HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Romance, Nature, Adventure - Whiteface Views from the Hot Tub, Fireplace!

People6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview


Details
Property
chalet
People
6
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
2 - 7 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday chalet in Wilmington - The 46-er

2 bedrooms, 1 bath, sleeps 6

The '46er', named for those that have mastered the highest peaks in the Adirondacks, keeps with the tradition of 46ers.

She is well equipped, well oriented and surrounded by beauty, leaving you never wanting to return home.

Unlike just another impersonal rental property, you'll find the warmth and comfort of home with soft cushy towels, down pillows and comforters.

The chalet is completely remodeled with hard wood floors, skylights, new kitchen and bathroom.

The chalet is nestled on a hillside facing Whiteface and Stephenson Ranges. Whiteface Olympic Mountain, which is only two miles away and offers the ultimate in winter sports! It was voted the Best Ski Center in the North East!

Lake Placid Village with all that it has to offer is just ten beautiful miles away on the most picturesque road of the Adirondacks. Here you can enjoy shopping, dining, arts and crafts, museums, The Olympic Center, golf, horse shows, movies, festivals, nightlife ... or 'in short' - hustle and bustle of this special, lively Olympic Village.

When your spirit moves you beyond the chalet, so much awaits!

First you'll encounter the large, wrap around deck which sports Adirondacks chairs and an outdoor dining area, and sometimes chickadees that will eat from your hands. You may not get much further for awhile. Many guests fall into the hammock for a snooze or fire up the grill to cook the trout they caught. The hot tub invites you for that romantic or relaxing dip after the day on the mountain. In the evening, there is the stone ring campfire for all the stories of the day.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • Alternative Lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Property Manager
Owner
Member since: 2005
Speaks English, Polish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
6 December, 2016
Call Manager

About Owner

Nature, Adventure, Tranquility, Beauty and Comfort. Inspired by my own travels and world explorations, with a desire to share some of my favorite and special places with others, I created OurSecretGetaways.net. It is with pleasure that I open the door to our Vacation Homes so you too can create your own unforgettable memories. Being an avid traveler myself, I know what I appreciate when I stay at different destinations. My goal is to use that experience in creating and providing the best atmosphere for our guests.

I strive to create in each of our retreats a unique experience, reflecting the ambiance of the area, the cultural character and natural environment. My joy springs from feeling the soul of each area and property and infusing that spirit artfully throughout the home, the landscaping and amenities provided. A confluence of nature's beauty with interior design is communicated through color harmony, original art, comfort and the intimate warmth of a loved home. Whichever secret getaway that you may choose be assured that you will find a home where you can fully relax, be comfortable and bask in the sensual pleasures of the unique esthetic aspects of both the interior décor and the charming gardens, while drawing strength and energy from the breathtaking beauty of the surrounding habitat.

Owner purchased this chalet in 2001

Guestbook comments from the manager

Beautiful getaway from NYC and busy working life. The house provided us with absolutely everything we needed and we felt very comfortable from the very first moment we came here. Being big nature lovers, you can't but fall in love with the Adirondacks and this beautiful house gave us more than we were looking for when it comes to the Adirondack experience.

We would like to thank Renata for everything and will highly recommend this place for our friends as well as we are sure that we’ll be back here
Dec 2014
  • 1 of 11

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(33 traveller reviews)

Romance, Nature, Adventure - Whiteface Views from the Hot Tub, Fireplace!
average rating of 4.6060605 based on 44 reviews
Burlington, Vermont
5

Amazing Adirondack Hideaway!

  • 5 of 5

My fiancée and I decided we needed a vacation. I was tasked with finding a perfect one-week getaway and The 46'er is definitely it. The cabin is fully stocked with everything you would want for a peaceful romantic retreat in the Adirondacks. Renata and Charly have done an amazing job of stocking this retreat with all the little touches that make it feel as one is coming home to their own magical retreat. Every drawer and nook held another wonderful surprise that made our trip just that more perfect. It is clearly evident that the owners love this cabin as much as their guests. They have left no detail unchecked with property and they were both excited and happy to offer advice on what to do in the local area. For a first time visitor to the Adirondacks, their vast knowledge and willingness to share was invaluable. We went hiking every morning out the back yard on miles of trails that surround the property. For a wonderful early morning view of Whiteface, We highly recommend hiking to a small clearing up a 4-wheeler track out the back yard. We grilled almost every night and enjoyed much needed relaxing soaks in the hot tub on the tranquil privacy of the wrap-around deck. It was a spectacular feeling to relax and simply gaze at the pitch-black country sky full of stars one will never see in the city. A rainy day meant chili in our crock-pot and Casablanca on the TV (thanks to their wonderful movie selection). A second rainy day was no worse. We simply enjoyed the peaceful silence that comes from no outside distractions. The pitter-patter of raindrops on the roof recalled a simpler time while we relaxed on the couch each with a good book. No annoying cell phone calls, no intrusive Internet, no loud neighbors, just the wonderful luxury that is peace and quiet. We loved reading books from their diverse selection, hiking with our Scottish Terrier, canoeing on a nearby lake, shopping in Lake Placid, and wine tasting at some of the local wineries. Dinner at The Hungry Trout was a wonderful experience. Hiking at the nearby Wilmington Flume and up Whiteface was just as fun. The best part of the trip was being able to bring our Scottie. He loved chasing the numerous squirrels and chipmunks that inhabit the property and we loved not having to worry about him in a kennel for the week. It was great to have our entire family (man, woman and Scottie) together on vacation. It truly was Heaven on Earth. We are already planning our next trip!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 13, 2009
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Bryan, you make me want to be there! Thank you so much for your kind words! It is truly our pleasure to cater to our guest and the best reward is when we achieve the goal of making lasting impression! Renata
Did you find this review helpful?
10 0
5

Perfect Relaxing Weekend

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I booked this place last-minute (3 days ahead) for a weekend away with our dog. We live in Montreal, so the drive is only about 2 hours. We drove down on Saturday morning and checked in after a beautiful hike up Whiteface Mountain. About 10 minutes from the Whiteface trailhead, the cottage is small, but very cozy and just what we were looking for. It was very clean and we enjoyed the wood fireplace and hot tub.

The pictures are not current, as there is a new, nicer-looking cast iron fireplace as well as a newer flatscreen TV (which we did not use). When we arrived, it took a while for us to get the lights on, and it turned out that the main light fixture was not working. However, with the kitchen light and lamps (had to take a lightbulb from the upstairs lamp to make the downstairs one work), we had enough light. Overall, the cabin is delightfully decorated and has all of the essentials for a mountain vacation.

Next time we'll bring our own soap for the shower, a cribbage board, and food/condiments from home. We went grocery shopping in town before we checked in, so we weren't entirely sure if there would be things like sugar, ketchup, coffee already present (there were not). Thankfully, the little grocery store is only about a 5-minute drive. The fireplace is a bit small and a tight squeeze for the logs--we ended up chopping some smaller ones and foraging for kindling in order to get the fire going.

The property is wonderful--secluded and backs up against a forest. It was perfect for our Australian Shepherd, who loved exploring and playing with sticks while we relaxed in the hot tub. It is also near the end of a gravel road with very little traffic, so we did not have to worry about fast cars driving by with the dog out.

Lastly, Renata was wonderful. She always replied promptly and was very sweet to call and trouble-shoot when I e-mailed her about the lights not working. We had the perfect relaxing weekend, with 60 degrees and sunshine on Saturday, followed by a Sunday snowstorm. We hope to come stay again sometime!

  • Review Submitted: Nov 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Katie for your kind and detailed review! We truly appreciate it! Thank you for letting us know about the light not working, we were able to have it fixed the very next day, the dimmer needed to be replaced. We will love to have you as our guests again! All the Best! Renata
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing cottage getaway!!!

  • 5 of 5

My family can't stop talking about our mini vacation. This cottage was perfect for our family of four! So clean and so cute- the owner was amazing to work with and always responded right away. The location is amazing for all that lake placid has to offer. We weren't on top of any other houses- and the hot tub was the perfect ending to a perfect day. We can't wait to stay again next year and have recommended this to everyone!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Adirondack Getaway

  • 3 of 5

The owner was very nice and accommodating. However there were a few little things;

1. VRBO pictures need to be updated as the pictures are not the same as the current look (i.e Fireplace, and it is little more worn than the pictures show.

2. Toilet paper was um lacking half a rol land an emergency run to the corner store.

3. Hot tub water was changed which is good but cleaning staff forgot to raise the temp and we were not able to use until day two of a two day stay. This is one of the thing that was important to me.

4. Fire place blower did not work.

5. Internet modem was overheating had to turn it on its side to get internet to stabilize as it kept dropping. Although it was a mini vacation as the CEO I do not have the luxury of not being in contact with my company.

All in all it is still a nice little place for 800 sq ft and warm with the fireplace going. The surrounding area is beautiful and the wolves howling at night was eerie and a great experience to hear.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 8, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I’m very sorry Carl that your stay with us was not 100% satisfactory, as that is what we strive for. Yours was a last minute reservation, not finalized until 10 pm on Saturday night for the next day-Sunday arrival. We went out of our way to accommodate you, including waiving the cleaning and pet fee. I wish that you would mention the shortness of the toilet paper while we exchanged the emails upon your arrival, we would be very happy to deliver some to you. We do not advertise to provide paper and cleaning supplies but always try to keep them in stock for our guests to use. I just wanted to clarify that the cleaning staff did not forget to raise the temperature on the hot tub. They changed the water so it was clean for your arrival, and it takes several hours for the water to heat up, especially in the Winter time. I wish that you were able to stay a bit longer in order to enjoy all the facilities. We very recently invested in a brand new fireplace insert to make it safer and more efficient for our guests to use. There is no reason for the blower not to work, and again I wish that you would ask for assistance with it as directed in the check in documents. The internet is also a new addition to the chalet, since service for that area has only recently become available. I’m sorry if it was not speedy enough for your liking; I guess there is a price to pay to be 'away from it all.' I am very sad that your experience was worth just three stars. It is personally important to me that our guests are very happy. As always, I will definitely follow-up on your comments. Wishing you the best! Renata
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Peaceful and relaxing! The perfect spot for a quiet retreat from the world.

  • 5 of 5

This wonderful property is all that is advertised and more.The amenities provided contribute to a very peaceful and relaxing stay. Having the hot tub and fireplace, your own private space to relax and unwind, plus cooking facilities far surpass a stay in any hotel, inn or B & B. It is charming, sweet, and well-appointed. Renata (the owner) is responsive and clearly cares about the comfort and enjoyment of her guests. Reading all the wonderful comments in the guest book clearly show how much others enjoyed their stay at the 46er and also appreciated the special energy of the place. We hope to visit again, as there is so much to do and explore in the area, but it's also equally wonderful to lounge around the chalet and enjoy all that it has to offer (so plan your stay accordingly with enough time to do both!) One of the highlights for us was "unplugging" and hearing nothing but silence, punctuated only by the occasional howl of the resident wolves from the nearby Adirondack Wildlife Refuge (definitely worth a trip!)

  • Review Submitted: Feb 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Whitehall, PA
4

Cute tucked away cabin!

  • 4 of 5

Spent a few days at The 46er to celebrate my 34th Birthday with my husband and dog. The cabin was very well taken care of and clean when we arrived. It felt like home right away. It felt like plenty of room for the 2 adults and our huge German Shepherd. I don't know how many more people than that would fit comfortably, but there is a loft upstairs which we never checked out. I will say though, with it being A Frame construction, it does get a little tight in the master bedroom trying to get in bed. The kitchen was well stocked with cookware and dishes & there was plenty of towels for the week. (Side note: The shower was actually really nice! I usually hate the showers when we travel, but this one had wonderful pressure!) There is Wi-Fi which worked just fine for what we used it for. There also is a TV with Satellite, however, I would recommend bringing a few movies along. There is only a handful of channels to pick from and not very good ones. It's nice to have something to watch if you have some time.

The property that the cabin sits on is wooded, with plenty of area to roam around or let the dogs check things out. There is a huge wrap around porch that I'm sure is awesome to relax on in the warmer months. The hot tub is located on the side of the house outside and hands down was my favorite part of the trip! I looked forward to this every day. Take advantage of it on clear nights......there isn't a lot of light pollution up here so you can see a lot of stars! There is a ton of firewood cut and stored outback ready for you. Make sure you take kindling along!! We didn't have any and weren't able to get a decent fire going.

All in all......this is a beautiful cabin in a wonderful area - close to Whiteface Mountain, Lake Placid & Saranac Lake. All of these areas have plenty of things to see and do. The Olympic sites are definitely worth checking out! There is a restaurant only about 5 min away called The Wilderness Inn II....very good food and reasonable prices!!

Dealing with Renata was exceptional! She was always quick to respond and she was super accommodating making this a great trip!! I will look forward to a return trip in the future!

  • Review Submitted: Feb 14, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Car: necessary

We are at the heart of the High Peak Region and at the foot of Whiteface Olympic Mountain.

Behind the chalet there are trails for walking, hiking, snow shoeing and cross-country skiing. You may use our canoe to explore one of the many waterways nearby. We also have two bicycles available for you. Community tennis courts, ball parks, Lake Everest Beach with live summer concerts are just minutes away. If you wish, there are stables and miles of woodland trails for riding. Lessons available for English, Western and Polo.

You can climb the walls of Wilmington Notch, taking in the most breathtaking aerial views of the valley below. For the most exhilarating experience, You've Got To Go! for the dip in the Copperas Pond after climbing.

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday chalet in Wilmington, Whiteface Mountain

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Winter Prelude
29 Nov 2016 - 15 Dec 2016
2 night minimum stay
£287
for 2 nights
From
£143
From
£156
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£901
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £8 per night, per additional guest
 
Happy Holidays
16 Dec 2016 - 2 Jan 2017
3 night minimum stay
£516
for 3 nights
From
£172
£1,106
 
 
Skiing Season
3 Jan 2017 - 9 Feb 2017
3 night minimum stay
£491
for 3 nights
From
£164
From
£172
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£1,065
 
 
Sweet Valentino
10 Feb 2017 - 20 Feb 2017
3 night minimum stay
£516
for 3 nights
From
£172
£1,106
 
 
Spring Skiing
21 Feb 2017 - 30 Mar 2017
3 night minimum stay
£491
for 3 nights
From
£164
From
£172
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£1,065
 
 
Summer Glory
24 Jun 2017 - 9 Sep 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£1,065
for 7 nights
£1,065
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£311
for 2 nights
From
£156
£983
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £159
Pet Fee £60
Tax Rate 3.0%

We Offer LAST MINUTE SPECIALS! Please Call.
Cleaning Fee of $75 will apply to Less than a Three Night Stay.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday chalet in Wilmington in Adirondacks

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • mountain
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Thermos Flask
  • Towels Provided
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Fax
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • The bathrooms has a nice glass walled corner unit shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Loft - 2 Single Bed
    Living Room - 1 Large Double Bed
  • The Master Bedroom is furnished with Queen Size Bed. It is cozy, quiet and romantic. The Loft features two Twin Beds and has a special ambiance of a mountain home. Slanted ceilings with a skylight window , twig work railing and a comfortable oversize chair. A place where little and big kids enjoy being in. There is a Queen Size futon in the living room for extra guest or larger families.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books - Fiction / Non-fiction
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Player
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Canoe
  • Terrace
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Wood Decking
  • 2 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Alternative Lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • Miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski
  • Snowmobiling
  • caving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The chalet is really special in that it is comfortable for a family or a group of friends, yet still intimate for a couple alone. It's a great place just 'to be'- sitting up in the loft in the comfy oversize chair, reading a good book while listening to the gentle rain on the skylight or in the living room snuggled on the couch by the fireplace warming your soul.(At the 46er your firewood is cut, stacked and ready to go.) Or perhaps you prefer sitting on the meditation pillow, listening to the transcendental music while receiving the healing energy of this magical place. There is always a soft throw or a blanket at hand to wrap yourself in and many beautiful pillows to arrange for that 'just perfect fit'. In the winter, you'll appreciate the hot water radiators for warming-up your towels or drying wet mitts and socks. The new boiler provides(truly) unlimited hot water showers. The kitchen is well equipped, making it easy to fix a simple breakfast or a Thanksgiving Feast!

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties