HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Luxurious and spacious villa, a cut above the rest!

People12
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms7
Space 6,458 sq. ft.
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

6 bedrooms,5 en-suite either bath or shower, sleeps 12 plus cot

Our villa is large and spacious, furnished to a very high standard providing all you need for a relaxing and enjoyable holiday. The large family room makes for more casual times with the beautiful drawing room for more formal use. Situated in a quiet cul de sac overlooking the sea yet a 5 minute stroll from the beach and all the facilities the 5 star Marriott Hotel has to offer, these include The Atlantic Coast Spa providing state of the art facilities which include fully equipped gymnasium, salon, soothing Vichy shower and massage rooms offering an extensive range of treatments.

Accommodation; 3 dbl bedrooms and 3 twins 5 are en-suite, pool room with shower room, wc and sauna, family room, fully fitted and equipped kitchen with American fridge with ice maker, silstone granite worktops and breakfast bar, dining room, drawing room with fireplace, downstairs cloakroom. Outside is an extra large swimming pool with beautiful teak furniture including 10 loungers, table and chairs

The Resort: At the Villa there is a file with detailed information on the resort and surrounding areas to make your stay more enjoyable. We can recommend babysitters, a fantastic butchers in Peniche, where to buy your fresh fish and veg, supermarkets, & even advice on the local wines and where to purchase them! We also can organise for a car to pick you up from the airport, the driver is local, speaks English and has a 7 seater with trailer if required.

This beautiful and unspoilt region has very strong links to nature and enjoys an enviable and peaceful location near the picturesque medieval town of Obidos. Beach: 2.5 kilometers of sandy beach, popular with surfers and sun seekers. Summer activities include football, volleyball and other beach activities. Clubhouse with restaurant,

offers Portuguese and International cuisine in a delightful restaurant with stunning sea views, a golfers lounge, mens and ladies locker rooms and a fully equipped pro-shop. Security: 24 hour security.

The Area: Lisbon (1 hr) - The Capital of Portugal, a fabulous city with fantastic shopping. At it's heart are wide, tree-lined avenues graced by Art Nouveau buildings, People in Lisbon love going out & the city has a variety of areas with different styles of restaurants & bars to visit. Obidos (30 mins) - Obidos is considered to be one of the jewels of Portugal’s national heritage. It's outstanding architectural beauty is reflected as much in the winding narrow streets & elegant whitewashed buildings & balconies decorated with flowers as in the ancient churches & the magnificent Moorish castle whose high protective walls encircle the town. Obidos was once the favourite retreat of King Sancho I & was a wedding gift from King Diniz to Queen Isabel. Within the city walls there are some charming restaurants & shops well worth visiting. Pinche (20 mins) - Peniche possesses a rich & long history with it's main activity being fishing and agriculture a thriving town, with superb restaurants.

The Area: Obidos Lagoon (10 mins) - Is one of the largest salt water lagoons with a magnificent sand bar situated between it and the sea. The protected beach and dunes make it a perfect place for swimming and boating. One of the most beautiful spots on the west coast & has a fragile ecosystem where diverse species are to be found.

Caldas Da Rainha - Just 20 minutes from Praia D’El Rey and is famous for it's dailyfresh food market. The Thermal waters of Caldas are beneficial for people suffering from rheumatism, muscle-skeletal and respiratory diseases. Caldas is also well known for its gastronomy, lace making and excellent shopping.

Sinitra(40mins) - tourist region par excellence, Sintra is one of the most delightful places to be found in Portugal. With its extensive range of green bills with its crags - the Serra de Sintra - so picturesquely situated and offering stupendous views of the coastline with its impressive beauty, Sintra is indeed 'a garden of the earthly paradise'.

More Details

Owner
Angela Brown
Member since: 2005
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
9 November, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

Our stay at your villa was wonderful. It is one of the nicest and highest quality properties we have dealt with in our years of travel. Your villa has a wonderful layout and very tastefully decorated. The attraction book was most helpful. Chris Van Ee (US) Sep '05.

We had a wonderful time in your home. The consensus was that it was the best family vacation yet. It was a pleasure working with you. The Hartmans (Israel) Aug '05

What a fantastic Villa! Congratulations on the design and interior decor, you really have done an amazing job. We had a wonderful fortnight exploring the surrounding area, discovering good eateriesetc and then coming back in the evening to your stunning drawing room with log fire burning. the McCewans (UK) Feb '05

A superb spacious villa, nice and peaceful and a swimming pool long enough for me to swim my lengths! we have 2 small boys and the pool fence allowed the adults to relax knowing they children could come to no harm. excellent location. The Nash's 08.05
Nov 2007
  • 1 of 1

Location

Nearest Airport
80 Kilometres
Lisbon
Nearest Barpub
200 Metres
Hotel
Nearest Golf
600 Metres
Praia del rey
Nearest Restaurant
200 Metres
Hotel
Nearest Beach
300 Metres
silver coast
Car: recommended

Our Villa is in a quiet Cul de sac in Praia D'El Rey a 600 acre resort located close to the medieval town of Óbidos on Portugal's unspoilt west coast and within less than one hours drive from Lisbon International Airport.

Amongst the first class resort facilities is the magnificent 18 hole championship golf course considered amongst the finest in Europe. A range of sport and leisure activities provide for the most active enthusiasts. 7 all-weather tennis courts are available, 2 of which can be utilised for team sports, volleyball or 5-a-side football. A childrens' games room and playground are provided. Also within Praia D'El Rey is a brand new 5 star Marriott hotel with restaurants, bar, health club with gym, kids club, spa, indoor and outdoor pools and a business centre and is only a 3 minute walk. The natural attractions of the Atlantic setting include great surfing and the clear waters around the dramatic Berlengas Islands make this one of the best diving locations in Portugal.

Other Activities: Go Karting

Golf: Respected American golf architect, Cabell B. Robinson, viewed being asked to design the 18 hole par 72 championship Praia D'El Rey golf course as the opportunity of a lifetime.

'This is the kind of landscape we architects try to create, but at Praia D'El Rey it's all here, naturally. Now it's my responsibility to protect it', he says modestly.

It is certainly one of the most picturesque layouts in Europe, set in extensive grounds of pine forest and undulating dunes with spectacular views over the Atlantic and the Berlenga Islands beyond. The course is visually stunning and tremendously exciting to play. Because of the endless variations of the terrain you'll never play it the same.

Cabell has designed the course to be the complete golfing challenge with bold deep bunkers, undulating greens, and natural sand border areas contrasting sharply with the lush green fairways.

Cabell feels very strongly that the course must be fun for everyone to play. Praia D'El Rey, rated 13th best course in Europe by Golf World magazine, has become one of the major golfing destinations in Europe. Not surprisingly, Praia D'El Rey has become a favourite destination for both private and sponsored events.

2004/2005 - Golf World - Ranked 13th in Continental Europe, 2004 - Homes Overseas Awards - Best Golf Development, 2002/2003 - Golf World - Ranked 13th in Continental Europe, Peugeot Golf Guide - Ranked 1st in Portugal, (IAGTO) voted the Lisbon Golf Coast as the 'Best Established Golfing Destin.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday villa in Praia D'el Rey in Peniche

Property Type:
  • villa (detached)
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 6458 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • beach
  • near the sea
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Luxury
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Backpack
  • Basic Soaps
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 7 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom -
    Bathroom -
    Bathroom -
    Bathroom -
    Bathroom -
    Bathroom -
    Bathroom -
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom - 2 Single Bed , 1 Cot
    Bedroom - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 6 - 2 Single Bed
  • 3 doubles, 3 twins, 1 cot. All bedrooms have dressing area with fitted wardrobes and draws. All are ensuite except one but there is a seperate cloakroom and shower room with WC.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books - Fiction / Non-fiction
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Golf Clubs
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Patio
  • Terrace
  • veranda
  • 10 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool
  • Sauna
Onsite Services:
  • Daily Maid Service
Attractions:
  • bay
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Childs room (twin beds, cot, changing table, bathroom and dressing area) and empty (at present, future office) room. The Master bedroom has a covered balcony overlooking the Sea. There is a seperate utility room with washer and dryer. X Box plus selection of games. DVD Library. Selection of Music CD's. The kitchen is extremely well equipped with cutlery, crockery, pans, wine, champagne, water and tumbler glasses, outside glasses and crockery, blenders, mixers, tupperware etc! All towels are beautiful quality including extra large pool towels.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(12 traveller reviews)

66% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
8% Complete
Luxurious and spacious villa, a cut above the rest!
average rating of 4.4166665 based on 13 reviews
4

Fantastic property! Very spacious considering 12 of us!

  • 4 of 5

Perfect location for beach and hotel facilities

  • Review Submitted: 18-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback and glad you had a great time!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Awful, the property has not been cared for.

  • 1 of 5

The photo's shown are probably from when it was new. The pool has tiles missing and looks shabby. Although supplied with a wireless gate entry button, which didn't work and having spent time trying to get it to work eventually dragged it open manually. We subsequently found out, from the housekeeper, the electric gate has never worked! This meant we had to drag it open and closed manually for the duration. The boiler didn't work when we got there so having travelled we were unable to shower and our first morning's holiday was spent waiting for the housekeeper to come to re pressurise the boiler and then wait for the cylinder to heat up.The other properies surrounding Atlantic Villa have high fences/hedges with tall lockable gates ensuring security and privacy - this one does not.

A large part of the fence at the front is missing, leaving nothing but a low wall which allowed someone to step over, whilst we were sunbathing, my husband confronted them and they ran off but this caused us concern re our security.But the worse problem by far was the smell of damp. De humidifiers had been provided but they were clearly inadequate for the size of the property and as a result, over time, the property has become very cold and damp. After 4 days of staying there, with windows open etc, it was no better so, as it was effecting our breathing, we had to rent an alternative property. We have written to the owner hoping we can come to an agreement on a partial refund but, as yet, she has not even acknowledged our emails.

  • Review Submitted: 02-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is extremely unfair that you have chosen to submit such a negative review. I haven’t received any emails from you since before you arrived at the villa as is evident on the homeway log so your claim that you have done so and haven’t heard back is simply untrue. We have great feedback and reviews from other guests that have stayed at the villa including ones that stayed just before you. The photos were taken about 5 years ago but still offer a fair representation of the condition of the villa. The pool tiles – we have had problems with these small mosaic tiles which have come off quite a lot this season, it happens as the grouting wears away and replacing them doesn’t work without draining the pool. This is a recent issue and will be fixed over the winter. The electric gate – this does sometimes stop working as the atmosphere so close to the sea affects the workings. Had you reported this at the time it would have been fixed and serviced by our engineer. This should have been inspected prior to your arrival however, so I can only apologise for this inconvenience. The boiler - There had been a power cut just before you arrived which meant the boiler had cut out – it just needed resetting by simply pressing a button which Anabella did the following morning when she came to show you around. Had you called when you arrived our agent would have told you how to do this and the boiler would have worked immediately. High fences - The villa is surrounded by high hedges apart from the entrance gate and a fairly low front wall which is very common in Praia del Rey so I don’t agree with your comments. I asked our agents about the person disturbing you whilst sunbathing and it was the gardener/pool man who is local and doesn’t speak English, this may explain why he walked away when confronted by your husband. He would have pressed the buzzer but as the sunbathing area is at the back of the house, perhaps you didn’t hear it and so he thought you were out when there was no reply. I apologise that he disturbed your sunbathing. Damp smell – this is simply not true. I understand that you phoned up from the airport to our management company three times complaining about your car hire arrangements even though they had nothing to do with booking our villa or our management company. I can only conclude that you probably have a habit of complaining and leaving harsh reviews.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic property for stress free child holiday!

  • 5 of 5

We went on our first big family holiday with grandparents, my two children (2.5 and 6 months), hubby, brother in law and his two children (4 and 2) and was a proper home away from home. The layout of the house is extremely child friendly (even for those early morning wake ups there is a large area away from the bedrooms for them to play so as not to disturb... and CBeebies!) toddler surround on the pool which was ideal for piece of mind and children's utensils, steriliser for bottles, black out shades, baby pool seat buckets and spades and floats and boogie boards - all brilliant. The adults were able to relax in the evening outside in the sheltered area and the proximity to the beach and the facilities at the Marriott nearby was very nice. The rooms were extremely spacious and we never felt like we were 'on top' of one another - there are many break out areas.

During the day grandparents could play golf, adults could surf, children could make sand castles or float about in the heated pool....just fantastic. Special thanks to Angela for helping with my questions beforehand and Anna who is extremely quick to help when you are there.

  • Review Submitted: 18-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

My family enjoyed staying at this large villa. The location and many bedrooms and baths accommodated

  • 4 of 5

The location and size of the villa was amazing. It was easy to see that it was designed with care. The carpeting kitchen appliances and some furniture need to be updated. The villa was clean with the acception of dirty dishes in the dish washer with no dishwasher soap available to clean them. All and all we had a great time and enjoyed our family trip to Portugal.

  • Review Submitted: 12-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thankyou for your review and glad you enjoyed your stay at the villa. I was very surprised to read about the dishes and I must apologise for that! I contacted housekeeping straight away to query it and this was a complete oversight on their part-they were very sorry.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic Family Holiday

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful two week holiday at the Atlantic villa in Praia del Rey. The house is a fantastic size and sleeps extended famililes and/or groups of friends very comfortably. The facilities are very good with a beautiful outdoor pool and built in sauna. The garden area has a wonderful outdoor table area with plenty of sun loungers for around the pool. The garden is a great size and big enough for children to play safely. The surrounding beaches and countryside are truly beautiful and the villa is within a 5-10minute walk to the beach and the hotel facilities. It is also a golfers paradise with an amazing golf course and clubhouse within walking distance. It was a great holiday and I would highly recommend it.

  • Review Submitted: 20-Sep-2016
  • Date of Stay: August 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very lovely

  • 4 of 5

The villa was lovely. Big, airy, spacious. Swimming pool area very nice - sun and shade. Plenty of cutlery, crockery. Nicely heated when the weather changed. We had a good time. Not much was open on the estate, it was still early in the year, but local towns nearby provide lots to see and places to eat.

  • Review Submitted: 19-Apr-2015
  • Date of Stay: March 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday villa in Praia D'el Rey, Silver Coast - Leiria Region

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Standard
1 Sep 2017 - 31 May 2018
7 night minimum stay
£2,500
for 7 nights
£2,500
 
 
Mid
1 Jun 2018 - 30 Jun 2018
7 night minimum stay
£3,000
for 7 nights
£3,000
 
 
High season
1 Jul 2018 - 31 Aug 2018
7 night minimum stay
£3,500
for 7 nights
£3,500
 
 
Standard
1 Sep 2018 - 31 May 2019
7 night minimum stay
£2,500
for 7 nights
£2,500
 
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£2,500
for 7 nights
£2,500
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £1,000

Pool Heating is £150.00 per week and needs to be requested at time of booking

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable