HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Seaside Cottage on L.I Sound - Branford,Ct for a Week or More

People3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 490 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Cottage, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

Saturday is the changeover day for the minimum week long stay, ideal for a couple. Summertime: bask in the sun on the beach, or curl up with a book in the shade on the garden patio. Autumn: walk the shores, or sit by the fire. Spring: enjoy the bloom of flowers and the salt air. Every season has its own delights here on the Connecticut shore.

Halfway between New Your City and Boston, and situated at the back of a cluster of houses at 98 Limewood Avenue, the Ennis Cottage is away from street and traffic noise, but within 200 feet of a private beach. The cottage has been completely remodeled and is tastefully furnished and supervised by the owners.

In a minute one can sit with a panoramic view of Long Island Sound, between Haycock point and Indian Neck, looking out toward Green Island and the Thimble Islands. Fishing and boating are excellent.

A small park within one mile offers tennis, basketball, and a children's playground. A marketplace, liquor store, laundry, and three restaurants are within walking distance, and a larger mall and churches are with a few miles. The Branford Green hosts evening concerts, the Guilford Green that has a five acres of lawn, with Music on weekends, live Shakespeare on stage, surrounded by antique buildings with shops each unique and different from each other. Both towns offer Day Spas, Ice Cream and Chocolate Shop, Gift Stores, Clothing and Shoe Shops, Excellent Restaurants, Historical Homes, (third largest collection in CT) Museums, Orchards that offer fruit picking throughout the season. Local Farms offer Fresh organic produce, and August offers The Guilford Fair c.1859.

15 minutes away come aboard a narrated cruise of the Thimble Islands, 18 minutes north to Clinton Outlet stores, 20 minutes away is the Essex Steam Train & River Boat that can take you to Gillette Castle State Park, or to the Opera House on the river, and 45 minutes you can try you hand at Fox Woods Casino or enjoy Mohegan Sun.

The entire house has been renovated. living room has wall-to-wall carpeting, a new full size futon and a love seat, several chairs, bureau, television, VCR, telephone, cathedral ceiling, wireless internet connection, and stove with gas log.

The kitchen is new and well equipped with gas stove, microwave and grilling oven, refrigerator, pots and pans, dishes, glasses, and silverware. The bedroom has a double bed with drawers beneath, closet, built in air conditioner. Wall-to-wall carpeting.

This is a completely remodeled cottage which is quiet, clean and comfortable. You will love the patio with picnic table, gas grill in the back garden, with flowers all around.

Deposit can be sent to Ron Hekeler at 135 Green Hill Lane, Cheshire, CT 06410 or 98D Limewood Avenue, Branford, Ct 06405

Returning guests use last years rates

Keywords: Seaside Cottage

More Details

Owner
Ron Hekeler
Member since: 2001
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
14 October, 2017

About Ron Hekeler

Retired professor and wife enjoying his grandkids, travel and being at the beach.

Ron Hekeler purchased this cottage in 1971

Why Ron Hekeler chose Branford

We bought in Branford because it was one half hour from our home, had a lovely beach and nice neighbors. We can go into New Haven to the theater, art galleries. Not far from the casinos and all our kids.

What makes this cottage unique

Love clamming, sailing on the Terviseks, swimming. Branford has many excellent restaurants, from really classy to outside patio dining in a marina. The center has a town green which has many activities through the summer, plus interestng shops and stores. We are a half hour ride to the outlet shops. And it is quiet.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We just got back from spending a lovely week at Ennis Cottage. This was our first beach vacation with our 9 month old daughter and it was the perfect situation. The cottage was very clean and tidy; the kitchen had everything we needed and we loved spending time in our little private backyard with the grill! The beach was very easily accessed and it was lovely to meet all their wonderful neighbors. We enjoyed several of the local restaurants, especially the Tuesday night 2 for 1 lobster dinner at Lenny's Lobster Shack...not to be missed! Overall we had a lovely time and Ron and Bernadette were extremely cordial! Thanks so much!

Fatima
Jun 2011
  • 1 of 2

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Pine Orchard in Branford

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 490 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 3
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Double Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Player
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • 6 garden chairs
  • 4 deck chairs
Suitability:
  • Alternative Lifestyle
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • gambling casinos
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • Kayaking
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
new stove and refrigerator, off street parking, private beach within 100 feet.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(42 traveller reviews)

92% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
Seaside Cottage on L.I Sound - Branford,Ct for a Week or More
average rating of 4.857143 based on 44 reviews
5

Pleasant and Clean Guest Cottage

  • 5 of 5

We found the cottage quiet, pleasant, bright, and clean. We enjoyed the small, private beach and the walking trails nearby. The owners were attentive to our needs, but respectful of our privacy. We loved spending time here and hope to return!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 21, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We enjoyed having you here and hope you come back again
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Glen Burnie, MD
3

Okay

  • 3 of 5

First, I don't understand why I can't get this to switch from I LOVED IT to NOT REALLY above.

The cottage was nice. A few minor issues but nothing that really bothered us. TV is small. Bedroom is small. No tub. No washer/dryer. Doing laundry was expensive. Owner wanted us to open windows and use ceiling fan as much as possible. We would do this when leaving for the day and always came back to a stuffy cottage. But we continued to honor owners request. Parking is tight to begin with - then owner had company and parked cars on the front lawn of cottage- which we had to negotiate around in the dark when returning to cottage at night. Owner furnishes I set of towels, etc per week per person but did provide extra washcloths when we requested. Owner answered phone promptly when we called and came right over when we had a problem with leaky sink.

BUT BE AWARE - TAKE A PICTURE OF THE FURNITURE ARRANGEMENT WHEN YOU ARRIVE - owner kept part of our deposit because two wicker chairs and two small side tables were not put back in their exact location/position - they were in the same room still but not placed exactly right. How petty !!! GET THE OWNER TO LOOK OVER THE HOUSE BEFORE YOU LEAVE- owner also kept part of our deposit because he said "there were coffee stains on the carpet " - we DID NOT have any coffee while there. Owner also kept part of our deposit because "floors were not swept and mopped per agreement." We did sweep, vacuum and mop but obviously not good enough for him. When we arrived - the cabin looked nice and it was nice but after being there - we started to notice things - crumbs under the toaster oven, yucky goop in bottom of toothbrush holder, dust here and there, dirt between walls and furniture, disgusting looking conditioner in shower, tv picture always dark looking and noise from DVD player. We didn't complain about any of this because it was not that big of a deal and we are not petty. But now since owner decided to deduct money from our deposit for the furniture not being placed absolutely correct - for accusing us of spilling coffee and for stating that we didn't sweep or mop - I have emailed the owner with all the small complaints we could have voiced but didn't. I have not heard back from the owner.

I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 29, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Generally we overlook it when we have to do a small cleanup after our tenants leave, but when it requires our cleaners extra time to do the cleanup, we will deduct $100. (We used to require a $100 cleaning fee but dropped it as most people leave the place immaculate and I hate add on fees. ) The kitchen floor was loaded with crumbs and sand. The floor had not been mopped: the mop was dry. Whether the stains on the rug were coffee or something else. it required three cleanings before the stains came out. There were chocolate stains on the new sofa slipcovers, and pieces of chocolate on the threshold to the bedroom. The tenants were well aware of the fact that we supply one set of towels to each person. There is a clothesline behind the house for drying towels and other items, but it was not used by these tenants. We have photos of all the problems we had to deal with after they left. And we only charged $75.00 for the cleanup. The tenants were aware that the cottage is small and had no washer dryer and tub. They complained in their review that they had to come back to a stuffy house because of leaving the windows open and the air conditioners off, but did not say that they ran the air conditioners with the windows open which made no sense to us. We work very hard to be accommodating to our tenants. The place is immaculate as one can see by reading all our other reviews. I am sorry that these folks were so upset by our cleaning fee. It s interesting that in the house guest book they left a extremely positive review: "Very pleasant. R says it reminds him of Hawaii. Our stay was calm and relaxing; just what we REALLY NEEDED. Thanks for your "good neighbor" way of treating us. :-) One wish- microwave is so high up - I had to stand on a chair to use it :( But other than that :):):) (we supply a small step stool for the up high cabinets. no needs to stand on chairs.).
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A Sweet Retreat!

  • 5 of 5

Ennis Cottage is everything a couple or single individual are looking for: a soothing and pleasing decor, every convenience, close to the beach, restaurants, scenic walking, private and safe, plus friendly and helpful owners! (Did I mention an awesome ocean breeze when you open the windows?) The only thing I regret is not renting it for two weeks instead of one ! Oh, well, summer 2018 is coming. . . .

  • Review Submitted: Sep 18, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: What a super review. Thank you so much. We enjoyed having you with us and are glad you enjoy the area as much as we do. We look forward to seeing you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

completely favorable

  • 4 of 5

very well supplied and outfitted perfectly.

comfortable bedding, singular drawback was small bedroom and bathroom

town of Branford was a unexpected jewel with many wonderful restaurants and great town center.

beach is steps away.

Hosts are beyond delightful and responsive in all ways

Highly recommended

caryl and gene

  • Review Submitted: Aug 8, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was our delight to have you here.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely Cottage, we really enjoyed our stay!

  • 5 of 5

Everything was there! Exept for the sun but what can you do ;-) The location is perfect, small but comfy...Very friendly and helpful hosts. We will centainly come again!

Thanks for having us.

Jaap & Pien from the Netherlands.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 9, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You were delightful tenants. We would have liked to have had you over for a drink and conversation but your time was short and your schedule full. Next time.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Unplugged, But Not Remote

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I needed to unplug. So, we spent the latter part of September at Ennis Cottage – a home-away-from home: comfy, cozy, clean, and well-equipped, cool during the hot spell, and warmed when weather turned cool. The bed, very important for my bad back, was totally comfortable and provided a really restful sleep. The cordial and conscientious owners provided a binder with answers to almost all the questions guests usually ask. Yet they were available to answer queries. A private beach across the street offered a super place to enjoy the fresh air, sunshine, and a great swim. Yet not far away was a wide selection of restaurants, plus great markets for fresh fish, meat and vegetables. Although we did check our e-mail daily, the tv remained untouched. So much to enjoy. The time flew, and it was hard to leave. Our thanks to the friendly and caring owners for doing everything to make us eager to return.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 28, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: What a lovely review. We really enjoyed having you with us and having time to get to know you. Thank you for the suggestions. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Tweed New HAven
Nearest Barpub
0.3 Miles
E. McHenry's
Nearest Ferry
21 Miles
Bridgeport
Nearest Train
2 Miles
Branford Station
Nearest Motorway
Rt 146
Nearest Restaurant
0.3 Miles
Lennies, The Stand, Pizza, Mexican
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Limewood Grove
Car: recommended

Private neighborhood beach, Clamming, kayaking around the Thimble Islands, explore the Ct River, the casinos are an hour drive, Outlet shopping 1/2 hour drive.New Haven has theaters, museums, galleries.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Pine Orchard, Connecticut Shore

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
£717
for 7 nights
£717
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £150.98

Rates are subject to change. Extra person above two is $5.00 per night
Within 30 days before arrival the rental fee is nonrefundable unless we are able to
rebook the property. If we rebook the property we will refund a prorated share of the rental fee for each day we are able to fill less a $25 cancellation fee.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals