HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Lake front home for your pleasure,

People10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,200 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, sleep 10

Charming and well maintained, this home is located on beautiful 7800 acre Santa Fe Lake that will allow you to relax and enjoy your time in Florida. With a dock, clean beach and boat ramp 3 minutes away you can enjoy swimming, fishing, and boating at your leisure. The homes interior, with hardwood floors through-out, has a large living room and an enclosed porch that has a full view of the lake and beach. A large outside covered porch and open deck will allow you to enjoy the breeze while you enjoy your dinner and drinks. Located 25 minutes from Gainesville and the University of Florida cultural events and fine dining abound; or you can drive 50 minutes to Jacksonville and take in an NFL game. Golf course are as close as 5 minutes and PGA course are located in the Jacksonville / Ponte Vedra area. This peaceful setting is for those who wish to enjoy nature but need to have the option of a night life and cultural events. Great place for a family vacation to allow you to slow down.

Please be aware hurricane Irma completely destroyed the dock and bulkhead. House was not damaged, the deck was just replaced and the lake is still usable.

Golf Details: Keystone Country Club - 5 minutes.

Sawgrass Country Club - 75 minutes. Players Stadium Club - 75 minutes.

Numerous other Country Clubs within 60 minutes

More Details

Owner
Ken Dixon
Member since: 2005
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
26 November, 2017

About Ken Dixon

Have been on the lake since childhood and now live three miles down the lake from the rental property. Love lake activities and still actively ski; could not imagine living any where else.

Ken Dixon purchased this house in 2006

Why Ken Dixon chose Melrose

The property is located next to my parents and they help me with the property.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Melrose in Putnam County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • lake
  • Lakefront ...
  • rural
  • waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom - 1 Double Bed
    sun room - 2 Sofa bed/Futon , sun room
  • 3 rooms with one double bed each. Sun room has two double futons.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Boat Dock
  • Canoe
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Pedal Boat
  • veranda
  • Wood Decking
  • 8 garden chairs
  • 3 deck chairs
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • paddle boating
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hunting
  • diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Smoking allowed outside on deck.

Reviews

Good! 3.9/5 -
(13 traveller reviews)

53% Complete
23% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
15% Complete
Lake front home for your pleasure,
average rating of 3.9230769 based on 13 reviews
5

Great value.

  • 5 of 5

This is a very nice lake cottage. The well deserved five star review does not mean you are staying at the Hilton. If you expect that you will not be happy. However, if you are interested in a nice place with plenty of room for a large group you have found it and you will enjoy staying at the property.

  • Review Submitted: 03-Apr-2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jon, Thank you for the review and look forward to seeing you in the future. Ken D
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Jacksonville, FL
4

Quaint cabin beautiful lake

  • 4 of 5

Everything was nice. Cabin was a bit musty but otherwise perfect setting for family get together

  • Review Submitted: 26-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

It was nice, Lake Santa Fe is a beautiful lake

  • 1 of 5

It did not meet up to our standards as far as cleanliness, we had to re-wash sheets and towels and things. Had it booked for a week but only stayed the first night and found another place to go stay the rest of the week . The one room with the daybed had three mattress covers on it, the spatulas hanging outside for the grill were filthy and rusty, looked like they've never been cleaned. Floors were filthy and there was dog hair on the furniture. We did receive a portion of our money back but it needs a lot of TLC before we would venture back. Our best experience was dealing with Ken and his mother they are very nice people.

  • Review Submitted: 25-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great place...we will be back!

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful Sunsets, very comfortable house...

  • Review Submitted: 09-Apr-2017
  • Date of Stay: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Relaxing and family friendly

  • 5 of 5

We spent 3 nights at the lake house during our kids springs break and we had great time. The neighbors are all really nice. The house had everything we needed and the beach and dock were perfect for our boys. It was a great vacation!

  • Review Submitted: 03-Apr-2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Acwoth, GA
2

Nice Lake Setting. House is a dump.

  • 2 of 5

The house sits on a beautiful lot on Santa Fe Lake. However, it is really dated and in disrepair. There are three bedrooms which are small but okay. The two bathrooms are extremely small. We had to do plumbing repair to get the toilet in one to work, In the other, the shower stall is so small that anyone larger than about 5'6" and 140 lbs will not fit. The dining area seats 5 (4 comfortably). Many lights were either missing bulbs or didn't work. There is no wi-fi/internet so you "borrow" from next door. You must bring water for drinking. The outdoor grilling options are very limited. There was a broken beam on the porch that holds up the roof and it was a hazard. I would not go back if it were free.

  • Review Submitted: 02-Apr-2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were aware of the broken beam. The reason was we had a large storm a week prior and a tree fell across the porch; taking out the beam on the outside porch and the sun porch. The entire sun porch needed to be replaced (being done this week as i type). The water is good (no sulfur or iron); some people that live in metropolitan areas may find well water different but there is nothing bad about the water supply. Was unaware of the light issue but they have all been replaced. The Wi-Fi is from next door but I own the property and my parents live there; strong signal but it is not secured. The outside grilling is limited to a large (new) charcoal grill under a covered porch with all the implements; you do need to bring your own charcoal. I live three minutes down the lake and if there are issues my response is usually immediate.. Ken Dixon
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Gator Baits Sports Bar and Grill
Blue Water Bay Restaurant
Tom's High on the Hog Real Pit Bbq
Nearest Airport
19 Miles
Gainesville
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Melrose, FL
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Keystone Country Club
Nearest Train
30 Miles
Palatka
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Blue Water Bay
Nearest Ski
out your back door
Nearest Beach
65 Miles
St Augustine
Car: necessary

Skiing, fishing, boating, swimming, and black powder hunting outside your door. University of Florida (Gainesville) - 25 minutes. Silver Springs - 45 minutes. GoldHead Stae Park - 10 minutes. Blue Springs (tubing) - 50 minutes. Golf - 5 minutes. PGA course (Sawgrass and Stadium) -75 minutes. Jacksonville - 50 minutes.NFL stadium - 50 minutes.St. Augustine - 50 minutes. Lakefront porch and large dock - 30 seconds

Other Activities: kayaks available and paddleboat

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Melrose, Florida

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Fall and winter
16 Sep 2017 - 13 Apr 2018
2 night minimum stay
£374
for 2 nights
From
£187
£710
£1,719
 
 
spring and summer
14 Apr 2018 - 14 Sep 2018
3 night minimum stay
£560
for 3 nights
From
£187
£859
£2,914
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£560
for 3 nights
From
£187
£859
£2,914
 

Additional pricing information

Rent will be expected at check in.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals