HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Le Pain de Lune in Pain de Sucre: a dream location - Le Pain de Lune: revitalisation experience

People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 807 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 1 - 29 nights

Overview

Description

Le Pain de Lune: revitalisation experience

It is a beautiful large gîte that harmoniously mixes contemporary and modernity with materials, stone, wood and steel.

There are 2 upstairs bedrooms, a spacious living room with very modern kitchen, a dining terrace and a garden without forgetting the pool, the forest and the Roc for games and relaxation.

Le Pain de lune in Pain de Sucre is 1 km from Bourg in Gironde.


About the property

Le Pain de Lune

The house, its blossoming garden and its beautiful pool are surrounded by the Roc and just below its private forest to the North and the river in rhythm with the tides with different landscape each season to the South.

Le Pain de Lune is 35 km to the North of Bordeaux just below the Dordogne River where are the Côtes-de-Bourg, a strategic location to go through vines, river, typical villages, Bourgeais, Blayais and the Southern Charente. We wait for you between 2 rivers, 2 wine designations, 2 medieval villages and at the gates of the citadels of Bourg and Blaye.

You will be our hosts and we will be yours so that your stay is as pleasant as possible in our Pain de Lune.

Sylvie & Philippe

More Details

Owner
Philippe Galand
Member since: 2015
Speaks English, French, Spanish, Dutch
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
24 April, 2018

About Philippe Galand

Former hotel manager and business coach, we are a couple of welcoming hosts. You will be our guests so that your stay is as pleasant as possible in our Pain de Lune.

Philippe Galand purchased this cottage in 2014

Why Philippe Galand chose Bourg

It is pleasant to live here, halfway between Gironde, Dordogne and Charente and it is pleasant to travel or not to do anything.

Go and come back after the discoveries of the day

Coastal, countryside, vines or castles landscapes, here you will not be bored, you can also admire the river until Royan, everything is possible.

What makes this cottage unique

The assets

Pool, small forest, river banks, nearby great supermarket to get your supplies

Vines, villages, hikes, a history book in all villages, Bourg that offers so much to see and to share with its many artists and craftpersons, its festivals and its markets where you can taste the products, without forgetting the proximity of the 2 banks and “farniente” if you want or sightseeing as much as you want.

Available Rentals

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Notes

Concernant les tarifs et les locations selon les dates et vacances ou en dehors des vacances scolaires voir le site où tout est indiqué
www.gite-lepaindelune.com Pour la location de draps et serviettes voir avec les hôtes location possible 10€ pour les draps la semaine et 5€ les serviette la semaine. nous pratiquons des tarifs pour les festivités sur Bourg ..vie Sauvage, frapading etc ..nous contacter
Merci infiniment .
tarifs spéciaux pour la première semaine des vacances d'été du 02 juillet au 09 juillet


Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Bourg in Gironde

Property Type:
  • cottage
Accommodation Type:
  • Bed & Breakfast
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 807 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 12:30
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed ...
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Nous avons des horaires pour l'ouverture fermeture de la piscine. Pour préserver la tranquillité de nos hôtes pour l'harmonie. Modulable à la demande
  • Pour le tabac nous préférons que celui ci soit consommé dehors dans le jardin ! c'est plus sympa pour les hôtes qui vous succèdent .
Location Type:
  • city centre
  • lake
  • resort
  • river
  • rural
  • town
  • village
  • waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Spacious walk-in shower and washbasins
    Bathroom 2 - Shower Enclosure , 80 cm shower cubicle and washbasin in the bedroom
  • 2 bathrooms including 1 in the master bedroom 3rd bathroom with extra bedroom Walk-in shower and washbasin Electric connection
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed
  • 2 bedrooms including 1 with shower room and large bed. An extra bedroom with large bed and bathroom is available.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue
  • Water Sports Gear
  • 2 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • eco tourism
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • Water sports
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • sailing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(10 traveller reviews)

80% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
10% Complete
Le Pain de Lune: revitalisation experience
average rating of 4.5 based on 13 reviews
1

Not what we expected

  • 1 of 5

Following our recent stay at Pain de Lune we were so disappointed with the property. Upon arrival we learnt we had restricted use of the swimming pool, 2 1/2 hours in the morning and only 3 1/2 hours in the afternoon (until 5.30pm). Based on the advert we were expecting full use of the pool, for us this is an important part of our holiday. These restrictions should have been made clear in the property advert. It was only when we told the owner that we were leaving and the reasons as to why that we were told that arrangements could have been made, we expected full use of a pool and didn't get that.

There was no mention or warning as to how low the ceilings are in the bedrooms located on the first floor. Being 6' 2'' moving around was difficult to say the least, I was unable to use the upstairs shower due to the lack of height in the cubicle.

Having to use the downstairs shower we quickly found that the soak away was partially blocked and we had to stop showering midway through until the water had subsided. If we hadn't of done this then water would of spilled onto the bathroom floor.

The first 2 pictures of the advertisement shows a beautiful building. These gave the impression of being the part of the building that we would be staying in. However, the living accommodation where we stayed was located to the right, at the rear of the property accessed via a side footpath. Whilst it had daylight there was very little sunlight.

Some of the crockery was chipped and one of the corkscrews was broken, paying such a premium price for renting the property we would of expected a higher standard.

Another disappointment was the advertised distance to the nearest bar/restaurant and town was 1km. The actual distance was 2.5 km.

Due to the above reasons we left the property after only staying 3 days out of our expected 14 days. In short we found the owner, Philippe to be very personable and informative, hence the 1 star. If we had known that we were going to experience the issues we encountered, the misinformation and the restrictions that were in place without our prior knowledge, we would of never of booked the property.

  • Review Submitted: 10-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Fit at best for all our hosts: Open since 2015 we offer a beautiful contemporary and design quality of services recognized by 3 stars and received so many satisfied customers and so happy of their stay ! But each is in right to express himself according to his impressions. Of course it’d have been really preferable to have a talk on site, for sure we would have found nice solutions. We always take into account our hosts’ remarks and requests and do all what we can do to satisfy our hosts during their stay in Pain de Lune We always adapt ourselves to particular demands when they are expressed, even when possible a change of room. The sub-slope rooms are visible on the photos, anyway we could have given our hosts a bigger one if we had known the one they got didn’t suit them. Some other photos represent the surroundings, the house of the hosts, the entrance of the holiday cottage, the nice garden for the meals etc The holiday cottage is also quite well indicated on the side of the house. Concerning the swimming pool, with our hosts we always try to have a nice balance between the enjoyment and the use-friendliness of the swimming pool and the tranquillity of the charming place that is Pain de Lune. Still this week we found the adjustments that suit our hosts’ lifestyle and needs in good harmony. The more the swimming pool is more often free than occupied. Indeed the shower had a little problem, sorry for that, but it took us only 30’ to make it perfectly working when it had been told to us. The bottles opener works very well … The holiday cottage is at 5’ by car, 2,5 km from the center of the village (a little error on the site) and 2 km when you take the charming country road (nice walk of 20-30’) Once more, we are so sorry that our guests didn’t told us what was worrying them, for sure we would have find nice arrangements. We adapt ourselves to the wishes of our hosts to do all what we can to be sure that their stay in Pain de Lune remains a delightful experience. With warm regards
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great House in a beautyfull region

  • 4 of 5

Hi Philipp and Silvie,

thanks for great holidays, we enjoyed it very much. The house was lovely and your neighbourhood impressive. Thanks for the wine and your caretaking.

Keep your heart open like this and you`re guest will love you like us :-)

  • Review Submitted: 22-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: Fewo Direkt, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks to you four very nice to be read and which beautiful be with you three weeks it was great cooking(kitchen) and tasting and our complicity with this heat sylvie and I ring happy that you aillez had a beautiful stay and the desire(envy) to return then.; we wish you the beautiful summer end one beautiful year and of voucher flat for votre belle famille avec les filles ciao Simone and Kay ans see you next Time and you no what We also love you all ... best regard et à bientôt en France
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Calme et détente

  • 5 of 5

Super point de départ pour de nombreuses destinations de visites,

Philippe et Sylvie, très accueillants, de bons conseils, et gite parfaitement rénové.

Très agréable semaine en famille

  • Review Submitted: 22-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: Abritel, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Merci à vous de votre appréciations et de vos commentaires Sylvie et moi sommes heureux de vous avoir eu comme hôtes et de partager avec vous nos connaissances de notre région afin de vous orienter sur toutes les activités et lieux à visiter et il y en à, donc vous devrez bien revenir une prochaine fois pour finir vos excursions et prolonger ce long moment de farniente .; Merci pour la Gite nous y avons mis tout notre coeur pour qu'il plaise aux vacanciers et hôtes comme vous et c'est un grand plaisir d'avoir votre retour enchanté et positif. Alors Sylvie et moi vous souhaitons une bonne rentrée pour les enfants et une belle fin d'été aussi en Belgique et puis peut être à une prochaine fois ..merci à vous quatre et bon courage pour la reprise. Sylvie et Philippe
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Le séjour idéal pour explorer la Gironde viticole

  • 5 of 5

Philippe fait le maximum pour qu'on se sente tout de suite chez soi. Faites-lui confiance pour les bonnes adresses : il connaît parfaitement la région. Quel plaisir de profiter de la quiétude du jardin et de la piscine (sans chlore!) après une jourée de découvertes dans la région

  • Review Submitted: 29-Sep-2016
  • Date of Stay: September 2016
  • Source: Abritel, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Bonjour à Vous Françoise et Claudio Merci de votre retour sur notre Gite havre de Paix et centre stratégique pour rayonner dans les vignobles et autres perles de notre région. La Gironde terre d'accueille pour les aventuriers et les voyageurs en recherchent de quiétude, d'ivresse ( modérément) et dénivelés pour les vélos ! Bravo à vous pour vos escapades route de la corniche et jusque dans le Médoc ...va falloir que je m'y mette moi aussi ..Merci de votre aimable venue et dieu sait si la route est longue depuis la Belgique ! Merci également de votre sympathique présence qui justifie à elle seule notre rôle d'hôtes envers des hôtes communicatifs et souriants. A une prochaine fois sur la route des hôtes d'ici et de plus loin encore. bien courtoisement à vous deux. sylvie et Philippe
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Des vacances au Top

  • 5 of 5

Nous avons passé deux semaines au Pain de Lune fin août 2016. Ce fut de très chouettes vacances!

Le gite était tout à fait conforme à ce que l'on espérait (décoré avec beaucoup de gouts, équipé de tout ce qui est nécessaire - tant au niveau cuisine que jeux pour enfants et/ou adultes, ...). Le gîte était tout à fait propre (restant 2 semaines d'affilées, le ménage et le changement des draps ont été effectués sans qu'on ne l'ai demandé... super attention!). L'accueil par les propriétaires est très chaleureux et leurs attentions tout au long de notre séjour à certainement contribué à sa réussite (bouteille de vin -très bonne- à l'arrivée au gîte, conseils et infos touristiques, ...). La piscine est très agréable, bien que trop petite pour mes garçons ! (mais je pense que toute piscine sera toujours trop petite pour eux ;-). La Région est également très agréable, nous n'avons pas eu assez de 2 semaines pour visiter tout ce que nous voulions voir... Il faudra revenir!

  • Review Submitted: 02-Sep-2016
  • Date of Stay: August 2016
  • Source: Abritel, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Bonjour toute la Famille vous savez que nous avons été également très heureux de vous recevoir pendant ces deux semaines de canicule ! et franchement Adultes comme enfants c'était un régal Sylvie et moi vous remercions de votre sympathie et décontraction si vous étiez bien c'est que vous étiez comme à la maison ....en effet une bien belle région et vous en avez bien profité ce qui donne envie de revenir et d'explorer encore plus ..les alentours ...Alors à une prochaine fois mais dans tous les cas des Hôtes comme vous c'est que du bonheur.Sylvie et moi vous souhaitons une bonne rentrée si ce n'est déjà fait pour adultes la prochaine c'est pour les enfants alors Courage à vous tous et encore merci Aline et Philippe et souvenez vous la Belgique c'est la ville la plus accueillante d'Europe ! alors sait' on jamais ..nous nous retrouverons. Sylvie et moi vous transmettons nos sincères , courtoises et cordiales salutations...et un Grand Merci à vous Tous.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Rien à ajouter : tout y est !

  • 5 of 5

Les locations comme on les rêve : un accueil prévenant, un logement agencé avec goût et dans un style moderne et offrant tout le confort nécessaire, une localisation calme et reposante, ... bref une adresse hautement recommandable.

  • Review Submitted: 25-Aug-2016
  • Date of Stay: July 2016
  • Source: Abritel, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Bonjour Bernard Merci de ton commentaire très appréciable et je sais sincère, j'espère que la canicule ne vous scotch pas trop ! Sylvie en séminaire moi au bord du Fleuve alors pas tout baigne. Des congénères occupent le Gite en ce moment même , je sais que votre sensibilité va faire des petits et je vous remercie , l'important c'est le bien être , la sérénité et la sympathie surtout pendant les vacances .Alors sans doute à une prochaine fois..vous serez toujours les bienvenus au Pain de Lune. Bonne rentrée à tous et bon rétablissement à ta fille. Cordialement Sylvie et Philippe .
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
45 Kilometres
Mérignac
Nearest Barpub
2.5 Kilometres
Bourg
Nearest Ferry
11 Kilometres
Blaye
Nearest Golf
45 Kilometres
Saint-Emilion and Bordeaux
Nearest Train
11 Kilometres
Saint-André-de-Cubzac
Nearest Motorway
11 Kilometres
A 10
Nearest Restaurant
2.5 Kilometres
Bourg
Nearest Beach
110 Kilometres
Royan/Arcachon Bay
Car: necessary

Many walks and winemaking castles to visit and bikes and electric bikes at the tourist office

Dordogne banks and 45 minutes away Bordeaux Gironde, Charente, Blayais, Bourg and its citadel, cave, hiking paths, visits of wine cellars and castles, wine tasting, quiet tourist area according to your tastes but also rich historic and traditional heritage, nerve centre to go through the coasts of Bourg and Blaye but also to go to Royan and its beaches or to the Arcachon Bay. Cross the river by ferry to visit the Médoc or navigate on the river to discover the estuary and its secrets: the bigger estuary of Europe with 2 banks which makes it a history book from the Middle Ages to the modernity of the area of Bordeaux (museums, shows and festivals), a spectacular town for all tastes and finally The Pain de Sucre by the Dordogne, a dream landscape where it is pleasant to stay. It is a haven and a starting point for successful holidays.

Photos