HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Charming 2 Bd/2 Ba Cottage, 3 min walk to Baby Beach

People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
People
4
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
2 - 7 nights

About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

Ahe Lani means “Heavenly Breezes” and that is what you will find throughout this two bedroom, two full bathroom home located less than 100 yards from Poipu's Baby Beach and very near Lawai Beach. Ahe Lani is a charming cottage that will take you back to old Hawaii.

The question everyone asks themselves as they drive to Poipu is “Did I rent a good house?” Drive four houses past Ahe Lani, your first thought will be “WOW! The ocean is really close!” Then you may wonder where to park your car because the parking area for Ahe Lani is beautiful lawn growing through concrete blocks. So drive right on the lawn! Walk up the hardwood steps to the front porch, remove your shoes and step into the entry of this Hawaiian plantation style home and you immediately begin to see the great decorating and furnishings. Original oil paintings and natural wood trim and doors scream out “Hawaii!” You start to feel the gentle breezes that flow through and cool this house because every room has cross ventilation. Perhaps your children see the Surfer Bedroom and you hear them “OOH” and “AAH”, and it really hits you, “This is better than home!”

Step into old Hawaii in a new beach house! As you enter, imagine yourself as a turn of the century plantation manager relaxing in the spacious living room of this plantation-style Kauai rental vacation home overlooking the tropical garden. Walk into the great room with its nine foot ceilings and ceiling fans. On the left is the living area with windows on three sides. It is decorated with a large rattan sofa, a two person rattan loveseat, and a comfortable rattan easy chair with ottoman. The entertainment center has a flat screen TV with a DVD player and a CD stereo system with Hawaiian CD's provided.

On the right is the hardwood dining table with plenty of room for you to enjoy meals and "talk story" afterward. The kitchen is modern and spacious with granite countertops. There is a GE range with microwave, dishwasher, and refrigerator. The kitchen is completely stocked. In addition to all the pots, pans and cooking utensils you will need, there are matching sets of dishware, glassware, knives and silverware. Since you will need more than that to cook a meal, you will probably find aluminum foil, saran wrap, baggies, wax paper, coffee filters, paper napkins, paper towels, dish liquid and dishwasher soap, plus many other necessary kitchen supplies.

Next to the kitchen is the separate laundry room with washer and dryer and a separate storage room holding the beach chairs, sand toys, coolers and maybe boogie boards and snorkeling gear left by previous guests.

Walk down the hall from the great room. On the left is the sliding door to the 200 square foot lanai. This lanai is partially roofed in case of rain and has an outdoor dining table with four chairs, plenty of space to enjoy alfresco meals or cocktails.

Further down the hall to the right is the Surfer Bedroom decorated that has two twin beds that can be made into an Eastern king bed for just a $25 fee. This bedroom has two windows and a cooling ceiling fan. It also has three tropical bedside tables, a dresser, and a 19" television. This bedroom has its own bathroom with dual lavatories, a tub shower, toilet and windows to keep it from steaming up.

Past the first bedroom is the master bedroom suite. On the right is the bathroom with dual lavatories, a five-foot shower, toilet and windows to keep it from steaming up. Past the bathroom is the master bedroom decorated in a flower motif with tropical furniture. This bedroom has a sliding door on one wall and windows on the other two walls plus a ceiling fan for great ventilation. The California king-size bed is firm but cushiony. An original oil painting hangs over it. There are bedside tables, a full dresser, and an armoire with a 19" television inside.

This is a non-smoking house.

Outside Ahe Lani is a 3000 square foot lawn with chaise lounges for sunbathing on those days when you don't want to make the 3 minute walk to the beach. The lawn is also home to a gas barbecue. Ahe Lani shares this lawn with our three bedroom home, Akala Pua.

More Details

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 1999
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
20 February, 2017

About The Owner

Aloha from Jim and Valorie Wisda. We recently moved to Scottsdale, Arizona from Palos Verdes Estates, California where we raised a wonderful son and daughter. We have been coming to Poipu since 1970 and no matter how often we travel to other places or countries we visit, like this picture in Thailand, we always look forward to coming back to Poipu several times a year.

