Southern Vacation Rentals
Pool / Spa
Minimum age of primary renter:25
Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Short walk from uncrowded beach, great pool & neighborhood
The great thing about this property location is the distance from larger condo/hotel areas. The beach is just a 5 minute walk, and uncrowded in this spot. The pool area is an even shorter walk, just down the street, and is a great spot to relax as well.
After reading other reviews, we checked all the appliances and other necessities as soon as we arrived, and found them all to be fixed/replaced/remedied. The dryer was visibly clogged from the outside and didn't dry anything. We didn't notice the clog til a few days before we left. We alerted management but it wasn't fixed while we were there. There are restrictions on the thermostat settings, and upstairs never quite cooled down to our liking. Plus there seemed to be a thermostat setting override at times throughout the day, so we continuously had to monitor the settings and often came back to a warm house.
We loved that each bedroom had its own bath - it was perfect for a couples trip. The parking was ample. There is ample parking & plenty to do within walking distance. Groceries, shopping, etc., all just a short 5 min drive. I would stay here again.
Note that this is not in the more populous Destin Harborwalk Village & boardwalk area. It's about 20 mins from that. This is a quieter area of Destin with less of the hustle & bustle, but also less excursions, dining options & night life. Sandestin is about a 10 min drive that has some night life options.
Thank you for this review Meredith. We loved hearing that you enjoyed your vacation and that the home worked well for your group. We certainly appreciate this feedback and are happy to report that the dryer vent has been cleaned. We would love to see you again in the future!
Your Southern Team
You are only supplied “initial supplies”. That means: 2 trash bags for 8 days, 6 rolls of toilet paper for those 8 days with 9 people, no dish soap, the light fixture outside was burned through so the light did not work while we “tried” to grill. House has about 6 large towels, 6 washcloths and a few hand towels. Be prepared to do laundry if you stay with your large family. House is extremely outdated and not very clean. The WiFi is awful and never properly worked, the downstairs tv NEVER worked our entire stay. Would never stay at this house again or use this company again. There are other properties in this cute neighbor hood, but don’t waste your money!
Thank you for this review Ashley. We apologize that this vacation fell short of our Southern standard. We would have been happy to come address your housekeeping and maintenance concerns during your vacation if they would have been reported to us. We have included a list of some items we suggest guests bring with them on vacation to use after the starter kit we provide has been used. All of this information can also be found in our guest portal. We hope that we will see you again in the future.
Your Southern Team
Needs updating and several fixes
We have stayed in Gulfside Cottages before and live the street. This condo needs updating and several things did not work. The entire week we were there the washer did not work and they sent someone to fix but still broken. There was even a sign on washer saying you had to run spin cycle twice. The WIFI was out the entire time we were there. The beds were fine etc. would be nice to have dressers in rooms. Carpet is pretty run down. And kitchen needs updating for sure. Refrigerator had missing shelves on the whole door except bottom and drawers at bottom were cracked/broken and hard to use and slide out. If those things were fixed it would make this a much better place to stay. Nice layout. Great street. Easy to use. But this house needs some work.
Thank you for this feedback Holly. We apologize that this vacation did not meet our Southern standard but we certainly appreciate you reporting the issues you found to us. We are thrilled to report that both the refrigerator and washing machine have been replaced. We also looked into the issues with the WiFi and it appears the modem had been unplugged so thankfully it was an easy fix. We couldn't agree more that the location is wonderful and we certainly hope to see you again soon.
Your Southern Team
Our Stay in the Great Escape
We truly enjoyed our vacation in this lovely home. I would suggest that the owners replace the bar stools in the kitchen area. I wouldn’t allow anyone to sit on them due to them being unstable. We also noticed that all of the patio doors were not locked when we arrived and the refrigerator wasn’t working. We called the main office and they fixed the refrigerator right away.
Thank you for this review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your vacation. We are happy to report that the refrigerator has been replaced and we are working on repairing the bar stools. We apologize that you had to deal with both of those issues during your stay. We do hope to see you again in the future.
Your Southern Team
Nice home and short stroll to the beach.
Thank you for your review! We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us on the Gulf Coast!
We came as a family and this house was perfect for us! Just a short walk to the beach, tons of privacy in the home. The neighborhood is gorgeous. We had not one single issue with the home. We were all in complete awe of our entire experience. The simplicity of the home was the greatest part, keyless entry, not having to drive around searching for some keys. We plan on staying at this house again!!!
Also, we walked to the mall right across the street and did plenty of shopping. The location was everything. Thank you so much for our wonderful stay- to the owner!!
- the Hudson’s
We are delighted to hear you had such a wonderful stay. We are glad that our home met all your expectations making your stay extremely relaxing. Please come back and stay for another great vacation soon!