HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Andrew Herrington

Member since: 2011
Call Manager
Speaks English

'Hazeldene' Country Retreat In Ditchling In The South Downs National Park

12 Reviews
People14
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type bungalow
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview

Photos and Description of this 4 bedroom holiday bungalow in Ditchling - HAZELDENE COUNTRY RETREAT

'Hazeldene' Country Retreat In Ditchling In The South Downs National Park

This luxurious & spacious 4 bedroom modern detached property is situated in the rural Sussex village of Ditchling, at the end of a country lane, just 15 minutes from the city of Brighton & Hove, 6 minutes from Ditchling Beacon, with glorious views and rambling country walks, 10 minutes drive from the Amex Football and exhibition Stadium, Sussex University, Plumpton Racecourse, 5 minutes from Hickstead and a 5 minute walk from Ditchling Village itself. The Bull Pub is famous for its scrumptious pub food and roaring open fires. The property is immaculately presented with all new furniture, fixtures, fittings and appliances, ideal for a visit all year round. This house offers you a superb country retreat, spacious enough for all the family or a large group of friends wanting to get together for a weekend or family holiday accommodation - plenty of parking and arranged all on one level so great for all the family!

The beautiful village of Ditchling is in walking distance down a lovely rural country lane and lies at the foot of the South Downs. The settlement stands around a crossroads with Brighton to the south, Burgess Hill and Haywards Heath to the north, Keymer and Hassocks to the west, and Lewes to the east. Ditchling Beacon, one of the highest points on the South Downs, has glorious panoramic country views overlooking the village, which oozes traditional English character & charm.

Enjoy a superb pub meal or drink at the The Bull, a 500 year old inn located in the High Street, or relax with refreshments at Ditchling Tea Rooms in West Street.

This high spec house is brought to you by the owners of Dyke Road Avenue & Sackville House and presented to the same high standard, with the owner's signature red accessories. These popular holiday let properties all have solid oak flooring, luxury appliances and kitchens, comfortable furnishings and large open plan kitchen/ living /dining /conservatory ideal for large group gatherings room for all the family to get together and celebrate a land mark special occasion.

Parking Information

There is off road parking for 3 to 4 cars.

This Property has;

Family Quad Bedroom with en-suite

1 Quad room with 1 Double Bed & 2 Single Beds, En-suite shower room with WC and wash basin. Cupboards & hanging space making it an ideal family room located just off the hallway and to the front of the house.

Twin bedroom with en-suite

Opposite the family bedroom is another twin or double room with en-suite shower room with WC wash basin and single shower cubicle. Sleeps 2. Located at the front.

2 further bedrooms are located off the very spacious hallway that leads to the kitchen living dining room, sleeping 2 each with 'Zip and link' beds that can be set as doubles or 2 singles (Please specify at time of booking)

3 x Sofa Beds in the living room which sleep 1 adult each comfortably or 2 small adults or children.

Family Bathroom with walk in shower room and bath with WC and wash basin.

Utility Room

Useful utility room with sink and washing machine and work top

Open plan kitchen / living room leading to spacious conservatory via 2 double doors leading to garden terrace.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Andrew Herrington (Property Manager)
Member since: 2011
Call Manager
Speaks English

Reviews

4.6
based on 12 holidaymaker reviews

'Hazeldene' Country Retreat In Ditchling In The South Downs National Park
average rating of 4.5833335 based on 12 reviews
5

Spacious, comfortable, well-equipped.

  • 5 of 5

The house doesn't look much from the outside, but it's like a Tardis inside, with plenty of room for sitting inside, a long table in the conservatory for eating and chairs and tables outside. The kichen is well-equipped and the whole place was fresh and clean. We had a very enjoyable weekend there.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 31, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kind words, hope to see you again, Andrew
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely, spacious, clean and well equipped home.

  • 5 of 5

We rented the house for a group of 10 ladies for my hen weekend. Everything from check in to enjoying food and games in the large conservatory, a walk to the Bull for a delicious meal and the comfortable accommodation was just perfect. A fab time was had by all. Thanks Andrew.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 5, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the kind words Julie and hope to see you ladies again All the best Andrew
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect venue for our group - spacious, modern and clean!

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay here. The house was amazing - very spacious, modern and clean. There are great living spaces - both the sitting room and the dining room conservatory which made it perfect for our large group. The rooms were also lovely - spacious and very good showers. Andrew was very friendly and helpful from start to finish. Would definitely recommend. We used it for a group of 10 ladies on a laid back hen weekend and we had a wonderful time. Would definitely recommend!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Big thanks for your kind words Freya, hope to see you again at our holiday home All the best Andrew
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

House did exactly as said on the tin. However landlord pretty inflexible and generally rude

  • 1 of 5

House fine. Landlord not

  • Review Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Matthew Im glad you thought our house was fine, Im sorry you felt i was inflexable and rude. You booked the house for 2 nights which has a check in at 2.30pm with a check out at 11.00am, we had another family checking the same day at 3.00pm and need at least 4 hours to turn the house around for our new guests. When you called at 10.00am on the morning of check out to request a later check out it was impossible for me to accommodate your last minute request as my cleaning staff were due to start work at 11.10am to get the house ready for our incoming guests. I have never had a bad review before and feel you are being very unfair as I always try to make sure all my guests in my 5 holiday homes have a great time. Sorry you had to check out at 11.00am but that was agreed at check in Andrew
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Absolutly stunning house, perfect midweek break!

  • 5 of 5

We wanted a country retreat for our annual family midweek break, this fit the profile perfectly! Modern, plenty of room and comfortable. The owner was her friendly and helpful, we will definitely be coming back!

  • Review Submitted: May 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kind words, hope to see you and your family again at the house Andrew
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very roomy, clean, accommodating house in a beautiful village.

  • 5 of 5

We booked Hazeldene for a 'civilised' Hen party over a bank holiday weekend. Andrew met us at the house and showed us around and was very welcoming.

The house had much more space than appears from the photos on the site. The kitchen, living room and conservatory were perfect spaces to entertain in and the garden was a little sun trap. Ditching is a beautiful village and the houses are quite close together on the lane, so I wouldn't recommend it for rowdy parties, however inside the house is very quiet and we had no noise complaints, so I believe that it is a lot more sound-proof than you'd think!

The house was very well kitted out and everything was decorated immaculately and very clean. We loved staying here and would definitely recommend it again!

Thanks!

Kate, the bride-to-be and the hens. x

  • Review Submitted: May 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the kind words Kate, Hope the wedding goes well and hope to see you again at the house Take care Andrew
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday bungalow in Ditchling, Sussex

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Summer 2016
25 May 2016 - 27 Sep 2016
2 night minimum stay
£1,000
for 2 nights
From
£500
From
£600
Fri,Sat
£2,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add £25 per night, per additional guest
 
Fall 16
28 Sep 2016 - 1 Nov 2016
2 night minimum stay
£600
for 2 nights
From
£300
From
£450
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add £30 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter 16
2 Nov 2016 - 19 Dec 2016
2 night minimum stay
£550
for 2 nights
From
£275
From
£400
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add £30 per night, per additional guest
 
Festive
20 Dec 2016 - 3 Jan 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,200
for 3 nights
From
£400
From
£450
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add £30 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter 17
4 Jan 2017 - 1 Mar 2017
2 night minimum stay
£650
for 2 nights
From
£325
From
£400
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add £30 per night, per additional guest
 
Spring 17
2 Mar 2017 - 1 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
£700
for 2 nights
From
£350
From
£475
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add £30 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer 17
2 May 2017 - 12 Sep 2017
2 night minimum stay
£1,050
for 2 nights
From
£525
From
£625
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add £35 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £400
Pet Fee £30

FOR RESERVATION CONTACT THE OWNER

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates to see total
Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday bungalow in Ditchling in Sussex

Property Type:
  • bungalow
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Location Type:
  • near the sea
  • rural
  • village
General:
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television
Outside:
  • Garden
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot