Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Sandcastle; beautiful home, 2 minutes walk to the beach, Bay Views, Private pool

People16
Bedrooms 7
Bathrooms7
Separate WCs1
Space 6,112 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

7 bedroom, 7.5 bathroom, Sleeps 16

Sandcastle is a beautiful family home, a sand coloured castle!

* 5 minutes walk to Andy Rosse Lane and its bars and restaurants

* A slow 2 minute walk to Captiva’s beautiful beach

* Large private, heated pool and integrated spa

* Outdoor kitchen with BBQ

* Mother-in-law suite with separate entrance

* 7th king bedroom is poolside and therefore only suitable for adults

* 5 balconies/terraces

* Elevator

* Spacious parking (garaging for 3 cars and 2 driveways)

* 2 cooking areas

* All new Kitchen Aid appliances

* Central a/c and heat and ceiling fans

* Table tennis

* 10 TVs and 2 DVD players

* TV in games room - just bring your own PlayStation

* WIFI and phones

* Ice makers

* Wet bar

* 2 Pack n Play travel cots and 1 high chair

Sandcastle is a solid, stunning house constructed of stone with granite and tiles and dark wood floors. It has been finished to a glorious standard by professional decorators, showcasing furnishings, artwork, and sculpture. Numerous private balconies, terraces with comfortable sofas, seating for cocktails and entertaining space outside; the perfect house for catching up with family and friends.

Sandcastle has enough space for you all to hide away peacefully and still let the kids run around. Just arrange to meet up and dine together at the formal dining table or outside terrace by the fountain! Sandcastle has over 6,000 sq ft of living space, and over 8,000 sq ft if you include the pool, outside kitchen, lanai and balconies.

Sandcastle has a lovely private heated pool and hot tub alongside an outside kitchen and BBQ, set in stunnng gardens. A table tennis table if you're feeling energetic and the beach a very slow 2 minutes walk away; all the great facilities you could wish for, including an elevator, but it is just across the road from the Green Flash restaurant and on the edge of Captiva Village.

Once you've found Sandcastle you may not want to leave.

More Details

Owner
Tania Hodges
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
14 July, 2018

About Tania Hodges

Mark and I have 2 young children and live in London, England. We aim to respond to all Homeaway enquiries within 24 hours but please be aware of time zones (and busy childcare schedules) delaying our response.

Tania Hodges purchased this house in 2013

Why Tania Hodges chose Captiva

Mark and I visited Captiva in 2010 and knew we wanted to stay but we had to return home to the UK. Instead we spent 3 years searching for the ideal Captiva getaway. We fell in love with Sandcastle. It was completely empty but we knew it could be turned into a wonderful vacation destination. It was a great experience creating a home and making it beautiful. Somewhere we want to stay ourselves and a great base for allowing Homeaway guests to relax and experience old Captiva.

We love the location, 5 minutes away from the bustle of the Village centre and its bars and restaurants but secluded and allowing complete relaxation and peacefulness.

We also love its size. Sandcastle has 7 bedrooms (the 7th was added in Spring 2017). This allows big family groups to stay and celebrate together. We have hosted wedding anniversaries and special birthdays - grandparents revisiting with their grown up kids and introducing grandchildren to wonderful Captiva - shelling, dolphin watching and the Green Flash at sunset (the kids always say they see this but I'm still looking)!

Sandcastle is a very special vacation home in a very special place.

What makes this house unique

So many to list! A peaceful location, views of the bay from the 3rd floor balcony, an elevator for elderly or tired guests, a beautiful secluded pool and hot tub, balconies to hide away and terraces to come together. 5 minutes from the centre of Captiva Village, 2 minutes from the beach, within the golf buggy zone.

Guestbook comments from the owner

A celebration of my retirement! It was a time for family at a beautiful place!
Jul 2017
  • 1 of 12

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Captiva in Lee County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 6112 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 16
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Sandcastle is in a quiet residential area, please be neighbourly and thoughtful about loud music and late night outside entertainment.
  • Furniture should not be moved and beach furniture should be returned to the garage for storage. Please return items to the places you found them.
  • Please leave Sandcastle clean and tidy on departure.
Location Type:
  • beach
  • near the sea
  • village
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Rustic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Lift
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Tumble Dryer ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Gourmet Kitchen
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
  • Wet Bar
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 7 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Shower Enclosure , Jacuzzi , Bidet
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 7 - Toilet
    Bathroom 8 - Outdoor Shower , Shower by pool
    Bathroom 4 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 5 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 6 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 9 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 10 - Outdoor Shower , shower by driveway
Bedrooms:
  • 7 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Master bedroom suite with ensuite bathroom and dressing room
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Ensuite with bathroom
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Double Bed , With ensuite bathroom
    Bedroom 4 - 2 Single Bed , With ensuite bathroom
    Bedroom 5 - 2 Single Bed , With direct access to guest bathroom
    Bedroom 6 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Mother-in-law suite, own private access, ensuite bathroom
    Bedroom 7 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Poolside, with own private access and en-suite bathroom
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden ...
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Barbecue ...
  • Veranda ...
  • Porch Furniture
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • bay
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Beach wagon and beach chairs

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(25 traveller reviews)

72% Complete
28% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Sandcastle; beautiful home, 2 minutes walk to the beach, Bay Views, Private pool
average rating of 4.72 based on 37 reviews
5

Very beautiful home! Very clean and met our needs with a fantastic main kitchen!

  • 5 of 5

Property absolutely beautiful and well maintained. Agents handling the property were so professional and very helpful! Our retreat group loved it. We will return. Thank you so much!

  • Review Submitted: 30-May-2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to review your vacation at Sandcastle. I’m so pleased your Retreat was a success and all your party loved our home. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great property. Loved it.

  • 5 of 5

Sandcastle turned out to be exactly what we needed for our 16 family members celebrating our 60th wedding anniversary. Third floor kitchen area turned out to be a gathering place for the family. The location and closeness to the beach is perfect and the pool was enjoyed by all. The few issues we had in the beginning were immediately taken care of by maintenance. The upholstery and chair covers need some tender loving care and the pool bedroom does not get real cool but basically it looks just like we saw on the internet. Fun was had by all. We had a wonderful week and would hope to come back.

  • Review Submitted: 09-Jul-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Sandcastle is beautiful

  • 4 of 5

Tania, Your home is beautiful. Our family had a great time together. What a perfect place to celebrate our 50th anniversary. Grandkids loved the pool. Made a lot of great memories. But there was a lot of issues that we had, but maintenance was always on top of things. We had someone from maintenance about every day. I also rent our home. I thought things needed some attention. Thanks for letting us rent your home.

  • Review Submitted: 12-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to review Sandcastle. It’s great that you had a fantastic family experience and loved the property. We’re sorry that there were some maintenance issues during your stay, which were largely caused by the recent heavy storms. Sandcastle is very popular and we were keen for these issues to be resolved as quickly as possible after you had given approval for the work to take place. These issues are now resolved and we apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay. Thank you so much for celebrating your 50th anniversary at Sandcastle.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful house, amazing pool, perfect location

  • 5 of 5

Could not have asked for more. Every amenity, wonderful outdoor spaces, great pool. Location as good as it gets in heart of village.

  • Review Submitted: 01-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. We’re delighted you loved Sandcastle and have a wonderful vacation.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Sandcastle is a beautiful home minutes from the beach and walking distance from the general store.

  • 4 of 5

The house is absolutely beautiful with so many amenities to make anyone’s vacation spectacular. Close to the beach, to the general store, making wonderful dinners was part of the fun in this amazing kitchen. Great for small children, fantastic for families with teens. The only glitch was the pool heater and spa did not work. Guys came out many times when called but did not get things fixed while we were there. My kids were very disappointed that they could not use the hot tub at night after all the children were asleep, but we managed otherwise to have a wonderful family vacation. Beautiful home in a fabulous place!! So grateful to have found Sandcastle!

  • Review Submitted: 05-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your great review. We're delighted you found Sandcastle so beautiful and well located. It really is a great family vacation home. We're so pleased that you loved all the kitchen and dining facilities too. We’re very sorry about the pool heat problems at Sandcastle. Our maintenance team replaced a part whilst you were staying and thought they'd fixed the issue. Unfortunately, this turned out not to be the case. The pool and spa heat is now working 100%. Many apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay. Sometimes, maintenance problems in Captiva can take a little while to be fixed in high season. However, our team and ourselves do our utmost to keep the house at a very high standard and to fix any problems as soon as we can, as our reviews indicate. Please come back again! We’re so pleased you found Sandcastle and we’d love to host your return visit to Captiva.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Scarborough, ME
4

The house is incredible, and great location

  • 4 of 5

One of the refrigerators wasn’t working and there was really only one working hair dryer, one of the showers had hardly any pressure and the pool never got that warm, so I took off one star, but realistically this is an absolutely fantastic house and our group of 13 had such a beautiful time staying here.

  • Review Submitted: 13-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to post a view. A new Kitchenaid refrigerator is arriving tomorrow - unfortunately tropical Captiva makes these fridges work very hard. Luckily the main kitchen refrigerator and freezer remained working and 2 other smaller fridges are located in bedrooms. I'm sorry about the pool heat and I've asked our maintenance to take a closer look at the pool control. Our local agents are always able to come down to Sandcastle and help. We'll get this checked out. I'm so pleased you had a great vacation and thought Sandcastle so fantastic.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
35 Miles
South West Florida International Airport
Nearest Barpub
20 Metres
Green Flash
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Sanctuary Golf Club
Nearest Motorway
25 Miles
US-41
Nearest Restaurant
20 Metres
Green Flash
Nearest Beach
100 Metres
Captiva Beach
Car: necessary

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Captiva, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Low Season
7 Jul 2018 - 31 Aug 2018
7 night minimum stay
£5,453
for 7 nights
£5,453
 
 
September/October Special
1 Sep 2018 - 26 Oct 2018
7 night minimum stay
£4,614
for 7 nights
£4,614
 
 
Low Season
27 Oct 2018 - 16 Nov 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£5,453
for 7 nights
£5,453
 
 
Thanksgiving
17 Nov 2018 - 23 Nov 2018
7 night minimum stay
£8,641
 
 
Low Season
24 Nov 2018 - 21 Dec 2018
7 night minimum stay
£5,453
for 7 nights
£5,453
 
 
Christmas
22 Dec 2018 - 28 Dec 2018
7 night minimum stay
£8,641
 
 
New Year
29 Dec 2018 - 4 Jan 2019
7 night minimum stay
£8,641
 
 
January & February Special
5 Jan 2019 - 15 Feb 2019
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£5,705
for 7 nights
£5,705
 
 
High Season
16 Feb 2019 - 19 Apr 2019
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£7,299
for 7 nights
£7,299
 
 
Easter
20 Apr 2019 - 26 Apr 2019
7 night minimum stay
£8,641
 
 
Low Season
27 Apr 2019 - 28 Jun 2019
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£5,705
for 7 nights
£5,705
 
 
Fourth of July
29 Jun 2019 - 5 Jul 2019
7 night minimum stay
£7,299
 
 
Low Season
6 Jul 2019 - 30 Aug 2019
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£5,705
for 7 nights
£5,705
 
 
September/October Special
31 Aug 2019 - 25 Oct 2019
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£4,614
for 7 nights
£4,614
 
 
Low Season
26 Oct 2019 - 22 Nov 2019
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£5,705
for 7 nights
£5,705
 
 
Thanksgiving
23 Nov 2019 - 29 Nov 2019
7 night minimum stay
£8,641
 
 
Low Season
30 Nov 2019 - 20 Dec 2019
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£5,705
for 7 nights
£5,705
 
 
Christmas
21 Dec 2019 - 27 Dec 2019
7 night minimum stay
£8,641
 
 
New Year
28 Dec 2019 - 3 Jan 2020
7 night minimum stay
£8,641
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning charge £188.95 + Tax
Reservation fee £41.57 + Tax
Refundable Damage Deposit £1,133.7

Cancellation of your reservation can be made at any time up to 90 days prior to arrival and your deposit will be refunded in full. After this date, no cancellations are allowed or refunds will be made.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable