HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Exclusive penthouse with terraces overlooking the castle and Etna | Catania historic center

People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
apartment
People
6
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
3
Minimum Stay
3 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday apartment in Catania - Ursino Roof Garden Penthouse

Apartment with exclusive design in the city center in front of the castle

The house is located in the city center opposite the Castello Ursino, built by Frederick II of Swabia and dating back to the thirteenth century. The privileged location in the tourist route Catania and its nightlife make it unique for your stay in the city. From here, with short walks, you can visit almost all the main tourist points of the city and in the evening you find yourself in the middle of the night life (restaurants, pubs and discos). Among the places of interest close immediately: the Duomo, the greek amphitheater and the odeon, the Benedictine monastery, the Roman amphitheater, the baths yarrow, the baths of the rotunda, the well of Gammazita, the river Amenano, Biscari Palace , Via Etna, Teatro Bellini maximum, the historic fish market.

With the help of public transport in 10 minutes you get to the area of ??sandy beaches and volcanic rock, and you can reach Etna with about 40 minutes by car.

The house has recently been renovated by the architect owner in a contemporary style while maintaining clear, use of materials, and in some decorative details, the historical tradition of the place and the building.

The house is located on the second floor of a building of the XIX century. and is on two levels: the first level living area with a large living room (with satellite TV, projector and surround), a dining area, a modern kitchen, very comfortable (with barbecue), a common bathroom. The whole plan is built around a garden terrace with stunning views of the Castello Ursino.

At the top level there are two large bedrooms with a total of 6 beds. The two rooms are equipped with bathroom and one of the two bedrooms has an exclusive access to the terrace level with private solarium and outdoor shower and stunning views of the volcano Etna. At the same level there is also a laundry area. The house is equipped with everything, including free WIFI.

All the furniture is of exquisite design and some pieces were made on an exclusive design of the owner.

The house is 10 minutes from the airport, 10 minutes from the train station and 5 minutes (walk) from the main shopping street of the city. 5 min taxi ride is the bus terminal to Taormina (40 min), Siracusa and Ortigia (30 min) and other picturesque locations on the island.

The prices posted on this site are approximate. Please visit our website to check the official prices

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • pets not allowed

About Us

Massimiliano Strano
Self Catering Sicily
via Alaimo 1
95121 Catania
VAT Reg NoIT 04180160873

Property Manager
Max
Member since: 2013
Speaks English, Spanish, Portuguese, Italian
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
24 November, 2016

Guestbook comments from the manager

The photographs don't do justice to this beautifully designed penthouse overlooking Castello Ursino, which is one of the main cultural attractions of Catania. I am convinced that you cannot stay at a better place than this in Catania for comfort and beauty. Moreover, the location is ideal because you can walk to everywhere you would want to go. Massimiliano is an excellent host: kind, considerate, and interesting to talk to, as well (he is an architect, who designed the space). He invited me to accompany him to Catania's famous outdoor fish and produce market in the heart of the old part of town, and filled me in on its customs and peculiarities - I got so much more out of the visit than if I had gone alone. He even let me stay past the check out time to accomodate my schedule and would not accept to be reimbursed. I cannot recommend Massimiliano and his penthouse highly enough.
Jan 2013
  • 1 of 4

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(17 traveller reviews)

Exclusive penthouse with terraces overlooking the castle and Etna | Catania historic center
average rating of 4.647059 based on 21 reviews
4

Great Apartment In A Wonderful Location !!

  • 4 of 5

The listing and the photo's were accurate and a huge help in preparing for this trip to Catania. Max the owner, was more than helpful through our many e-mail exchanges. The apartment was well appointed, far exceeding our expectations. Free wifi was a huge bonus. Location near the various attractions , restaurants, and sightseeing possibilities was perfect. We felt safe in the area and walked to most places we choose to go. The Restaurant Da Antonio right outside the apartment was fabulous and we ate there several times. Many other good ones near by. The only draw back to the apartment is it's up on the upper floors of the building, so if flights of stairs presents an issue caution is advised. We had no problem negotiating them at all, a good workout. Max also provided us with the name of a tour guide for the trips that involved a distance. Vincenzo was an amazing driver, spoke english well and extremely knowledgeable about Sicily. We used him to go to Mt Etna, Siracusa, Noto, Ortigia and Taormina to name a few. We just can't say enough about this wonderful experience . A highly recommended place to vacation and an extremely comfortable apartment to spend the 8 days we were there.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 9, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Stay away from it

  • 1 of 5

The appartment is beautiful, big, modern and fully equipped. The terraces are the best part with amazing vistas over the Etna, perfect for evening dinner or sunbathing where nobody around can see you.

But that is the only positive thing about the house. The owner, showed inmediately his reluctance to rent it out, and gave us a general feeling of mistrust. We were happy to abide with the rules that were set, and we used the house with all the respect we would use ours but that didn't stop him from keeping almost all our deposit claiming for damage that was not our fault.

Floor tiles that were already broken when we arrived, garden chairs that broke as soon as we sat down (and we are pretty slim and fit people), pot plants magically broken that we never even touched...

We reported some of the aforementioned problems as soon as we saw them barely two hours after we got in the house, to avoid future issues, but that didn't change anything, and the owner showed no shame on blaming us for them.

On the other hand the house run out of gas on saturday morning, so we could not cook or have a hot shower till monday afternoon, something that still did not stop the owner from taking most of our deposit.

In conclusion, it could have been perfect, but it wasn't, we felt lied to and we felt like horrible guests.

Don't rent this house unless you are ready to part with your deposit to help the owner keep it as beautiful as it is.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Gavin, I appreciate your fantasy, but unfortunately the reality is different and my history says that. You are the first guest (in 4 years) who I had problem with and who I kept part of the damage deposit. T Just to remind you, few days ago this is what you wrote to me on the web site :"Hi Max Thanks again for a wonderful time in your apartment in Catania and I hope you guys had a lovely time in Stockholm. Do you have any insight into when we might expect the deposit back from Home Away?" It means that you knew about the damages caused and it means that everything was fine THis is another message during your stay : "Thank you so much! Flat is amazing. My BF and friends are blown away." I cant see any complaining in this words. Well, now my point of view. When you checked inthe first question of your friend was: "can we put loud music?" I think this is not a very nice start if you rent an apartment in a condo. So it was necessary to show you the rules , the standard rules , manners. Lets talk about the damages: the "tiles" are perfect on floor (till now :)as you know. You have broken a step in marble:) Try to tell the truth please. That marble wanst broken thats why you called me to inform me that was broken the first day of your stay. The 2 wicker sunchairs in the terrace were not broken because you have checked everything at your arrival: you called me the day after to inform me that using 2 chairs both werebroken in the same point. Very strange that everything happens to you in one day. My opinion? you tried to stay 2 couple in 2 chairs to have party. And they broken. The problem is that you didnt realise that in this house furnityre is expensive and 2 chairs costs more than deposit. YOu didnt mention that you knew that I was out in travel for one week and when you left the house you didnt check the air conditioning and you left on the air conditioning in all the house on (no mention from you). I had to switch off when I came back to check, ONE WEEK later. So the problem is not that I was a bad host, the problem is that you were not a responsable guest. At the end I kept part of total deposit, and not all it just because I didnt want speculate but in some way I need to repair the damages you have done. You didnt pay any broken pots, so maybe is again your fantasy. I unserstand your being disappointed to have paid for damages but you have done as per your admision. Thanks for inviting people to not rent the flat, very honest and fair.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fabulous modern apartment in a charming square.

  • 5 of 5

This beautiful apartment looks recently redone, with balconies from every angle - my favorite view is of the castle and square right outside the building. We spent most of our time sitting outside eating and talking and listening to the life outside - made us feel like a part of the community. It's close to everything, making sightseeing and travel very convenient. I would definitely recommend this place and hope that I will be able to stay there again one day.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 29, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fabulous modern apartment in a charming square.

  • 5 of 5

This beautiful apartment looks recently redone, with balconies from every angle - my favorite view is of the castle and square right outside the building. We spent most of our time sitting outside eating and talking and listening to the life outside - made us feel like a part of the community. It's close to everything, making sightseeing and travel very convenient. I would definitely recommend this place and hope that I will be able to stay there again one day.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 29, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

nice and stylish flat in Catania

  • 4 of 5

The flat is located in a good area of Catania and very close to a lot of sightseeings. One highlight is the big roof terrace where you have a nice view to Castello Ursino. On a second roof terrace you can look at the activitys of the volcano Ätna.

The flat has a modern architecture and a characteristic design. In the generous kitchen you will find everything and we felt quite comfortable in the flat.

In total we can recommend everybody the nice and modern flat.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 19, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
5

Absolutely magificent!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay. The appartment is perfectly located in the city center. The apartment itself is spacious, appealing furnished and very well equipped. The roof terrace with its view on the Castello Ursino as well as the other one with its view on the roofs of Catania and the Etna are great. In case you have a car, the parking situation is easy. The owner is of great help in any circumstances. It´s not just as presented in the listing desription, it´s even better.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 8, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Airport
1 Kilometres
catania
Nearest Barpub
250 Metres
Duomo
Nearest Ferry
1 Kilometres
catania
Nearest Golf
35 Kilometres
Picciolo
Nearest Train
2 Kilometres
catania
Nearest Motorway
5 Kilometres
catania -messina -palermo
Nearest Restaurant
vari
Nearest Ski
30 Kilometres
Etna
Nearest Beach
1 Kilometres
catania
Car: not necessary

The house is situated in the heart of the historic city centre and opposite Castello Ursino, a castle constructed for Frederick II and dating back to 1300. It has a privileged position inside the main tourist route and within an area noted for the main hot-spots in the city nightlife; restaurants, pubs and discoteques. It is the perfect location for an exclusive and very comfortable city stay.Within a brief walking distance it is possible to visit nearly all the main tourist sights amongst these the Duomo (cathedral), the Greek amphitheatre, the Benedictine monastery, the Roman amphitheatre, the spas of Achilles and ' della Rotonda', the well of Gammazita, the river Amenano, Palazzo Biscari, via Etnea and the Massimo Bellini operahouse. Using public transport, a ten minute ride can take you to the sandy beaches and volcanic rocks and it is possible to reach Mount Etna by road in about 40 minutes. Bicycles can be organised to tour the historic city centre. The house has been recently renovated by the architect owner in a contemporary style but at the same time retaining the original features and materials used in the architectural tradition.The property is situated on the second and top floor: the first level for daytime use with a spacious living room with TV, projector and speakers, a dining area, a very modern and comfortable kitchen (with external barbeque) and a communal bathroom with traditional Sicilian tilework dating back to the beginning of the 20th century. The whole floor is created around a terrace garden with a splendid view towards the castle : the upper floor has two large bedrooms with a total of beds to accommodate 6 people and each bedroom has a private bathroom.From one of the bedrooms there is access to a terrace with a sunbathing area, outside shower and a fantastic view towards Mount Etna. Here, too, there is a spacious clothes- washing area. The house is fully fitted with all mod cons including WiFi and pc. The furnishings are of high quality design with some pieces having been exclusively commissioned by the owner. Catania's airport (Fontanarossa) can be reached within 10 minutes as can the railway station and the house is also only a five minute walk away from the main shopping street. A five minute taxi ride can take you to the main bus terminal where further journeys can be made to Taormina ( 40 minutes), Siracusa and Ortygia (30 minutes) as well as many other interesting locations on the island.

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Catania, Catania

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Natale
22 Dec 2016 - 8 Jan 2017
3 night minimum stay
£505
for 3 nights
From
£168
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £17 per night, per additional guest
 
alta
1 May 2017 - 31 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
£505
for 3 nights
From
£168
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £17 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£429
for 3 nights
From
£143
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £13 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £336

Il prezzo non include soltanto :
- Booking fee di 50€ da pagare sul posto.
- Parheggio gratuito in strada.
La locazione è fornita senza servizi centralizzati ai sensi della L. 431/98 senza fornitura di servizi alla persona.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Catania in Sicily

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 300 m²
Location Type:
  • beach
  • city centre
  • near the sea
  • town
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • - Bath with Shower
    - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Bidet
    - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Bidet
  • bathroom on the first floor decorated with original Art Nouveau tiles of 900
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • - 1 Large Double Bed
    - 1 Large Double Bed
    - 1 Sofa bed/Futon
  • The master bedroom is very spacious with walk-in closet and access to a terrace of 70 sqm at
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Veranda
  • 2 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • volcano
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • Disco club
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • ski
  • swimming
  • tennis

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties