HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Top Iceland Location - Walk To Geysir - Lovely Spacious Cottage - New 2014

People8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 1,076 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Lovely, Spacious 100 m2. 2 Bedrooms & Loft. Sleeps 6 Plus.

Geysir Valley Cottage is perfectly located on the world famous Golden Circle route. It is nestled in a beautiful secluded nature valley at the edge of the amazing highland wilderness with its mountains and glaciers. A beautiful river runs through the valley. It's an easy 15 minute walk around the mountain to the Geysir Hot Spring and Geothermal area, with its great restaurants, shops, golf and hotel.

The warm and spacious Geysir Valley Cottage is ideal for summer or winter stays. The cottage has 2 bedrooms, a large sleeping loft open to the living room, bathroom w/shower and a fully equipped kitchen w/dishwasher. It can easily sleep 6 people with available bedding for even larger groups.

It's an accessible 75 minute drive from Reykjavik, right on the Golden Circle route. You will be conveniently close to all the greatest natural attractions including the beautiful and historical Thingvellir (30 minute drive) and the majestic Gullfoss waterfall (10 minute drive) as well as the Geysir area (15 minutes walk) and the edge of the Highland Wilderness (only a 15 minute drive (starting just above Gullfoss).

Other SW Iceland attractions are all within short reach of easy day trips, including the Eyjafjallajökull volcano, the Vestmannaeyjar volcanic islands, numerous waterfalls, hiking areas, pony treks, river rafting and glacier trips.

A number of trips and activities, such as the snowmobile trips to the Langjökull glacier can be booked and leave from the nearby Geysir or Gullfoss tourist centres.

The valley itself and the surrounding area is a wonderland of mountains, woodlands and rivers , great for hiking.

A luxurious soaking in the geothermal hot tub is a must after your days of sightseeing... In spring and summer the bright and magical nights are filled with birdsong and sounds of the rivers in the valley, and in the dark of winter, the stars and the Northern lights will twinkle and dance above your head.

There are grocery shops in the nearby towns of Reykholt, Flúðir, and Laugarvatn (12-30 minute drives) and some basic necessities (i.e. milk, beverages, snacks) at the Geysir shop around the corner.

More Details

Property Manager
Ragnheidur
Member since: 2014
Speaks English, French, Swedish, Danish, Norwegian
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
24 September, 2017

About Ragnheidur

My name is Ragnheidur Oskarsdottir. I live in Reykjavik with my husband and children and grandkids.

My summers as a kid (and since!) were spent in the great outdoors of Iceland, hiking and fly-fishing.

Feel free to contact me about anything I can help you with related to your stay.

Ragnheidur purchased this cottage in 2008

Why Ragnheidur chose Iceland

My family had a cottage in this part of the country when I was a kid. It's a fantastic area with all the varieties of nature and close to some of my favourite spots in Iceland.

What makes this cottage unique

The cottage is comfortable and warm. It is heated with water from a local geothermal drilling hole which is owned by the farmer up in the valley.

It has lots of room, it's accessible in the wintertime and has great views. You can even see the tip of Hekla volcano towards the south-east. The perfect place to unwind.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage on Southern Region on Iceland

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1076 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets considered
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • mountain
  • rural
  • waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Open sleeping loft - 1 Double Bed , 2 Sofa bed/Futon
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Deck Furniture
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Barbecue
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • duty free shops
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(24 traveller reviews)

83% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
Top Iceland Location - Walk To Geysir - Lovely Spacious Cottage - New 2014
average rating of 4.75 based on 24 reviews
5

A superb cottage in a breathtaking location

  • 5 of 5

Our family of six adults and one child had a very comfortable stay at the cottage. We always looked forward to getting back everyday. It is very spacious, and has everything needed for self catering and just relaxing and enjoying the surroundings. In the time that we spent at the cottage, we never saw another person, only two vehicles, so it was lovely and private. The owner was very communicative way before we went, and even now when we are back home.

  • Review Submitted: May 16, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Bill, and for taking great care of the house. Welcome back!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

A great vacation in a comfortable cottage

  • 4 of 5

We were very happy with our choice of lodging. It was a private, but not isolated location We loved being near the Geysir and it was an easy drive within 10 minutes to 2 hours to waterfalls, the geysir, horseback riding and other attractions in the south western part of the island. Our days were filled with many experiences.

The cottage was the perfect size for our family of 4 girls off on an adventure. We all had our own space. We were able to make meals at home plus we found a few resturants to our liking.There were a couple of concerns and they were handled quickly and to our satisfaction. If we are lucky enough to return to Iceland, this cottage would certainly be on the list of places to stay. The owners sent us tips that made our stay easy and enjoyable.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 27, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Peaceful cottage with awesome view

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay in this peaceful cottage. It was well-equipped, had a comfortable bed (only used master bedroom), friendly owner, good communication. Lots of windows to enjoy the view and the late July sun on the terrasse.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 3, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Marie-Eve for your warm review and your helpful advice while you were here. Welcome back!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Medway, MA
5

Gracious Host

  • 5 of 5

I am writing a different kind of review for this property that relates to the host and not our stay here (as we never actually did). Through the reservation process, Ragnheidur was timely in replying to my requests for information and answers to my questions...a real pleasure to interact with from 4,000 kilometers away! There was a change in the reservation at the last minute that was entirely out of Ragnheidur's control but of which he informed me right away. He provided me options including the option to issue me a full refund which was completely unexpected given the circumstances. Please book with this host with confidence...integrity, honesty, candor, and graciousness are words that come to mind when I think about the experience with him throughout.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 4, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Euless, TX
5

Fantastic Getaway with Wonderful Owners!

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely loved our "home away from home." We stayed here for our honeymoon. The hot tub was unfortunately out of service at the last moment, but the owners were really accomodating to our needs, and made it worth the while. We loved it. Would stay here again.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 20, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for staying and taking such excellent care of the house. We really appreciate it :) Welcome back! Best, Ragnheidur
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Disappointed. Not as expected

  • 2 of 5

The house is in a great location and provided an excellent base for our week long stay. Our disappointment was in the condition of the house. We learned after our arrival that the hot tub was not functional. This was a huge letdown. We clearly were expecting to have a hot tub as described. The house was not clean....in fact quite unacceptable ...and we considered leaving, but were unable to find another place on such short notice. The beds had soiled linen. The loft was a cluttered mess with no linens on the beds and the space was not useable. There were no spare linens in the house for us to use.

The owner was responsive and apologetic. I wish she would have immediately send a housekeeper to tend to our concerns. Though the week we never did get clean sheets. The owner gracefully discounted our rate which I appreciate.

Again, this is a great location in a beautiful place. I expect there will be a new housekeeper!

  • Review Submitted: Mar 10, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review. But oh dear, there was an unfortunate series of events conspiring here, which we apologized for to our guests. The geothermal hot water system in the valley was acting up, it's been a struggle for quite a while, so we had to have the hot tub decommissioned. Our regular housekeeping service was unfortunately off and their replacement not up to par. We ourselves were out of the country so things could and should have been better. Our normal standards are surely a lot higher as evidenced by the other reviews here. But we were kind of taken aback by finding that the house had been left unlocked after the visit, a harsh departure but in line with the harsh review. We learn from this.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
145 Kilometres
Keflavik
Nearest Barpub
15 Kilometres
Geysir
Nearest Ferry
115 Kilometres
Vestmannaeyjar
Nearest Golf
15 Kilometres
Geysir
Nearest Motorway
0.9 Kilometres
Highway 35
Nearest Restaurant
15 Kilometres
Geysir
Car: recommended

The Geysir Valley Cottage is perfectly located on the magnificent Golden Circle route. It is nestled in a beautiful secluded nature valley right at the edge of the amazing highland wilderness with its mountains and glaciers. A beautiful river runs through the valley. It's an easy 15 minute walk to the Geysir Hot Spring and Geothermal area, with its restaurants, shops, golf and hotel. A car is recommended for exploring the numerous sites and activities in the area. In winter a 4 wheel drive car is usually necessary.

The warm and spacious Geysir Valley Cottage is a 75 minute drive from Reykjavik, right on the Golden Circle route. You will be conveniently close to all the greatest natural attractions of South Iceland. Thingvellir is only a 30 minute drive and the majestic Gullfoss waterfall only 10 minutes away. The Geysir geothermal area is literally around the corner, only a 15 minute walk and the edge of the Highland Wilderness just a 15 minute drive starting just above Gullfoss.

Other South Iceland attractions are all within short reach of easy day trips, including glacier trips, the Eyjafjallajökull volcano, the Vestmannaeyjar volcanic islands, numerous waterfalls, hiking areas, pony treks, and river rafting.

A number of trips and activities, such as the snowmobile trips to the Langjökull glacier can be booked and leave from the nearby Geysir or Gullfoss tourist centres.

The valley itself and the surrounding area, with its mountains, woodlands and rivers is also great for hiking.

After a day of sightseeing dip right into a relaxing geothermal hot tub... in spring and summer when the bright and magical still nights are filled with birdsong and sounds of the rivers in the valley, or in the dark of winter, when the stars and the Northern lights twinkle and dance above your head.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage on Southern Region, Europe

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£471
for 3 nights
From
£132
From
£141
Fri,Sat,Sun
£1,062
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £9 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £75.25
Additional Guest Fee £8.85 per person per night
Damage Deposit £79.67

Extra cleaning and laundry fee is €85
Booking deposit is 1/3 of the rental fee. The balance is required 15 days before arrival.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals