HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Charming Poolside Villa, Only Steps to Beach

People5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Separate WC's1
Space 1,000 sq. ft.
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 1 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

2 BR, 1 Full BA, 1 Half BA, Sleeps 4-5.

Just remodeled main bath, new appliances, fresh paint & upgraded decor items. Villa is situated in an Enchanting Oceanfront Resort Complex of privately owned Villas on the northern end of historic Jekyll Island. The pool is right outside the back door. The kiddie pool, snack shack, gift shop, lounge, and restaurant are all in the same area. This 2 bedroom, 1 and 1/2 bath unit can accommodate up to 5 persons. The master bedroom is upstairs and overlooks the pool and has a queen bed. The 2nd bedroom just down the hall has 2 Extra Long twin beds. Downstairs you will find a large well equipped kitchen, 1/2 bath, dining room and beautiful family room with great pool view. Overstuffed Large Sofa can be used as a sleeper for children or small adults. Perfect for families with children. The Villas by the Sea is a beautiful Oceanfront Resort, tastefully landscaped and well maintained, much like a picturesque painting, with huge live oaks and Spanish moss. The beach is a short football field walk away from your back door.

Casino, Cruise, Dancing Anyone?? : Want a great afternoon or evening playing the slots, the tables, or a little roulette? Well the Emerald Princess Casino Cruise ship is just a short 15 minute drive away. All ticket prices include: Scenic cruise, dining, music, dancing, access to casino gaming and a return-to-port snack. Located on 2 levels, the fabulous casino includes seven Blackjack tables, two Emerald Princess Stud Poker tables, over 130 slot machines (nickels, quarters, dollars and five dollar slots), Roulette, Craps, and Video Blackjack.

North Beach Tides are High: The Villas by the Sea complex is located on the north end of Jekyll Island. The tidal stream moves from North to South and over time washes the sand to the southern portion of the island. The beach therefore is very wide on the southern part of the Island and narrow on the north. In order to enjoy the beach to the fullest, please make note of the Low Tide times and plan your beach excursions around those times. This may mean beach in the morning and the pool in the afternoon or vice versa. You should normally have 4 - 6 hours of beach time daily. When the tide is high, there is still a portion of beach available for sun bathing and play, but it is located behind the barrier rocks that prevent additional erosion of the dunes. You can of course enjoy the beach during any time of the day by driving only a few minutes to the public beach areas. There you will find a sand bar that stretches 2000 feet out to sea. The children love this part of the beach.

Driftwood Beach: Directly North of the Villas Resort is Driftwood Beach, voted the 5th most romantic beach in the world by Travelocity. It is truly a magnificent section of beach. From Travelocity, 'Emerging from under a canopy of oak trees, one happens upon this isolated stretch of beach and can walk (or ride one of the island horses) among the massive twisted shapes. As if an open-air gallery full of sculpture, this place is an organic exhibition and no two visits are the same. If you're lucky, you may witness a dolphin swimming by. The light here is dominated by golden hues and is beautiful throughout the day, although sunsets are poetic and often set the horizon ablaze with a display of fiery crimson, orange and bold yellow. The St. Simons lighthouse off in the distance serves as a reminder that the world beyond is at once near and far.'

More Details

Owner
Boyd Smith
Member since: 2005
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
27 June, 2017

About Boyd Smith

From Athens Ga, home of the University of Ga. Graduate of UGA, Real Estate Developer, Agent & property manager in Athens and Licensed Residential Contractor.

Boyd Smith purchased this villa in 2005

Why Boyd Smith chose Coastal Georgia

We always went to Jekyll as a family when I was a kid for the Elks club convention. I had great memories of times there and it is one of the very few places that has really not changed that much in 40 years. There is a certain peacefulness at Jekyll.

What makes this villa unique

Its like stepping back in time. NO stop lights or chain stores. NO fast food (oh except there is a DQ now) or glitz. Plenty to do though - Biking, golf, tennis, the beach, water park , and on and on and on

Guestbook comments from the owner

What a lovely, lovely time we had at your Villa. It was restful and the weather was lovely. We had a delightful afternoon on Saturday exploring the Historic Village. I had been there several times but this was the first time I wandered and learned.



We had a great meal at Driftwood Bistro there on the property. We also enjoyed the Rah-Bar (she crab soup) and an OOK meal at Iguana's on St. Simons.



The condo was delightful and so nice. What a pleasure!
Mar 2015
  • 1 of 5

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday villa in Jekyll Island in Glynn County

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • beach
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
  • resort
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Fax
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Upstairs
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Downstairs
  • Large, bright, and clean Full bathroom upstairs, newly added 1/2 bath downstairs. Also, a vanity sink is located in the Master Bedroom for additional convenience. Towels provided at check in as part of your stay and included in the price. Additional or Daily maid service is available for an additional fee, payable at check in.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , Vanity in Room
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed , Large room
  • The master bedroom is located on the second floor and overlooks the pool. There is a large vanity and sink, a TV w/ remote and a phone. Room is decorated w/ bright beach colors. The second bedroom is just down the hall and has 2 Long Twin beds. There is not a TV in the second bedroom. The bath is located between the two bedrooms. There is a large sofa in the downstairs family room and is fine for one person to sleep on. It is not a pull out, but is comfortable for one. Linens and Towels are provided at check in as part of your stay and included in your price. Additional or Daily maid service is available for an additional fee, payable at check in.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Player
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Bicycles ...
  • Golf ...
  • Patio
  • Tennis ...
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • bay
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • forests
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Additional Pictures Available! Please e-mail to request additional pictures. Pictures included will showcase unit #332, exterior of complex, beach, pool, and attractions.

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(48 traveller reviews)

Charming Poolside Villa, Only Steps to Beach
average rating of 4.9583335 based on 53 reviews
Closplint, KY
5

Love it, Love it, Love it!!!

  • 5 of 5

This condo was in the perfect location for our family of five. We were just steps away from the pool and the beach was just a short walk away. We couldn't have asked for a better place to spend our time on the Island and we are looking forward to our next trip there. When we walked into the condo for the first time, we automatically felt at home. It very nicely furnished and very comfortable. We loved it!! I would definitely recommend this condo to anyone!! Boyd, thank you so much for all your help. We can't wait to visit again!!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 10, 2010
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We love to hear from our Happy Guests!
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0
5

We loved it! The grounds crew really do a wonderful job keeping everything so neat.

  • 5 of 5

All the staff members we came in contact with were so friendly. We love the unit and all the grounds. The boardwalk was great! We definitely would stay here again. Oh, and we found the "Driftwood Bistro" to have the best food. We had no need to get in car to find a place to eat dinner, just a few steps away.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 2, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Close to All Your Needs

  • 4 of 5

Our vacation did NOT start off as good as expected. We arrived at the Villa at 3:40 and began to check in. When we arrived, they did begin to process our "check-in" but said our unit wasn't ready yet. I knew check-in wasn't until 4:00, so I said, "Oh, OK. So come back at 4:00?" The guy, "Chris" at the counter said in a harsh voice, "I don't know. I said your unit isn't ready yet!". That actually made me upset, because we should have had access to the property at 4:00. I called Mr. Smith who assured me they weren't doing it on purpose and said that, "that" had never happened before. I asked for the key and promised not to go in until the Villa was ready but Chris told me that I could "sue if I went in and the Villa wasn't ready". All I really wanted to do was go to the beach, hang out, and "chill" without having to hang around the lobby to wait for the cleaners to get out of the villa. I spoke to several people after 4:00, but everyone said there was "nothing they could do". Chris told another employee that the people in the unit before us had an extended stay and they needed to do a deep cleaning. He never told that to us. If he had, perhaps we wouldn't have been so upset. Needless to say, we had to hang out in the lobby until our Villa was ready almost an hour past check-in.

Once we got into the Villa, it was as expected. The Villa was clean and tidy with plenty of space for four women to enjoy "Girl Time". The extra half bath down stairs was great. The sink in the master helped with getting ready. The kitchen was perfect for us to prepare breakfast and lunch every day. We ate dinners out and about. We even ate at the restaurant on the property one night...it was delicious. When they ask if you want the half or whole plate...go for the half.

The location of the Villa is perfect. We walked along the beach toward the driftwood area plenty of times. We relaxed on the Villa boardwalk some as well. We didn't swim in the pool because it was a bit too chilly for us, but it was very convenient.

The island is small so getting around is not a problem. We went shopping some and even went on a dolphin tour. We didn't know it was dolphin mating season, so we got to see extra bits of dolphins that no one should have to see on a girl trip.

In general, the experience was good. We talked to the manager when we left and they offered to refund the cleaning fee but Mr. Boyd paid it so the refund would have gone to him instead. I guess we lost an hour.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 20, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is unfortunate that our guest was unable to check into the Villa on time, but if the previous nights guest was late departing, it's just very difficult to catch up. The Staff can not just physically remove a guest from a room, they have to follow procedure. Nonetheless, it sounds as if the front desk personnel could have done a better job explaining the situation and with his demeanor. I know at check in time things can be crazy, but a smile and pleasant comment can go a long way. It is policy not to allow guests to enter the Villa until it has been completely cleaned and inspected, just too much potential for additional problems to arise. In my 15 Years as an owner, this was the 1st time I was made aware of this happening at my Villa, but I know its happened to me on several occasions, even at the likes of Marriott, Holiday Inn, and others. Its the nature of the beast. I am pleased that the remainder of their stay was nice and as expected and without incident and that hopefully they were able to unwind and relax after the initial ruffled feathers. I believe if you were to peruse the other nearly 50 reviews on our site, you will find that a completely pleasant experience is the norm and that this guests check-in encounter was a very unusual occurrence.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay at the Villas By The Sea. The condo is updated and clean. The location is right by the pool and across the parking lot from the beach. The only negative, and it's not about the condo itself, are the bugs. If you are planning to go in early fall, be prepared that the black flies and mosquitoes are bad. It would be nice if the property had treated the common areas like the pool and playground. Other than that, we had a great time.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're are of course always pleased to hear that our guests enjoyed our condo, that they found it clean and well appointed. The guest unfortunately experienced some of mother natures finest that do come out during certain times of the year. The Jekyll Island Park Maintenance crews do utilize fogger trucks to keep bugs down, but obviously they are not 100% effective. Typically we do not experience problems with black flies, but she may be describing the "No See Um's" that can be annoying. They are these tiny little smaller than gnat size, barely visible little nuisances. We do have a few tricks to remedy these and other pests and are happy to speak with our guests about this and any other concerns that may arise during their stay. It is truly our desire that your vacation on Jekyll be the very best and most enjoyable that it can be, whether in our Villa or on the beach. I appreciate this guests comments.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Perfect Location by the pool.

  • 4 of 5

This was not our 1st visit to Jekyll nor our 1st visit to the Villas. However, it was our favorite visit to date. This villa is in the perfect location, just steps from one of the entrances to the pool. Because you can't get a "true" beach view from the oceanfront condos the poolside Villa is the perfect option. This Villa, in particular, is one of the nicest we have had the pleasure of staying in. The décor is up-to-date and trendy. The remodeled bathroom is perfect and so is the additional half bath beneath the staircase. One of the best features is the additional sink with countertop in the master. That made it so much easier for everyone to have plenty of space while getting ready (don't have to wait to use mirror/sink in bathroom). Basically, this Villa has just about everything you could possibly need to make your stay a Jekyll relaxing and lots of fun. So...give it a try, you won't be disappointed.

  • Review Submitted: May 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are always pleased when our Guests arrive at our Villa and have an experience that meets or exceeds their expectations. As this review is the first since our recent renovations, we are thrilled that they enjoyed and appreciated the remodeled bathroom. We feel it would rival any Hampton Inn or Marriott Courtyard Suites. Just as if you were a guest in our home, we want every family staying at our Villa to leave rested and having enjoyed the best of Jekyll Island and Villa by the Sea.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Denver, CO
5

Wonderful Stay!

  • 5 of 5

This was our first time visiting Jekyll Island, and my wife, daughter, and I absolutely loved it. This villa was perfect for us, and had all of the amenities that we needed. With the pool right outside the patio door and just a short walk to the beach, fully stocked kitchen that we used a few nights to cook some fresh fish, and the central location on the island - we couldn't have picked a better place. Go visit Jekyll now, and stay here! :)

  • Review Submitted: May 27, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: As always, we are thrilled when first time visitors come to Jekyll and stay in our Poolside Villa. But now more than ever, Jekyll Island is becoming a destination vacation spot. The new beachfront Jekyll Village is partially open with new shops, restaurants, and entertainment and a truly impressive place just to hang out. As always, the beach, biking trails, golf, tennis, Pier, History Village, bird watching, and so much more will make you want to stay longer than you planned. Jekyll Island, It's All Good!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Jacksonville, Florida
Nearest Barpub
20 Metres
Driftwood Bistro, Villas by The Sea Lobby
Nearest Ferry
30 Miles
Sapelo Sound, Ga
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Jekyll Island
Nearest Train
70 Miles
Jacksonville, Florida
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
I-95 @ Brunswick
Nearest Restaurant
20 Metres
Driftwood Bistro, Villas by the Sea Lobby
Nearest Beach
100 Metres
Jekyll Island
Car: recommended

Jekyll Island was the winter home for the wealthiest families in America during the Gilded Age. Since 1947 the Island has been owned by the State of Georgia. For this reason, it remains timeless in many ways. If your looking for glitz, you'll need to drive to Brunswick or Jacksonville, as Jekyll Island is still a quaint little village where traffic and stress are rarely found. On the island you will enjoy golf a plenty, a fantastic water park, historic homes & shops, a full service marina, bike & walking paths, excellent dining, Putt Putt Golf, fishing on the beach or pier, horse back riding, and of course all that goes along with the magnificent Atlantic Ocean and beach.

Other Activities: Turtle & Bird watching in season

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday villa in Jekyll Island, Georgia

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Summer 2017
29 May 2017 - 1 Sep 2017
1 night minimum stay
£278
for 1 night
From
£238
From
£265
Fri,Sat
£1,650
 
 
Labor Day Weekend, Fri-Mon
1 Sep 2017 - 3 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
£798
 
 
Early Fall 2017
4 Sep 2017 - 26 Oct 2017
1 night minimum stay
£242
for 1 night
From
£202
From
£229
Fri,Sat
£1,318
 
 
Georgia / Fl Weekend
27 Oct 2017 - 29 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
£713
 
 
Late Fall
30 Oct 2017 - 30 Nov 2017
1 night minimum stay
£211
for 1 night
From
£170
From
£202
Fri,Sat
£1,175
 
 
December 2017
1 Dec 2017 - 28 Dec 2017
1 night minimum stay
£175
for 1 night
From
£135
From
£157
Fri,Sat
£933
 
 
New Years Eve
30 Dec 2017 - 1 Jan 2018
3 night minimum stay
£556
 
 
Winter 2017
1 Jan 2018 - 31 Jan 2018
3 night minimum stay
£444
for 3 nights
From
£135
From
£157
Fri,Sat
£933
£2,103
 
 
Standard pricing
1 night minimum stay
£251
for 1 night
From
£211
From
£229
Fri,Sat
£1,453
£2,995
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning £34.79 + Tax
Tax Rate 16.0%

Cleaning fee will be included on all Rentals
**A $45 Cleaning fee included in all rental quotes.
***5% resort fee is included in rental pricing. Covers amenities such as Bathroom Toiletries, kitchen soap, paper towels, dishwasher detergent, upgraded linens & towels, FREE WIFI, Resort workout facility, playground equipment, access to pool & kiddie pool, boardwalks, and FREE Movie rentals

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals