HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Sunset, sunrise and waves crashing...

People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,800 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 31 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

This romantic oceanfront home in Santa Barbara sits on a bluff near the lighthouse with panoramic views of the channel Islands and the Pacific Ocean. The beach side of the house is all windows where one can sit and watch the whales pass by and the dolphins play. The deck provides panoramic 180 degree views of the beach, perfect for watching sunsets. Stairs to the beach are only a block away.

The house is open and spacious with vaulted ceilings and a beautiful kitchen providing all the necessary appliances, granite counter tops and space needed to create beautiful meals.

The location is just one and a half miles from the marina, which marks the beginning of the downtown area. From the Cliffside deck during the summer on Wednesday nights you can watch the sailing races turn about the windward mark (located in line with the house) and blow their spinnaker.

Santa Barbara's downtown is known as a great place for a romantic get-away with fine dinning, great shopping and an active night life. Even the mountains are only 5 miles away and have some spectacular hikes, views, and Indian cave paintings. The sound of the ocean waves at night will lull you to sleep in this ocean retreat.

A 37 foot motor yacht is available for charter and for sunset cruises.

For large groups, The Ocean Oasis can be rented in conjunction with the vacation rental next door. To view this home, please go to VRBO property #242803

Keywords: House

More Details

Owner
Juliet Wilkins
Member since: 1998
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
6 July, 2017

Why Juliet Wilkins chose Santa Barbara

This is my favorite property. The property goes down to the high tide mark, but retains it's safety and seclusion. The grove of Eucalyptus and the ocean make it a zone of comfort.

What makes this house unique

It has a unique elevated view of the ocean. The dolphins have chosen the fishing hole at about 10 O'clock as their routine fishing grounds. They are in front of the house as a routine presence. It is very unique and grounding experience. During whale migration, the females and children run the kelp bed in front of the house. They are right there where you cn hear them exhale.

Guestbook comments from the owner

From the moment we opened the front door we were transfixed by the call of the ocean. Two of the three bedrooms had ocean views and we could hear the waves lulling us into relaxation. The Oceanside yard had three great areas to "hang out"...one for sunrise...one for sunset and once the sun had set the alcove of the home was complete with stand up heating unit that made watching the stars and listening to the sound of the ocean super comfortable...AMAZING night time reality. To our surprise the house had been improved beyond the photos provided. We loved our stay! Thanks much to Brian and Juliet who took care of the snaffew we incurred!
May 2010
  • 1 of 1

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in The Mesa (Beach Area) in Santa Barbara

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered ...
  • not suitable for children ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Mountain View ...
  • near the sea ...
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront ...
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Bath with Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Ocean View Master
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 2nd Bedroom with Ocean View
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , Streetside Bedroom with Queen
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Player
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Jacuzzi ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • Horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • Shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • Parasailing
  • Racquetball
  • Rock Climbing
  • sailing
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
65' Flat Screen LCD HDTV, Cable, Full kitchen with 5 burner Gas range/ Microwave/ Dishwasher/ Dual Oven, Large Jacuzzi tub, High end massage chair

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(15 traveller reviews)

66% Complete
6% Complete
13% Complete
0% Complete
13% Complete
Sunset, sunrise and waves crashing...
average rating of 4.133333 based on 16 reviews
5

Breath Taking Ocean Front Views - Nature Lovers Stay Here!

  • 5 of 5

Thank you so much for the opportunity to stay at your amazing ocean front property! We have fallen in love! What a wonderful, relaxed vacation we had--we got to see so many beautiful sunsets & sunrises, enjoy the full moon, watch the dolphin play in the waves, watch the seals (or sea lions?) chill in the seaweed, listen to the waves as we fell asleep...as well as explore Santa Barbara. I also saw an outstanding meteorite!! So cool.

We will definitely be asking to stay there again! Sooner rather than later.

It was so wonderful opening the front door the first time--the ocean hits you instantly through all of the windows. I was happy to find that the home looked like the pictures and it was nice & clean when we got there. So clean, in fact, that we took extra care to leave it clean & tidy for them before we left.

Thank you for sharing your home with us Juliet & Brian!!

  • Review Submitted: Nov 30, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Beautiful garden, dirty house and poorly maintained

  • 3 of 5

We loved the view and the garden, the location is also great.

Unfortunately the house is poorly maintened and need to be renewed.

The price we payed for the 5 days was far to much! The owner should take the house of the market so they can have it renewed.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 6, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This guest incurred, likely by accident but nonetheless, more than $1500 dollars in damage. As anyone would be, he was very unhappy when we did not return the damage deposit. Personally I would have preferred to return the money and not had the hassle of repairing the damage. To our future guests...Our pictures accurately depict the state of the home. I have commented in earlier posts that I would LOVE to remodel my home. It is going to happen soon but...really ?... to be told this by a guest who chose my home based on the recent photos... It really hurts my feelings. We have weekly maid staff and ALWAYS go above and beyond in our efforts to clean the house to its best prior to a rental. When we remodel, if we choose to rent this home, the costs will go up significantly. So enjoy it for what, and where it is. Be thankful you can, for the time being, rent a home such as this. Santa Barbara is considering disallowing short term rentals in this area, likely due to big hotel lobbyists. If they succeed you will have fewer options for your families to come and enjoy the American Riviera. If you choose to rent our home please know I will do everything in my power to assure a clean and relaxing environment.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Porter Ranch, CA
5

A slice of heaven on earth is found here.

  • 5 of 5

Paradise!!! The photos in this VRBO are spot on. We enjoyed sitting on every one of the three levels that are the backyard. The ocean, the breeze, the sounds and environment of this exquisite setting are truly a prescription for any kind of stress relief. The succulents are everywhere and they are almost as beautiful as the view? Anything and everything we required for an amazing time was provided. The walks on the beach below were as enjoyable as our relaxation sitting quietly on the decks. We are looking forward to returning every year from here on. Truly a place designed for communing with God, nature and loved ones!!!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 10, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
Kensington,California
5

Beautiful Home on Mesa Cliff overlooking the Channel Islands

  • 5 of 5

We gathered in Santa Barbara for Christmas this year because our daughter is working there.

The owners were very responsive to our needs, and modest about the Christmas decorations, which were extremely tasteful. The house was very clean and well equipped.

The house is lovely and open, but the most beautiful feature is the multi-level seating areas in the back garden to enjoy the sunrise, sunsets, dolphin sightings, and beach below. There are heat lamps and fire pits that make morning coffee and evenings spectacular!

Yes, the house is not cheap, but I would say that in every sense you get what you pay for! I would not hesitate to recommend this house to a friend and would very much look forward to staying there again.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 18, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
Berkeley, CA
5

Gorgeous home in perfect Santa Barbara location for a heavenly beach vacation!

  • 5 of 5

We rented this house for a week from Christmas to after New Year's, and it FAR exceeded our expectations! The home was absolutely beautiful, comfortable, plenty big enough for our family of 5 and had everything we needed and more. Some of the highlights were the gorgeous views of the ocean (we saw dolphins playing every day!), the backyard and patios that were great for hanging out, the proximity to the beach (just few minutes walk to get to miles and miles of beautiful beaches), and also the nearness to downtown Santa Barbara, the Harbor (for nice dinners and shopping) and also UCSB, where our daughter plans to go to school next year. The owners were also very nice and extremely responsive to our questions and requests.

I highly recommend this house and can't say enough positive things about it, the owners, or our stay in Santa Barbara. We will definitely want to go again soon! It was a little bit of paradise, like Hawaii only a lot closer for us.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 12, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
3

Our stay over New Year's

  • 3 of 5

We are a family of four, with children ages 9 and 11. We researched the house extensively and saw such differing reviews. Hopefully, we can shed some light. Also, we have rented approximately 15 houses over time.

Here are the pros:

1) The view is outstanding. The house is perched on a cliff over the water. The sunsets were spectacular.

2) The garden makes a lovely living area with a fire pit, comfortable seating & gorgeous succulents. The owners must be terrific gardeners.

3) The location is central ...convenient to great restaurants, high end grocery shopping and tennis courts.

4) The Xbox and massage chair were bit hits with my children.

Here are the cons:

1). The house needs a top to bottom scrub down. The blankets in the closets had hair (pet?) and smelled pretty bad.

2) The kitchen is oversold in the write up. Once again, a good cleaning is needed. In the morning, it took pulling out a few coffee cups to find one that looked clean enough (coffee grounds in cups). It was dodgy with the silverware as well...sometimes forks and spoons had food remnants. It is all totally acceptable mess as long as it is your own home and not a rental.

In short, we had a really nice vacation in the home. However, given the price, I am not sure that we would rent this home again.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 14, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
15 0

Location

Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Leadbetter Beach

Whale Watching from the house, Golf at world-class courses nearby, Great Surfing less than a mile away, Kayaking, Boating just a mile and a half away at the Marina, Fantastic Snorkeling & SCUBA Diving in the Channel Islands, and sight seeing, See attached links to Santa Barbara websites

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in The Mesa (Beach Area), Santa Barbara County

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
31 night minimum stay
£15,436
for 31 nights
£14,947
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £186.46
Damage Insurance £76.91

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable