HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Top Iceland Location - Walk To Geysir - Lovely Spacious Cottage - New 2014

People8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 1,076 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Popular Features
  • Internet
  • Parking
  • Barbecue

Overview

About the property

Lovely, Spacious 100 m2. 2 Bedrooms & Loft. Sleeps 6 Plus. Geothermal Hot Tub

Geysir Valley Cottage is perfectly located on the world famous Golden Circle route. It is nestled in a beautiful secluded nature valley at the edge of the amazing highland wilderness with its mountains and glaciers. A beautiful river runs through the valley. It's an easy 15 minute walk around the mountain to the Geysir Hot Spring and Geothermal area, with its great restaurants, shops, golf and hotel.

The warm and spacious Geysir Valley Cottage is ideal for summer or winter stays. The cottage has 2 bedrooms, a large sleeping loft open to the living room, bathroom w/shower and a fully equipped kitchen w/dishwasher. There is a cozy geothermal hot tub on the outdoor deck. It can easily sleep 6 people with available bedding for even larger groups.

It's an accessible 75 minute drive from Reykjavik, right on the Golden Circle route. You will be conveniently close to all the greatest natural attractions including the beautiful and historical Thingvellir (30 minute drive) and the majestic Gullfoss waterfall (10 minute drive) as well as the Geysir area (15 minutes walk) and the edge of the Highland Wilderness (only a 15 minute drive (starting just above Gullfoss).

Other SW Iceland attractions are all within short reach of easy day trips, including the Eyjafjallajökull volcano, the Vestmannaeyjar volcanic islands, numerous waterfalls, hiking areas, pony treks, river rafting and glacier trips.

A number of trips and activities, such as the snowmobile trips to the Langjökull glacier can be booked and leave from the nearby Geysir or Gullfoss tourist centres.

The valley itself and the surrounding area is a wonderland of mountains, woodlands and rivers , great for hiking.

A luxurious soaking in the geothermal hot tub is a must after your days of sightseeing... In spring and summer the bright and magical nights are filled with birdsong and sounds of the rivers in the valley, and in the dark of winter, the stars and the Northern lights will twinkle and dance above your head.

There are grocery shops in the nearby towns of Reykholt, Flúðir, and Laugarvatn (12-30 minute drives) and some basic necessities (i.e. milk, beverages, snacks) at the Geysir shop around the corner.

More Details

Property Manager
Ragnheidur
Member since: 2014
Speaks English, French, Swedish, Danish, Norwegian
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
9 May, 2017

About Ragnheidur

My name is Ragnheidur Oskarsdottir. I live in Reykjavik with my husband and children and grandkids.

My summers as a kid (and since!) were spent in the great outdoors of Iceland, hiking and fly-fishing.

Feel free to contact me about anything I can help you with related to your stay.

Ragnheidur purchased this cottage in 2008

Why Ragnheidur chose Iceland

My family had a cottage in this part of the country when I was a kid. It's a fantastic area with all the varieties of nature and close to some of my favourite spots in Iceland.

What makes this cottage unique

The cottage is comfortable and warm. It is heated with water from a local geothermal drilling hole which is owned by the farmer up in the valley.

It has lots of room, it's accessible in the wintertime and has great views. You can even see the tip of Hekla volcano towards the south-east. The perfect place to unwind.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage on West on Iceland

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1076 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • mountain
  • rural
  • waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Open sleeping loft - 1 Double Bed , 2 Sofa bed/Futon
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Deck Furniture
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Barbecue
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • duty free shops
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(20 traveller reviews)

Top Iceland Location - Walk To Geysir - Lovely Spacious Cottage - New 2014
average rating of 4.8 based on 20 reviews
5

A superb cottage in a breathtaking location

  • 5 of 5

Our family of six adults and one child had a very comfortable stay at the cottage. We always looked forward to getting back everyday. It is very spacious, and has everything needed for self catering and just relaxing and enjoying the surroundings. In the time that we spent at the cottage, we never saw another person, only two vehicles, so it was lovely and private. The owner was very communicative way before we went, and even now when we are back home.

  • Review Submitted: May 16, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Medway, MA
5

Gracious Host

  • 5 of 5

I am writing a different kind of review for this property that relates to the host and not our stay here (as we never actually did). Through the reservation process, Ragnheidur was timely in replying to my requests for information and answers to my questions...a real pleasure to interact with from 4,000 kilometers away! There was a change in the reservation at the last minute that was entirely out of Ragnheidur's control but of which he informed me right away. He provided me options including the option to issue me a full refund which was completely unexpected given the circumstances. Please book with this host with confidence...integrity, honesty, candor, and graciousness are words that come to mind when I think about the experience with him throughout.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 4, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Euless, TX
5

Fantastic Getaway with Wonderful Owners!

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely loved our "home away from home." We stayed here for our honeymoon. The hot tub was unfortunately out of service at the last moment, but the owners were really accomodating to our needs, and made it worth the while. We loved it. Would stay here again.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 20, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for staying and taking such excellent care of the house. We really appreciate it :) Welcome back! Best, Ragnheidur
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Disappointed. Not as expected

  • 2 of 5

The house is in a great location and provided an excellent base for our week long stay. Our disappointment was in the condition of the house. We learned after our arrival that the hot tub was not functional. This was a huge letdown. We clearly were expecting to have a hot tub as described. The house was not clean....in fact quite unacceptable ...and we considered leaving, but were unable to find another place on such short notice. The beds had soiled linen. The loft was a cluttered mess with no linens on the beds and the space was not useable. There were no spare linens in the house for us to use.

The owner was responsive and apologetic. I wish she would have immediately send a housekeeper to tend to our concerns. Though the week we never did get clean sheets. The owner gracefully discounted our rate which I appreciate.

Again, this is a great location in a beautiful place. I expect there will be a new housekeeper!

  • Review Submitted: Mar 10, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review. But oh dear, there was an unfortunate series of events conspiring here, which we apologized for to our guests. The geothermal hot water system in the valley was acting up, it's been a struggle for quite a while, so we had to have the hot tub decommissioned. Our regular housekeeping service was unfortunately off and their replacement not up to par. We ourselves were out of the country so things could and should have been better. Our normal standards are surely a lot higher as evidenced by the other reviews here. But we were kind of taken aback by finding that the house had been left unlocked after the visit, a harsh departure but in line with the harsh review. We learn from this.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Place for a true Iceland Experience

  • 5 of 5

We had a fantastic time in this cottage, quite literally walking distance from the Geysir. Owners were incredibly accommodating and always available if we had questions. Highly recommend this place to anyone - we did day trips to Vik and Grindavik, as well as stops around the Golden Circle and it was the perfect location. Thanks again for having us!

  • Review Submitted: Mar 7, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice review. Welcome back:)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Minneapolis, MN
4

Very cute home

  • 4 of 5

This home is adorable! The kitchen provides most everything you might need. If you plan to. She anything, you'll need to grab an aluminum pan from the grocery store. The bedrooms are great size but be specific about how many you plan to use, they assumed my mom and I were a couple (I selected 2 adults) and they only dressed one of the beds with no extra sheets in the house. The location is great for the geysir and falls and not too far from reykjavik, about 45 minutes.

The owner was quick to respond to questions but never offered to bring extra sheets so what you see is what you get. We're the location more central to the golden circle I would consider staying again, but might choose something further south or closer to Reykjavik next time.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Airport
145 Kilometres
Keflavik
Nearest Barpub
15 Kilometres
Geysir
Nearest Ferry
115 Kilometres
Vestmannaeyjar
Nearest Golf
15 Kilometres
Geysir
Nearest Motorway
0.9 Kilometres
Highway 35
Nearest Restaurant
15 Kilometres
Geysir
Car: recommended

The Geysir Valley Cottage is perfectly located on the magnificent Golden Circle route. It is nestled in a beautiful secluded nature valley right at the edge of the amazing highland wilderness with its mountains and glaciers. A beautiful river runs through the valley. It's an easy 15 minute walk to the Geysir Hot Spring and Geothermal area, with its restaurants, shops, golf and hotel. A car is recommended for exploring the numerous sites and activities in the area. In winter a 4 wheel drive car is usually necessary.

The warm and spacious Geysir Valley Cottage is a 75 minute drive from Reykjavik, right on the Golden Circle route. You will be conveniently close to all the greatest natural attractions of South Iceland. Thingvellir is only a 30 minute drive and the majestic Gullfoss waterfall only 10 minutes away. The Geysir geothermal area is literally around the corner, only a 15 minute walk and the edge of the Highland Wilderness just a 15 minute drive starting just above Gullfoss.

Other South Iceland attractions are all within short reach of easy day trips, including glacier trips, the Eyjafjallajökull volcano, the Vestmannaeyjar volcanic islands, numerous waterfalls, hiking areas, pony treks, and river rafting.

A number of trips and activities, such as the snowmobile trips to the Langjökull glacier can be booked and leave from the nearby Geysir or Gullfoss tourist centres.

The valley itself and the surrounding area, with its mountains, woodlands and rivers is also great for hiking.

After a day of sightseeing dip right into a relaxing geothermal hot tub... in spring and summer when the bright and magical still nights are filled with birdsong and sounds of the rivers in the valley, or in the dark of winter, when the stars and the Northern lights twinkle and dance above your head.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage on West, Europe

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
High season/summer 2017
22 May 2017 - 10 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
£499
for 3 nights
From
£142
From
£155
Fri,Sat,Sun
£1,070
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £8 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£448
for 3 nights
From
£125
From
£134
Fri,Sat,Sun
£1,011
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £8 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £75.8
Cleaning & laundry £71.59

Extra cleaning and laundry fee is €85
Booking deposit is 1/3 of the rental fee. The balance is required 15 days before arrival.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

Special Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar holiday rentals