Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Restored house in the heart of the Loire Valley at the gates of Amboise

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,076 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


About the property

nice house in a beautiful old house with two floors for 5 People

Your cottage, a beautiful restored house that was once a farrier, is located in the town center of a charming village on the outskirts of Amboise, one of the highlights of the Loire Valley. Its vast rooms will offer you an ideal comfort and its small courtyard will allow you, in the beautiful season, to enjoy pleasant evenings barbecue. At about 150 m from the house, the castle park open to the public will be an ideal place for relaxation and relaxation after your days of visits. Amboise, Chenonceau, Clos Lucé, Blois, Chaumont, Chambord are so close! A little further, the Zooparc Beauval, Cheverny, Villandry also enrich your stay in Touraine. For fine dining, local gastronomy (many famous restaurants await you) and internationally renowned wines (Chinon, Bourgueil, St Nicolas ...). The Loire à Vélo is also nearby and will allow you to savor the magnificent landscapes offered by the Royal River.

Maud Tessier
Member since: 2016
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks French
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
18 September, 2018


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage around the Pocé-sur-Cisse around the Indre-et-Loire

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1076 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • village
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 5 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • - 1 Large Double Bed
    - 3 Single Bed
  • Books
  • Games
  • Television
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • eco tourism
  • walking


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(23 traveller reviews)

60% Complete
30% Complete
4% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
Restored house in the heart of the Loire Valley at the gates of Amboise
average rating of 4.478261 based on 23 reviews
West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

Spacious and felt like home

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here with our three teenage boys at the half way point of our two week trip to France. This was a perfect place for our family to stay. The property is very spacious, and had plenty room for all of us to spread out and relax. Our boys especially liked the loft area to relax in. When they wanted their own space, they could relax in the bedroom on the top floor, which had plenty of room for all three of them to spread out. The house is beautifully decorated and very welcoming. Location was great, just down the street we walked to a bakery. It is centrally located to the many castles that we visited during our stay. The traffic gets a little busy after work hours, but there was very little, if any traffic later in the evenings, and we had no trouble getting a great night's sleep. Maud was very kind and great to work with. We definitely recommend.

  • Review Submitted: 14-Jul-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: thank you Michelle, it was a very good experience for me to welcome you, you were very kind.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful little restored cottage

  • 5 of 5

We had a great experience in Pocé-sur-Cisse (near Amboise) staying at Maud's cottage. She was on time and very gracious to our family when we arrived. The house was tastefully furnished, with sufficient furniture, but not crowded. The kitchen was well supplied with dishes and cookware, and was very clean. A small courtyard on the side of the house provided a pleasant place for dinner or breakfast. In fact, everything in the house was clean and well organized. This was one of those rare properties with floors so clean that we left our shoes at the door. We appreciated the fresh towels and bed linens (included in the price). Having a clothes washer was convenient, and the property had two bathrooms. A little alcove/playroom off of the stairs was perfect for playing board games and reading books in the evening. Although situated in front of a roundabout, the town and road are so quiet that we barely noticed any traffic, and were able to sleep soundly with the windows open for a nice breeze. It was less than a 5 minute drive to the nearest boulangerie, charcuterie, and marché. Supposedly there was also a boulangerie a 2 minute walk down the road, but it failed to open during our stay (contrary to its posted hours). Free parking was also a 2 minute walk. Sights (such as the Château d'Amboise) were a 15 minute drive. I would gladly stay here again!

  • Review Submitted: 06-Jul-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Une famille très sympathique que j’accueille de nouveau avec grand plaisir !
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Arnprior, Ontario

not recommended, right on main road

  • 2 of 5

First, the directions and address given were wrong so it took us a while to find it. The owner was away and the person we were told to contact was not reachable at that time so we had to wait. The house is right on a main corner of the village and on a roundabout, so very busy traffic area. Because you are on the main street, privacy on the main floor is an issue unless you keep the shutters closed at all times. The person showing us the house was very abrupt and laughed when we asked for a second dishwasher pod as there was only 1 provided for 4 nights stay. Both toilets run so she asked us to turn off and on the tap everytime we used the toilets!! House is sparcely decorated. Outside sitting area is miniscule, dirty and next to the garbage cans. All in all not recommended and we have stayed in many better Home Away locations.

  • Review Submitted: 26-May-2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am quite surprised by your comment, I was indeed not there to welcome you however everything was organized with the person who greeted you. the address is the one indicated on the site so I do not understand, what address did you have? for your arrival you had obviously had network problems with your phone because we tried to call you and the person received your message well after your sending. you had to wait about 5 minutes and we apologized and it's not really our fault. for the cottage there is no surprise to have since it is well noted in the announcement that it is a town house and in the photos we see that there is a small crossroads, but it is a village and not a big city so there is no passage non stop. for decoration never anyone complained, on the contrary I was rather compliments, but I understand that it may not be to your liking. for the terrace it is small but it is seen in the photos, and the bins are normally stored in the cabin. I also remind you that we are a gite and not a bed and breakfast so we have no obligation to provide tablets for every day, we give a starter kit with trash bag, 1 tablet dishwasher , coffee filters, toilet paper ... and especially you have washing up liquid available! You are the first travelers to leave me plenty of dirty dishes at your departure, we had to do it!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great :Loire Location

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay. The location close to Amboise was ideal. It was easy to visit all the Chateaus we wanted to see.

  • Review Submitted: 24-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Très agréable séjour

  • 5 of 5

Pour visiter châteaux et caves,nous cherchions un hébergement bien situé.Celui-ci a répondu à toutes nos attentes car il offre toutes les commodités, est très propre et l'accueil est particulièrement chaleureux.

Nous n'hésiterons pas à le recommander!

  • Review Submitted: 03-Sep-2018
  • Date of Stay: August 2018
  • Source: Abritel, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Maison très sympathique mais un peu bruyante (surtout quand il fait chaud)

  • 3 of 5

Nous avons choisi cette maison pour sa situation idéale pour visiter les chateaux de la Loire. Le logis refait à neuf et très bien équipé (il manquait juste une pelle pour nettoyer le barbecue) et avec une petite terrasse bien sympathique pour le petit déjeuner et le repas du soir. Nous pouvons juste regretter le bruit de la route notamment avec les fenetres ouvertes et l'absence de rideaux occultant la lumière dans la chambre. Dernier point, la 2e chambre en mezzanine est peu adaptée pour des adultes.

  • Review Submitted: 09-Jul-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: Abritel, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dommage que vous ne m ayez pas dit cela lorsque je vous l’avez demandé. Cependant je trouve qu en effet pour un séjour de plus de 4 nuits c’est moins adapté pour 2 couples mais davantage adapté pour une seule famille. Concernant la position du gîte ça reste en effet dans un petit bourg de campagne avec plus de passages que sur un gîte isolé , pour nombreuses personnes cela ne dérange pas mais je vous comprends et prends en considération vos remarques. Par contre je tiens vraiment à vous remercier d’avoir laissé le gîte dans un état impeccable, c’est très rare.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £43.49
Refundable Damage Deposit £88.76

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar holiday rentals