HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

A Delightful 19th Century Beamed Cottage In Trevone Bay, 3 Mins From The Beach

People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Old Cottage Is A Delightful Self Catering Cottage That Sleeps 4 In Two Bedrooms

Old Cottage is a delightful self - catering cottage that sleeps four in two bedrooms, one spacious double and one cosy twin.

The Cottage is in the heart of the secluded village of Trevone and is just a 3 min walk to the sandy beach of Trevone Bay and a 2 mile drive from the picturesque fishing harbour of Padstow, home to Rick Stein's Seafood Restaurant. Old Cottage is the ideal retreat for families, couples, weekend breakers wanting to take in the beauty the North Cornish Coast to surf, walk, rock-pool, cycle the Camel Trail or just while away the time on the beach.

After a full day out relax back at the cottage in the comfort of this fantastic 19th century property. The winter months are ideal for long weekends away exploring and then curling up in front of the fire. Summer is all about the beach, we have many happy memories of our childhood holidays rock-pooling, surfing and lazy days in the sun.

The cottage is over 100 years old boast an oak beamed living/ dining room, fully equipped bespoke cottage kitchen, a bathroom with shower and a lovely secluded garden ideal for those evening barbecues and watching the sun go down. You will find everything you would expect at home including tv/ DVD, microwave, nespresso coffee machine, iPod docking station, Wifi, hair dryer, BBQ and a selection of buckets and spades for those

lazy days on the beach.

The property is the oldest in the village and dates back to 1890 with all the character that brings. Located in the heart of this friendly village peaceful village. There is a local village farm shop as well as the beach store for all your essentials.

Regrettably we do not take pets.

You, as we do each time we come to our home in Cornwall will find it hard to leave, and it will leave you wanting to come back again and again.

More Details

Owner
Nicky Alsop
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
20 November, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

Nicky thank you we had a lovely stay. Your house is lovely -really homely with a lovely comfy lounge/kitchen with all the gadgets you have at home and your lovely garden to sit in; the roses are beautiful.



Really like the velux window in the roof as we had a warm week and it was good to get the extra air at night..



Also love the wood burner though of course we didn't use as it was too hot but it looks super.



We all enjoyed the beach/walks and the boys enjoyed kayaks on the beach.



Happy to consider coming back again and thank you for letting us stay in your home.
Jul 2014
  • 1 of 3

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Padstow in Cornwall

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • beach
  • near the sea
  • village
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Downstairs cottage bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Games
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
Attractions:
  • bay
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • golf
  • sailing
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Changeover day for weekly lets is Friday only. Bedding and towels are to be provided by the holidaymaker.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(31 traveller reviews)

54% Complete
41% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
A Delightful 19th Century Beamed Cottage In Trevone Bay, 3 Mins From The Beach
average rating of 4.516129 based on 34 reviews
5

Lovely!

  • 5 of 5

Our second family visit to the Old Cottage- we were not disappointed and have already booked again to stay next year.

We love Trevone and have developed quite a soft spot for the Old Cottage - it's charming features and it's fabulous location.

Looking forward to returning and trying the natural rock swimming pool.

We loved the benefit of the nice linen being included this time too.

Many thanks Nicky for another great stay.

  • Review Submitted: 10-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Catherine so pleased you enjoyed your time at Old Cottage it really is a special base for unspoilt Trevone. See you next year. Nicky
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect couple's retreat

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay in Old Cottage. We were very lucky with the weather, and had stunning walks along the coast and bodyboarded at Trevone Beach in glorious sunshine. Sipping a glass of wine as the sun went down in the garden was an added bonus. Free parking nearby was very straightforward. We didn't bring the children, as they were being looked after by their grandparents. A lovely treat for us all.

  • Review Submitted: 30-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Sarah for your lovely review of Old Cottage. Great that you got to see much of what is special about Trevone and the surrounding coastline. We hope to see you very soon with or without the children. Nicky
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Characterful, comfortable and cosy cottage in good location.

  • 4 of 5

The cottage is clean, comfortable and very cosy. Lots of character with low beams and would burner in the main living area. A small, pretty and well equipped kitchen. The out side space was simple but a lovely place to sit; washing line, nice furniture and a BBQ provided. The roses and hydrangeas; very pretty. The main bedroom was stylishly furnished in keeping with the cottage. The twin room was rather a squeeze for two adults, the beds small and bouncy, but overall comfortable. The downstairs bathroom was fine although felt a little chilly and damp at times and the basin tap 'sung' loudly when used. The cottage is in a good location, a few 100 metres from the beach and close to farmers' fields for a scenic walk near the sea. Parking was fine, we hardly used the car anyway. The neighbours were also very friendly. We had a lovely time in Trevone and would recommend the Old Cottage. Just be aware that if you are tall you may, in moments of absent mindedness, clunk your head on the beams or kitchen doorway. The information on the website advised us to take our own bedding and bath/hand towels whereas these were actually provided so that was one large bag I didn't need to pack - it may be worth checking that out before travel. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and recommend the Old Cottage as a comfortable place to stay. I'm sure , if the Old Cottage could talk it would have some interesting, historical stories to tell.

  • Review Submitted: 29-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Alison for your feedback and so pleased you enjoyed your stay. The beds in the small room are being changed in November following the feedback and we do provide bedding, we have amended the information pack. Think we did advise in the covering e mail but apologies for the extra bag you had to take. The cottage temperature can be regulated to suit as have storage heaters and the lovely woodburning stove. Your feedback is important to us and have happily addressed for the future. Thank you once again, Nicky
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A sweet and cozy cottage with everything you need for a lovely holiday.

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time at trevone. Walking to padstow along the rugged cliffs, swimming in the amazing rock swimming pool, and to and fro to the beach a hundred times a day (and night). The farm shop kept us fed and we didn't have to go to a supermarket once! Alcoholic ginger beer from a nearby brewery was a discovery and local wines even! Perfect- thank you!

  • Review Submitted: 07-Apr-2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Tess for the lovely feedback. So pleased you all had a great time we hope to see you again very soon. Nicky
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely weekend stay

  • 5 of 5

We had a lovely stay at Old Cottage, it was well equipped clean, warm and comfortable. Trevone beach is a short walk away and if you fancy a walk into Padstow there is a lovely walk you can follow.

We would definitely re-visit and recommend to friends looking for a short stay.

Thank you!

  • Review Submitted: 27-Mar-2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sarah I am so pleased you enjoyed Old Cottage as much as we do and we would be delighted to welcome you back anytime. Many thanks Nicky
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely cottage

  • 5 of 5

This is our second stay at Old Cottage. The cottage was clean, well equipped and is in a fantastic location. We had a fantastic week with plenty to see and do near by. Loved the walk to Trevone beach. Cannot wait to return to the Cottage for another relaxing holiday! Thank you.

  • Review Submitted: 17-Feb-2017
  • Date of Stay: February 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So pleased you enjoyed your return visit as much as the first Kevin. You know you will be welcomed back anytime. That walk to the beach gets me everytime 😀 Thank you Nicky
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
14 Miles
Newquay
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
The Cornish Arms
Nearest Beach
500 Metres
Trevone Bay
Car: recommended

Old Cottage is a delightful self-catering cottage a mile and a half from Padstow, a three minute walk from the beach yet tucked away in the heart of the popular but peaceful seaside village of Trevone on Cornwall's north coast. In an area of Outstanding Natural Beauty this pretty 19th century cottage boasts a beamed lounge, natural stone walls, a bespoke kitchen, two bedrooms and an attractive westward facing garden.

The cottage is an ideal location for family holidays, walking breaks, surf beach holidays or to cycle along the Camel Trail.

Old Cottage sits close to the sandy beaches of Trevone Bay, Harlyn Bay, Treyarnon Bay, and Constantine popular for those who like to surf, lie in the sand and work on their tan or rock pool with the children.

During your stay you'll be close to Padstow the picturesque fishing harbour and home to Rick Stein,s Seafood Restaurant and a number of other eateries from friendly cafés to traditional fishermen pubs.

If golfing is your passion the Championship 18 hole golf course at Trevose is close by. Enjoy scenic cycle rides in the beauty of Cornwall with bike hire available locally at Padstow, or Wadebridge.

From Padstow you will be able to take the Ferry to Rock where you can try your hand at sailing or water-skiing .Why not book a sea -fishing trip from the quay ?

In summary Old Cottages secluded village location is the ideal base for the perfect beak away.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Padstow, Cornwall

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
October-Dec 2017
27 Oct 2017 - 14 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£240
for 3 nights
From
£80
£295
 
 
Xmas 2017
22 Dec 2017 - 28 Dec 2017
7 night minimum stay
£560
for 7 nights
£560
 
 
New Year 2017-18
29 Dec 2017 - 4 Jan 2018
7 night minimum stay
£560
for 7 nights
£560
 
 
Jan - Feb
5 Jan 2018 - 8 Feb 2018
3 night minimum stay
£240
for 3 nights
From
£80
£295
 
 
Feb Half Term
9 Feb 2018 - 15 Feb 2018
7 night minimum stay
£430
for 7 nights
£430
 
 
Feb-March
16 Feb 2018 - 29 Mar 2018
3 night minimum stay
£240
for 3 nights
From
£80
£320
 
 
Easter
30 Mar 2018 - 19 Apr 2018
7 night minimum stay
£495
for 7 nights
£495
 
 
April-May
20 Apr 2018 - 24 May 2018
7 night minimum stay
£400
for 7 nights
£400
 
 
May Half Term
25 May 2018 - 31 May 2018
7 night minimum stay
£525
for 7 nights
£525
 
 
June
1 Jun 2018 - 28 Jun 2018
7 night minimum stay
£525
for 7 nights
£525
 
 
July
29 Jun 2018 - 19 Jul 2018
7 night minimum stay
£595
for 7 nights
£595
 
 
Summer Hols
20 Jul 2018 - 6 Sep 2018
7 night minimum stay
£795
for 7 nights
£795
 
 
September
7 Sep 2018 - 25 Oct 2018
3 night minimum stay
£240
for 3 nights
From
£80
£425
 
 
October Half Term
26 Oct 2018 - 1 Nov 2018
7 night minimum stay
£450
for 7 nights
£450
 
 
Nov-Dec
2 Nov 2018 - 20 Dec 2018
3 night minimum stay
£240
for 3 nights
From
£80
£295
 
 
Xmas
21 Dec 2018 - 27 Dec 2018
7 night minimum stay
£560
for 7 nights
£560
 
 
New Year
28 Dec 2018 - 3 Jan 2019
7 night minimum stay
£560
for 7 nights
£560
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
£750
for 7 nights
£750
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Duvets and pillows are provided guests are required to bring pillowcases and duvet cover/towels.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals