HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992


Bedrooms 7
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

7 BR, 3 BA, Sleeps 15

A large comfortable, fully restored Vermont farmhouse, circa 1870, with all the charm of that period. Has a large family room with a native stone fireplace and stove insert, forced hot-air heat and oil-burning water heater. The house sits on 35 handsome, wooded acres with 1,000 feet of frontage on Lakes Echo and Amherst in the historic town of Plymouth, birthplace of the late President Calvin Coolidge. We have Wi-Fi, a two-oven electric stove, microwave oven, washer dryer, dishwasher, satellite TV with DVD player and two large refrigerators and a dining room table that seats 12. Okemo and Killington are usually open for skiing by November 15th.

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2004
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
16 April, 2018


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Plymouth in Windsor County

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 15
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • lake ...
  • mountain
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom - Toilet , Bath (no shower)
  • 7 Bedrooms, Sleeps 15
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed , Bunk Beds
    Bedroom 4 - 2 Single Bed , Bunk Beds
    Bedroom 5 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 6 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 7 - 2 Single Bed , 2 Bunk beds
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Piano
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Wood Decking
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • forests
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • ski
  • bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing


Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(9 traveller reviews)

66% Complete
0% Complete
22% Complete
0% Complete
11% Complete
average rating of 4.111111 based on 9 reviews

Wonderful old house on gorgeous property

  • 5 of 5

We are a group of about 14, and we've come back every summer for years. The house is no frills, which is just the way we like it. It has everything we need for a fun, relaxing week. The property is fantastic, and we love being able to leave our canoes and kayaks down at the private beach. The dirt road is perfect for walks, and there are lots of little trails nearby, too. Jonathan is very responsive to questions and any issues that arise.

  • Review Submitted: 22-Aug-2015
  • Date of Stay: August 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Juliette, we love having your crew stay every summer! Hope to have you back again next year!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Historic Vacation Home

  • 5 of 5

This house was absolutely perfect and is a great choice for any large groups looking to vacation to Vermont for some skiing and snowboarding. Large parking area that is able to fit at least 6 cars which made driving logistics for a large group a breeze. House is beautiful from the outside and is picturesque at sunset. When you enter the home, you immediately walk into a very large family room with a great wood fireplace. Kitchen had a really cool old cast iron stove (not for use but added a ton of character to the house). All the bed rooms were large and beds were comfortable.

The house far exceeded our expectations.

  • Review Submitted: 22-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for the great review Joe! And we would love to have your group back at anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Value for the price but needs some TLC

  • 3 of 5

This property was a late decision to rent as the home we had wanted to book was unavailable. The property is quite nice, though close to the road (with limited traffic, but we were woken up at night a couple of times). We usually rent (25 years and counting) nicer homes - well equipped kitchens, nice furniture etc. That does not describe this house - dining room chairs all wobbly, bathrooms adequate, very small TV, kitchen pots and pans dented, ping-pong table missing a leg support and had nails sticking out (which we discovered in a painful way). Clearly some plumbing issues as the owner felt the need to advise us to use single ply paper - main floor bathroom was tiny and did indeed have a slow flowing toilet.

All in all, it was adequate and price reflected the condition of the house. The ping-pong table does need to go as it's unsafe. We prefer a nicer appointed home so won't rent this property again.

  • Review Submitted: 18-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Note that this tenant did not write a review of our property until 6 weeks after their stay. We never heard of any issues during their stay, despite many emails coming from us regarding info about staying at our house. This is the first time ever, literally in decades, that a tenant has complained about the sound of cars going by the house. If you drive to a house, there has to be a road. And also, the ping pong table. We have never heard this before. We will of course repair the pong pong table if this problem actually exists. There were zero plumbing issues during this tenant's stay. So, no idea what that comment was about. We never heard from the tenant if there were. Regarding the kitchen, I don't see how a stove (5 years old), a brand new toaster, microwave, 2 refrigerators and dishwasher does not qualify as well equipped. Our pantry is oversupplied with glasses, mugs, dishes, plates, pots, pans, utensils. There are a few extra pots and pans that may have a dent or two which are there only if needed since there are usually 15 + tenants with each rental. This house is not a McMansion, it is a spacious, warm, clean classic Vermont house that everyone that rents (look at the reviews) enjoys, with many tenants coming back for years and years.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The outdoors are beautiful very nice place.the indoors was not well taken care

  • 3 of 5

Like I said outdoors was beautiful but the inside was not well taken care of.we entered and the common. Bathroom shower curtain was so nasty .the tub was backed up.s we had to have a plumber come In the kitchen lights kept going off .I requested for bed linen.they just placed them on the bed I would think that at least the beds would be made.i don't have a fussy family but I was disappointed that there for experience was tarnished .the owner was very responsive but whoever he is hiring for housekeepi need to be checked..we spent hours cleaning up.the blankets were so stained it was embarassing.i really didn't want to say anything but maybe the ow we doesn't know.pleass find someone new to clean for you.elizabeth

  • Review Submitted: 02-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This was the 4th time this tenant had rented our house. Quote - "Hi Jonathan, We're looking forward to returning to your lovely farm house. It will be our fourth time. Hope all is well." This somewhat negative review was posted, I believe, because we charged this tenant for damages done to our house. Broken chair on back deck, broken blinds in the upstairs bathroom, broken chair on our front porch and a big patch of our grass on our front lawn was damaged, and, as of this writing, (2 months later) no grass has grown back. I'm not sure if fireworks were lit off there, or chemicals were poured onto our grass. In the end, we only charged this tenant $100 for damages. This despite not having an estimate yet for the damaged lawn/grass. There was an extremely rare issue with hot water, backed up tub and power that lasted about 12 hours (I mean, this does happen sometimes if you own a house) This was repaired within 12 hours of notification. We have had no complaints from other tenants regarding stained blankets. As far as beds not being made for them, why was there no mention of this the last 3 times this tenant rented from us? Everyone makes their own bed differently, plus this is not a hotel, it's a house on Homeaway. This house is always cleaned and scrubbed, top to bottom, and has never been cleaner.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

The owner charged us $100 because a couch was broken before we arrived.

  • 1 of 5

The house is old and not renovated and the furniture is quite old. The owner charged us $100 for a broken arm rest that was broken before we arrived. We explained the situation and he refused to believe us. I can't recommend this place to others as a result.

  • Review Submitted: 21-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: From the tenant on the day of check out via email, "“Thanks for everything. We had a fantastic stay.” The tenant then admitted that during their stay, a chair had been broken. From a message from them on the Homeaway site, "“We did break it.” This chair, for the entire summer, with 8 other tenants was fine, and it was securely duct taped together. While we had initially held back $100 from the security deposit, we did refund $50. so they were not charged $100, just $50. This was because our housekeeping team charges us a minimum of $53/hour to come to the house. We had to have the chair removed from the house. I would not recommend booking with this tenant.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Historic house, great location

  • 5 of 5

This was our sixth year at the house, and we love being there. The location is perfect, set between two lakes, private beach, and on a quiet unpaved road. The house itself is charming and basic, with everything you need for a great Vermont experience. We'll be back next year, so don't take our week!

  • Review Submitted: 12-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
21 Miles
Rutland Southern Vermont Regional Airport
Nearest Train
27 Miles
Rutland, Vermont
Nearest Ski
7 Miles
Car: necessary

The Cool Moose cafe, opposite the Okemo entrance; the Irish pub known as Killarney, next to the Okemo entrance; DJ'S on Main Street; Harry's on Rt 103 in Belmont; The Bella Luna on Rt 100 north of Ludlow and both the Echo Lake Inn in Tyson and The River Tavern at the Hawk Resort, north of Lake Amherst.


Prices & Availability

Ask Manager a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £160.72
Pet Fee £142.86
Damage Deposit £357.15

In addition to the contract created with Homeaway, we also require tenants to sign our own separate owner/tenant contract.We would also prefer 3 night minimum stays around Columbus Day, Thanksgiving, Christmas, New years and Presidents Day holidays. We provide blankets and pillows for all bedrooms, but not sheets and towels. You can bring your own, or we can provide for you from housekeeping for a one time charge of $85.00

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.

You might like these similar holiday rentals