Beautiful, tranquil and private double room with dedicated bathroom next door to the bedroom ( a larger full sized bathroom with jacuzzi tub, shower and double sink is available on the 1st floor if preferred) set in a luxurious, interior designed Historical Georgian Townhouse set in the heart of one of London's most celebrated Villages. It's a short walk to the cafes, shops, antique and farmer's markets of the village, with an independent cinema, historical buildings and museums nearby. The Underground, a 5 min walk gets you into central London in 10 minutes, with access to Hampstead Heath's acres of natural parkland, around the corner.
- House1200 sq. ft.
- Separate WCs0
- Min. Stay3 nights
- english, french, german, spanish
- Calendar last updated:
- 13 Oct 2018
About grace fields
I am a creative, and have designed my home to be both beautiful and comfortable. I love meeting new people and sharing my 'London finds' with my guests. I adore cooking and exploring the local farmer's market. There is an independent movie theatre's 5 minutes walk away, and some of London's most fashionable restaurants, shops, weekly farmer's market and cafes to enjoy, nearby.
Why grace fields chose Hampstead
I have grown up in this area and have lived here my whole life and it really is 'home' to me. This property is a Georgian historical Townhouse and yet has a contemporary feel as it is so light filled with high ceiling and such a lovely energy with its views of trees from the lounge windows. It is a tranquil respite from the urban energy of London. It is also in the heart of the village and so is surrounded by everything one could ever want or need.
What makes this House unique
It is in the heart of the village and yet is a spacious and peaceful place. It has great connections with the Underground being 4 minute walk away which takes you directly to the centre of London in 10 minutes.
Local Services & Businesses
100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date. 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
Wonderful Place to Stay, Close to Tube and Bus Stop
Very tastefully decorated apartment in an extremely convenient safe area, just a few minutes from the Tube station. Our host,Grace, was very accommodating and sharing. A nice light breakfast was set each morning.
Hampstead is a less hectic part of London and quite enjoyable.
We would highly recommend this as a home base for London.
Thank you for your great review- much appreciated!
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay - and felt comfortable and at home here. it was an absolute pleasure hosting you both.
lovely house with a great location
The house is beatiful, clean and located in one of the most beautiful neighborhood of London.
Just few minutes away from the metro station, close to lovely restaurants, bars, shops and to Hampstead's park.
Grace is a lovely host which will provide you with great tips to discover the area.
Had a very pleasent stay!
Thanks for your great review. I am so glad you had a lovely stay- you were a great couple to host!
Pretty B&B in lovely setting
This well maintained and clean property is very handy to the tube and in the lovely little village of Hampstead. We didn't realise this was more of a B&B with the owner living there also - something we weren't expecting - but Grace was lovely, very helpful and with lots of tips on where to eat, visit etc. We found the bedroom a little small, but with a lovely leafy view of the road . The bathroom we used on the upper floor was also small. Grace offered use of the larger bathroom downstairs which she used, but we preferred the ability to have use of one for ourselves.
Thank you for your review. I am so glad you enjoyed your time here as you spent much of your stay either sitting around the kitchen table chatting with me over cups of coffee or working in the lounge which you were also able to make full use of during your stay.
The listing is clearly for a room not an entire apartment so I would obviously be here as the listing is for a room in my home. The room is extremely reasonably priced for the location and for what it provides and is exactly as shown in the photos on the listing. I am happy you found my local recommendations helpful during your stay.
Inadequate Accommodation For More Than A Night or Two
We are an older couple who booked a 30 night stay at this property. The location was lovely and convenient. The main problem we had was that the bathroom offered was not the one pictured on the property description. It was a tiny old bathroom with a very small shower stall. In addition, the owner’s toiletries were in the bathroom drawers. When asked if she was using this bathroom, the owner stated “Only at night”. The site said a “dedicated bathroom”, ie. private. It was NOT a bathroom with a jetted tub as stated. There was actually no tub and the shower was the size of one on a cruise ship.
While there was an adequate sized closet, there were no drawers, so underwear, socks, etc. would need to be placed on the closet floor or on a very high shelf which the owner scrambled to clear for us. The kitchen was as described; however, the owner had not cleared even one shelf of the refrigerator for our use, even though we were renting for 30 days. The site states “ comfy seating for 6 people”. This implied the kitchen was for our use, which would have been almost impossible.
We elected to not even stay one night, mainly due to the state of the bathroom and lack of privacy. We asked for a refund, but the owner refused to consider it even though we lost 29 nights and she has already re-listed it during the time we would have been there.
The owner seemed inexperienced. Otherwise, she would have stated more clearly the unsuitability for an extended stay and not misrepresented the bathroom.
Bottom line, if you are looking for an inexpensive rental for a few nights and do not care about privacy or the type of bathroom, this might work for you. Do be aware the bathroom pictured on the site is NOT the one for guests and we did not even see that one.
I think the great reviews my happy guests have written should be answer enough. I have had guests stay here for over a month without any issues. You arrived with 4 suitcases which clearly a double wardrobe is not going to accommodate. I offered to put your cases in my loft which I did after you had unpacked. I also cleared an extra cupboard above the doubke wardrobe for you and provided you with over 25 wooden hangers. There are two bathrooms one that is shown in the listing which is 2 flights down from the bedroom and a second smaller bathroom which is directly next to the bedroom and which you said would be fine. I asked you if you would like extra space over and above the mirrored cupboard in the bathroom and offered to clear some additional drawers to which you replied ‘no it’s fine.’ I showed you the lounge and the eat-in kitchen where I explained that I will lay out the breakfast for you in the morning asked you if you prefer tea or coffee in the morning and you then asked me if you could have some space in the fridge and I said that ofcourse I would clear a shelf for you as I do for all the guests that request it. ‘There is comfortable seating for six ‘which does not in anyway indicate you would have sole use of the kitchen. This is VRBO where guests stay in people’s homes. I don’t think you’ll find an entire 3 floor Georgian house for your own sole use at £60 per night. The listing is clearly for a room and use of the other facilities I offer. After I had put your cases in my loft and cleared an additional cupboard you went out for a walk came back clearly having had a few drinks and informed me that you are leaving, having checked in 3 hours previously and asked for me to get your cases back down from the loft and then asked for a refund. VRBO has a strict cancellation policy. There are no refunds post check- in. I have never had a single complaint from any of my guests - as stated before I have had nothing but very positive reviews both about my home and for me as a host. I am not sure what your expectations were having cited lack of privacy- I live here and the listing if for my guest room and bathroom and use of the lounge and kitchen which is clearly outlined in the listing details and which many listings do not offer. I will just add that shouting and swearing at each other in my hallway while you were waiting for a taxi and causing a disturbance was not how I would have expected guests, particularly a retired couple to behave.
Beautiful and relaxing!
Grace is wonderful and provided the best tips for local attractions and restaurants. The neighborhood of Hampstead is beautiful and nice to retreat to after a busy day of seeing the sights.
Alexis was the perfect guest. It was a pleasure to host her and hear about her daily explorations of London! She was a considerate and respectful guest and is welcome to stay here again anytime.
4 night stay at high street heaven
Booked this double room last minute. Communication by email, text and through homeaway was quick. Our 4-night stay was pleasant and comfortable. The room and bathroom was clean and spotless - no complaints! The apartment is located 2 minutes away from the underground station and high street. Our host, Grace, went out her way to prepare us a nice light breakfast - truly appreciated. Plus, she provided us with helpful information on the best cafes, pubs, restaurants and other places of interest to go to. Thank you again! -C&C
Thank you for the great review- it was a pleasure to host you both. I am glad you enjoyed your stay here and we look forward to welcoming you here again if you travel to London again. Grace.
Hampstead Village is one of the most picturesque and well loved Villages in London. It has a history of world renowned poets, writers, artists who lived here and created the rich cultural heritage that informs the area. It is an area that is filled with local cafes, restaurants, shops, independent cinemas and local farmers markets and antique markets and is interspersed with historical buildings. The area is surrounded by the 800 acres of the natural parkland of Hampstead heath. There are several historical buildings such as Kenwood House set in the grounds of Hampstead Heath, nearby. The Freud Museum and Burgh House are a few minutes away. The area is filled with buildings that are listed and have historical significance. This is an area that has something for everyone whether you are looking for a cool contemporary experience or want to immerse yourself in the history of the area. Every corner of this picturesque area is a photo opportunity.