HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Old Town Spacious Very Central 2 Bedroom Apartment With Parking

Bedrooms 2
Space 1 sq ft
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 6 nights


About the property

Calton 2 Bedroom Apartment Old Town With Parking

A lovely, light and airy loft apartment on two floors This spacious apartment is situated in a prestigious courtyard development with a lovely outlook towards Holyrood Abbey, the Canongate Kirk Manse garden and Arthur's Seat.

This apartment has 2 bedrooms (1 double room ,1 twin room )and can be made to a king if requested when booking)and a dedicated parking space (free),the apartment is situated on Calton Road,on the 3rd floor of Buchanan Court, (sorry no lift)

Close to Holyrood Palace Royal Mile and the Scottish parliament

Check in from 2.30pm -930 ( later check ins by arrangement only) charges apply after this time and by arrangement only

check out by 10.30am or before

an extra night can be booked if an early check in or late departure required

A refundable damage deposit is refunded via home away

No smoking

More Details

About Us

jayne Ciancia
48 Wakefield Ave , Edinburgh
EH7 6TL Edinburgh
VAT Reg No

Property Manager
Jayne Ciancia
Member since: 2010
Speaks English, Italian
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
2 April, 2018


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Old Town in Edinburgh

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 3
Building Type:
  • building
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 14:30
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:30
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Max. adults: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Not suitable for children
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • city centre
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed , the single beds can be made to a king size on request
  • Television
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • ice skating


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(6 traveller reviews)

83% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
Old Town Spacious Very Central 2 Bedroom Apartment With Parking
average rating of 4.5 based on 6 reviews

Great Apartment in Edinburgh

  • 5 of 5

This apartment is conveniently located a short walk from Waverly Train Station and a block off the Royal Mile. A quiet retreat with a 5 to 15 minute walk to many of Edinburgh's activities and restaurants. Took us about 30 minutes to amble up to Edinburgh Castle. We loved the music at the Canon Gait, the scones at Mimi's and two dinners at Bella Italia--all on the Royal Mile and minutes from our apartment. Parliament, with its lovely gift shop, and Holyrood Castle are also in the neighborhood. On one day we saw Queen Elizabeth enter Parliament, watched a parade and marched in a parade.

This unit has been recently renovated, except for the bathroom. I assume that will be next. High end kitchen appliances were more complex than I was inclined to deal with, but I figured out how to operate the microwave, which is all we really needed. Loved the electric kettle and French Press coffee maker. Also appreciated the free Wi-Fi and cable television. We watched the news channels when at home because we arrived the day after the Brexit vote, but the numerous other channels available should satisfy most renters' interests. Unit was clean and had lovey views over rooftops to surrounding hills. Check-in and check-out ran flawlessly. My damage deposit was refunded within hours of our leaving. I would absolutely rent this unit again.

The only drawback for older renters or those with young children is the fact that it is a three-story walk up. I was traveling with my 15-year old grandson, so he was able to easily bring up my suitcase.

  • Review Submitted: 08-Jul-2016
  • Date of Stay: June 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to review the apartment our best wishes Jayne Ciancia
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

beautiful location, accs facilitated, very clean and very well equipped apartment. A very beautiful address to Edinburgh whom I strongly recommend

  • Review Submitted: 23-Mar-2016
  • Date of Stay: March 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
London UK

A great disappointment

  • 2 of 5

This flat appeared to have everything we wanted - excellent location, quiet, secure parking, wi-fi etc. Unfortunately it was a great worry. We were told that the key we had to the flat (an ordinary Yale) was the same key that opened the door to the block of 12 flats. There was another lock on our door but we had no key for that. We realised that anyone living or staying in the block could open the door to our flat! As we had expensive jewellery and photographic equipment with us we were very worried about leaving it there. The flat was badly maintained - the tap on the two kitchen sinks came out of the sink when swivelled (it was the wrong type of tap); the very heavy mirror door in one bedroom came off the rails when moved (we stopped using that wardrobe); many light switches did not work and there were no central lights in the bed rooms - just bedside lights so one had to grope across the room in the dark in the evening to put the light on; many ordinary things were missing e.g. no bread bin , no small bowl {I had to mix scrambled eggs in a cup ). The information for the flat was out of date and I found the instructions for the appliances (cooker, dishwasher etc. by chance 4 days into the holiday.The Manager was pleasant and appeared helpful but the whole experience was quite distressing.

  • Review Submitted: 22-Oct-2015
  • Date of Stay: October 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review and your concerns but also of the advantages you have marked up as well excellent location, quiet, secure parking, wi-fi plus you forgot about the very good mattress in the apartment being ,clean and plenty of towels and the meet and greet service and being helpfull by carrying your bags up to the apartment for you I am sorry you thought you had a concern with the locking sty-em which is called a suite and the key does open the main block door but is very clever and only opens the apartment door only and does not open any other door as you did not let me know of your concerns i could not explain this to you during your stay With regards the kitchen ,( the tap did need tightening up,) but the whole kitchen is in the process getting replaced next month November along with full electrics in the apartment The information for the appliances was in a folder in the kitchen drawer and fully visible but you may have missed it sorry that you had a problem with the sliding mirror door we have not had a problem before but again i would have come over to put it right We do have a large container with a lid to keep bread etc and large items but not a dedicated bin but will rectify this there are mixing bowls and a large glass measure jug also good for eggs expensive jewellery and photographic equipment should not be left in any hotel room or apartment for insurance concerns but i understand your concerns at the time regards
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great location, great apartment

  • 5 of 5

So we opted for a holiday let property instead of a hotel for the first time. I fear we will never stay in a hotel again going by the experience we had. What a great open plan living space!! Everything and more than you could possibly need, so so comfortable. Great beds, free wi fi, big tv, soft sheets and towels and a dining table to sit with the family.

The location is ideal, we didn't use the car all weekend and were able to walk everywhere. The Edinburgh bus tours also stop at the bottom of the road. I think we will be back soon! Many thanks!!

  • Review Submitted: 06-Oct-2014
  • Date of Stay: September 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Fantastic Apartment Right in The Heart of Old Town

  • 5 of 5

Superb apartment and a great location only enhanced by our hosts special attension to those small details that make all the difference, such as fresh milk for tea and coffee, small bottles of wine and snacks as well as fresh flowers which my wife loved.

We had a fantastic time in Edinburgh and the apartment was very spacious and homely, so convenient for most things that a tourist in Edinburgh is looking for as it's just a few short steps from The Royal Mile and all that has to offer.

We will defiantly return and cannot fault the flat or our host Jayne who was brilliant and made everything so easy for us, if you are thinking of visiting Edinburgh I cannot recommend this apartment enough, what a difference from staying in a hotel! :)

  • Review Submitted: 06-Oct-2014
  • Date of Stay: June 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great Location

  • 5 of 5

We were very please with our stay in this apartment. The apartment is bright and airy and was spotlessly clean. The apartment is located in a secure quiet block and is walking distance from all the main tourist attractions. We would highly recommend *****

  • Review Submitted: 12-Sep-2014
  • Date of Stay: September 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review and we hope you enjoyed your stay in Edinburgh regards
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Car: not necessary


Prices & Availability

Ask Manager a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £40
Damage Deposit £100

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.

You might like these similar holiday rentals