HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Catania central, independent terraces F1 | HWIT

People4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview


Details
Property
apartment
People
4
Bedrooms
1
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
3 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 1 bedroom holiday apartment in Catania

Nicely furnished apartment with terrace in the historic center Catania

Self contained apartment in historic building typical of the architecture of Catania eighteenth / nineteenth century. This part of town sits on a bench lava that covered the sea lapping at the south side of the Castello Ursino lava during the eruption of the seventeenth century.?

Recently renovated by the architect owner in a style that, while respecting the traditional typology, donated a modern and younger.

Located in the heart of the historic city center (a UNESCO World Heritage Site), the building is right in front of one of the architectural elements most representative of the history of Catania: Ursino Castle built in the twelfth century by Frederick II of Swabia.

Today this area is the heart of the nightlife and daytime Catania and gastronomic center of the typical cuisine of our area. From here you will not need any means of transportation because you are already in the heart of the city and away from city traffic.?

The apartment consists of a large living room with sofa bed and dining table, a kitchen, a double bedroom, a bathroom and a closet space. Connected to the kitchen and the bedroom there is a small terrace ideal for relaxing afternoon or for a tea break. On the terrace there is a space used as a laundry with washing machine and sink.

The rooms are simply furnished but with originality where color plays a decisive role.

A second terrace is accessible via the stairs in this room; Here is a space large sun umbrella and chairs for sunbathing.

The location is perfect for spending a peaceful and without using a car. A few steps from the Duomo can raggiugere in a few minutes all the places most interesting and symbolic of the city, its culture and its architecture. A few meters away are the historic fish market, the museum, the Benedictine monastery, the cathedral, the Etnea (main street and living in the city), the greek amphitheater and the Odeon, the opera Vincenzo Bellini.

From here you can certainly enjoy the city at the height of its attractions.

The rental is supplied without centralized services pursuant to Law 431/98

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

About Us

Massimiliano Strano
Self Catering Sicily
via Alaimo 1
95121 Catania
VAT Reg NoIT 04180160873

Property Manager
Max
Member since: 2013
Speaks English, Spanish, Portuguese, Italian
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
13 November, 2016

Reviews

4.3/5 -
(4 traveller reviews)

Catania central, independent terraces F1 | HWIT
average rating of 4.25 based on 15 reviews
5

Pleasant Stay

  • 5 of 5

I am a single mid 30s years old woman that stayed in this apartment for work about 5 weeks during the Christmas holiday season. The apartment was comfortable and within reasonable price. The location was very central, walking distance to restaurants and attractions around the area. There was plenty of free parking surrounding the area. I felt relatively safe in the area. I returned from work every night and never had any problems. But just as any place, at night always watch your surrounding. During the day till about midnight there are plenty of people always walking around.

The apartment comes fully equipped with AC or heater. It has cable TV, nice balconies and a fully stocked kitchen ready for cooking nice Italian meals.

The owner is a really nice and friendly guy that was always available in case I needed anything. He is willing to negotiate the price and “make you an offer you can’t resist” :) If he was not available he always made sure to have someone to attend to any needs that I had.

Last but not least I LOVE Sicily in so many ways and its friendly people! Great Island, must visit!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 15, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

catane

  • 4 of 5

Appartement dans bâtisse traditionnelle de la vieille ville, bien rénové, spacieux, bien équipé,contemporain, propre, au calme avec le petit plus du toit terrasse pour le bain de soleil ou la fraîcheur des soirs d'été - mention très bien pour la literie - le cadre typique du du château, sa situation centrale au sud de la ville et proche de la gare routière pour l'aéroport font de cet appartement un bon compromis appréciable.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 29, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

catane

  • 4 of 5

Appartement dans bâtisse traditionnelle de la vieille ville, bien rénové, spacieux, bien équipé,contemporain, propre, au calme avec le petit plus du toit terrasse pour le bain de soleil ou la fraîcheur des soirs d'été - mention très bien pour la literie - le cadre typique du du château, sa situation centrale au sud de la ville et proche de la gare routière pour l'aéroport font de cet appartement un bon compromis appréciable.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 29, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice apartment, but beware of the extra fees

  • 4 of 5

+++

The apartment was really nice (especially the terrace), exactly like on the pictures. Well located, near the center of Catania, the market,...

= 5/5 for the apartment itself

---

We waited Massimiliano for almost one hour when we arrived. We were on time at the address he gave us, I tried to call him several times, he was not answering, we did not even know if it was the right phone number, and if the apartment existed! After more than 45 minutes, we had to ask someone in the building, who went to find Massimiliano. He finally arrived, just said sorry but did not seem to be that embarrassed about letting us downstairs for one hour with our luggage on our first day in Catania!

About the fees: we had already paid for the rent and the deposit via the website, but he asked us 30€ more for the CLEANING of the apartment (it was never specified in the ad nor in the emails he sent!!), and 5€ per day (so 15€ for the 3 nights we were staying in) for the AIR CONDITIONING!!! We had never seen that! We decided not to accept the air conditioning, even if it was really hot in the apartment, because it is unacceptable to ask for this money!! If it is written on the ad that there is the air conditioning in the apartment, it is supposed to be included in the rent!

= 3/5 for Massimiliano

  • Review Submitted: Sep 8, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: Homelidays, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Delphine Strange that you have wrote this review in anonymous :) Well I need to correct your version. The check in is generally in the afternoon (read the advert) and you asked me to arrive In the morning. It was ok for me. The day of your arrival you wrote a message where you informed me that you were a bit late. So, yes, I was late also (sorry again for that but I have a job) so you didn't wait for one hour because you were late also and not in time as you say (if you want I send you back the sms that you sent me). Than you came in and I confirmed what is written in the advert : cleanings fees and air conditioning to pay on site. The only problem is that you didn't read the advert. Some people don't want air conditionng so is not right for them to pay it of they don't use it. I hope you understand that. I would have prefered that you talked with me here about this 'misunderstanding' and I would be happy to read with you the advert. Next time, before to book or to buy something, pay attention in the advert and what is written it. Generally people leave my flat happy to had a nice experience because I try all my best to make to feel them relaxed and at home. Sorry that you had this wrong feeling but I'm also sorry to tell you that is everything written clearly in the advert. I really felt sorry about the delay in our meeting but maybe it was not enough for you or maybe you misunderstood just because I smiled at you. For me it's important to welcome people with a smile , maybe not for you. Suggestion : when you rent a flat you have to be awared that you are not going in an hotel so could be possible that guest or host must be late. In this case I was late but many many times I wait for hours my guest when they are late because of flight delayed or just for some other reason and I don't get angry for that. Life is not so perfect as you want :) Best regards.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
3 Kilometres
catania
Nearest Barpub
centro storico
Nearest Ferry
2 Kilometres
catania
Nearest Golf
30 Kilometres
Picciolo
Nearest Train
2 Kilometres
catania
Nearest Motorway
5 Kilometres
catania -messina A18
Nearest Restaurant
centro storico
Nearest Ski
30 Kilometres
etna
Nearest Beach
1 Kilometres
catania
Car: not necessary

Catania is the perfect place to visit this corner of Sicily.

A city with a very rich nightlife, never stops, full of excellent restaurants to sample Sicilian specialties. Our apartments are all in the old town very close to the street markets of FAIR and PESCHERIA where to buy fresh food every day. By means of public transport is easy to visit the volcano Etna and other centers of interest such as: Syracuse, Taormina, Noto, Ragusa, Piazza Armerina and many others

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Catania, Catania

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
bassa
1 Nov 2016 - 22 Dec 2016
3 night minimum stay
£126
for 3 nights
From
£42
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £8 per night, per additional guest
 
bassa
9 Jan 2017 - 28 Feb 2017
3 night minimum stay
£126
for 3 nights
From
£42
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £8 per night, per additional guest
 
alta
1 Jun 2017 - 30 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
£163
for 3 nights
From
£54
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £13 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£151
for 3 nights
From
£50
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £8 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £84
Pet Fee £25
Tax Rate 10.0%

Non incluso nel prezzo indicato:
Aria condizionata e riscaldamento, se richiesto, si pagherà in loco rispetto al prezzo standard di 5 € al giorno per l'intero appartamento.
Contributo per spese forfettarie €25 a soggiorno.
Parcheggio gratuito autorizzato su strada.
La locazione è fornita senza servizi centralizzati ai sensi della L. 431/98 senza fornitura di servizi alla persona.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Catania in Sicily

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 60 m²
Location Type:
  • city centre
  • near the sea
  • town
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • - Shower Enclosure , Bidet
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • - 1 Double Bed
  • in connection with the terrace
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles
  • Veranda
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • volcano
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • ski
  • surf fishing
  • swimming

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties