HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Gorgeous Country Escape Cabin Overlooking the Smoky Mountains!

People8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,600 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 2-8)

PLEASE NOTE THAT I HAVE A MINIMUM OF A ONE WEEK RENTAL OVER MAJOR HOLIDAYS AND IN OCTOBER. GORGEOUS LOG HOME ON FOUR VERY PRIVATE ACRES WITH beautiful views of the Smoky Mountains and the Appalacian Trail. NO noisy neighbors right on top of you! Enjoy a romantic drink on the deck or a fun family barbeque as the sun sets over the mountains. Hike in the nearby trails,some leading to beautiful waterfalls! Easy access in a two wheel drive vehicle. Large three-story home (1600 sq. ft. living area plus an additional 1000 sq. ft. unfinished basement.) THREE FULL BEDROOMS, plus loft siting area, fully furnished, and equipped for your comfort and convenience.

Very spacious (600 sq. ft.) master suite with a king size metal sleigh bed and a love seat in the sitting area, cherry queen set in the second bedroom, and pine bunk beds in the third bedroom. Decorated in rich jewel and earth tones, the cabin features a luxurious brown LEATHER SOFA SET in the living room. Not gas, but a REAL STONE FIREPLACE to cuddle up in front of on cold nights. View nature from the spacious two levels of wrap around covered decks on three sides of the log house.

A wonderful place to get away from it all. Leave the city behind and enjoy being close to nature and many fun activities. At night, when everything else is quiet, you can listen to the Little Tennessee River rush by. Walk to the river (1/2 mile away) and go fishing or tubing. Go golfing, antique hunting, go carting, or gem mining in Franklin. Take a drive to the train station in Dillsboro, Harrah's Casino in Cherokee, the Biltmore Estate in Asheville, or to the many beautiful waterfalls in the surrounding area.

Or, just stay home and read a book in the upstairs sitting area, have tea in the four rocking chairs on the side porch, barbeque and have a picnic at the new picnic table on the other side porch. Relax on the front deck as you watch the sun set over the mountains. In the morning, watch the sunrise through the large loft master bedroom windows.

Whatever you do, book soon, as summer and fall dates are going quickly!

Located approximately halfway between Downtown Franklin and Bryson City, this home offers the best of both worlds. Nestled in the woods above the Little Tennessee River, this log home is secluded enough that you are away from it all, yet within an easy drive to many Western North Carolina towns.

Our home is also stocked with games, videos, books, and magazines to help you relax and unwind. Come to our country escape and enjoy the romantic getaway you're been longing for or a fun and memorable family vacation in the mountains.

Keywords: Log House

More Details

Owner
Dawn Worobel
Member since: 2002
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
4 February, 2018

About Dawn Worobel

We love the gorgeous mountain views and the escape from the heat and our hectic lifestyles. We enjoy going to the cabin to relax or to have fun with friends and family. Our kids love the gem mining, tubing, and whitewater rafting.

Dawn Worobel purchased this house in 2002

Why Dawn Worobel chose Franklin

We chose this location because we kept coming to this area and fell in love with the natural setting, the ease of access to our property, and the proximity to lots of fun places in Western North Carolina. We also love to relax and watch the beautiful sunsets and the wildlife go by as we sit on the deck overlooking the mountains and our 4 acre property.

What makes this house unique

We have three bedrooms with lots of space for you and your family and friends to relax. We have a fully stocked kitchen with a gas grill and outside picnic table. We also have two wrap around decks, one with gates at the end to help contain pets when they want to enjoy the beautiful North Carolina weather. We also have dvds, vhs tapes, games, and many books for you to enjoy during your stay.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Franklin in Burningtown

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00 / Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • city centre ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • rural ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Master-large loft with 1/2 wall & sitting area on top floor
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Bunk Bed , Bottom bunk is a double/top is a twin.
    Loft - Sitting area on top floor in master
  • King size beds (1) Stunning king sized metal sleigh bed with two dressers, mirror and two night stands, Queen size Beds (1) Cherry queen sized bedroom set, Twin or Single Beds (1), Child Beds (1) A fold up cot perfect for a young child is located in the closet of the third bedroom., Bunk Beds (1) Pine wooden bunk beds with a double on the bottom and a twin on the top.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Player
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • Boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • swimming
Notes:
Central Heat and Air Conditioning, Gas Grill (BBQ), Outdoor table, Four Rockers, Picnic table, Teak Chairs

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(31 traveller reviews)

87% Complete
9% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Gorgeous Country Escape Cabin Overlooking the Smoky Mountains!
average rating of 4.83871 based on 31 reviews
5

Great location

  • 5 of 5

We were not able to stay during hurricane Irma, but have stayed with Dawn before. This is a perfect get a way location. Quiet, well maintained, and comfortable. They have thought of everything.

the Younts

  • Review Submitted: 19-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Decent, but needs updating

  • 3 of 5

First, I've stayed in a number of different places around the Smoky Mountains--on both the Tennessee and North Carolina side. There was nothing mis-advertised about this cabin and it's pretty bare bones as these sorts of places go. The spectacular view from the porch is not a given for these kinds of cabins, however, and this place has the best I’ve experience.

The major selling point is the ease-of-access, which is not typical of Smoky Mountain cabins. You don't need a four wheel drive vehicle and even the parking in front of the cabin is flat. The proximity to towns worth exploring (e.g. Waynesville) is nice and there are plenty of great hikes just a short drive away.

The internet was clearly stated as being limited in the description and other guests' reviews. That being said, it was so limited that it was often impossible to connect a cell phone as there are limitations on low quality connections with both Android and iOS. That being said, the wifi router is eleven years old and upgrading it might actually improve some of the connectivity issues we experienced. There is zero cell signal, which was also as expected.

As the wifi was not going to support video streaming, it was nice to see a DVD collection. However, why not invest $100 in a more modern DVD player that will support a full screen view with an HDMI connection on the flat screen TV?

The towels, sheets, and kitchen supplies were all plentiful. The king bed had a surprisingly comfy mattress, but the metal bed frame was terrible, leaving a large gap between the mattress and headboard and the mattress and footboard, making the overall setup not particularly comfortable.

Finally, I would be remiss in not mentioning the problems we had in getting into the cabin. I will make allowance for the fact that we were there in the off season, but the door code did not work and the battery for the lock ended up dying completely while we were trying to gain access. After 45 minutes of driving around for a cell signal and trying to talk to the owners, we got in. The owners said the batteries for the lock had just been changed less than a month ago, and that seems like an unusually short lifespan when you consider its likely lack of use in that period. When the caretaker arrived after we'd gained access through alternative means, the batteries were revealed to be a mixture of brands, leading me to suspect they had not all been replaced at the same time.

  • Review Submitted: 29-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jen, Thank you for noticing that our cabin has a spectacular view, especially considering the wonderful ease of access and proximity to charming nearby towns. Unfortunately, as I have recently learned, unusually cold weather can make batteries lose effectiveness very quickly. Both batteries were changed at the end of December and replaced with two new batteries. My housekeeper had just accessed the cabin the day before to do a spruce up prior to your arrival, and the door lock worked fine. Luckily, we have an alternate method in place to acces the cabin, which you used to gain entrance. As to the bed, we have a luxury mattress with a beautiful metal frame bed that many tenants have mentioned that they found extremely comfortable. We also have a dvd player that can be programmed for a full screen at the touch of a button. As our VRBO page states, we are limited to satellite internet as that is all that is available in the mountains at this time. It is unfortunate that you were inconvenienced upon arrival. We apologized and sent our housekeeper out as soon as we realised that that you were experiencing some difficulty. We also called to check on you to see if you had any concerns afterwards. If you had mentioned any questions or concerns at that time or at anytime during your stay, we would have been able to address them in a timely fashion. This is the main reason that we call or email our visitors on the first day of arrival.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
High Springs, Florida
5

Beautiful cabin in tranquil mountain setting with a beautiful view!

  • 5 of 5

Our family and our dogs really enjoyed our stay at this cabin. It is bright, immaculately clean, open and airy with a gorgeous view! The kitchen is adequately stocked with spices and appliances, dishes, glasses, etc. The view is absolutely gorgeous from the deck and the loft master bedroom. The beds are very comfortable. There is WIFI, but it is sketchy. However, other cabins we've rented in the past have had no WIFI, so some was certainly better than the usual none. The location of this cabin is also wonderful. It is secluded, but other cabins are in walking distance and there are nice roads to take walks. It is also a great location for accessing the quaint surrounding towns like, Bryson City, Cherokee, Dillsboro, Franklin, Waynesville, and Maggie Valley. We had a wonderful time and definitely plan on returning.

  • Review Submitted: 16-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great experience!

  • 4 of 5

The only thing I would change is the acoustics between the first and the second floor. It is very loud between the floors. Other then that it was a great experience. Beautiful cabin and scenery.

  • Review Submitted: 21-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A beautiful haven in the heart of the mountains ❤️

  • 5 of 5

We truly loved our stay at the Country Escape! Plenty of room for the kids to spread out, incredible views, everything stocked that we could have imagined needing. The only thing it was missing that I saw on many other listings was a hot tub 😏 Thanks Dawn, for an amazing experience!

  • Review Submitted: 11-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Incredible mountain retreat

  • 5 of 5

We were only able to stay for several days, but what a nice place. Everything has been well thought out and the layout is perfect. Hope to stay again soon.

many thanks

The Younts

  • Review Submitted: 31-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Barpub
12 Miles
Lazy Hiker Brewery
Nearest Golf
12 Miles
Franklin Golf Course
Nearest Train
12 Miles
Bryson City
Nearest Restaurant
11 Miles
Bowery, Cafe Rel, Sunset Diner,
Nearest Point of Interest
Little Tennessee River
Nearest Point of Interest
Mason Mountain Mine
Nearest Point of Interest
Whitewater rafting at Nantahala
Nearest Point of Interest
Tubing at Deep Creek
Nearest Point of Interest
The Factory
Car: necessary

White-Water Rafting, Skiing, Canoeing, Fishing, Smoky Mountain Railway, Nantahala Outdoor Center, Great Smoky Mountain National Park, Cherokee Indian Reservation and Casino, Gem Mining, zip lining in Nantahala, or Highlands, U-Pick fruit and vegetables during summer and early fall

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Franklin, North Carolina Mountains

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Fourth of July
30 Jun 2018 - 7 Jul 2018
7 night minimum stay
£855
for 7 nights
£855
 
 
Thanksgiving
17 Nov 2018 - 24 Nov 2018
7 night minimum stay
£855
for 7 nights
£855
 
 
New Year’s Day
29 Dec 2018 - 5 Jan 2019
7 night minimum stay
£855
for 7 nights
£855
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£424
for 3 nights
From
£118
£855
£2,892
 

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £53.43
Cleaning Fee £71.24
Refundable Damage Deposit £142.48
Tax Rate 10.0%

Minimum one week stay over major holidays, July and October. Credit card payments accepted. Checks accepted if received 1 month prior to arrival.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals