HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Clare Ash

Member since: 2004
Call Owner
Speaks English, French, German

Architect's loft Overlooking River Seine, Paris

34 Reviews
People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Overview

Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday apartment in Saint-Germain-l'Auxerrois - In the very heart of Paris!

Very central apartment with 2 bedrooms (Sleeps 4) - 1 bathroom

If you want to discover Paris on foot, this is the place to be!

Our beautiful architect-designed apartment lies in the very heart of the city at Châtelet (1st Arrondissement). It is located on the top floor of an eighteenth century listed building on a quiet leafy street opposite one of the city's most romantic flower markets on the banks of the river Seine.

A ten minute stroll in any direction takes you to some of Paris's most famous landmarks. Wander south to the Ile de la Cité and Notre-Dame, east to the Hôtel de Ville, north to the Centre Pompidou and west to the Louvre.

The bright and airy apartment has stunning views over central Paris. It has been simply modernised retaining its historic features and its quirky "artist's garret" feel. However it is also extremely comfortable and well equipped.

The living area opens onto a south facing balcony. It has an inviting sofa area with bookshelves, satellite televison and wireless broadband. We often stay in the apartment and it is full of interesting books, which you are welcome to use during your stay.

We love gathering around our big oak dining table and there is a fully equipped kitchen with everything you might need to wine and dine. The view from the sink of the twinkling river at night certainly takes the edge off washing up!

Both bedrooms are drenched with natural light and have French windows which open onto small balconies. The double beds have extremely comfortable Dunlopillo mattresses and so do the twin beds. There is also plenty of storage space.

The bathroom has a good power shower and heated towel radiator.

If like us you are passionate about food then this is a great part of the city to base yourself in. One of the country's oldest and most loved gourmet food markets on Rue Montorgueil is a short walk away. Below the apartment is one of the best boulangeries in Paris. There are masses of places to eat within five to ten minutes walk away...from lively sidewalk restaurants to haute cuisine.

The apartment is a home from home for us and we hope it will be the same for you.

Keywords: Apartment, condominium, flat

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Clare Ash (Owner)
Member since: 2004
Call Owner
Speaks English, French, German

About Clare Ash

We are an Anglo American Academic family who live in London but met at Stanford as Grad students. We have spent sabbaticals in the States and Paris and have by now grown to a family of 5 daugters and 11 Grandchildren--all of whom have spent some time in Paris and in this apartment. So we share it with you as house guests- albeit paying- but we leave everything ready for the stay of friends, not commercial tenants.

Clare Ash purchased this apartment in 2004

Why Clare Ash chose 1st Louvre

It is surrounded by beautiful buildings and the history of Paris envelopes you in every direction. It is quiet, comfortable and easy to live in. The neighbourhood is very safe and the little local restaurants excellent. A taxi stand, the metro and buses are all within a block: the River Boat is further away- two blocks at Pont-Neuf!

What makes this apartment unique

All rooms face South with French windows and small balconies.

We are not overlooked and sky lights in the bathroom and hall help fill the apartment with light. We have architects in the family so you will find a lot of thought has gone into the design and the details.

Our favourite view is watching the boats on the Seine from the kitchen sink, but the views of Ste Chapelle and Hôtel de Ville are also hard to beat.

Most of all, coming to our apartment allows us to become Paris residents with the freedom to construct a daily routine according to whim without restriction but with all essentials laid on.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Visited Paris for one week in May. The apartment was perfect in every way. The location allowed walking access to many venues - museums (Louvre, Orangerie, Pompidou, D'Orsay, Rodin, Picasso), churches (Sainte-Chappelle, Notre Dame) , shopping ( I liked Deyrolle and Alexandra Sojfer), Seine, markets galore, Hotel de Ville, Victor Hugo, Bastille, etc. Some short distances, some longer distances. Metro is close by and taxis are readily available. The apartment itself is very nicely situated with a lift, a well stocked kitchen and excellent water pressure in the shower - plus 3 balconies!! The beds were comfy. Scrumptious boulangerie located below the apartment - my favorite was the apricot croissant. Very decent market a block away. Some decent restaurants and cafes near by but I recommend eating in the various neighborhoods across Paris. Definitely recommend this flat.

Recommended for: Families with Young Children, Sightseeing, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Adventure Seekers, Age 55+, Romantic Getaway, Families with Teenagers
May 2016
  • 1 of 27

Reviews

4.9
based on 34 holidaymaker reviews

Architect's loft Overlooking River Seine, Paris
average rating of 4.882353 based on 61 reviews
5

Perfect Parisian Apartment

  • 5 of 5

This apartment is in a great location near landmarks, restaurants/boulangerie (loved the apricot and butter croissants), shopping/grocery store, bank/ATM, metro and bars/nightlife (we saw a show at Duc des Lombards). The apartment has a lot of character and is well-equipped and offers a washer/drying rack, wifi and free calls to landlines in the U.S. We didn't have to buy anything aside from a few groceries and wine. Being on the top floor, the views are amazing and we were thankful there was a working elevator. It is quiet, allowing for naps and a restful night's sleep after a busy day of sightseeing. The owner's team is very responsive and answered all of my questions from pre-booking to touching base after our stay. Staying in an apartment is the best way to experience Paris and I wouldn't hesitate to rent this apartment again.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Somerville, Ma
5

Location is key!

  • 5 of 5

Visited Paris with a friend. The apartment is wonderfully situated and close to many attractions. Has all you need to make your stay successful: a lift, comfortable beds, 3 balconies with a wonderful view of Paris rooftops and Seine and good water pressure in the shower. As mentioned, superb boulangerie located downstairs ( try the apricot croissant) and a very adequate grocery store is a block away. Easy walk to The Louvre, The Pompidou, the Marais, Notre Dame, Sainte- Chappelle, Victor Hugo's House, La Conciergerie, etc. We walked everywhere even though Metro, cabs and buses are close by. Some of my favorite stores : deyrolle.com and alexandrasojfer.com - true Paris experiences. Caught a classical concert one evening at Notre Dame and saw an Opera. Tried several bottles of Sancerre Rouge! Definitely worth a visit.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great Location

  • 4 of 5

My husband and I stayed in this little apartment for a week. The positives are the terrific location near museums and restaurants. The kitchen was well equipped, beds and bed linens were good, and the bakery around the corner, terrific. The con was the condition of the apartment itself. We found it to be in need of a thorough cleaning and replacement of the worn living room sofa and rug. If that's not important to you, we would recommend the apartment.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Best of Paris

  • 5 of 5

What a great location, for eating, sightseeing, shops. Close to metro or just walking about. Seeing city lights at night - by boat, perfect. Would love to return again soon! Cozy flat 2 bedroom, great base to begin your journey.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 4, 2015
  • Date of Stay: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely Cozy Paris Apartment

  • 5 of 5

This 2 bedroom Paris apartment is comfortable and cozy. It is clean, well-appointed, safe and very central. It has lovely mirrors and fireplaces and French doors that open to small terraces. The views are incredible. There is a little bakery downstairs as well as numerous cafes in the neighborhood. Several metro stations are within a block or two. The owner is charming and delightful to work with. You will not be disappointed!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 18, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Location, location, location.

  • 5 of 5

Before we arrived in Paris we did not really appreciate the layout of the city. The arrondisements (districts) start with #1 and spiral outwards as you move away from the centre. This apartment is located in the ideal location in #1st Arrondisment and virtually everything you may want is within walking distance.

During our stay we walked to the Louvre, Musee D'Orsay, Champs Elysee and The Arc D'Triomphe. We also took a boat ride to The Tour Eiffel and the bus to Monmartre and the Sacre Couer. All were easy to do, and were close to our base.

The apartment is located in a quiet street, yet is well placed for the River Seine, numerous restaurants, bistros and the fabulous shops are a very short stroll away.

After exploring a large part of the city during the day, in the evenings we were happy to stay local and chose to eat at some of the excellent restaurants in the street next door and were not disappointed. We took guidance from some of the reviews left in the apartment by previous guests.

The apartment gave us a great base, it has everything we needed including comfortable beds with quality bed linen.

The wifi was very useful during our stay, as were the huge stock of up-to-date Paris guide books so thoughtfully provided by the owners.

We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely stay there next time we are in Paris.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 10, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Location

Nearest Airport
25 Kilometres
Charles De Gaulle
Nearest Train
3 Kilometres
Gare du Nord
Nearest Restaurant
Car: not necessary

We love to stay here as the apartment is so well situated for food lovers with one of the oldest gourmet food markets in the country on nearby Rue Montorgueil; beneath the apartment is one of the best boulangeries in Paris and there are countless excellent places to eat within a ten minute walk - ranging from lovely sidewalk restaurants to haute cuisine. With cultural and shopping opportunities on hand, it's a home from home for us and we hope will be for you too.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Saint-Germain-l'Auxerrois, Paris

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Standard Rate
1 Jan 2016 - 31 Dec 2016
4 night minimum stay
£905
for 4 nights
From
£216
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £43 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
£905
for 4 nights
From
£216
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £259
Cleaning and linen £43

Final cleaning & laundry: 150€ - Payable directly to the caretaker upon arrival
4 nights minimum stay - 4 guests maximum. 250€ per night for 2 guests, 50€ per night per additional guest.
Once confirmed rates guaranteed - until then, subject to change.

Bank Transfer. To use this method, ask us for the SWIFT and IBAN codes to give to your local bank.
Credit card. Homeaway.co.uk (property number 87771 is set up to allow you to pay immediately by card ( 2% fee taken from deposit).
This method may be equivalent in cost and is, of course, more convenient. You can also pay with Paypal. Contact us for details.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Saint-Germain-l'Auxerrois in Paris

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 6
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 50 m²
Location Type:
  • Monument View ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Lift
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • One bathroom with good power shower, heated towel radiator, linen cupboard and washing machine for use during your stay.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed , Comfortable Dunlopillo mattresses
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed , Comfortable Dunlopillo mattress
  • Both bedrooms are drenched with natural light and have French windows which open onto small balconies. The double beds have extremely comfortable Dunlopillo mattresses as do the twin beds. They both have electric heating. Bedroom 1 has a - 140cm (width) - double Dunlopillo mattress. Bedroom 2 has twins/ 2 - 90 cm (width) - single latex mattresses .
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • photography
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • roller blading
  • swimming
Notes:
Fee of 100€ payable upon arrival to the caretaker. Small elevator - 2 persons and luggage at a time. Floor fan in Living Room. Electric heating throughout. Washer / dryer. Bed linen, bath and kitchen towels provided. TV stations available include BBC, CNN, Arte and TV5. Fully equipped kitchen including all utensils we think you could require, Miele appliances, double sink in custom-made worktop. Cordless digital telephones in living room and double bedroom. Land line calls within France, most of Europe and US included in the rent. WiFi wireless internet access available.

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties