HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

The Mountain House 3rd night free (Holidays 4th night free)

47 Reviews
Bedrooms 5
Separate WC's1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 - 4 nights


Photos and Description of this 5 bedroom holiday home in Wintergreen - The Mountain House

House, 5 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

No matter what season, our recently renovated five bedroom, two and one-half bath contemporary styled home is the place to be. Enjoy scenic views from our deck, relax after a fun-filled day in front of a wood burning fire, or pamper yourself at the luxurious Wintergreen Spa. Best of all, our home is a half mile walk to the ski slopes and renowned Wintergreen Resort. (We are located at 436 Blackrock Drive.) Come see for yourself how beautiful our home is.

If you've ever dreamed of owning a vacation home, stay with us instead. You will have all of the benefits of a vacation home, with none of the worries. We supply everything you need: linens, towels, firewood, WiFi; and our low rates are the best deal on the mountain. But don't take our word for it, read our guest comments. Why not take advantage of our low rates and treat yourself to a weekend or week at Wintergreen? Compare our rates to Wintergreen Resort if you don't believe us.

If you haven't had a chance to read our guest comments, please check them out.

Most of our guests come back every year. You will too!

More Details
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only

Barbara Bankowski
Member since: 2007
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
24 October, 2016
Call Owner

Why Barbara Bankowski chose Central Virginia

Our house is located on beautiful Blackrock Drive less than one-half mile to the Inn at Wintergreen, where you will find wonderful restaurants and many special events planned by the Inn.

What makes this house unique

We just keep getting better: we take pride in our home and it shows...new couch, new dining room table, newly installed downstairs bath, new hardwood floors throughout first floor, freshly painted rooms, new furniture/beds in bedrooms. To us, you're our guests. We try to take care of the little things so that you can enjoy your stay. We have plenty of firewood stacked up at the back door; our gas grill is on the front deck. Closets have plenty of towels, kitchen has all the tools a serious cook would want.

But probably the best deal is our special weekend deal. I don't know about you, but for me, after a day on the slopes, I don't want to have to drive home, sitting in my ski clothes. With our weekend special rate, you can stay as long as you like on the third day (or even stay till the next day!) So, instead of rushing home Sunday, why not take advantage of the third night, and relax by the fire before driving home? You may even decide to leave Monday morning!


based on 47 holidaymaker reviews

The Mountain House 3rd night free (Holidays 4th night free)
average rating of 4.9148936 based on 47 reviews

Great Getaway!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay here and the owners were very responsive/available for questions! Lovely fireplace and an open floor plan so perfect for larger groups. There are also doors the block off the hallways where the bedrooms are which was great for our group who had a few small children up early - it helped block out the noise! We can’t wait to go back.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Chesapeake, Virginia

Wintergreen stay

  • 3 of 5

To start off the house was very clean. The lock on the front door was getting extremely loose and took several tries to open at night. My children and their children all came together for the apple festival. Living quarters were a little too small for my taste, but managed. Bedrooms were extremely small but the beds were comfortable. If you are coming in the winter I would be very careful, as this driveway was very steep. You may need 4 wheel or all wheel drive. The kitchen needs updating with new pots and pans. This house in my opinion is in need of some updating. When we first arrived the house smelled of dampness. It has been very wet in Wintergreen and the house is surrounded by trees which could of caused this smell. After we got the heaters working, the smell went away. Barbara was extremely helpful from beginning to end. The price was right with one night free. However, we left on Sunday and did not use the third night.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments. We try to offer a great home at a very affordable price. Our third night free policy is very well appreciated by our renters. We are very proud of our home and work very hard to keep it spotlessly clean and are constantly improving the house. Over the past 10 years we have installed new wood flooring, put in a new bathroom, all new furniture and appliances, new bedding and beds, and painted every room. Just this past year we have painted the entire outside of house and added new lighting and steps Inside we painted several rooms and added a new stove. During the winter we provide plowing and our driveway is kept clear of snow and ice. Our maintenance services are always available just in case. Issues such as your concern about the door lock are checked as soon as we learn of them
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great place

  • 5 of 5

Some friends and I booked this house for a gaming weekend get-together. The place is fantastic and the scenery is gorgeous - we went in August and the whole mountain was covered in ferns. Parking was great, there's a market a couple minutes down the road, and everything was very convenient. Clean, comfortable, plenty of hot water. The owner was very responsive and had great information throughout the whole booking experience.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Fillmore, NY

Awesome property.

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time here and would recommend it to anyone, especially if you need sleeping space for 10 people. Everything was provided - and more than you would ever need. Barbara was helpful and encourages you to call if you have any questions or concerns. So much to do in the surrounding area (don't miss one of the Cideries - there are awesome). Parking was a bit tricky, but we managed very well. Give this place a try, you won't be disappointed.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great house...better owner

  • 5 of 5

House was perfect for our 2 family ski trip. We had 2 families (4 adults & 5 kids). Plenty of room; clean; warm; convenient to Wintergreen slopes; stocked for cooking meals.

Barbara was so pleasant and responsive. ALWAYS responded to our emails within 1 hour. Highly recommend!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much.... we hope you come again....there's so much to do at Wintergreen.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Butner, NC USA

Exactly what we were looking for.

  • 5 of 5

Thanks for allowing us to stay at your home. It was exactly what we were looking for. Very close to the slopes, perfectly sized and equipped. It was a great match for our families to stay and share some great time together. We will definitely be back!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Charlottesville, Va.
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Nearest Ski
1 Miles
Wintergreen, Va.
Car: necessary

Plan your next vacation now for best rates ... there's so much to do at Wintergreen: ice skating, rock climbing, hiking, mountain biking, horseback riding, wine tasting, pampering yourself at the spa... you name it, you can do it!


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Wintergreen, Central Virginia

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
2 Sep 2016 - 19 Nov 2016
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
20 Nov 2016 - 27 Nov 2016
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
Christmas/New Year
22 Dec 2016 - 3 Jan 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
4 Jan 2017 - 21 Mar 2017
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £206
Pet Fee £62 + Tax
Cleaning fee £148 + Tax
Tax Rate 8.0%

Pay for two weekend nights, and the third night is on us except holiday weekends/weeks then we will give you the 4th night free. Weekly rates include free night discount.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Wintergreen in Virginia

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Optional
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2.5
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • King size beds (1) Master bedroom has luxurious new kingsized bed. All linens are included. First floor bedroom., Queen size Beds (1) New luxurious queensized bed. All linens are included. First floor bedroom., Twin or Single Beds (4) Two bedrooms on second floor - one has two twin sized beds, the other has a new luxurious queensized bed. The second floor is like a separate private wing. Linens included., Child Beds (1) Pack n Play available. Crib also available for longer stays.(crib has drop down sides) We also have a high chair and stroller. Closet is full of toys., Baby Cribs (1) pack n play, high chair and stroller available... children's toys also available...., Bunk Beds (2) First floor bedroom has bunk beds. Kids seem to like these a lot. Linens included.
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Player
  • Video Library ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • 10 garden chairs
  • 6 deck chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • Racquetball
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
We are in walking distance to the Wintergreen Inn and Resort. Activities for all ages and seasons are available: skiing, tubing, ice skating, snowboarding in winter, outdoor pools in summer, children's activities, zip lines, hiking and of course, the spa. Nearby are many more activities from wine tasting, horsebackriding, golf, historical, musical, and family day trips. Come for a weekend you'll come back for a week.

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties