Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Seaside cottage, a minute's level stroll to the beach and shops.

People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Real time availability and booking online www.milkberehols.com

VisitEngland 4 stars awarded.

Cosy charming seaside cottage situated just off the Esplanade and beach in the heart of Sidmouth, the Regency town on the Jurassic Coast.

Just a minute's level stroll to the spectacular beach, yacht club and town centre with a most excellent selection of shops, cafes, restaurants, pubs, theatre, indoor swimming pool and cinema. The coastal footoath a little further.

The delightful National Trust riverside walk, 'The Byes' is just across the road and the famous beautiful 'Connaughts Gardens' with an excellent range of plants and café are less than 10-minute walk away.

The seaside village of Branscombe with working forge with old bakery tea rooms and mill, two traditional inns serving excellent food and the fishing village of Beer are a 15 minute drive away, passing by the famous Donkey Sanctuary at Weston.

An ideal base to explore this beautiful area - East Devon and into West Dorset, all the year round.

Accommodation:

Completely renovated, refurbished and furnished to an excellent standard, extremely comfortable.

Entrance from lane into small Hall.

Lounge, with wide-open archway to Dining room.

Well equipped Kitchen.

Stable door to enclosed courtyard.

Stairs from Hall leads to:

FIRST FLOOR:

Bedroom 1: Double, sea glimpses, fitted wardrobes.

Bedroom 2: Double.

Bathroom: Shower cubicle, bath with hand shower, basin, WC.

Facilities:

Bed linen inclusive.

Towels inclusive.

Electricity/gas/central heating inclusive.

Halogen hob

Electric oven.

Microwave.

Dishwasher.

Larder Fridge.

Freezer.

Washer/dryer.

Iron.

Ironing board.

Hairdryers x 2 (one in each bedroom).

TVs x 2

Blu ray DVD

Free w-fi.

Outdoor Facilities:

Small rear enclosed pretty courtyard.

Garden table and chairs.

A weekly parking permit for the long stay town car park in Manor Road, Sidmouth just over a 10-minute walk, plus short stay car parks for up to 3 hours opposite and nearby, can be obtained opposite the cottage from the Sidmouth Tourist Information Centre by the Swimming Pool, £25 (2017 price). Less than a week Council parking charges are: 2 days £12, 3 days £15 and 4 days £20. These tickets entitles you to park in other East Devon District Council car parks.

Alternatively parking in private operated car park, Bedford Lawn, Esplanade.

Plus street parking in Glen Road, near the long stay car parks and other surrounding roads.

Additional information:

Saturday changeover.

Small pet welcome, a fixed charge of £25 pw or part week per pet

Non smokers only.

Arrival: From 2 pm

Departure: By 10 am

Short breaks:

These are available between October and March excluding school and Bank holidays.

More Details

Property Manager
Louise Hayman - Milkbere Cottage Holidays
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
19 May, 2018

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Sidmouth in East Devon District

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 14:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • beach
  • near the sea
  • town
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Shower Enclosure , basin, WC.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed
  • Bedroom 1: sea glimpses, fitted wardrobes. TV.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

4.2/5 -
(5 traveller reviews)

40% Complete
40% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Seaside cottage, a minute's level stroll to the beach and shops.
average rating of 4.2 based on 5 reviews
4

Lovely, comfortable, well furnished cottage

  • 4 of 5

Everything you need (shops, pubs, eateries close at hand). Seafront close for walks along the esplanade. Although there is a short stay car park opposite which is good for unloading/loading the long stay car park is a fair walk away but good value at £25 per week.

We would recommend The Swan ( 2 minutes away) for good pub food and Dukes on the seafront for a more restaurant type meal.

  • Review Submitted: 15-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review of Gull Cottage and your recommendations for the local area. We are pleased that you found the cottage to be comfortable and well equipped.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
4

Well appointed, near the sea.

  • 4 of 5

The house has everything you need To make a holiday near the sea.

For a family of four - two adults, two children so long as the children are OK sharing a double bed.

No garden, but directly opposite a park and the public swimming pool and a short walk to the beach and town.

Parking is a bit awkward as the car park opposite is for 3 hours max and the long stay is a ten minute walk away. So you might have to move the car every day. We always found a space though.

The house has a TV, wifi, some games and some books.

It was nice too that there were some teabags and milk to start off with.

The beach has sand and rock pools at low tide while town has shops, cafes and restaurants and a small museum and the park has a play park too.

  • Review Submitted: 29-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review of Gull Cottage and we are pleased you enjoyed the area.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
3

Letter to owner due house not monitored for condition. Well appointed but condition shame

  • 3 of 5

Further to your last communication half of the rubbish was collected on 12th July and after complaining to Milkebere the remainder was collected early evening by a lady and gentleman who did not say who they were from and where. That was apart from a departing condescending remark 'happy now' !

As for the shower the plumber arrived on the 11th and whilst testing the shower water came through the kitchen ceiling. He said the shower base had been fitted badly and also he would have to order a new hot and cold valve. He returned the following day and carried out the remedial work on the base. Meanwhile the new valve would be fitted Friday when also the unit would be tested. He said that with regards to the water coming through the ceiling that this had happened before. I cannot confirm this but it seems correct as the ceiling was noted with yellow patches and the overwhelming smell of damp downstairs particularly in the kitchen and understairs when we arrived. May I commend the plumber from Frost who was most proficient and timely.

May I say apart from ongoing problems and distress during the first week of our stay that the house is nicely appointed and located and we have enjoyed Sidmouth. It is a shame that points are not fully investigated from the comments book where notes regarding damp have been noted for a few years. Plaster on some of the walls is indicative of a problem.

We would have expected on the day before our departure to have received, at least, some sort of follow-up from yourself or Milkebere regarding satisfaction from completion and inconvenience of the work during our stay.

Regards

Mr R Adams

P.S. No shower for a week.

Small courtyard shared with rubbish on entery, not very nice to sit. Eventually cleared 5 days later after much complaining.

  • Review Submitted: 22-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review for Gull Cottage. We are sorry that you had to raise the refuse and shower issues at the cottage. These areas raised by yourself were addressed during your first week at the cottage wither by the owner or a representative of Milkbere Holidays. It was unfortunate that the private refuse collection company did not fully do the collection the day before your arrival, which is part of their contract. Our representative collected the remaining rubbish on the Wednesday. We are sorry if you feel a condescending remark was made as this was certainly not their intention. They needed to ensure that you were satisfied that the rubbish had been removed. When you made us aware of the shower problems encountered we liaised with Fords to get this rectified. Ideally this would have been earlier in the week but we were totally dependent on Fords and their ability to source the part and install it. We are pleased that the service they gave you was proficient and timely. This should have resolved any leakage problem from the shower. Regular contact was maintained by Milkbere for your first week until we had confirmed that the shower was repaired and operational at the end of that week. Comments made by holidaymakers are usually acted upon and the owner of Gull Cottage and he will ensure any ongoing dampness is monitored. We are pleased that you feel that Gull Cottage is nicely appointed and you enjoyed your time in Sidmouth and hope you are satisfied with the £150 refund that the owner authorised for the inconvenience. Milkbere Holidays
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Nice clean cottage

  • 5 of 5

Great cottage everything is first class best place we have stayed . JUst like home clean and everything you need Good position to walk into town. PLus we had hottest week of the year Would defiantly go again thanks

  • Review Submitted: 24-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review for Gull Cottage and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay in Sidmouth. As you say a brilliant week for weather. We would be delighted to see you revisit.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Hope to come back and stay again.

  • 5 of 5

Lovely comfortable cottage, well-equipped and an excellent location not only for beach and town but also the swimming pool is across the road as well as The Byes a pleasant area to walk.

  • Review Submitted: 10-Sep-2016
  • Date of Stay: September 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you the lovely review of Gull Cottage and the surrounding area. Milkbere Holidays
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Car: not necessary

Just a minute’s level stroll to the spectacular beach, yacht club and town centre with a most excellent selection of shops, cafes, restaurants, theatre, indoor swimming pool and cinema.

The delightful National Trust riverside walk, ‘The Byes’ is just across the road and the famous beautiful Connaught Gardens with an excellent range of plants and café are less than 10 minutes walk away.

The seaside village of Branscombe with working forge, old bakery tea rooms and mill, two traditional inns serving excellent food and the fishing village of Beer are a 15 minute drive away, passing by the famous Donkey Sanctuary at Weston.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Sidmouth, Devon

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
low season
14 Apr 2018 - 25 May 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£440
for 7 nights
£440
 
 
May half term
26 May 2018 - 1 Jun 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£590
for 7 nights
£590
 
 
w/c 2nd June
2 Jun 2018 - 8 Jun 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£510
for 7 nights
£510
 
 
June / July
9 Jun 2018 - 20 Jul 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£590
for 7 nights
£590
 
 
high season
21 Jul 2018 - 3 Aug 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£790
for 7 nights
£790
 
 
Sidmouth Folk Festival
4 Aug 2018 - 10 Aug 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£890
for 7 nights
£890
 
 
high season
11 Aug 2018 - 24 Aug 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£790
for 7 nights
£790
 
 
w/c 25th August
25 Aug 2018 - 31 Aug 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£690
for 7 nights
£690
 
 
September
1 Sep 2018 - 14 Sep 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£590
for 7 nights
£590
 
 
w/c 22nd September
22 Sep 2018 - 28 Sep 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£510
for 7 nights
£510
 
 
low season
29 Sep 2018 - 19 Oct 2018
7 night minimum stay
£440
for 7 nights
£440
 
 
October half term
20 Oct 2018 - 2 Nov 2018
7 night minimum stay
£510
for 7 nights
£510
 
 
low season
3 Nov 2018 - 21 Dec 2018
7 night minimum stay
£440
for 7 nights
£440
 
 
Christmas / New Year
22 Dec 2018 - 4 Jan 2019
7 night minimum stay
£790
for 7 nights
£790
 

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £25

Please note in the main letting season holidays are for either 7, 14, 21 or 28 nights starting on the set changeover day.
Short breaks are available October - March excluding school holidays. Please request a quote.
Pet charge at £25 pw or part week.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Manager a Question
Available
Unavailable