen sofa bed
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Player
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Veranda
  • Small Cooler
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay
  • botanical garden
  • marina
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Wireless Cable TV with HD DVR & HBO, Ceiling Fans in both Bedrooms, Living Room and Den/TV room, air conditioner in second bedroom. Weddings, large parties and events are not allowed at the home.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(24 traveller reviews)

87% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
North Shore Oahu White Sand Beachfront Home, Ocean View from Every Room
average rating of 4.75 based on 24 reviews
New Boston, NH
5

Great Location and Awesome View!

  • 5 of 5

This house is absolutely amazing. We visited three islands on our trip to Hawaii, and Hale Moana, House by the Sea, was hands down our favorite! We opened the huge slider doors and were able to watch the surfers and even saw some whales from the living room! While we were there a sea turtle even came onto the beach to lay in the sun. On another part of the island we saw monk seals. The locals are very friendly on Oahu. The house is well stocked, very clean, the view is stunning and the owner is really nice. I can’t say enough about our relaxing stay in this wonderful house. We absolutely loved every minute that we were there and hope to go back.

  • Review Submitted: 19-Mar-2017
  • Date of Stay: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your wonderful review Dave. You were terrific guests, and I am so delighted that you had a good time and want to come back. Reviews like yours make all the work worthwhile. Mahalo and Aloha, Sandi
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
San Jose, CA
5

A gem in the north shore

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time! The house is a mid-century gem that is a destination all its own. It sits on the oceanfront along a secluded and beautiful stretch of coastline. We saw a turtle and whales from the beach.

The house is also well equipped for the vacationer. We made good use of the snorkeling gear and cooked most of our meals at the house and had all the dishes and items we needed. Everyone was sad to go. I hope we can visit again. Thank you, Sandi, for all your attention to detail and hospitality!

  • Review Submitted: 11-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your wonderful review. You were a delight to work with, and I am so pleased you enjoyed our home and our secluded coastline. You left the home in excellent condition, and I would welcome you back any time. Mahalo nui loa, Sandi
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Northern California
5

Amazing as usual!!!

  • 5 of 5

We've stayed at this home multiple times. It's our home away from home when we are lucky enough to reserve it. The home is warm and inviting, and the beach in front lovely. We can't wait to go back.

  • Review Submitted: 04-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the lovely review. I am so pleased that you have chosen to vacation at Hale Moana year after year. I have watched your wonderful family grow up. It is great guests like the 4 of you that make it all worthwhile. Wishing you a Happy New Year, and I hope to see you in 2018 for #30!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location! Great owner. House is a little dated, but can’t beat the area!

  • 4 of 5

Had a great stay. Perfect starting point to explore. Right next to Waimea Bay! Town of Haleiwa is fantastic.

  • Review Submitted: 31-Dec-2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Over rated. Misrepresented. Very Dirty. Unsafe conditions in home. NOT WORTH IT!

  • 1 of 5

From the moment we walked in there was something missing. It was dull. Not like the photos. No color and no island feel. We opened up the house and went into the yard. It is nice. But the beach is GONE!. Sandi would explain this in her description as the "ever changing beach. " But the locals and neighbors will disagree and say the beach has been gone for 3 years. That is why the "Eight sturdy steps" that take you there are 6 to 8 feet off the ground and blocked from use with cement blocks. Have been for some time. The beach is a rock pile and you have to play in front of other homes if you feel so inclined.

Then there is the road race all day every day. Road noise is insane. Road facing windows are boarded up but that is a feeble effort. At night the Road bikes and hot rods wake you up steady. Sandi explains this as being the sacrifice to be on the beach. But what beach? There are small streets leading off this highway that offer much more peace and tranquility. Find one. DON'T STAY HERE!

Then there is the filth in the house. Stained carpets. Nasty bed frames and bugs in them. Random pills under the furniture that has 1/4" of dust and hair under it. Garbage and reading glasses under the beds. Hair and dirt in the head boards. food and garbage under the fridge. Paint chips and dirt in the window over the main food prep area. Broken blinds in the queen room. Broken blinds in the TV room. but just wait......

After finding some of these deficiencies I decided to look harder. The one and only smoke detector was not working. I took it down and the battery was corroded in so bad the detector was garbage. Then to the one and only fire extinguisher. It was not serviceable and covered in the same greasy mess everything in the house was covered in. The fire ext. was actually deteriorating from the salt air. Sandi explains these problems by stating to Me that "north shore winter and that darn salt" takes a toll on everything. SO WHY IS IT NOT INSPECTED AND FIXED REGULARLY? IT IS POOR MANAGEMENT AND CHEAP OWNERS NOT WILLING TO REINVEST SOME OF THE INCOME. TRULY SAD!. YOU ARE PUTTING PEOPLE AT RISK! I am sure the state has set higher standards for their guests, so should Sandra. It cost us over $15,000 for our trip and we feel ROBBED! Find a better Managed property and do your home work. Get current photos and ask why the comments are not current. Search the internet and for posts regarding the properties. Avoid this kind of disappointment.

  • Review Submitted: 31-Dec-2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Chuck, I am so sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your time at my beautiful North Shore Beachfront home. None of my other 5 Star Review Guests have mentioned these issues. I hope your next trip is more enjoyable. I am so sorry you chose not to contact me, as per our desktop welcome note, until the end of your 13 day stay. At no time did you give me any indication that you were unhappy. I would so very much have preferred to address your concerns immediately or to refund your payment. I am sad you chose to harbor your discontent and to ambush us with this review. You might have noticed our book of hand written, obviously authentic, guest comments at the house. There is not a single other negative review, with the vast majority declaring their intention or hope that they will return to our property. While no other guest “decided to look harder” to find flaws, we do take your comments to heart. I am bolstering my cleaning and maintenance crew to quickly address issues you have raised, and I thank you for pointing out where we need to improve. Yes, the entire North Shore of Oahu is subject to extreme variation in beach levels and the community is concerned about the aspects of changing climate. The stair steps you described were built nearly 5 decades ago and replaced by those “eight sturdy steps” many years ago. In just the last year the sand levels have fluctuated by several feet, and I am sorry that it was at a low at his time of stay. We are bordered by the ocean and the ring road of the north shore. While at times the traffic can be heavy and noticeable, very few of our guests have found it enough to mention it to us. Most of them wax poetic about watching the sea, turtles, whales, surfers and waking to sounds of the surf. After living for many years in this house, I moved into town to be closer to schools for my boys. I am still in awe of the magic of the north shore and have chosen to welcome guests into the house to maintain the property. Nearly half of all we take in goes directly to maintenance, as a beach front property is akin to maintaining a boat. I hope others will see past this one review where so many others have found their time at Hale Moana to be truly wonderful. Aloha, Sandra
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
5

Thanksgiving 2017

  • 5 of 5

Location, location, location, peace and tranquility - couldn't have asked for more!

  • Review Submitted: 26-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Location

Other Activities: turtle spotting

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Haleiwa, Oahu

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
2018 Rates
3 Jan 2018 - 18 Dec 2018
3 night minimum stay
£1,214
for 3 nights
From
£343
£2,412
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £21 per night, per additional guest
 
2018 Holiday
19 Dec 2018 - 2 Jan 2019
7 night minimum stay
£2,585
for 7 nights
£2,585
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £21 per night, per additional guest
 
2019 rates
3 Jan 2019 - 18 Dec 2019
3 night minimum stay
£1,239
for 3 nights
From
£351
£2,412
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £21 per night, per additional guest
 
2019 Holiday
19 Dec 2019 - 2 Jan 2020
7 night minimum stay
£2,585
for 7 nights
£2,585
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £21 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£1,214
for 3 nights
From
£343
£2,412
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £21 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £362.4
Cleaning fee £163.08 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.96%

* We accept credit cards through PayPal for a 2.9% fee (USA) and 3.9% (international).
* $500 refundable security deposit
* Cleaning Fee $200 - $250
* Full amount + security deposit & cleaning fee due 1 month prior to arrival
* To reserve: 1-6 months prior to arrival - 50% total fee & taxes
* To reserve: Over 6 months prior - 25% total house rental fee & taxes
* no refunds * travel insurance highly recommended

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals