HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Steve or Amy Just

Member since: 2007
Call Manager
Speaks English

Exciting, Inviting, Cozy, (Summer, Fall, Winter) - Ski, Fish, Hunt,

Bedrooms 2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday cottage in Angola - Yellow Cottage Crooked Lake

2 bdrs w/ walk in closets, sleeps 9, 2 full baths, wash&dryer, 4 TVs

Spring, Summer, Fall, & Winter. Always Something To Do!

1,800 square feet / 2 stories of living space. New water softner, kitchen appliances – range / stove, refrigerator / freezer, coffee maker, microwave, air conditioner, clothes washer and dryer, and a new 40 foot dock. 2 Bedrooms, sleeps 9 (more room on the floor), 2 Full baths, Full Kitchen w/ utensils, Card Room, TV Room for kids, TV room for Adults, Washer & Dryer Room, Furnished (up & down stairs), (4) 21' TV w/DVD, Cabl TV, Wireless WIFI, AC up and down stairs, Fireplace, Fire Pit, Gas Grille. Complimentary use of DVDs and VHS Movies, Board Games, Row Boat, Paddle Boat.

Located on an 880 acre lake w/ three basins and a 2 mi. ski run, sand bar, 4H Park, etc.

150' lake front x 300ft deep. Dead end street safe for children and walking, Back Lot for parking cars and boat trailers.

Located near many fun family activities!!!

Families, Church Retreats, and Businesses: The cottage is perfect for gatherings of families, friends, church retreats, and business team building events that, after the day’s activities, would like to retreat back to their very own comforts of a warm and cozy cottage to watch movies, relax, or snuggle by the fireplace.

Take time to visit the Buffalo Preserve. You can also visit an award winning winery with excellent red and white wines available for tasting and purchase. If cars are your interest, you may enjoy two local speedways. You could also take a quick 30-minute drive and enjoy the Auburn, Cord, Duesenberg Museum which houses classic vintage automobiles from the early 1900's up to WW II era vehicles. Or visit the NATMUS Museum which houses vehicles from the post war years. Or visit another flavor of museum --- the Hoosier Air Museum (operated by the Hoosier Warbirds) at the DeKalb County Airport which features aircraft from throughout the history of aviation. Autumn offers an exceptional time...

The Days Events: The children will love exploring the surrounding land, the lakes edge, catching frogs and fish, while you relax in a chair watching with a hot cup of coffee. Latter the kids will go swimming, play on the raft, use the paddle boat, canoe, while you play along with them or take a nap. After lunch is a great time to get in your motor boat and water ski, water tube, hang out at the sand bar, or dock up to the 4h fair grounds to hike. That evening while the sun sets the fire pit is the place to be. Roasting smores, telling stories, enjoying each others company, being warmed by the fire as the children start to realize they are tire. Tuck them in and it is your time to catch up with your honey. How do I know this, I have a lovely wife and triplet children age 8. We have enjoyed this cottage for the last 8 years.

Local and Distant Attractions : I personally want every Family, Mother, Father, Child, and Grand Parent to get the most out of their vacation and dollar. Searching the web can still be a lengthy task with all of the links and pop ups so...We will send out a package of the local attractions (5 to 20 min drive) and not so local (20 min to 1 hour) attractions. Here are a few:


Angola small town atmosphere with movie theater, shops, antique stores, ice cream parlors,

Fun Spot Amusement Park and Water Park 260-833-2972

Pokagon State Park 260-833-2012;

Mongo State Hunting Grounds & Firing Range 260-367-2164;

Pigeon River Canoe Trips 260-475-5512 ;

Local Golf

Zollner Golf Course Tri-State University - 0.2 miles SW - 300 Park Ave - (260) 665-4269

Lake James Golf Course: Golf Shop - 3.3 miles N - 1445 W 275 N - (260) 833-3967

Bledsoe's Lakeview Golf Course - 5.3 miles

More Details
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Steve or Amy Just (Property Manager)
Member since: 2007
Call Manager
Speaks English

About Steve or Amy Just

Hi, I am Steve Just, Mechanical Engineer from Purdue University. I was born, raised, and my family lives in Fort Wayne, Indiana. My wife, Amy, and I have 3 children (triplets) age 14 now. We have been married for 19 years and dated in high school and through college. We have a miniature schnauzer named Lucy Lick’ems. Our children love to play at the lake cottage and have for years ever since they were 1 years of age. I pride myself on communicating and answering yours and your family’s questions as soon as possible. We are the owners, so you are not working though a 3rd party. Please feel free to call me anytime. There are so many properties I am sure you have looked at on line, so let me help you where I can. I am sure your family will appreciate you taking the time to pull this together, it is not easy. Let me help you by making this process as easy as possible. Thanks, Steve Just.

Steve or Amy Just purchased this cottage in 2006

Why Steve or Amy Just chose Indiana

We choose this property, because the land is spacious with most lake fronts having 75 feet frontage, so you have more privacy then cottages that are spaced closer to one another. We love the town of Angola. The neighbors are nice, the street is quite, the dead end street is safe for little ones and pets, and the cottage is large enough for a good sized family and friends.


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(18 traveller reviews)
Exciting, Inviting, Cozy, (Summer, Fall, Winter) - Ski, Fish, Hunt,
average rating of 4.4444447 based on 18 reviews

Fall family gathering

  • 5 of 5

Our family (grandparents,children,grandchildren) met here for a fall weekend. The house was well maintained, clean and provided us with every amenity imaginable. The open floor plan allowed the little ones to enjoy themselves in a safe environment. The owners were very easy to work with, very accommodating, and made us feel welcomed. We had a great time despite the foul weather and imagine the summer time would be a real treat with the use of the lake and all the nearby outdoor attractions.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 22, 2008
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is important to us to communicate clearly and answer every question, so renters understand what they are getting for their dollar. It is a value thing and we understand. We want to meet expectations, but if we can not, we recommend other places that may suite their needs. We call right away to answer all questions and respond in email, so family plans can move forward with or without us. We were booked solid 2008 June, July, Aug and half Sept, so we must be doing something right. Our prices are the same as last year. I am a Mechanical Engineer, family of 5 with 3 children under 10, so I can relate to the average Joe or JoAnne... Just call ... Thanks
Did you find this review helpful?
24 0

Great boating. Nice house.

  • 4 of 5

Crooked lake is a dream for boating and watersports! This house is in third basin where the water calms quickly for skiing or barefooting and there is a slalom course too. First basin has a sandbar which is fun to party on. The beach by the house is nice for about six feet into the water, then is a little mucky and has seaweed, but it was plenty nice for the kids to play in the sand and water. The house is a little older but nice, lots of white noise with the air conditioners running and seemingly well insulated as the kids could sleep upstairs and didn't hear a thing from the adults downstairs. We had a great time and had no complaints!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am happy our guests had a great time. We will be renovating the exterior and portions of interior this winter. We will be adding sand to the swim area to increase the sandy bottom area. We take renters suggestions and make improvements every year. From a suggestion, this spring we extended the dock with platform on the end. Thanks, Steve
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Family Fun!

  • 5 of 5

We had a fun-filled week at the Yellow Cottage on Crooked Lake! The house has a lot of room inside. The front bedroom upstairs is very large. The two full bathrooms are good-sized too. We had plenty of room in the kitchen and dining room (table for eight), and we loved the sitting areas and game room with another table that seats four. There was an extra-large window with a wonderful view of the lake. The kids enjoyed the sandy beach and the large lake-front yard. The large patio and yard had several picnic tables and patio tables which gave everyone a place to sit. The dock looked new and was great for our boat and jet ski. It was a hot week, but the weeping willow trees offered us all the shade we needed. The gas grill was large, looked new, and worked well. This cottage is in the third basin of Crooked Lake which is great for skiers. We also did a lot of tubing, and we were pleased that there wasn't a high amount of boat traffic. There was ample parking for us too. We had a great week and plan to return next year!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 24, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Family Vacation

  • 4 of 5

Thanks Just family for renting your cottage again to us this year, we had another wonderful family time. We know it was stressful getting the tree cleaned up from the storm, and we really appreciated it. The kids of all ages, really enjoy the large yard, swing, fire pit, sandy beach area, place for a hammock, and also extension on the pier really made is nicer. 3rd basin is wonderful for our skiers. You are very nice to rent from and we appreciate all you do. Were looking forward to coming back next Summer. Thanks again!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice review. This family has rented form from us two years in a row, and is looking to rent again next year. They are a nice family. We hope our renovations this winter can bring us up to a five star rating. Thanks again, Steve
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
New Haven, In

Making Family Memories

  • 5 of 5

My family, brothers family and sister stayed for the last 2 years over Memorial Day weekend. We will keep coming back every year. The kids really enjoy it and every amenity is available. The owner of the cottage is extremely easy to work with and very courteous. The cottage is roomy and very comfortable. My son is already looking forward to coming back next summer!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 16, 2015
  • Date of Stay: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lake Forest IL

Unsafe and worn out

  • 1 of 5

I waited to get my deposit back to write this review. I walked into a cabin that had the gas stove running full blast and a coffee pot on next to it.. should have called the police but tried to reach the owner who was out fishing. Delayed having my daughter in law and son and one year old from arriving until I felt it was aired out. the home had not been cleaned .. washed the floor and counters before they arrived.. missed one day of rental. The rug is torn and dirty..these are old pix on their website and they had so many overloaded circuits with cheater etc that I unplugged all the old tvs etc that they had plugged in. There are digger wasps all around the home.. called about it because I am epipen allegic.. the response was a wasp spray left at the door.. Most of the lights had burned out and toilet seat was broken. Called the maintenance guy. pleasant but does not do stairs or bend so my husband replaced the seat and all lights. I never felt safe here.. duct taped the stove handles.. no safety so no little hands could turn and was stuck with a microwave for all our cooking. The owner never made an appearance to amend or apologize.. The outside is covered with spiders and webs and just a quick power wash could have ammended that.. this home is unloved and unsafe. The lake is nice in this area but a promised beach for toddlers had totally washed away.. raked some sand that way to make it safer but not as in the picture. Please note all photos are from much earlier as are the reviews. Also beware of the contract. I tried to cancel this reservation more than 90 days prior after I visited the site... the contract does not allow refund of your sizeable deposit at any time. I felt stuck with the place and tried to make do because I could not afford to lose so much money. I am a fool for not just walking out but had family members counting on this holiday. The neighbors thought that the previous renter was terribly upset and left on Thursday.. probably leaving the gas on.. the owner said they left an hour before I arrived but I am not convinced with the amount of gas in the home. Just Beware and try to visit before you commit.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 29, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi, I am Steve the owner of the Lake Cottage. After careful consideration, I decided to respond to this review. I was very disheartened to get a review like this. My father and I try really hard to make everyone’s stay as safe, comfortable, and enjoyable as possible. We take the corrective comments very seriously and address what we can that day with our repairman, cleaning service, and other local services. My father and I improve items from feed back from our guests and our repeat guests. We tried many times to satisfy this renter. I dispatched the cleaning service (only 1/8” mile away) 4 times to the cottage to address the needs of this renter. We purchased and delivered kitchen items for this renter. We replaced a few burned out light bulbs, replaced a toilet seat, child proofed the back screen door, and listened to concerns. We also had an exterminator review and later dust treated the bees in the yard, there were no bees in or on the cottage. The photos on the web site are accurate. After many efforts were made, I feel this review is unfair and unreasonable. We have rented our lake cottage for the past 8 years and have not had an unfavorable review. We also have many repeat guests, so we must be doing something right. I feel bad our lake cottage did not meet this particular lady’s high expectations. I assure you, we will continue to always value guests feed back, so we can continually make needed improvements. We have many repeat guests, so we must be doing something right. Thank You, Steve & Don Just
Did you find this review helpful?
14 0


Car: necessary

Our Large Golden Yellow Cottage is located on Crooked Lake (880 acres), 3 basins, a Marina, a public 4 H club, public large sandy beach with a play ground, large sand bar, a 2 mile stretch to tube and ski (know for calm water to bare foot ski), and also known for a few fishing tournaments. The cottage is in the heart of the famous N.E. Indiana Lake Country. Local attractions: Angola (small town that takes you back in time and antiquing), Pokagon State Park (known for its great trails, buffalo, and toboggan run), Pigeon River Canoe & Kayak Trips (a family journey and gorgeous scenery), Fun Spot Water / Amusement Park, Rapid Raceway (known for Family racing 'Thunder Dome')Angola Motor Speedway, Auburn Cord Duesenberg Museum, 4 amazing golf courses - Zollner Golf Course, Glendarin Hills Golf Club, Lake James Golf Club, and Hidden Valley Golf Course. 50 Minutes South is the city of Fort Wayne with the Lincoln Museum and Nationally acclaimed Children’s Zoo.

Other Activities: Many local (not congested) Large State Parks, Small Amuse. Parks, Winter Activities – sledding, snowmobiling, and toboggan run 1,700 Feet

Golf: This area is known for it golf courses! I encourage you to Google “Northeast Indiana Golf Courses”. We rented to many avid golfers this past year and many are repeat customers. They come strictly for the GOLF!

Ski: Winter Time Cross Country Ski - Pokagon State Park. My family does it 2 times every winter. It is tradition for us. We Love it. The State Park is huge with many nature trails and hills. We also take our sleds, because there are big hills with picnic areas with shelters to build a fire. Oh and the legendary Pokagon State Park Toboggan Run. You have to do it. It is great FUN!


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Angola, Indiana

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
Late Summer Peak
6 Aug 2016 - 2 Oct 2016
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £8 per night, per additional guest
3 Oct 2016 - 29 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Early Summer
30 May 2017 - 16 Jun 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Peak Summer
17 Jun 2017 - 11 Aug 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Late Summer
12 Aug 2017 - 5 Sep 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Late Summer Fall
6 Sep 2017 - 20 Oct 2017
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £8 per night, per additional guest
Winter Hunt Ice Fish
21 Oct 2017 - 18 May 2018
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £4 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £76 + Tax
Cleaning £38 + Tax
Tax Rate 5.0%

Flat rate + Cleaning & no hidden costs
$100 per dog per week or $50 per dog per weekend.
REDUCED RATES for Jan & Feb (ice fish, Tobogan, winter fun), 2013
FREE use of paddle boat & row boat. share with cottage next door.
SPECIALS - for consecutive weeks
SPECIALS - 2014 & 15 bookings.
Call for specials and discounts.
“Please inquire about information on additional units.”

Pay with personal checks. Payment due dates depend on season.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Angola, USA

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • lake ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • waterfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , average size
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , large size
  • (2) Large Full Baths, plenty of towel hangers for all the guests, plenty of storage & closet space. 1st floor bath newly remodeled.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 3 Double Bed , 1 Single Bed , Floor Room For Sleeping Bags
  • Bed room 1 - (1) queen, 21'TV with VCR, Large dresser with large mirror, walk in closet, night stand, alam clock. Bed room 2 - (3) doubles, (1) single, Window AC, 21' TV with DVD, (3) dressers, recliner chair, walk In closets, night stands, alarm clocks.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Video Player
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library
  • Boat Dock
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Canoe
  • Terrace
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Barbecue
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Pedal Boat
  • veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 2 deck chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • Miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties