Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Malu Kauai, a quaint Kauai cottage in a rural neighborhood, one mile from the beach

People4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 500 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

TVNCU#5051

Malu Kauai is centrally located on the island in a small, rural town, of Niumalu just outside the Lihue town core. The cottage is a 5 minute drive from the airport and Safeway and Costco are nearby for in house meal preparation. Restaurants, shopping and Kalapaki Beach are all within 1 mile of the cottage.

This unit is clean and in a residential neighborhood. Enjoy a full kitchen, full bath, open living room, front lanai for lounging, a laundry room for washing/drying clothes, and even AC in the bedroom.

You'll be able to park right on the front lawn and enjoy the ease of walking right into your cottage. Walking distance from the cottage is the Nawiliwili Harbor with kayak tours up Huleia River, and fishing charters to the deep blue Pacific.

Being centrally located in Lihue, you are approximately 55 minutes to the North Shore and only 20 minutes to the South Shore. The Marriott Hotel is 1 mile away for beach rentals and activities and ocean side dining. Lihue has other cool features like museums, the Menehune Fish Pond, Consolidated Theaters, Kukui Grove Shopping Center, Safeway, Costco, Verizon, PetCo, etc. all intermixed with restaurants, bars, and the Marriott Hotel. Don't forget to try the Kauai Beer Co. on Thursdays, and the Kalamaku Luau Tuesdays and Fridays at Kilohana Plantation.

Kauai is a tropical island. Your vacation may be interrupted by rain, wind, storms, warm weather etc. Houses and condos on Kauai do not typically have air conditioning. We depend on the trade winds to cool the islands down, there will be times where things stay a bit warmer usually during the summer months, June thru September. Please note that if the property you are booking does not state that there is air-conditioning on its description or amenity list, and you need to have AC, please contact our Reservations team and we would be glad to help you find an appropriate property that will suite your needs. No refunds or adjustments will be given due to not having AC on property.

***This vacation home has been registered as a Transient Accommodation with the State of Hawaii – HAWAII TAX ID ​​​​​​​TA- 181-230-7968-01

More Details

Property Manager
Elite Vacation Rentals
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
25 September, 2018

About Elite Vacation Rentals

Martie Law will be your on-island property manager. while on Kauai. Call, text or email me at 808-639-8496 or martie.law@elitepacific.com.

Guestbook comments from the manager

We really enjoyed the house you set aside for us. I liked it better than the B & B we stayed at in Hanalei, mainly because of the A/C box in the bedroom, but also because of its location (and the bed was better, too). And we liked the kitchen, and the basket was a nice touch too. When we come back to the island in the future I will shop with you first!
Jul 2011
  • 1 of 1

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house around the Līhuʻe around the Kauai County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included ...
  • Housekeeper Optional ...
Floor Area:
  • 500 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • rural ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Full bathroom with shower and tub, toilet and vanity - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • luaus
  • Miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • Kayaking
  • mountain climbing
  • roller blading
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(58 traveller reviews)

74% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Malu Kauai, a quaint Kauai cottage in a rural neighborhood, one mile from the beach
average rating of 4.7413793 based on 59 reviews
5

Lovely and comfortable home for our week long stay.

  • 5 of 5

We were extremely happy with this Kauai cottage. Lovely facility, so many day to day living items furnished. It was nice to have a washer and dryer right at the house. Except for the roosters crowing (just kidding), this is a quiet little neighborhood, yet so close to all types of recreation, shopping, and all the activities you wish to take part in during your stay. Marti Law was extremely helpful with answers during our sign up time. The welcome basket was over the top! We highly recommend this Lihue Cottage!!!

  • Review Submitted: 10-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Roger ! Your review means so much to me. I can’t thank you enough. Sorry about the roosters!
Property under previous ownership / management during this stay
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great base for exploring Kauai

  • 5 of 5

This was the perfect base for our time on Kauai. It was immaculate and had great amenities like washer/dryer, A/C, 2 ceiling fans, comfortable bed, and more! Great location for exploring destinations around Lihue, Poipu, Kapaa, Waimea, etc. Also both the property manager and owners were really nice and helpful; our stay was during the approach of Hurricane Lane and they were proactive about taking necessary precautions and keeping us informed. Highly recommended!

  • Review Submitted: 29-Aug-2018
  • Date of Stay: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Sean! Sorry about the storm. :( But glad it passed and thanks for hanging in there with us. We really appreciate your review. aloha, martie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic house in a perfect location on the island

  • 5 of 5

Nice clean house with a good porch and Mountain View!

  • Review Submitted: 17-Aug-2018
  • Date of Stay: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

great place and supplied with everything we needed

  • 5 of 5

great location, very clean, easy owners to deal with and very responsive to any questions we had, highly recommended!

  • Review Submitted: 07-Aug-2018
  • Date of Stay: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Simon! I really appreciate your feedback. Please do come back when duty calls. aloha, martie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bloomington, Illinois USA
4

Great Central Location

  • 4 of 5

This property was a wonderful base for our vacation. Located in the middle of the island it was easy to chose our day based on the weather on the island or which beach we decided we wanted to visit! The house itself was well equipped and the bed very comfortable. The only downside, and it wouldn't keep us from returning, was the noise level inside the house. It is located beside a busy road and near a park. There are also other families living very close to the house. We had the windows open 24/7 to catch all of the wonderful breezes and of course that let the noise in. It is a very welcoming living area.

  • Review Submitted: 28-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Gary! Yes, one of the benefits and drawbacks simultaneously about being in a residential neighborhood is that there is a fair amount of local traffic going by in the commute hours. But also that you are in a local neighborhood where everyone looks out for each other and its off the beaten path of the visitor accommodations like hotels and such. I'm glad you were able to have a good time despite the roadway activity. Thankfully that dies down tremendously around 6pm. please do come back! aloha, martie
Property under previous ownership / management during this stay
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Victoria, BC, Canada
5

Unbeatable Value for Money!

  • 5 of 5

We had the pleasure of staying at Malu Kauai for almost 5 weeks and, for the most part, we can only echo what has already been said. Yes, there is some traffic noise, especially on weekday early mornings, both from the road and from a couple of local "pre-statehood" pickups, but it is quiet at night. And, if you don't like roosters, don't come to Kauai - anywhere!

From our perspective, the central location on the Island was a major asset. We could drive almost everywhere, north or south, in an hour or so. Admittedly, there is no immediate local beach or walking trail but the Kauai Marriott is close and welcoming - beautiful grounds, a beach and walking path with an elevator to more walking at one end, and some good and reasonably priced (for a resort) restaurants (especially Duke's, both upstairs and down). We also regularly drove the 15 minutes to Lidgate Beach State Park south of Kapa'a - best easily accessible uncrowded beach on the Island, with a lovely walking path and swimming and play areas for kids.

Last - but definitely not least, the Property Manager, Martie Law, is both very responsive and very helpful. She is the icing on a very nice cake.

  • Review Submitted: 17-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Peter thank you so much for this stunning review!!! I especially like the last paragraph :), kidding. Your comments are so appreciated and I do hope we would have the pleasure of having you back someday. I wish all guests could be like you. Many many thanks. Alooooha!!
Property under previous ownership / management during this stay
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Car: necessary

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Manager a Question
Available
Unavailable