Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992


Bedrooms 3
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights


About the property

3+ bedrooms, 1 bath, sleeps 11

This A-frame cottage was completely rebuilt in '04. Its multi-level decks and panoramic windows have spectacular views of Trout Lake and the evening sunsets. The deck is nestled into the rock and is surrounded by pines, giving a sense of being a part of nature. On the deck's first level is a new, large barbecue grill, table and seating; on the second level is a cedar, wood-fired hot tub and more seating; and the third level provides additional seating as well as serves as an entrance to the ground level sleeping porch and stairs to the dock. A deck off the living room and a balcony off the master bedroom offer more views and seating. In living room is a floor to cathedral ceiling stone fireplace and TV w/ over 150 satellite channels. There is a swimming area on the shore, as well as off the dock. A new (2013) 17' pontoon boat w/ 8 hp motor (12' x 7' deck with 4 chairs and 1 bench, collapsible cover), 3 kayaks, stand-up paddle board are provided.

Indoors, the floor to cathedral ceiling fireplace, as well as the spacious picture windows and French doors make the living room a haven of views and comfort. One of the leather sofas opens into a full size bed. Off the living room is the dining room and kitchen. The kitchen has all new cabinets, appliances, Corian countertop, and is fully equipped. Also on the main floor is a bedroom w/ a queen bed across the hall from the full bathroom, which has all new fixtures as well as a stackable washer and dryer. On the second floor is the master bedroom, with queen bed, single bed and private balcony. On the ground level, near the water's edge, is a sleeping porch, with wrap-around screens, and has 2 queen beds--access to the sleeping porch is off the deck. In addition to the fireplace, the cottage has built in propane heaters.

Trout Lake lies in the midst of many recreational opportunities--golf, biking, hiking, spelunking, river kayaking/canoeing, fishing, hunting and unlimited ways for the family to explore the out-of-doors.

More Details

Property Manager
Donna & John Clark
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English, French
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
20 June, 2018

About Donna & John Clark

Donna and John Clark began their lodging business in 1994 with one room in their home which they converted into a bed and breakfast room. Now, almost 20 years later, along with some of their grown 7 children and 15 grandchildren, they own and manage 12 bed and breakfast rooms as well as 4 waterfront vacation rental homes. It is a family business that has brought joy to their family as well as to the hundreds of vacationers who have stayed with them.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Edwards in Town of Hermon

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Optional
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 11
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • lake
  • Lakefront
  • waterfront
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Stacking washer and dryer in bathroom
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11
  • Bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed
    living room - 1 Sofa bed/Futon
    Bedroom - 2 Large Double Bed , This bedroom is a sleeping porch with wrap around screens.
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Boat ...
  • Boat Dock
  • Terrace
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Motorboat
  • Barbecue
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Wood Decking
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • swimming
  • tennis
4 queens, 1 single, 1 sleeper sofa pontoon boat with motor, 3 kayaks, stand up paddle board


Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(19 traveller reviews)

63% Complete
10% Complete
15% Complete
5% Complete
5% Complete
average rating of 4.2105265 based on 19 reviews

The view was beautiful and the inside was very cute.

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time ! The inside was very cute. I was worried about the wood situation and a fan but there was plenty of wood for the fire pit, fans inside and it had a nice grill with extra propane tanks. We were able to launch our boat at someones private launch they were very helpful and polite. We gave them a "donation " for letti g us use it and he let us keep the boat trailer on his property for the weekend. It came with more than I expected. It was like camping in luxury. If you dont mind being in the middle of nowhere this is your place. The neighbors were very polite and told us to enjoy it and we did.

Things we didnt like. The driveway was very steep. The flies were out of control in the morning. It was tough having 1 bathroom for 9 people. The shower was really small but it did the job. The deck is huge but could use a pressure wash and some paint. The door was a little tough to open and close but we never bothered to lock it day or night. All the ladies said they would definitely come back.

  • Review Submitted: 30-May-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Tranquility on the water

  • 5 of 5

Tranquil spot on Trout Lake. Loved the sleeping porch! Plenty to do on the water and hanging around the house. Very relaxing. We all hated to go back to reality.

  • Review Submitted: 16-May-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am glad you found tranquility on Trout Lake! Thank you for being our guest and taking the time to write a review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Amazing Lake House

  • 5 of 5

The kids loved swimming off the dock, kayaking, paddle boarding, fishing and cruising around the lake on the pontoon boat. The view from the hot tub is breath taking. The house was very comfortable and the kids really liked the sleeping porch. Camp fires at night capped off perfect days on the lake. The house and all the amenities included made for a great family vacation. We just wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Review Submitted: 26-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great view, some house issues

  • 3 of 5

The first thing to know about this property is the driveway is very steep and graveled. If you don't have 4 wheel drive, I don't think you want to chance it. I drive a honda crv with all wheel drive and brand new tires and had a very difficult time getting up the driveway. The front door of the house would not lock and the door sticks and is extremely difficult to close. I had to constantly go to the door to open it and close it for my grandchildren because they couldn't budge it.The screened in bedroom on the second tier of the house was okay except some of the sreens were pulled away and my sons were getting bitten by misquitos in there sleep.The hot tub was great and the views were excellent but the fishing was very poor. I guess they had some issues with acid rain a while back and it has taken its toll on the lake. We fished many hours each day and caught about 10 rock bass and only 8 smallmouth bass, the biggest one being 9 1/2 inches. It was nice having the pontoon boat and kayaks and paddleboards available. I think if the driveway was paved and the issues with the house were addressed, it would be a nice place to go on vacation. One last note, the house is advertised that it sleeps 11 which it does, but there are only 3 drinking glasses and a handful of wine and champagne glasses. We had to go out and buy plastic cups : (

  • Review Submitted: 14-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Pictures and descriptions are Deceiving

  • 1 of 5

I usually do not write reviews, but I feel obligated to inform others of this property. The first thing you need to know is that the front door does not lock. It is broken and has been broken for a long time. The second thing you should know is to bring your own life preservers for the boat as they are NOT provided. The boat is falling apart. My husband fell back when he sat on the chair because the screws are rotted out. The dock has a few boards that are loose and I guess someone complained because to my surprise without any notice, two people woke my family up at 7am, drilling and banging the metal. The jacuzzi only has one working jet, and the walls are slimy. Grill is rusted on the inside and the tray was filled with grease. The inside of this property was just as bad. I walked in to find ants in the kitchen. Dog hair, everywhere! Please do not even look under the beds unless you want to be grossed out by the dog hair and dust. Ceiling fans in the house have an inch of dust on them. Bathroom shower is a joke! It is so small that you can not bend over in it. If you drop something, you have to swat down for it or get out to pick it up. The sleeping quater outside is just that. It is located under the first floor, screened in room with 2 queen beds. If it's cold or raining, you WILL be exposed to the elements. Be careful of the wasp nest right outside the door. The dust and cobwebs are unreal. The roll up shade is broken and it is also filled with and inch of dust. Cobwebs are inside and outside. Vacuum is broken. The owners said that the were not aware of these issues, but all of the issues are posted by previous visitors that wrote down reviews in a book that is in the cottage. The picture of the living room isn't the way it looks. The furniture was rearrange to look bigger and this photo was taken from the upstairs balcony. Not worth what we payed. Owners were upset that we brought an extra 4 lb toy yorkie without notice ( understandable) but they let it go because we were so gracious about the unpleasant conditions. They did give us some ant traps and syrup.

  • Review Submitted: 30-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is sad that one of our guests was so disappointed in their vacation. We tried to make everything right by going to the cottage as soon as we heard that they were unhappy with the ants and dog hair. We brought ant traps but when we arrived, we could not find a single ant. We offered to send back our cleaner, but she said it wasn't necessary. When we left she seemed happy, but it rained almost every day that week--a difficult situation with so many people in the home as well as 3 dogs. By the way, we were never informed about their bringing dogs and so no pet fee was ever paid. Nevertheless, it is sad if we feel that we have disappointed anyone as we have taken great pride in providing beautiful places to create happy memories for our guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Absolutely Amazing!

  • 5 of 5

The view is beautiful. So relaxing and enjoyed kayaking, hot tub at night and great memories with friends!

  • Review Submitted: 11-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Trout Lake is surrounded by 1600 acres of State forest, where there are state-marked hiking trails. Nearby Cedar Lake and Wolf Lake offer additional trails and fishing opportunities. Trout Lake is annually stocked by NYS Department of Conservation with rainbow and lake trout, large and small mouth bass; perch and rock bass are native and in ample supply for the kids. Directly to the east is the high peaks region of the Adirondack (Lake Placid, the home of 2 Olympics, provides a great day trip-about 90 min); to the south along the St Lawrence River is the famous Thousand Islands Region, where one can enjoy boat cruises, castle sight seeing, boat museums (60 minutes away); to the north and across the Ogdensburg International Bridge awaits Canada's capital city, Ottawa, a city known for its continental flavor, fine dining, museums, tours of the Parliament building, and gardens--a unique excursion (90 min away).


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Edwards, New York

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
spring 2018
1 May 2018 - 22 Jun 2018
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
summer 2018
23 Jun 2018 - 1 Sep 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
fall 2018
2 Sep 2018 - 31 Oct 2018
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £37.96

Included in rent: cleaning fee, use of boats and boat gas, firewood, propane
Not included in rent: 3% taxes, optional sheet and towel rental ($12/set sheets, $9/set towels), pet fee ($25 per pet per day)
Optional event fee: if home or property is used for an event, such as wedding, reception, reunion, graduation party, $15 per guest
Holiday weekends: 3 night minimum, each night is weekend rate

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Ask Manager a Question

You might like these similar holiday rentals