The Owner purchased this house in 2005

Why The Owner chose Kauai

We bought the lot a few years after hurricane Iniki while the cost of lots was still low because it offered us the opportunity to help vacationers experience a really wonderful house in a good location at an affordable rent. This house is a couple of houses removed from the water, and the rent is less than half of those houses less than 100 yards away! This is really one of the best values in Poipu. It is a great house in a very good location at a fair and affordable rent.

What makes this house unique

Lushly landscaped yard. Privacy.

Best of all, the open living area promotes family gatherings with places to sit and 'talk story', but with plenty of room for everyone to have adequate space.

Guestbook comments from the manager

From the Guestbook: My husband and I went on vacation for much needed R&R from our hectic lives. This houses was the perfect place to recharge. The breezes and sounds were like therapy and we truly felt at home here. The amenities you provided were so helpful and made our stay that much more comfortable. It is with a touch of sadness that we have to leave this home for our next adventure. We we return to Kauai, we know where we want to stay and if we have family and friens venturing out here, we will recommend that they stay at Ahe Lani.
May 2015
  • 1 of 173

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Poipu in Hawaii

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1300 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • beach
  • near the sea
  • Ski-In ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Safe
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Two sinks
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Two sinks
  • Both bathrooms have windows for great ventilation.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed , Twin beds can be put together
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , California King
  • King size beds (1) All beds are comfortably firm., Twin or Single Beds (2), Baby Cribs are available for rent through www.readyrentals.com.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Player
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Deck Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Large Cooler
  • Garden
  • Barbecue ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Veranda
  • Tennis ...
  • veranda
  • 2 garden chairs
  • 3 deck chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • museums
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • luaus
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • Kayaking
  • sailing
  • diving
  • ski
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(22 traveller reviews)

Charming 2 Bd/2 Ba Cottage, 3 min walk to Baby Beach
average rating of 4.7272725 based on 195 reviews
Hibbing, MN
5

Spacious, clean, quality cottage

  • 5 of 5

This cottage is well laid out and very spacious. We were two women traveling together and found the large bedrooms and baths comfortable and more than adequate Easily, 2 couples or a family would be comfortable in this house. The cottage is on the same property as a larger rental house, which was occupied while we were there, but we barely saw them and rarely heard them. There is not direct beach access but a short walk to "baby beach". We were not there for a lot of beach activity, so we didn't miss being directly on the beach. We toured the entire island from Poipu and there is a nice shopping area within easy walking distance with restaurants, groceries and shopping. There is a nice market there on one day per week with local arts and foods. I would recommend this rental and would consider going back with my family.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 11, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Nancy, Thank you for the nice words about Ahe Lani, we try hard to help everyone have a great vacation. Please return often and take advantage of our return guest discounts. Buzz and Valorie Wisda
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bainbridge Island
1

There are better choices available

  • 1 of 5

We have done VRBO for a dozen years throughout the U.S. and overseas. Almost without exception our hosts have been in the “under promise, over perform” category. This experience in Poipu was quite the opposite, so just be aware.

“…located less than 100 yards from Poipu's Baby Beach.”

That is 100 yards as the crow flies, but closer to a half mile walk lugging your stuff to the small beach. Lots of cute bungalows for rent on Hoona Rd that are much closer.

”So drive right on the lawn! Walk up the hardwood steps to the front porch”

The house is a 150 foot poorly lit walk (with a tripping hazard) from your car. The sprinkler system soaks your car (and you)coming on at 08:00 am and 7:30pm – right when you are heading out or returning. We asked the property manager to change the times- didn't happen.

“You start to feel the gentle breezes that flow through and cool this house because every room has cross ventilation.”

Flow through ventilation is good, but the neighbor’s exterior flood lights (left on all night) shine right into the master bedroom.

“There is a GE range with microwave, dishwasher, and refrigerator. The kitchen is completely stocked.” If you cook, this place is NOT for you! Very old rusty stove and refrigerator. The oven had been inoperative for three months ; the owner told us after we tried to cook a holiday turkey for our family. It took five days to fix. Hundreds of dollars in unplanned dining expense due to this. The three skillets were warped and the nonstick coating peeling off. We bought the house a new set. Knives were as dull as clubs and the knife sharpener was worn out.

“This lanai is partially roofed in case of rain”

The rain is frequent in winter and the lanai has developed a significant layer of algae which appears black when dry, but is slick as oil when damp. Remember too, to watch out if you don’t like spiders, they were numerous and quite large !

“Outside Ahe Lani is a 3000 square foot lawn with chaise lounges for sunbathing. The lawn is also home to a gas barbecue."

The lawn is quite small, nearly always in shade, the chairs shared, and beat up. The BBQ is also in very rough shape, well rusted and very poor burners with uneven heat. It is also right in the spray zone of sprinklers while cooking dinner.

There are many, many properties in Poipu. We would recommend you select another.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 11, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have had great rapport with over 1000 guests in 10 years, but about every five years a guest arrives who lies and tries to cheat the landlord, which we and our property manager feel categorizes these guests. We don't raise our rates during the holidays, so ours is the least expensive two bedroom house in Poipu over Christmas; these guests did not pay Four Seasons rates. Our troubles with them started because the bottom heating element did not work in the ten year old stove. The guests called our property manager Sunday, the repairman came Monday and ordered the part from Honolulu and installed it on Wednesday, which is remarkably quick for Kauai (not five days). They claimed that they couldn't cook their turkey Saturday night and had to dine out spending $675 (there were supposed to be just two guests), when they actually just took the turkey over to another family member's house and cooked it there (but we sent them $100 to cover the cost of one meal for two people). The heating element wasn't visibly damaged and no one complained about the oven previously, but we later determined it had been partially inoperable for at least three months. The skillets each had about ten scratches in the bottom, the Teflon was not lifting up (and we sent them $30 to cover their cost of the new skillets). The house is located just one house from Baby Beach, but we have to walk around the end of the block and pass ten houses to get there (not 1/2 mile). The bungalows on Hoona Road they cite are much more expensive, much smaller and much older. There are footlights along the walk about every 15 feet, but there is one small (less than 1") bump. Our property manager did not report receiving a call about the sprinklers, and it rains on Kauai much more than the sprinklers spray. We can't control the neighbor's lights, but their house is over 50 feet away and there are wood louvers on our window to completely shut out any light. The knives are serrated knives and do not need sharpening but we have a Chef's Choice electric sharpener for any others. Kauai is tropical so we have quarterly pest control spraying and the pest control company makes extra trips whenever a guest complains about any bugs (this guest did not complain). The lawn is actually 3000 square feet, giving 50 feet of separation from the other house. The chaise lounges are in "good" shape with a few scratches. The tropical weather really beats up barbecues and we replace ours about every year.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

A home away from home!

  • 5 of 5

Spacious and lovely little house with all the amenities. Was clean and tidy on arrival and easy to get ready for our departure. The best baby beach and, frankly, the best free diving on the island are only 2 minutes walk down the road. Would base any Kauai vacation from here without a second's thought.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Mark, Thank you for the kind words! Valorie and I try hard to make the house as nice as possible. It doesn't always work perfectly, but we really try. Please return often and take advantage of our return guest discount. Thank you again for choosing our house, Buzz and Valorie Wisda
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cozy Private Home

  • 5 of 5

We Absolutely loved our stay at Ahe Lani! Thank you, Buzz for keeping such an immaculate property. It was perfect for our needs. We made a trip to Costco for groceries. We were able to find everything else we needed in the home.

We had a wonderful time in Kauai. We enjoyed hiking, off-roading, tubing, lazy beach days, and best of all our helicopter tour. We hope to be back soon!

  • Review Submitted: Nov 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind words, Sarah, and we are happy the location of the house worked out well with the other houses your relatives rented. Please return often and take advantage of our return guest discount. Buzz and Valorie Wisda
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Tranquil cottage in the heart of Poipu

  • 5 of 5

Thank you, Mr. Wisda, for making your sweet and comfortable cottage available to rent. My daughters and son-in-law and I spent a most restful week in your lovely house. The rooms were very clean, the beds were comfortable, and the kitchen was well-stocked with appliances (although a bit short on a variety of dishes). The best part of Ahe Lani is NO ROOSTERS!! If you've ever been to Kauai and rented a place, you know that the critters will wake you up before dawn. Fortunately, this cottage is in a residential neighborhood that seems to have banished the pests. I slept like a log, lulled to sleep by the faint sound of the ocean and the overhead fan. The garden was beautiful; just wish I had had the time to enjoy it, but we were so busy! This cottage is a real find..just 5 minutes driving from the main Poipu Beach, and a quick 5 minute walk to the Kukui'ula Shopping center. I look forward to a return visit very soon.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 1, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Stephanie, Thank you for the kind words and we are happy you enjoyed your vacation. Please come back often and tell your friends! Buzz and Valorie Wisda
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Fantastic Place

  • 5 of 5

This little house is in a great spot on the south side of Kauai. It was clean, easy to find, close to a great beach, close to shopping and restaurants. We plan on staying here again.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Location

Nearest Airport
16 Miles
Lihue, Kauai, Hawaii
Nearest Beach
100 Metres
Nearest Point of Interest
Baby Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
Prince Kuhio Park
Nearest Point of Interest
Huai Bay
Nearest Point of Interest
Beach House Restaurant
Nearest Point of Interest
Lawai Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
"PK's" Surf Spot
Nearest Point of Interest
"Centers" Surf Spot
Nearest Point of Interest
"Acid Drop" Surf Spot
Nearest Point of Interest
Kukuiula Market
Nearest Point of Interest
New Kukuiula Shopping Center
Nearest Point of Interest
Future Kukuiula Golf Course
Nearest Point of Interest
Waikomo Stream
Nearest Point of Interest
New Koloa Landing Condominiums
Nearest Point of Interest
Sheraton Kauai Hotel
Nearest Point of Interest
Fire Station
Nearest Point of Interest
Kiahuna Golf Village
Car: necessary

Poipu Beach Park, rated #1 beach in America by the travel channel is nearby. Baby Beach and Lawai Beach are within four minutes walk. This is snorkeling, surfing, bodysurfing, and sunbathing heaven. Spouting Horn blowhole is at the end of Lawai Road, as is the National Tropical Botanical Gardens. Restaurants abound in Poipu, ranging from gourmet to hamburger stand. In the evenings, entertainment can be found at Keoki's Paradise and the Hyatt Regency Resort. Most of all, Kauai is home to nature lovers who want to relax and explore the beauty of the island; to see the myriad waterfalls and rainbows; to sail aboard a catamaran to the breathtaking Napali Coast; to watch the whales and dolphins; maybe kayak a river and hike to a secret waterfall; or maybe just read a good book.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Poipu, Kauai

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
winter 2017
17 Dec 2016 - 16 Apr 2017
5 night minimum stay
£1,059
for 5 nights
From
£172
 
 
Spring 2017
6 May 2017 - 9 Jun 2017
2 night minimum stay
£544
for 2 nights
From
£172
 
 
Summer 2017
10 Jun 2017 - 3 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,719
for 7 nights
From
£217
 
 
Fall 2017
4 Sep 2017 - 15 Dec 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,593
for 7 nights
From
£199
 
 
Winter 2018
16 Dec 2017 - 14 Apr 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,719
for 7 nights
From
£217
 
 
Spring 2018
15 Apr 2018 - 15 Jun 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,593
for 7 nights
From
£199
 
 
Summer 2018
16 Jun 2018 - 2 Sep 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,719
for 7 nights
From
£217
 
 
Fall 2018
3 Sep 2018 - 14 Dec 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,593
for 7 nights
From
£199
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
£1,593
for 7 nights
From
£199
 

Additional pricing information

Outclean Fee £177 + Tax
Refundable Damage Deposit £410
Tax Rate 13.42%

14 night minimum during Christmas.

Cancellations: Up to 90 days prior to arrival, $450 of damage deposit is returned. Within 90 days of arrival, $500 of damage deposit and $215 of cleaning fee is returned. We will try to re-rent and forward any rents we receive to you.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties