HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Easy travel to Central London, Gatwick and Eurotunnel Terminal

People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 1 - 3 nights

Overview


Details
Property
apartment
People
4
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
1 - 3 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday apartment in Beckenham

Cosy rooms in Victorian house, 3 minutes from the train station to London

I live in the flat. I live in the apartment. Cosy rooms in a sunny first floor flat in quiet road. Big bathroom, nice kitchen with big fridge / freezer, oven. There is a garden view from the kitchen. Polyglot French owner. I can give you lots of tips about London. There's free car parking space in the road. You will sleep in a big bed sofa in my living room or the Japanese smaller room (futon on tatami mats). Clean and flat owner. Non smoker. There are lots of restaurants near the flat. The bathroom includes a bath, shower and toilets. 25 minutes from Central London. 30 minutes from Docklands / Canary Wharf. 70 minutes' drive from the Eurotunnel Terminal (100km), 45 minutes from the Eurostar terminal, 40 minutes from Gatwick.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
Sophie Marette
Member since: 2015
Speaks English, French, Spanish, Italian, Greek
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
9 December, 2016

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(23 traveller reviews)

Easy travel to Central London, Gatwick and Eurotunnel Terminal
average rating of 4.3913045 based on 23 reviews
5

wonderful!

  • 5 of 5

Sophie is fantastic! The place was very comfortable. Even though the rental is a room in her house, it felt very private. The living room and bedroom were not shared at all, so there were no issues space. The grocery store and the public transportation down the street was a definite plus. The internet worked fine in the kitchen, however reception was minimal from some parts of the living room and did not work at all in the bedroom. However, the rest of the comfortableness made up for it!

  • Review Submitted: Dec 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. Just one question: when you were on line in the living-room, was it through my wifi connection? Because just to specify, I sometimes work in the living-room (which is the guest's main area and second sleeping-room) and the connection is fine.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Staying at Sophie's home

  • 3 of 5

At Sophie's home we had all we needed, 2 min to tram or railway station, the same distance is to Tesco. The journey to Central London takes about an hour. The owner was kind to us. But it was a little complicated when we had a shower, water was or so hot or suddenly - cold, because the boiler is warming up the water enough. There were Wi Fi, but speed is not great.

So, it is a good stay for those, who like calm place, to feel like at home and the price is not too expensive.

I wish good luck for Sophie

sincerely,

Aida

Klaipėda, Lithuania

  • Review Submitted: Jun 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I think the internet speed was slow because it was a Bank Holiday with rainy & cold weather, a lot of people must have been online at the same time, so that slowed things down, but I work from home and watch a lot of Youtube videos with no problem. Yes, the shower temperature can change but soon comes back to the desired temperature. The train to Central London takes 30 minutes, so then it all depends where you are going in Central London. For example, the National Gallery is 5 minutes' walk from Charing Cross station, one of the train destinations.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Away from everything

  • 4 of 5

I had a great experience in this place. Sophie the owner is very lovely and helpful to give you information and she was very kind to book me a cab the last day to go to the airport cause there was no train available at night. She's also very respectful and gives you all the privacy you need.The house is very charming and full with positive energy, located in a nice street, very close to the train station (trains to central London every 15 minutes) and to pubs and Tesco (open 24 hours). It was a very good experience cause I needed a place far from the London noise and crowd and this was perfect cause you can still reach the center in 30 minutes.

  • Review Submitted: May 1, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Enrico. By saying it's far away from everything, Enrico means it's far away from the crowds and tourists of London, whom he wanted to avoid. So he was very happy about that. As everyone has said, my flat is a quick train to London, 25 minutes into stations at the centre of London, so it's like taking the tube/metro.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
5

Alles sehr gut, sehr gerne wieder

  • 5 of 5

Sehr unkompliziert, gute Lage um nach London zu kommen. Gemütliches Apprtment

  • Review Submitted: Dec 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: Fewo Direkt, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Appartement conforme et échanges agréables avec la propriétaire

  • 5 of 5

L'appartement est conforme à la description de l'annonce. Nous avons apprécié l'accueil de Sophie et les échanges que nous avons eues avec elle autour d'un café : explications sur la vie quotidienne, pour se rendre dans le centre, visites, etc...Devant s'absenter pendant la week-end, elle n'a pas hésité à nous laisser l'appartement en toute confiance. Elle nous a invité à nous servir en thé, café, céréales ce qui était très agréable. Par ailleurs, nous la remercions pour nous avoir transmis un document oublié dans son appartement.

Nous recommandons vivement l'appartement de Sophie.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 20, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: Homelidays, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Merci beaucoup Laure!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Zweckmässige Unterkunft für einen London-Trip.

  • 4 of 5

Die Wohnung entspricht genau den Bildern in der Anzeige. Sophie ist sehr nett, großzügig und hilfsbereit. Nachdem in der Nacht keine Bahnen fahren, organisierte sie uns die Fahrt zum Flughafen. Die Wohnung ist nur wenige Gehminuten vom Bahnhof Elmers End entfernt. Die Züge von dort aus fahren viertelstündlich und man kommt in ca. einer halben Stunde in die City von London.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Fewo Direkt, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks a lot Barbara and Konrad for your review, it was really nice having you at my home and discover things about Germany talking with you 3!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
37 Kilometres
Gatwick
Nearest Barpub
Nearest Golf
1 Kilometres
Nearest Train
Elmers End
Nearest Restaurant
Car: not necessary

40 minutes away (train & tram) from Gatwick. The rail line to come to my flat is connected to the Northern Line, the Saami tube line coming from the Eurostar. Running as possible, There Are 3 parks near the house. Supermarket next to the train station, 3 minutes' walk away.

40 minutes (train and tram) from Gatwick Airport, Heathrow 1:50. My train line is connected to the subway line used if you arrive from St Pancras Eurostar (45 minutes).

If you are keen on jogging, there are 3 parks. Supermarket next to the train station, 3 minutes walk.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Beckenham, London

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
New Year
31 Dec 2016 - 2 Jan 2017
3 night minimum stay
£70
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
£60
for 1 night
From
£45
£316
£1,215
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £25 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Cleaning fee £15
Refundable Damage Deposit £50

Caution de £50

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Beckenham in London

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • house
Accommodation Type:
  • Bed & Breakfast
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 50 m²
Location Type:
  • town
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Bath (no shower)
  • Big bathroom with bath / shower, sink and toilets. Shared with owner. The bathroom windows so natural light HAS and lots of magazines.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • - 1 Sofa bed/Futon
    - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Double Bed
  • 2 bedrooms. Each has a double bed.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Stereo
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
Notes:
The owner lives in the flat. The owner lives in the apartment.

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties