Secluded Beach house! Screened pool on lake near beach. Sleeps 8!
John W Eskew
About John W Eskew
My parents owned this house and I spent many summers there as a kid!
John W Eskew purchased this House in 1973
Why John W Eskew chose Bright Water
Great central Island location on the waterway with beach access across the main road.
What makes this House unique
Not a luxury hotel, but great if you have kids and dogs!
100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
We stayed in this property in March 2019. The house is in a great location, just a short walk to the private beach path leading to a wonderful, quiet beach. The house is in a quiet, residential area within easy biking or driving distance to anywhere you’d want to go on island.
Although dated, (kitchen and baths) the home is very comfortable and it is obvious that the owner has made several upgrades. There are 4 bedrooms which easily sleep 8 people and also a pull out couch in the den. The most notable downside to the house is the carpeting in the bedrooms which is stained and needs to be replaced. The owner told me that he plans to replace it in the near future.
The pool area is nice and we enjoyed watching and listening to the wildlife while having coffee or cocktails on the lanai.
There were 3 very comfortable beach chairs, umbrella and a beach cart for guests to use.
We were disappointed that the 4 bicycles advertised were not in good working order (only 1 appeared safe to ride). However, there are bike rental companies on island that will deliver to the house so not a deal breaker.
While we were there the owner sent new beach towels and kitchen towels which were much appreciated. In addition, he purchased a crock pot which I had enquired about and had it sent to us. Really a nice gesture by the owner who was pleasant and easy to communicate with.
I would definitely rent this home again. The price we paid, under $6000, makes it an attractive rental and I look forward to returning again next year.
Great location but needs work!
This house is in a great location--a short walk to the beach. I’ve been coming to Sanibel for three decades, and love the west end neighborhoods and beaches. We’re seasoned travelers and have rented many homes in different locations, but this one is in the poorest condition of any we’ve encountered. At this point, the carpeting in the bedrooms was so stained and dirty that I never let my feet touch any of it, and we deemed one bedroom off limits altogether because it was so stained and smelled bad. When we arrived, there was garbage piled at the front door, and the pool deck had animal feces, dried urine, and garbage on it, with some garbage in the pool. I cleaned the pool deck and the pool guys fished out the garbage. A number of electrical problems exist. As another reviewer found, there was an animal (rodent?) in one of the walls, and the sliding glass door in the living room doesn’t lock (and we are very familiar with how to do so), but my husband found a U-shaped hook that fit into two existing holes on each side of the door and frame to act as a security measure. The area is very safe and friendly, and even though I spent a lot of time alone in the house I never felt unsafe. Problems with the house aside, the owner is very nice (offered a visit from the maid service [but they thought it was ok to leave garbage next to the front door and on the pool deck so no thanks] and a dinner for our troubles), has recently done work on the house, and promises to do more in the upcoming year, including replacing the bedroom carpeting. If there aren’t substantial changes I would advise against renting this home.
Thank you so much for the insightful feedback on our home . We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found for us some of the things that needed to be addressed. Indeed the carpet is being replaced next month, now that the renovations are complete.
We had tried a new maid service and apparently the pool area was not considered part of interior cleaning. When they went to take the trash to the curb a neighbor instructed them not to, as the collection was two days away. Both of these issues were addressed immediately after your arrival and we offered you a free cleaning at any time for any incovenience it may have caused.
We are so glad you enjoyed the total privacy, reasonable rental rate, short walk to the beach, double lot for your dog and the heated pool steps from the master bedroom.
Thank you again for your helpful review and best of luck in your future rentals
Great location; a comfortable and spacious house
We were very pleased with this house and also with the owner who went the extra mile to make our stay pleasant and was very responsive. The house has two separate sleeping areas which is perfect for two couples, a family with kids, or to accommodate friends. The location is highly desirable, as it is a short bike ride to the Wildlife Refuge, and a short drive to Bailey's. Also great beach access. Thank you for a lovely month in paradise!
In my opinion, this property is grossly misrepresented. We arrived to find the drywall open in multiple rooms with exposed pipes, rodent poop and live/dead insects throughout, and construction debris in random piles around the property. The sliding glass door would not completely close or lock. Several neighbors talked to us about other renters and similar problems with the property/owner. The price was great and we were not expecting a five star stay however, the general state of the home and grounds was not maintained and we felt unsafe and extremely disappointed in the condition of this “vacation home”. Multiple contentious calls and emails with the owner yielded vague promises to have a cleaning person and locksmith address our concerns however this would have been the equivalent of putting a band-aid on a gaping wound. We pleaded with him to provide even a partial refund so we could book another property and salvage our vacation, but he outright refused. We could not stay at the house and spent months trying to recoup our hard earned vacation money. I am aware there are two sides to every story, however I have hundreds of photographs to prove my claims. Ultimately, I decided to write this review not as retribution but to save another family from a vacation nightmare.
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We did everything possible immediately to address any issues she described, yet she failed to take advantage of the free services we offered her.
Both she (a first time renter) and her husband called and texted incessantly, upon arrival, in a threatening manner, way past 10:00 at night even though we had called the relevant services for any issues that would be addressed immediately the next day. We had the sliding glass door service there 2 days later to refit new wheels to the bottom of the door, which merely had to be lifted to get it to latch, the technician said there is some question whether she jimmied the lock to gain access when she couldn't figure out the lock box.
She received a large discount from our normal rental price as some of the ongoing renovations, now complete, were still in progress, but not during her stay. The issues she described could have been rectified with a broom or a vacuum. Despite it being the 2nd of July I called in some favors and had both the maid and exterminator agree to postpone their vacations in order to address her suggestions, despite them servicing the house only 2 days earlier.
The house was rented the previous month by a woman and her children who was thrilled with her stay and the great deal we had offered them. Rather than spending a day at the beach relaxing, She seemed more intent on complaining rather than letting people help her. She even went to the town and filed a formal complaint and made a fuss with our long time neighbors. She disappeared and left the premises unlocked before the service people arrived and was not heard from again except for her recent negative review.
She also filed a complaint with the VRBO network which was found to be without merit and her case dismissed despite any photos . Why half a year after her stay did she send a review? Despite her incorrect claim, we gave her 1/2 her rent back on top of the discount. Could we have done any more for this tenant?
I refrained from giving her a negative review as a gentleman but I sincerely would not recommended her and her husband be allowed to rent in the network again. We have rented this house successfully for over 35 years and our family has lived on Sanibel Island for more than 100 years without this type of issue.
Best of Luck to to you and your future rentals
I was pleased at how clean and convenient the 404 Tiree Circle house was during our recent stay on Sanibel Island. My wife and our two children stayed at John’s house this Spring and we enjoyed the proximity to the beach, the waterway in the back yard, the extra/spare lot next door which our boys spent hours exploring, and of course, the heated pool. We really like the one level floor plan. This house is a great beach house for relaxing and spending time with our family, while it is not like staying at a high end hotel, we found it clean and functional and the furnishings comfortable, while the location, without question, is close enough to walk or ride a bike to most everything of interest on the island. While we did not bring our dog with us, we would have been comfortable with her in this house, without fear of ruining the home during our stay. It’s nice to know that there are homes like John’s that welcome children and pets.
Ding Darling Bird santuary is 1.3 miles away and a world class to see and photograph birds.
Shell collecting is across the strett with a short wlak for some of the best around.