HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Beach House between the sea & the Village,5 min.from the beach,beautiful view

Bedrooms 3
Separate WC's1
Space 1,506 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


About the property

A property between enclosed walls, 1 140m2 fully renovated house with 1 suite with shower room, 2 bedrooms with private shower room, very spacious lounge with a 60 m2 living room, fully equipped kitchen. You won't need anything. The property overlooks a large terrace in natural stone and a lush garden. Sunset to the side, a wooden deck and private parking. Laundry and separate WC. Beach and village with market, restaurants and shops at 5 min. by bicycle or 10 walk.

Tone or Christophe Butler
Member since: 2015
Speaks English, French, Swedish, Danish, Norwegian
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
16 April, 2018


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Ars-en-Ré in Charente-Maritime

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 1506 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • beach
  • near the sea
  • Oceanfront
  • rural
  • village
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Raclette Machine
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 12 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 4 - Outdoor Shower
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet
    Bathroom 2 - Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed
  • 1 - 1 double bed with a shower room 2 - 1 double bed with washbasin and shower 3 - 2 single beds with washbasin and shower
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Bicycles
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue
  • 4 bicycles
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • autumn foliage
  • bay
  • churches
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • naturist beach
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Disco club
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • Hydrotherapy
  • Naturism
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • Thalassotherapy
  • walking
  • Water sports
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(10 traveller reviews)

90% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
10% Complete
Beach House between the sea & the Village,5 min.from the beach,beautiful view
average rating of 4.6 based on 10 reviews

A complete disappointment. Promises not kept.

  • 1 of 5

We stayed July 2-July 9. We arrived at 2:30 in the afternoon to find the house absolutely filthy. No cleaning had been done at all. The kitchen counters were crawling with insects. The tables were greasy to the touch. We called the owner, who explained to us that the woman who usually takes take of the house had a family issue and could not be there to clean. However she would have her arrange for a substitute. [The owner, was too busy away from the island, to come to our aid]. She said by 5:00, someone would be there to clean. However, of the four bikes promised us, two were locked away in a garden shed, so were rather stuck in the house, as our (grown) children went for an afternoon ride.

I must say the owner was apologetic and immediately offered to refund our first night's stay. She also assured us help was on its way. As it turned out, they could find no cleaning lady. Instead they offered to send over the husband of the cleaning woman at 7:30 in the evening, when he got off his construction job --explaining "Husbands help out working wives." When he did arrive at 7:30, he turned out to be completely unable to handle household jobs. He went to the shed and retrieved the bicycles but, for example, he needed my wife's help in understanding which sheets and pillow cases belonged to which bed. Needless to say, my wife wound up making the beds.

Finally, it was resolved that a true cleaning lady would arrive the next morning. Again many apologies were made and the promise to reimburse us for the first night's stay, reiterated. I should also add there was no listing about how certain electrical items (TV, Wi-Fi] worked and the cleaning lady's husband was unable to assist as his English was quite limited.

At the end of our stay, Tone sent me an email again apologizing for the "bumpy" start to our vacation and against reiterating her intention to reimburse us for the first night. In fact, she asked for our US bank address and "routing number." I duly sent them to her when we returned but received neither the money nor even the courtesy of a response. Subsequently, I sent two more emails but still no response.

Other problems:

1. The website describes a "beautiful view". There is no view other than a dried up backyard

2. The "beautiful beach" is a spit of land cvered by algae and rocks

3. The gas range did not work. The owner expected us to fix it and sent instructions in French (which we cannot read).

  • Review Submitted: 10-Aug-2016
  • Date of Stay: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry that these tenant felt this way since we did our absolute best to make their stay pleasant. Yes we had a medical emergency that we could not foresee, but we felt that we tried to make it up to them in a good way. In the end of the week we received a mail : "After a bumpy start, this week turned out fabulously" . As for the other remarks, these tenants must also take responsibility for their actions. - They arrived at 2 pm instead of 5pm - We knew about their early arrival and we did inform them that they could leave their luggage but that the house would not be ready before 5pm. - The caretaker replacement only arrived at 7:30 due to a trafic jam on the Island that day, first day of summer vacation in France. - I suggested to rebourse the first night stay, but Mr. S assured me it was not a question of money. - To compensate and ease the situation, we invited them to a nice dinner at a well-known restaurant in Ars, with driver service round-trip, while the house was getting ready. - Unfortunately, Mrs. S did not accept a MAN to do the cleaning, so yes we had to wait to the next day to get a " true cleaning LADY". - There was only two bikes outside as we were not informed about the two other persons. Two hours later 4 bikes were available. - In our announcement there has never been mention of a stunning view. Still there is a nice garden view. - Our usual tenants like our beach. If not, you have in the house a lot of information material about everything you can do or see on the island : books and maps, in french and english. - To change the gas Mr. S had two options : do it himself with a VIDEO to guide him or wait some hours for the caretaker to come. - Mr. S logged himself on wi-fi at his arrival and had the TV instruction 4 minutes after asking for them. A rental vacation home do not usuelly have a « consierge service » 24/7. But we always try to make ourselves available as soon as possible. We were available to help these tenants before and during their stay to find train schedules, call taxis at any hour, find a printer, to inform about possible strikes in Paris and so on. And we did it with pleasure, as always.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Très belle maison, bien équipée, idéalement située au calme.

  • 5 of 5

J'ai organisé un week-end familial avec mes fils sur l'île de Re et cette maison a été absolument parfaite . Maison décorée avec goût on a l'impression d'être chez soi ou chez des amis. Maison au calme, très bien située et très bien équipée.Tone a été d'un contact parfait toujours disponible et que dire d'Alicia.... Alicia vous contacte quelques semaines avant l'arrivée, se met à votre disposition et le jour de votre arrivée et durant tout votre séjour reste à votre disposition pour rendre votre séjour agréable. Sa gentillesse et ses attentions ont contribué à la réussite de nos vacances. Merci Tone et Alicia nous reviendrons.

  • Review Submitted: 30-May-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: Abritel, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Très agréable maison avec un emplacement idéla entre village et plage

  • 5 of 5

Maison récente située entre le village d'Ars et la plage. 3 minutes en vélo pour le supermarché, la plage et 5 minutes pour aller au port d'Ars et son marché. La maison est confortable, agréable. Les 3 chambres sont claires, la cuisine bien équipée. Il y a suffisamment d'assiettes, couverts et verre (ce qui manque parfois dans les maisons de location). Le seul bémol est sans doute l'absence d'un fond d'épicerie , toujours pratique de ne pas avoir à acheter ce genre de produits partout où l'on voyage. Le jardin est ensoleillé et protégé par les murs. Le prêt des 4 vélos est un plus incontestable. Pour terminer l'accueil fait par Alicia est très chaleureux, sans contrainte et fait comme pour des amis. C'est très appréciable de se sentir bienvenus. Conclusion: semaine fantastique grâce à une météo et un ciel clément et surtout à une maison agréable à vivre.

  • Review Submitted: 21-Apr-2017
  • Date of Stay: April 2017
  • Source: Homelidays, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

De superbes vacances en famille à Ars en Ré

  • 5 of 5

Nous avons passé de superbes vacances dans cette maison très bien située, au calme mais près des commerces, de la mer, du port d'Ars et des pistes cyclables de l'Ile que nous avons sillonnées de long en large. La maison est magnifique, très agréable à vivre et confortable pour 6 personnes, on s'y sent comme chez soi. L'accueil est vraiment chaleureux. Excellente adresse pour des vacances en famille ou entre amis sur l'Ile de Ré, nous reviendrons!

  • Review Submitted: 07-Aug-2016
  • Date of Stay: July 2016
  • Source: Abritel, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

Dit huis is een oase van rust. Het ligt een beetje buiten het dorpje van Ars, vlakbij het bos en de zee. 's Morgen de geur van de zee, en het geluid van de wind. Meer is er niet nodig. Het huis is smaakvol ingericht, en wij hadden er snel een 'thuisgevoel'. Wij hebben dan ook intens genoten van ons verblijf, een plekje om terug te komen.

  • Review Submitted: 26-Jun-2016
  • Date of Stay: June 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

aangename en comfortabel ingerichte vakantiewoning

  • 5 of 5

verbleven 9 dagen in deze smaakvol ingerichte woning. Ideaal voor een gezin met grote kinderen : ouders en kinderen hebben elk apart slaapgedeelte met eigen badkamer. Uitstekende Wifi. Comfortabel ingerichte keuken en ook wasmachine. Aangenaam terras en tuinmeubilair. 4 fietsen ter beschikking.

Goede ligging : rustig, maar toch dichtbij centrum Ars en Ré. Supermarkt dichtbij.

Bij aankomst : prima ontvangst door eigenaar.

Ik zou deze woning zeker aan bevelen.

  • Review Submitted: 16-Jul-2015
  • Date of Stay: June 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
35 Kilometres
La Rochelle
Nearest Barpub
700 Metres
Ars en Re
Nearest Ferry
35 Kilometres
La Rochelle
Nearest Golf
11 Kilometres
Trousse Chemise Golf
Nearest Train
45 Kilometres
La Rochelle
Nearest Motorway
35 Kilometres
Nearest Restaurant
700 Metres
Ars en Re
Nearest Beach
500 Metres
The beach of Grignon
Car: recommended


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Ars-en-Ré, Charente-Maritime

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
7 Apr 2018 - 11 May 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Mi saison
12 May 2018 - 17 May 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
18 May 2018 - 22 May 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
30 Jun 2018 - 13 Jul 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Haute saison
14 Jul 2018 - 24 Aug 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Mi saison
25 Aug 2018 - 29 Sep 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Stay tax £0.87 per night, per person. This amount will be due to the owner upon arrival. Does not apply to children under 14 years.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question

You might like these similar holiday rentals