HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Delightful Charming Nice Apartment With Lift Between Place Massena And The Sea

People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Separate WC's1
Space 882 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedroom 2 Bathroom Apartment with a Lift In An Historic Building

The apartment is on the top floor (5th) of a traditional building two streets back from the famous Promenade des Anglais in the beautiful Old Town having views both onto Place Massena, Nice's main square, and the Sea. There is a lift direct to the 5th floor.

The apartment comprises of a sitting room, a kitchen, two double bedrooms (1 Double, 1 Twin) both with en-suite bath or shower rooms. It comfortably sleeps four and in addition there is a put-me-up bed for a fifth person if necessary. The style is simple Côte with tiled floors and beamed ceilings. It is very light and airy.

In the sitting room there is a compact stereo with an ipod link, flat screen television and a DVD player. There are a number of DVDs for your use in the apartment. There is a wireless broadband Internet connection throughout the apartment. Facilities in the kitchen include induction hob, oven, fridge, dishwasher and washing machine.

The Apartment is situated in Rue Alexandre Mari which runs between Place Massena, Nice's main square, and the Place du Palais which is the main square in the Old Town.

The sea, the market, the shops, the restaurants and the opera house are all within 2 minutes walk from the apartment.

The Airport is a 20 minutes bus ride round the bay and the bus stop is 2 minutes walk from the apartment. The buses travel every 20 minutes.

The Nice Tramway comes through Place Massena making it extremely convenient. The main Railway station is 15 minutes walk (or 5 mins on the tram) up Avenue Jean Medecin, the main avenue running up from Place Massena. From here one can travel in both directions along the coast.

There are car parks in Rue Alexandre Mari as well as the Place du Palais. Cars can be hired from the airport as well as just across the gardens from the apartment.

More Details

Owner
Nic Beeby
Member since: 2008
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
18 August, 2017

About Nic Beeby

I am English and have connections with Tuscany in Italy. I wanted to have an apartment by the sea where I could go around the coast to Italy or indeed the other way as far as Spain. It is also great to travel up into the mountains behind Nice. I wanted to be able to walk everywhere with all the conveniences of the old town at my fingertips. 100 years ago the high season was in January and February because the climate and the light was so wonderful. I love to be in Nice as I feel rejuvenated!

Nic Beeby purchased this apartment in 2000

Why Nic Beeby chose Nice

Location, Location, Location!!!

Alexmari is perfectly situated between Place Massena, the main square in Nice and the Place du Palais, which is the main square in the beautiful Old Town. When you walk out of the front door, you are within walking distance of wonderful restaurants, fabulous shopping, the spacious beaches, the sumptuous markets and the beautiful Opera House. Whatever your requirements, you are catered for!

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Vieille Ville in Nice

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 5
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 882 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • beach
  • city centre
  • near the sea
  • town
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Lift ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 (ensuite to Bedroom 1) - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 (ensuite to Bedroom 2) - Bath with Shower
    Separate Toilet - Toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , Bedroom 1 has an ensuite shower room
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed , Bedroom 2 has an ensuite bathroom
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Attractions:
  • bay
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • gambling casinos
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(40 traveller reviews)

90% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Delightful Charming Nice Apartment With Lift Between Place Massena And The Sea
average rating of 4.9 based on 40 reviews
5

Wonderful stay.

  • 5 of 5

We are a family of 4 ( with 2 teenagers) and loved staying at this apartment. You could not get a more central location than this apartment. Everything you want to do as a tourist is at your door step. We really enjoyed staying at this apartment. The apartment is in the old part of Nice, it is very charming, clean, well kept and very well organized. It is a 5 min walk to the beach. We will definitely stay in this apartment next time We are in Nice. The owner, Nic, was very good in replying to all our questions with great detail and information. Thank you Nic for letting us stay at your place.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 26, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is great to hear that the location of the apartment is so appreciated. It is the main reason why I chose it seventeen years ago! I am also glad that the information I provide is so useful. Do come back soon! Nic
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely apartment. Everything you need is there.

  • 5 of 5

perfect location. Madame was very gracious greeting us. Would definitely book again.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 14, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure, great to hear how much you liked it and look forward to welcoming you back to Nice soon. Nic
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Missoula, Montana
5

Bright, warm, every detail makes this an awesome place to stay - and it's close to everything!

  • 5 of 5

We had an excellent experience from beginning to end. This apartment is too good to believe - a block from the beach, a market, and every kind of restaurant or shop you could want or need. The views are excellent and the hosts have thought of all of the small details that really make the experience feel homey - from fans to lamps kitchen utensils - we were so pleased. We stayed there with our two teenagers and there was plenty of room for all of us (the pictures are very accurate). We hope to come back and stay here again sometime!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 28, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

It was both relaxing and interesting with plenty to do and see or just collapsing with a good book!

  • 5 of 5

This was our second visit to Nice and was lucky enough to stay in the same apartment, again which did not disappoint! The location is just perfect being on the edge of the Old Town as well as overlooking Place Masenna. As before it was spotlessly clean with a welcoming feel. Nic the owner had been really helpful in recommending some excellent places to eat and visit. It is our intention to go onto Italy and then come back to stay in Nice for a few days before our flight home and Nic was so helpful with advice and recommendations for Italy also. I highly recommend the apartment for not only the quality of the accommodation and location but because it has such a lovely home from home feel.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 16, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Really pleased you enjoyed it again for this visit and glad you managed to sample the restaurant recommendations. Nic
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A little gem in a fantastic location

  • 5 of 5

When the bus from the airport turns off the Promenade des Anglais, which run along the sea front, it will stop just around the corner. Get off! The apartment is situated in a street behind the fountain which features a giant, gleaming white (naked) man. In front of him is the Place Messena, behind him the old centre with its daily market and twisting streets. Welcome to Nice.

The appartment is on the fifth floor, there is a lift for those not up to the challenge of the stairs (me!). We were welcomed by Madame Horel who patiently explained everything to us. (There is also a folder in English listing information if you need to double-check later). I had selected this particular let as it was one of a few that mentioned a bath. The main bedroom had an en-suite with a shower even I could operate. There is also a separate toilet off hallway. The bath was in twin-bedroom. Our family group consisted of four adults and there was adequate seating in the main room for all of us. The kitchen is fully equipped. Increasingly important with young adults, there is wi-fi.

As our week went on I really appreciated the location. Just two tram stops from the train for trips to Monaco and Cannes. Easy to find bus up to Museums of Chagall and Matisse (although later unexpectedly closed). A choice of eateries both in more commercial area beyond (left side) of Place Messana or around market and back streets in Old Centre. Beach just around corner.

Prior to going I had contacted Nic who replied promptly and was very helpful. Madame Horel explained she was available if we needed her.

Only drawback was I’d only booked for one week, I wish it had been two. Hopefully I will return in the near future.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 5, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for your comments Denise! I am so glad you had such a good time but sad you couldn't stay longer! Do come back very soon - there's lots more to see and enjoy! Nic
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful apartment in an excellent location!

  • 5 of 5

This apartment is absolutely fanatastic! Plenty of room with excellent facilities, we were able to cook every night comfortably and eat in the open plan dining space. The bed is super comfy and the shower is great. You get a great view from the bedroom window and can also see the sea from the living area! Location couldn't be better - the sea is minutes away and restaurants and bars are just close by. For being so central it's surprisingly quiet which allows a undistributed nights sleep. Nic provides lots of recommendations on where to go and eat, as well as some local info which was invaluable - thank you! Would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Review Submitted: May 25, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks. It is so nice to hear from guests who have enjoyed the apartment and its location so much. Glad you found the recommendations useful. Look forward to welcoming back very soon. Nic
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
6.5 Kilometres
Nice Côte d'Azur
Nearest Barpub
10 Metres
Attimi
Nearest Ferry
1.5 Kilometres
Nice Port
Nearest Golf
15 Kilometres
Nice Golf Country Club
Nearest Train
2 Kilometres
Nice Ville
Nearest Motorway
5 Kilometres
A8
Nearest Restaurant
10 Metres
Attimi - Italian
Nearest Ski
90 Kilometres
Isola 2000
Nearest Beach
250 Metres
Nice - Beau Rivage
Car: not necessary

Nice, the Queen of the French Riviera, is at the very heart of life on the spectacular Côte d'Azur.

Founded by the Greeks and colonized by the Romans, Nice's temperate winter climate and verdant subtropical vegetation have been attracting visitors for centuries.

It has a lovely warm and sunny climate, good beaches, interesting museums and galleries as well as an atmospheric street life. The 12 day Carnival in February is an explosion of celebrations culminating in a spectacular firework display.

Nice was Italian until 1861, and the pastel façades and balconies of the Old Town have a distinct Italianate feel. It lies at the eastern end of the Bay des Anges, at the foot of the hill still known as the Chateau for the castle that once stood here.

The Old Town is the most vibrant part of Nice, with its narrow streets, which are packed with boutiques, galleries, artists' studios. Nice's beautiful Opera House is situated here with a varied menu of Opera, Ballet and Classical Concerts.

At the centre of the Old Town is the Cours Salaya, the daily morning market bustling with flowers, fruit and vegetable stalls which make way in the rest of the day to cafés, bars and restaurants.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Vieille Ville, Nice Area

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
High Season
27 May 2017 - 29 Sep 2017
5 night minimum stay
£800
for 5 nights
From
£160
£980
 
 
Mid Season
30 Sep 2017 - 1 Dec 2017
5 night minimum stay
£650
for 5 nights
From
£130
£800
 
 
Low Season
2 Dec 2017 - 22 Dec 2017
5 night minimum stay
£550
for 5 nights
From
£110
£680
 
 
Christmas & New Year
23 Dec 2017 - 5 Jan 2018
7 night minimum stay
£980
for 7 nights
£980
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Rates are subject to change until booking is confirmed.
Rental Rates include Electricity and Water, Bedlinen and Towels.
SWIMMING AND BEACH TOWELS ARE NOT INCLUDED.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable