HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

You will say 'Sea-U-Later' to stress when you rent this home

People10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 2,800 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 - 31 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms , 3 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

Luxury by the sea is all yours when you stay at Sea U Later. Built in 2006 it has an open floor plan and breathtaking views of the bay. Watch the dolphins swim while you enjoy your morning coffee.Swim in the bay from the semi-private beach for a fun day in the sun without the worry of high waves or undertow.

Sea-U-Later is just 50 yards from the water. The bay is calm for small children or those who do not want to navigate the high waves of the ocean. The beach is pet friendly with plenty of drift wood to toss for your four legged friends.

This home is centrally located on the island making hiking and biking to restaurants and shops a breeze.

Only 5 blocks from public Gulf beach access,the new Light house and the playground.

Keywords: House,bay,jet ski,view,screened porch,bay, close to beach, pet friendly, WIFI, quiet,tranquil,fishing,

bike riding,family friendly,Lighthouse

More Details

Owner
Hannah McKinney
Member since: 2007
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
20 November, 2017

About Hannah McKinney

My family has been vacationing on St. George Island since 1967. We would get invited to go to the island by friend's and I thought it was boring because there was nothing to do but pick up shells,fish,swim and walk on the beach! I grew up and went away to college but my family would meet in Tallahassee and all go to the island each year. I got married (on the island) and moved to the West coast in 1983 but traveled every year to meet my extended family on the island. Three of our children are grown but all four love the island and know how much it means to me and our family.

My husband and I semi-retired in 2005 and began building our dream house. I had the privilege of designing it so it is extra special to me.

Hannah McKinney purchased this house in 2006

Why Hannah McKinney chose Gulf Beaches

As an adult, I had always dreamed about having a place on the island. When we found the lot;we fell in love instantly! We drove over to the mainland the same day to make a bid on it.

What makes this house unique

Our house is family friendly with something for everyone to enjoy. The stairs are on a 3 inch rise for persons who have difficulty climbing stairs. Open concept with two separate master suites. The front porch is 16x72 and has an unobstructed view of the bay. At night,the lights from the SGI Bridge are fantastic! Our house is kid friendly with games,puzzles,XBOX and high chair.

Location

Eddy Teach's Raw Bar -- CLOSED
" Jimmy Buffet is a regular. Local bands from Thursday night during the summer months. Fantas..."
Blue Parrot Ocean Front Cafe
"My favorite restaurant since it is on the beach. Great drinks to go. You can get a frozen dr..."
Papa Joe's Oyster Bar & Grill
"Great seafood on the bayou in Apalachicola "
Subway
"Good sandwiches for a spontaneous picnic "
Journeys of St George Island
"This place rents kayak's and can even deliver them to my house for kayaking the bay. They te..."
Oyster Bay Bar & Grill -- CLOSED
"Good food and atmosphere"
BJ's Pizza and Subs
"The best pizza and the game room is awesome for the kids. Take out or dine-in only. No deliv..."
Nearest Airport
71 Miles
Tallahassee Regional
Nearest Golf
25 Miles
St.James Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Hwy 98
Nearest Beach
50 yards
Car: not necessary

There is a bald Eagle nest 1/4 mile from our house and you can see the Eagle fly to his nest from our front porch. The beaches have the brightest white sand and there is hardly any other people close by even during the summer season. Bike riding is a favorite activity because there is a bike path that goes around half the island. No car necessary if you have or rent a golf cart.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Gulf Beaches in Eastpoint

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • city centre ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • Two master baths and the third bath is a large 4 piece bath with tub/shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , has a sitting area and luxury en suite
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 2 Single Bed
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 Double Bed , Will fit in three of the bedrooms or in Great room area
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Double Bed , 2nd master suite with en suite with jetted tub
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2), Double size inflatable bed
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Player
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles
  • Terrace ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • 2 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Jacuzzi ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(37 traveller reviews)

70% Complete
24% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
You will say 'Sea-U-Later' to stress when you rent this home
average rating of 4.5675673 based on 37 reviews
5

Our favorite vacation home 😍

  • 5 of 5

This is our third year in this home on St George. It's on the bay with an unobstructed view of the bay and the bridge. We spend hours in the rocking chairs on the wide porch. The house has 4 large bedrooms and 3 full baths. Plenty of room for our family. We play board games on the big table and usually cook a couple of meals while we are there. We bring our fire stick for the living room tv and watch Netflix movies. We rent a golf cart from journeys and ride it everywhere. It's only three short blocks from the beach. Close enough to walk or ride a bike. We put up our umbrella and chairs in the morning and come and go all day. Paddys is one of our favorite places to eat especially on trivia night. The BarBQue pit is good and the place across the bridge and to the right has all you can eat crab legs on Thursday and Saturday. We took a sunset boat trip through Journeys this year and a fun airboat ride last year. One of the best things is the 4th of July parade on the island. Everyone rides their golf carts, boat trailers and trucks all decked out in red white and blue with tons of water and water guns. The spectators do the same and it is a giant water fight. Loads of fun for everyone. We've never had any problems with the house. Dana is easy to reach and always responds quickly. We love Sea U Later!

  • Review Submitted: 08-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for Your wonderful review and we hope to see you next year!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The house was perfect for our family. Clean, nice and convenient.

  • 5 of 5

We stayed with our adult children and grandchildren in the house. It worked very well for us. We had 8 adults and 3 kids with us. We were close to the beach and had great views of the bay right from the balcony. I was very pleased with our stay. I highly recommend the beaches in the state park just down a bit. They were absolutely beautiful. The whole island was great.

  • Review Submitted: 12-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

relaxing

  • 4 of 5

Never stayed on the bayside before. It was perfect for the grands

  • Review Submitted: 08-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice Family Vacation

  • 4 of 5

Our family of 7 adults and canines enjoyed this trip very much. The house location was great with the nearby beach on the bay. We thoroughly enjoyed the deck and doing a whole lot of nothing. Golf cart rental or bicycle are the ways to get around the island. We are already planning a return trip.

  • Review Submitted: 21-May-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Lacking

  • 1 of 5

We rented the house for our honeymoon. The location and the view was great but the beach was very full of debris. The yard was very unkempt. The hot water was terrible...by the time the Jacuzzi tub was halfway full you'd run out of hot water. The appliances were outdated. The grill didn't work even after we spent the money to get a new propane tank. The TV's only worked in the living room and smaller master. The one in the twin room only got one channel. The ones in the main master & middle room weren't even hooked up. The neighbors behind us had a bunch of huge parrots that squawked loudly at all hours. I was willing to look past all of that until the owner refused to give our deposit back claiming damages to items that we didn't even use. We will rent elsewhere next time.

  • Review Submitted: 12-Apr-2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry you have decided that you didn't enjoy your stay. There was never any complaints during your stay. The reasons for not releasing your deposit have been documented with pictures. All tvs and appliances are in working order. We are sorry you were inconvenienced by the neighbors birds but, we have no control over them. A new park style charcoal grill has been ordered and will be installed soon. We wish you well,
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
4

Terrific place for an island vacation

  • 4 of 5

We have stayed in more than eight vacation rentals on St. George Island and we can say without a doubt that Sea-U-Later ranks among the top of all of them. We spent February and March of 2017 here and enjoyed ourselves immensely. The house is well appointed and beautifully decorated and certainly more than roomy enough for 8 people. Although the cooking utensils and cookware could use some updating, it was up to par with most rentals we have occupied. There is a small beach across the road on Apalachicola Bay and the main beach on the Gulf is only a short five minute walk away. It would certainly be nicer to be right on the Gulf but the rental price of Sea U Later is at least half of what you would pay to be on the beach.

What really sets this rental apart however is the attitude of the owners, Dana and Dee. Although they do not reside on the Island they were prompt to respond to any minor problems we had with efficiency and charm.

We heartily recommend Sea U Later to anyone looking for a relaxing and stressless vacation. We've already booked it for next year and will continue to do so.

Barbara and Ken Takasaki

Burlington, Ontario

  • Review Submitted: 02-Apr-2017
  • Date of Stay: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Gulf Beaches, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
winter
11 Sep 2017 - 31 Dec 2017
28 night minimum stay
£1,977
for 28 nights
£2,118
 
 
winter 2
1 Jan 2018 - 31 Mar 2018
31 night minimum stay
£2,189
for 31 nights
£2,118
 
 
Summer 2
1 Apr 2018 - 10 Sep 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,627
for 7 nights
£1,627
 
 
Nightly Rate
15 Oct 2018 - 15 Oct 2018
7 night minimum stay
£397
for 7 nights
From
£57
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
£1,589
for 7 nights
From
£227
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £302.64
Pet Fee £75.66

Weekly rentals only from March 1st-September 6th
Monthly rate $2250 available from September-December

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable