Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Quality River Front Apartment In A Refurbished Listed Building in Ballater

People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 667 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedroom, 2 Bathroom With River Views

This apartment has recently been fully refurbished with all new kitchen, bathrooms, flooring and furniture.

This is a very peaceful apartment on a corner plot with the sunny open plan lounge and kitchen looking out over the gardens and river Dee and is the perfect retreat for couples or families wishing to spend some quality time together.

The apartment is within easy walking distance of the numerous coffee shops, bars and restaurants dotted around Ballater.

The 2 bedrooms have views out to the garden.

Bedroom 1: en-suite bedroom with double bed with top quality 5000 pocket sprung mattress with a memory foam top, Egyptian cotton sheets and 100% cotton duvet covers and pillow cases.

Bedroom 2: zip-link beds which can be arranged as either a king size or 2 small singles at renter's request. These beds have pocket sprung mattresses which can be zipped together. Cotton sheets and damask duvet and pillow cases.

Both bedrooms are equipped with iPhone / iPad docking / charging stations with Bluetooth connectivity.

2 bathrooms:

En-suite shower room with electric shower

Bathroom has full size bath (no shower)

Fully fitted kitchen with microwave, electric oven and hob, dishwasher, washing machine / tumble dryer, coffee maker, fridge with small freezer compartment.

Lounge with 43" smart TV with Netflix and BBC iplayer etc, with free unlimited internet access.

Seating and dining room for 4 people.

DVD player with selection of films.

Bluetooth speaker for connecting to your own music device.

The apartment has a lockable storage cage in the basement suitable for storing bicycles, ski equipment etc.

The lawn area outside is shared with the other apartments in the building and has spectacular views of the River Dee and surrounding hills, mountains and forests.

There is free off road parking on site.

More Details

Owner
Mrs Susan Parkinson
Member since: 2014
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
10 August, 2018

About Mrs Susan Parkinson

I've been living in the Grampian area of Scotland for almost 30 years and I'm still finding new areas to explore right on my doorstep.

Mrs Susan Parkinson purchased this apartment in 2014

Why Mrs Susan Parkinson chose Ballater

I'm a keen cyclist and I cycled to Ballater for the first time in 2013. I was struck by what a lovely town it was; clean, friendly and well kept. On the way home I cycled past this building and thought what a great location, and then noticed a for sale sign in one of the windows.....the rest is history.

What makes this apartment unique

Although there are quite a few apartments in this building, it's extremely quiet. The apartment looks out onto the river and lawn and you could easily believe you were the only ones there.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thanks for the use of this lovely apartment. Very well fitted out and enjoyable environment to spend a few days. Very convenient for the shops and the lovely scenery. We will let others know of this great apartment and Susan's hospitality.
Dec 2016
  • 1 of 7

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Ballater in Scotland

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 0
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 667 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00 / Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • mountain
  • rural
  • town
  • village
  • waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Lift
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower)
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , En suite to main bedroom
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • En Suite Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , 2 Single Bed , Can be configured as 2 small single beds or king size double
  • En suite bedroom has separate shower
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Garden ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • ski
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(31 traveller reviews)

83% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Quality River Front Apartment In A Refurbished Listed Building in Ballater
average rating of 4.83871 based on 38 reviews
5

Superb accommodation 5star

  • 5 of 5

Superb accommodation, fantastic location , quality in every way imaginable!

Above and beyond anyone’s highest expectations

  • Review Submitted: 15-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Stephen for your brilliant review and your kind words in the visitor book. So glad you both enjoyed Ballater and the apartment lived up to expectations. Your initial comments to me on driving into Ballater about how clean and well kept the village looks was a welcome reminder about how the local community here has worked hard to restore everything after the flood a few years ago. Thank you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely house in stunning area

  • 5 of 5

The location of the house is great: in the centre of Ballater, nearby great walks and castles. Just around the corner are nice tea houses and lovely shops. We love the Deeside bookshop.

The house is very comfortable, extremely clean, good beds, it was great!

Owner Susan is a very lovely host and preparing to help with everything. We've really enjoyed the River Front Apartment and hope we'll be there again soon.

  • Review Submitted: 02-Aug-2018
  • Date of Stay: July 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Aberdeen
5

Highly recommended

  • 5 of 5

Great flat and location. Very clean and modern having just been refurbished. Thoughtful touches by the owner. Thoroughly recommend this property as a holiday rental.

  • Review Submitted: 04-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks Simon, it's always great to have visitors appreciate the extra touches. I look forward to welcoming you back again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Nearly perfect!

  • 5 of 5

Terrific location, lovely apartment and fixtures. Walk out the front door to the high street, restaurant and coffee shops. Co-op grocery is open late nearby. Very nice beds, quite large and comfortable. Kitchen has everything you would need for a comfortable stay. Our host was friendly and helpful, everything we needed was already in the unit. Only two things to be aware of: the bathtub in the hallway bath is narrow and there is no handheld shower so washing hair can be a challenge. (The ensuite bath has a shower, no bath). Also the layout of the living room makes the kitchen useable by only one person at a time. Otherwise a wonderful stay and would highly recommend.

  • Review Submitted: 08-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very nice, property all new, nice touches such as lovely towels in both bathrooms.

  • 4 of 5

Overall very good, Sue was really helpful and made us feel welcome when we arrived.

The flat is perfect, all new with really good appliances and in a great location. Only improvements would be a slightly bigger bed in the main bedroom (if possible) and the on suite shower is not very strong. I would definitely recommend it to anyone and Ballater and the surrounding area is simply stunning

  • Review Submitted: 23-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
cumbria
4

Lovely apartment....

  • 4 of 5

Enjoyed our stay in Ballater...lovely modern apartment...

We did find the single beds a little narrow...fine for children...but we are pensioners and needed a little more room....also we struggled with getting out of the bath as that was narrow too...Our friends were fine in the ensuite bedroom....

The apartment would be fine for a couple and two children...

Do not like to complain...and it didn,t spoil our holiday....we will return but just as a couple..

We are aware that space in the twin room is limited..

  • Review Submitted: 17-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Barbara for your review, it's great to hear you enjoyed your stay despite the narrow beds. As you have said, space is limited and I do try to cater for all by offering to arrange the 2nd bedroom as a king size or 2 small singles, as stated on the website. The zip-link bed and mattress are purpose built for this and offer more room when arranged as a king size. You requested a twin room when booking but I would have been happy to re-arrange this to a king size if you found the beds too small. The bath is a standard UK size. I do hope you return and get "first dibs" on the en-suite bedroom next time.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Aberdeen International Airport
Nearest Barpub
100 Metres
Alexandra Bar and Restaurant
Nearest Golf
300 Metres
Ballater Golf Club
Nearest Train
40 Miles
Stonehaven Station
Nearest Restaurant
50 Metres
The Clachan Grill
Nearest Ski
18 Miles
Lecht Ski Centre
Nearest Beach
42 Miles
Aberdeen Beach
Car: recommended

The property is located in Ballater alongside the River Dee in the Cairngorms National Park. Ballater is the nearest town to Balmoral Castle, the summer retreat of the Royal Family, and boasts many speciality shops and numerous cafes and restaurants. It is an excellent base from which to tour the area and take part in the outdoor activities available; golf, skiing, walking, cycling, fishing, shooting and stalking are popular or simply just relax in the tranquil surroundings.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Ballater, Scotland

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Summer 2018
28 May 2018 - 9 Sep 2018
3 night minimum stay
£360
for 3 nights
From
£120
£720
£2,500
 
 
Autumn, Winter 2018
10 Sep 2018 - 20 Dec 2018
3 night minimum stay
£345
for 3 nights
From
£115
£690
£2,400
 
 
Xmas / New Year 2018
21 Dec 2018 - 5 Jan 2019
3 night minimum stay
£450
for 3 nights
From
£150
£900
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£345
for 3 nights
From
£115
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Prices are subject to change but will not affect confirmed bookings
Prices are all inclusive; heating, electricity, linens, towels, internet access, washing powders, soaps, coffee at no extra charge.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals