Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Direct Beachfront, Superb View, Newly Renovated Kitchen, 3 BDRM

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,675 sq ft
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights


About the property

Condo, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 7)


This is the place to stay if you crave a vacation with a breathtaking view of the ocean and the amenities of family friendly resort living. The unit is on the desirable 'Point', containing the units closest to the beach. Enjoy your ocean view from the living room or master bedroom or while sipping a glass of wine on the balcony. It is an easy walk along the beach or through the town of Bethany Beach to the boardwalk.

Your three bedroom, two bath unit is on the 6th floor of Farragut House in Sea Colony East. This is a beautifully decorated condo with upgraded bathrooms and kitchen, with new appliances. Your unit has a refreshing look with a relaxed, comfortable feel. Each bedroom and The family room comes equipped with a TV, including several high definition TVs in the condo. There are VCRs, a DVD player, and the unit is wired for free internet access, both ethernet and wifi. The kitchen comes fully equipped. Linens and bath towels are included.

Sorry, smoking and pets are not permitted. All guests at Sea Colony are required to pay a recreation fee of $12 to $40 (depending on dates) per person per week over 3 years of age.

Please be aware that we do rent from Sunday to Sunday during the Summer months.

Keywords: Condominium

More Details

Ed and Fran Sexauer
Member since: 2007
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
18 July, 2018

About Ed and Fran Sexauer

My wife, Fran, and I grew up in Pennsylvania (Hershey area and Pittsburgh, respectively) and currently live in the Virginia suburbs of D.C. Fran taught school in Maryland and I worked in the Federal government until retiring. Now I substitute teach in local high school and we both enjoy traveling.

Ed and Fran Sexauer purchased this condo in 1996

Why Ed and Fran Sexauer chose Bethany Beach

After spending many summer vacations at the beach, we decided to buy in Bethany Beach, the area we loved visiting the most. We settled on Sea Colony as the best family resort in the Delaware-Ocean City area and have thoroughly enjoyed it with our children and grandchildren ever since.

What makes this condo unique

Sea Colony is unique among Delaware-Maryland oceanfront properties in its family-friendly atmosphere and in the resort offerings it provides - tennis, indoor and outdoor (heated) pools, fitness centers, private beach, activities programs, etc. Within Sea Colony, our unit is in a prime location - perfect for viewing the beach/ocean as well as the pool and kiddie pool. We love it here.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We're happy to be back here again. The views are beautiful and we noticed the updated kitchen looks great!
Jul 2017
  • 1 of 12


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday condo in Bethany Beach in Sussex County

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 6
Building Type:
  • building
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1675 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00 / Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Lift ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed , 1 Single Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Double Bed
  • Our daughter has frequently brought her pac-n-play along and used it in bedroom 2.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Player
  • Balcony
  • Boat ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Indoor Pool
  • Sauna ...
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • Miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • Parasailing
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Private beach with lifeguards, Two fitness centers and indoor pools, 10 outdoor pools (three heated), 7 kiddie pools, 34 tennis courts, Children's activities, adult fitness sessions in pools and in fitness center


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(15 traveller reviews)

80% Complete
13% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Direct Beachfront, Superb View, Newly Renovated Kitchen, 3 BDRM
average rating of 4.733333 based on 27 reviews

Great stay!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here in June and had a great stay! The condo was well equipped, clean, and well maintained. Oceanfront - can't beat it! We would definitely stay here again :)

  • Review Submitted: 01-Jul-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great beachfront condo

  • 5 of 5

Perfect condo for 4 adults and baby with room to spare. Simple, peaceful furnishings made for a relaxing stay. Updated kitchen. Plenty of seating, dishware, and silverware to eat in for multiple meals. Very easy beach access (with sea colony badges). Sea Colony umbrella and chair rental service made going to the beach a breeze or can borrow from owners closet. Assigned parking was very close to elevators. Easy 0.8 mile walk to the town boardwalk area. Will definitely rent again.

One minor complaint with Sea Colony (not this unit): the pools don’t open until 10.

  • Review Submitted: 25-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Amazing Views of the Beach!

  • 3 of 5

Patio off the family room is great way to listen and relax w ocean views and sounds. Kitchen is updated and the condo is cute. Only fall back is we haven’t been given our security deposit back from VRBO and it’s been 2 weeks.

  • Review Submitted: 11-May-2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: VRBO refunds the security deposit 2 weeks after check out. Our guest checked out of the condo April 30. VRBO has provided the reference number showing it transferred the funds to the authorizing bank on May 14. VRBO indicates that, depending on the bank, refunds may not appear on the guest’s account for up to 5 business days.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Many family memories made

  • 5 of 5

The view was amazing, and hearing the sounds of the waves at night put me right to sleep. Plenty of room for our family of 5 . Beach is dog friendly during the off months, although the condo isn't. We flew kites on the beach and walked to the Boardwalk. The indoor pools are nice, if the weather is bad. We also played basketball during open gym time and the kids had a blast. Plenty of options for things to do as a family. Dunkin Donuts, CVS , Walgreens and several very good restaurants are all within walking distance.

Condo was equipped with all of the kitchen necessities. I'm not super particular when it comes to renting places (so none of this bothered us), but if you are, some things to note......the decor is pretty plain......mostly white. Bedding is dated. Don't forget to bring toilet paper, paper towels, hand soap, and laundry detergent/dryer sheets (if you plan to use the washer/dryer). Overall we loved our stay here. You can't find a better location with so many amenities included, especially when going during the off season (Late March). The owners were great, I emailed them with a few questions, and they got back to me very quickly. You can tell they want their guests to have a great time!

My only word of caution would be with the stairs in the complex. We had some cold weather, then a swing in temperatures to warmer weather. We decided to use the stairs one day and because of the temperature change there was a layer of moisture on the stairs, which made them extremely slippery......needless to say, I took a spill down a full flight of stairs. Fyi.....the elevators work just fine, so I recommend using them and skip trying to get the extra exercise.

  • Review Submitted: 21-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Just to clarify, the Sea Colony Resort does not permit renters to bring dogs onto the property at any time. Owners are permitted to have dogs at Sea Colony, but only after producing evidence that their dog has met certain health criteria. Also, owners' dogs must wear a tag issued by Sea Colony. We are comfortable with our neutral decor, which we feel is relaxing for our vacations at the beach. The bedding is our taste and we do replace it every few years. We notified Sea Colony management of your comments concerning moisture on the stairs at the complex. We are confident they will take the appropriate steps to address this issue. We will add language to our rental agreement specifying that paper products are not provided.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Gorgeous Bethany condo! Great experience

  • 5 of 5

We headed to Bethany Beach for an impromptu partial week vacation and this lovely Sea Colony unit caught our eye. Beautifully decorated, bright and comfortable with a spectacular view of the ocean, we were completely at home! The kitchen is newly renovated with quality appliances which made it a real pleasure to use. (Last year we rented a condo on the Gulf Coast and the dishwasher was a cheap model and interminably loud. What a difference!)

Sea Colony has a private beach in front of the property, and with the cold weather, it was odd to have the whole beach to ourselves but we'll take it! So restful. Since it was off-season, most of the pools were closed, of course. We made a brief visit at the indoor pool/hot tub next door at Edgewater -- under the watchful supervision of a lifeguard -- kinda strange to us since we're used to "Swim at your own risk" pools.

As pointed out in the property description, Sea Colony assesses a mandatory recreation fee per person (over 4 years old), per week. Being the off-season, our fees were $12 per person. We're not tennis players so essentially, it was $36 to use the hot tub for 10 minutes but whatcha gonna do?! :-) Just keep in mind that you'll need to pay the fees in addition to the property rental. Outside of Sea Colony, we found a surprising lot to do in the extended area -- such a terrific visit!

Ed was fast to respond to our last minute request and got us all of our documents electronically to make our weekend happen. Wonderful communication. Ed and Fran have created a fantastic getaway at Bethany -- we would not hesitate to return in the future!

  • Review Submitted: 10-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very well kept and designed space. New renovated kitchen is very nice.

  • 5 of 5

This was perfect for a chick's weekend away! Plenty of bedroom space and bathrooms were well acquainted for our purposes.

We enjoyed relaxing and the ocean views were so picturesque!

My only complaint was the charges for the badges which give you access to the pool, tennis courts, and other services offered by condos. As it was Nov. we did not use any of these and felt like this was an unnecessary charge.

  • Review Submitted: 31-Dec-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments. The Sea Colony Recreational Association charges a fee to all renters ages 4 and over. The fee is totally independent of the rent for the condo. The Recreational Association fee is charged for all use of the common areas at Sea Colony, such as the fitness center, the many indoor and outdoor ocean and west side pools and tennis courts, the beach, etc. The fee is paid at check-in and currently ranges from a low of $12.00 per person in the off season to a high of $40.00 per person in the high season.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Barpub
75 Metres
The Boathouse
Nearest Ferry
25 Miles
Lewes Delaware to New Jersey
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Beartrap Dunes
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
Cottage Cafe
Nearest Beach
20 Metres
Sea Colony Beach
Car: recommended

The Bethany Beach area is known as "The Quiet Resort," the destination for many families beach vacations. Sea Colony is a leisurely 10 -15 minute walk into the center of town. While the focus is on the beach, there are many other activities available. There are a lot of restaurants to choose from, with seafood being the local specialty. Golf courses are within easy drives, some being dunes-type courses, and a smaller course is close by at the Salt Pond. Miniature golf courses abound. Pontoon, kayaks for eco tours, and other boats can be rented by the hour for the bay and deep-sea or headboats are available. In addition to the children's programs at Sea Colony, there are amusement parks that also have water-oriented attractions nearby in Ocean City, where you can find a large boardwalk.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday condo in Bethany Beach, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
1 Jul 2018 - 18 Aug 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
19 Aug 2018 - 25 Aug 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
26 Aug 2018 - 1 Sep 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
2 Sep 2018 - 6 Oct 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
7 Oct 2018 - 31 Dec 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights

Additional pricing information

Property Damage Protection £45
Refundable Damage Deposit £152.54

Linens and towels are included in the rates. We have no additional fees, taxes or charges. However, the Sea Colony Recreation Association charges all Sea Colony renters 4 years of age or older a fee for the use of the Common Areas (the fitness center, pools, tennis courts, etc.). This fee is payable at check-in and ranges per person from $12 in the Low Season to $40 in the Summer.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question

You might like these similar holiday rentals