Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Mineshaft, Creek front, Hot Tub, Close to Town, Ski Area 20 miles

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights


About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8-12)

The Durango Mine Shaft, a vacation rental in the Animas Valley in Durango, is the definition of a Colorado home. Nestled among some of the largest pines in the Animas Valley and bordered by a seasonal creek which can be viewed from the two decks or from the comfort of the hot tub, this home offers a true Southwest Colorado experience. Indoors, light a fire and make your gourmet meal in the kitchen with granite counter tops and stainless steel appliances. Days filled with activities will have you sleeping well in this home, which sleeps 10. WI FI and cable tv mean you don't lose touch with the world, unless you choose to! For booking information, and information about additional activities available, contact Scott at number listed below.

This home is set back off the road, on a 2 acre property with an 8 ft privacy fence in the front. There is a hiking trail out the back door. The home backs up to 19 acres of green space. It is located a half mile from Trimble Hot Springs & Spa and 10 minutes to City Market.

Durango's Premier Sailing Adventure Company, Peaks and Tides, offers sailing charters for morning and sunset cruises, lessons, team building stay and sail packages and more with exclusive offers for Mineshaft guests. Visit or contact the owner for more information.

*Cancellations 30 days or prior to reservation will receive a full refund minus a $200 booking fee.

( Sales Tax ID # 25200381)

Keywords: House, Boat, Sailing, Skiing/Snowboarding, Hot Tub

More Details

Scott Frazer
Member since: 2007
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks Spanish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
16 August, 2018

About Scott Frazer

Durango Native of thirty five years. Ski guide, Raft guide, Fishing guide, USCG Capitan and Home Builder

Scott Frazer purchased this house in 2005

Why Scott Frazer chose Durango

The perfect balance and location in Durango. Close to all activities that abound in Durango.

What makes this house unique

New Flooring in downstairs bedrooms and bathroom! Leather couches! In house guides can offer you a sailing experience, river rafting, fishing from a Dory on the Animas River, private ski lessons, and more. Inquire within.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Durango in La Plata County

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
  • Cancellations made 30 days or more prior to the start date of the reservation may receive a full refund minus a $200 booking fee.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (2), Double Beds (1) located in loft, second queen located in loft, Day Bed (1), Baby Cribs (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1), Air mattresses available
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Table Football
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Player
  • Balcony
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Onsite Services:
  • Chauffeur
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting big game
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
Hiking out the back door, Creek running in front of home, Across the highway from Dalton Ranch Golf Course. Ten minutes to downtown Durango, ten minutes from Durango Mountain Resort. One 1/2 mile from Trimble Hot Springs. Experience sailing with our in house USCG Capitan on a 33 foot sailboat on a Rocky Mountain Lake, or take a lesson in Basic Keelboat sailing lesson from an ASA Certified Sail Instructor. Take the family rafting on a 16' Cataraft down the Animas River with an in house raft guide. Spend some time fishing on a beautifully crafted wooden Dory with a Durango Native fishing guide. All services include free transportation and offered by your hosts. Please inquire within for more details!


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(49 traveller reviews)

81% Complete
8% Complete
4% Complete
2% Complete
4% Complete
Mineshaft, Creek front, Hot Tub, Close to Town, Ski Area 20 miles
average rating of 4.612245 based on 49 reviews

The location is awesome with a beautiful deck area that accommodated our large family.

  • 4 of 5

Great kitchen, eating area, family room and outdoor gathering space! The owners were so gracious and willing to supply us with whatever we needed. The inside property could use some updates and softer beds. Overall, we're had a wonderful time.

  • Review Submitted: 15-Aug-2018
  • Date of Stay: August 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beware: Not as advertised

  • 1 of 5

This listing is advertised and priced as a high quality, secluded, private mountain home. The problem is that it isn't - at all. Instead of being “Nestled among some of the largest pines in the Animas Valley and bordered by a seasonal creek” and "on a 2 acre property” and “backs up to 19 acres of green space", you have to park in owner's property that is a storage / garage / workyard area, and walk into his backyard where the house is.The house is surrounded by the owner's structures and several other neighboring structures of various disrepair and unsightliness. Except for one nice view, you're surrounded by junk yard chic. The "seasonal creek" is actually an irrigation canal (yet another exaggeration). The home itself was on the worn side, wasn't clean, had sub-par furnishings, mobile-home grade bathrooms and no air conditioning. All this would have been fine if it was disclosed in the listing and it was priced appropriately. It's all about expectations, and this listing set the wrong ones. I tried to work this out with the owner, but he was in full denial mode. This matches how he has responded to the other 3 reviews stating similar concerns.It's too bad those reviews were buried several pages down, or I would have passed on this property. While many people have clearly found this place to meet their needs, if you are looking for a high quality, secluded mountain home, this is not it. Do a Google satellite view and you'll see exactly what the truth is.

  • Review Submitted: 28-Jul-2018
  • Date of Stay: July 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello, This home is not advertised as executive. It is however advertised as a cabin in the woods and is nestled in the largest pines. Just to make that clear. As also stated, there is a shared drive. Your manner of dealing with the issues you've found were to file a complaint with VRBO that stated that there was no AC (which is advertised as partial, and until your complaint I realized the listing had not been updated to show that the upstairs unit has been added. At no point did you address cleanliness with us, nor your dissatisfaction when you were greeted upon check in. This would have been an ideal time to address your concerns and make other arrangements. The Animas Valley, until recently, has been very rural and there remain some homes in the area that have been part of that heritage forever. Some a part of the agricultural heritage, and some a part of mountain life. We find these homes to be gems among the area as the new homes lack distinguished character. We do encourage you to visit Durango again and recommend you look into the North County area or Downtown area- only newly remodeled homes. You will find higher pricing, difficult parking, lack of a nights sky and more noise. But, you will find the shine that you appreciate. We would like readers to note that other reviews have stated the home clean. The furnishings are exactly what are in the photos as is the yard- which sits on the back acre of the property- away from the road. The seasonal creek flows from the ditch (which also offers a very nice ambience with running water, water foul, and a sense of peace) to the stocked pond. When you sit on the deck is that seasonal stream that you hear rushing. We like it here, and so do our many clients who've been coming year after year. Best of luck to you for future rentals.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Pretty quiet peaceful

  • 5 of 5

Very nice and such nice people

  • Review Submitted: 11-Jul-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Colorado Springs

Scenic and historical area, shrewd business owner

  • 2 of 5

The mineshaft met our needs for a large group with all the annemites needed for a nice stay. Everyone loved the history and landmarks and the time we had at the mineshaft.

However, we booked our stay to ride the Durango Silverton scenic train for our family reunion. After we booked the 416 forest fire started and the train had to cancel our reservations due to the forest fire. So we sent a cancellation request for our lodging due to the forest fire in the area...NOPE...we were within our 30 day refunds! So 13 of us (4 cars) ended up driving hours out of our way due to a mtn pass closure to ride a much shortened train ride in a smoke filled house/town. All of us were not feeling well due to the heavy smoke in the air after the train ride. In hind sight we should of accepted the $500+ loss and not made the trip. I’m a VRBO owner/host and receive cancellations pepiodically with full refund, always. Why do we give a full refunds...It’s good business to take care of your guests. It’s business ppl like this that can ruin the homeaway host business for us all.

  • Review Submitted: 07-Jul-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We apologize that you are not satisfied with our cancellation policy. We ask all guests to please review that policy and inquire any concerns prior to booking. We are not affiliated with the train, nor any other tourist companies in the area. As a result of your activities with an outside company being cancelled, we do not feel responsible to refund your stay with us. Durango offers a great many amazing activities for all walks of life. Please note that we do work with guests who have family reasons and other major events that make the stay impossible on a case by case basis.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great rustic cabin with a perfect location

  • 5 of 5

We had a fantastic time on our trip to Durango and our stay at the Mineshaft cabin. The property was perfect for our family. We really enjoyed sitting on the deck and listening to the creek run right next to us. The owners, Scott and Katie, were great. We went out of our way to get to know them a bit on our trip. They are the type of people that we would be good friends with if we lived in the area and hopefully we'll see them again in the future. Overall the experience was a ten out of ten. Thanks for everything.

  • Review Submitted: 11-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Very Nice

  • 5 of 5

Very nice home, clean and spacious. Great decks.

  • Review Submitted: 13-May-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1


Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Dalton Ranch Golf Course Club House
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Dalton Ranch
Nearest Train
7 Miles
Durango Silverton Narrow Gauge Train
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
US HWY 550
Nearest Restaurant
4.5 Miles
Mounatin Madness Pizza
Nearest Ski
15 Miles
Durango Mountain Resort


Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £96.56
Pet Fee £57.94

A $300 Refundable Damage Deposit Required, Cancellation 2 months prior to your arrival with a $200 cancellation fee

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.