Vacation Rentals of the Desert
Case-by-case basis $300 nonrefundable fee, no cats
Guests are expected to comply with the City of Palm Desert Vacation Rental Ordinance. The City`s Good Neighbor Brochure is in the Guest Book.
Occupancy limits are strictly enforced.
100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Property needs to be cleaned more thorough
Left 11 days early - Infestation of crawling & wall climbing & flying bugs in house, pool and outside area. We used our vacation killing them. Owners wanted to bring in exterminator - so we decided to leave. We found BBQ & area dirty with leftover food bits on BBQ grill, no propane tank, some towels were dirty and cobwebs (ontop of lamps & corners). Outside patio area tile very slippery when wet. Husband slipped and fell on these tiles.
We are very disappointed to receive this review. It is especially upsetting since you were able to do a walk through and thoroughly inspected the property yourself just the day before you moved in. To have insects ruin the enjoyment of the property, is very upsetting. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and can only say that we offered the only remedy we have for these migratory insects in the desert, an exterminator service. This was promptly offered and encouraged, but with your refusal for this service, we did not send an exterminator. In our defense, it was several days after your arrival that the bugs suddenly appeared, and from your notification to us, the bugs suddenly left again several days prior to your decision to depart the property. I will copy and paste below, the email we sent you just two days ago: I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. The bugs in the desert are unfortunately a natural occurrence that all of us residents have to live with … to an extent. An exterminator would have helped greatly as these are migratory insects, and he may have been able to chase them away. We occasionally get these bugs at our house or even at our office. They are easily treated by an exterminator. I have two dogs … the sprays are much improved these days and not dangerous to dogs. This is not a problem this particular property has had in the past. Haystack has never experienced an insect problem of any kind. Living in the desert, we have an extraordinary amount of bugs particularly in the summer months. We do not know from day to day when they will arrive and when they will depart, but I understand that the bugs were gone before you left the house, so I am at least happy to hear that. Such a beautiful property. I’m so sorry they had an effect on the enjoyment of the house.
As for propane, we called and told you that the BBQ is not propane and is actually natural gas. We offered to go over and show you how to turn it on and you said you would not be using it anyway, so there was no need to come over.
Had we been notified about cleaning issues, we would have sent cleaners right back over.
We tried our very best to make you feel comfortable and stayed in contact with you. We are sorry to hear that our efforts failed. We are known for our attentiveness, but when guests have indicated that they do not want assistance, we do not force ourselves upon their vacation or their enjoyment of the property.
Month long work retreat
Lovely trip at a lovely house
Thank you for the great review! You were ideal guests and we hope you will consider us again when planning your next visit to the desert. We'd love to have you return!