HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Ground floor of a large house with secluded rear yard, 100m from the sea

People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview


Details
Property
cottage
People
4
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
3 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday cottage in Eyemouth - 51 High Street

Two bedrooms, one bathroom, seafront cottage

This period cottage enjoys free wifi, gas central heating, electric oven and hob, fridge/freezer, TV, CD/radio and library of books and games. Comprising two bedrooms - one twin with electric massage beds and a master bedroom with double bed. Large walk-in shower. Bed linen and towels included. Off-road parking opposite. Enclosed rear courtyard with furniture. Well behaved pets welcome. Surrounded by beautiful coastline with stunning views and many varied local amenities.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible

Property Manager
Steve Davenport
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
20 November, 2016
Call Manager

Why Steve Davenport chose Scottish Borders

I bought this in Eyemouth because I like being there myself. There's no real need to drive when you are there as there are just lots of interesting places to visit on the doorstep. I never get tired of visiting Scotland.

What makes this cottage unique

It is what it is, a working fishing harbour, with lots of Interesting things to see. The people are very friendly and the views from the hills over the sea are fabulous.

Guestbook comments from the manager

nice clean place, warm , new kitchen . was nice to just walk to local pubs,
Feb 2015
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

3.6/5 -
(8 traveller reviews)

Ground floor of a large house with secluded rear yard, 100m from the sea
average rating of 3.625 based on 9 reviews
4

Property was comfortable and well equipped.

  • 4 of 5

The appartment was comfortable, in a perfect location and included all accessories and amenities which one could wish for (including washer and trockener and WiFi). The only downside (no fault of the property) was one day of torrential rain which resulted in a "river" of rainwater which entered under the back yard door and made its way along the coridoor towards the fron door. All in all, we had a great holiday.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Airdrie north lanarkshire
4

lovely house on the seafront

  • 4 of 5

this is a lovely house with everything at your doorstep everything we needed was there in the property including wifi ,towels etc, harbour and beach only mins away.we would definitely stay here again, had a tad smell of damp but its next to the sea and the house is old so we accepted that no problem. very clear instructions on where to get keys and there was also washing/drying facilities..would definitely stay here in the near future again.. thankyou

  • Review Submitted: Jul 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
KIRKINTILLOCH
3

Break with friends

  • 3 of 5

It was ideally locate. The premises was presented clean with a good supply of towels. The rear could have been more attractive. The plus was the extra toilet. I was impressed with the quick service regarding repairs. A microwave would have been an additional extra.

Overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry about the microwave ,as I won't use one , I know this might sound odd ,but I don't believe in them on health grounds , might be extreme Steve ,
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Ground floor flat Eyemouth

  • 4 of 5

Was slightly concerned about the flat before we arrived due to previous reviews however we had no need to worry. The flat was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed for our four night stay although a microwave would have been handy. The rear yard was ideal as it was fully enclosed and totally escape proof much to the disappointment of our border terrier. No need to worry about wi fi connection it worked perfectly.

There was no problem with parking as the car park is directly across the road and as stated the beach is a minutes walk away. The flat is very well situated for the local shops, cafes, takeaways etc and there are some lovely walks around the harbour and cliff tops. Also Coldingham, St Abbs, Burnmouth and Dunbar are nice places to visit and each have their own charm.

My husband and I plus our two dogs really enjoyed our stay in Eyemouth and if we return to the area we would definitely stay at this accommodation and would recommend it to anyone thinking of staying in this area.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 11, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Joan. It was pleasing to hear our efforts to further enhance our customers' experiences had worked!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Eyemouth is a great village to stay!

  • 4 of 5

Initially we were shocked to find we had not been given instructions on how to get into the property and became a bit aggitated. A rush of blood to the head made us ask at the pub. Yes they had a key! I would say our main moan was lack of information . The phone number we had no longer was in use and the one on the window went straight to voicemail. After an email sent to the management we found the towels! Also the kitchen drawers slam into the cooker/grill handles so you have to slide the utensils out. Apart from that (the pullcord in the bathroom became faulty but was dealt with by Tracy before the end of the day thanks) we're had a lovely stay:-) The accomodation is larger than it looks on the photo's and had all we needed for our week.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 31, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Great location but description needs updated

  • 2 of 5

We had an enjoyable holiday. Eyemouth is very peaceful and the property is in a great location right on the beach. There are a few issues though that I'd like to address and Steve I contacted you on the day we checked in to do that but you didn't reply which was quite frustrating.

1. There is no internet in the property. This is a major prerequisite for most people when booking in 2015. It's listed in the property description so I'd like to know why it wasn't available. I had made plans with work to stay in touch via email and I wasn't able to do so because of this.

2. There is no microwave which is again listed. We had a one year old with us and we use a sterilisation set for her bottles and dummies so again it was something which we had checked prior to booking.

3. The Central heating doesn't work and there is no electric heater. I understand that people turn their heating off in the summer because it's warm but again we needed it in the evenings for the wee one in her room as she was cold.

4. There were 2 small hand towels provided. Again that wouldn't be a problem if you had listed that towels weren't available as we would simply have brought our own.

5. The drain in the shower wasn't draining properly which meant the water was overflowing onto the bathroom floor. We poured lots of bleach down it though so it seemed better during the last couple of days.

6. The place really needs a good clean. On the face of it the property looked clean but when your babys clothes are black after an hour of crawling around there's something wrong. My partner spent a couple of hours cleaning on the day we arrived.

7. In the handbook for the property there was no mention of where to park. We couldn't find the recycling bins either so that's why there was a binbag in the yard when we left as we weren't sure where to put it. The blinds in the living room wouldn't close so we felt like we were in a goldfish bowl in the evenings as people passed and stared in.

If this had been a hotel I'd have been requesting compensation of some sort. But I'm not interested in that. I do feel the need to leave this review though to let other travellers know what to expect as you really need to update your description of what is provided. I also understand that you are not based in Eyemouth but maybe pay a surprise visit or two to experience what your guests are experiencing.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 16, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so sorry to hear you were disappointed in your stay and have already amended the details on our listing to reflect the fact the microwave and towels do not appear to be there any more! We hope we have also made it clearer where to park, ie opposite the house. We had problems with the Wifi installation which we are planning to correct when we are up there ourselves in mid-September when we will address all your points. We are so sorry the lack of Wifi impacted on your work - we know how that feels :-( We are also sorry we did not respond to your call but that was unfortunately the weekend we lost our mobile phone.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Location

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Edinburgh
Nearest Barpub
20 Metres
Tavern Bar and Dolphin
Nearest Ferry
50 Miles
Edinburgh
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Eyemouth Golf Club
Nearest Train
7 Miles
Berwick
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
A1
Nearest Restaurant
100 Metres
Oblo Restaurant
Nearest Beach
50 Metres
Eyemouth
Car: recommended

51 High Street, Eyemouth is a terraced cottage in the centre of Eyemouth close to the English/Scottish border, directly opposite the stunning Eyemouth bay. Within walking distance of shops and restaurants. Comprising a 2-bedroom property with a double bedroom and a twin room. Situated on the mouth of the river Eyemouth, the village enjoys delightful scenery and exhilarating walks. Only 8 miles from the market town of Berwick upon Tweed and the Border country. Some 50 miles from (approx 1 hour drive) from Edinburgh to the north and Newcastle to the south. Eyemouth is one of the few remaining working fishing villages with fresh fish markets and shops available in abundance. Local attractions include Eyemouth golf club and an abundance of exhilarating walks from the doorstep.

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Eyemouth, Scottish Borders

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Low
1 Sep 2016 - 20 Dec 2016
3 night minimum stay
£180
for 3 nights
From
£60
£250
£700
 
 
Xmas & New Year
21 Dec 2016 - 2 Jan 2017
3 night minimum stay
£180
for 3 nights
From
£60
£420
£1,680
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£150
for 3 nights
From
£50
£350
£1,250
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Eyemouth in Scotland

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Location Type:
  • beach
  • near the sea
  • town
  • waterfront
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Wash basin
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , Wash basin
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Yard
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible
Attractions:
  • bay
  • churches
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • diving
  • bay fishing
  • caving
  • swimming
Notes:
Check in 5pm, check out 11am.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties