HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Mountain chalet in the heart of Glencoe Valley

Bedrooms 4
Separate WC's1
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 3 - 8 nights


About the property

4 bedroom, 2 bathroom, sleeps a maximum of 8

Superbly situated chalet in the heart of the Glencoe valley and next door to the famous Clachaig Inn, serving great food, a huge selection of Scotch whiskeys and real ale. (Featured in The Week - Britains cosiest pubs!). Excellent access to skiing, climbing, sailing, angling and many other activities and only a short walk to Signal Rock and the Glencoe information centre.

Some comments from visitors:

'An excellent cottage in the most beautiful location. Lots of space with a real family feel'

'We had the most perfect holiday in Scotland! Thank you for sharing this wonderful cottage with us!'

'Here again for another year...the cottage was warm and well equipped...'

'Excellent accommodation. Regular home from home. Not the first time we've stayed and will not be the last'

'...cosy cottage, great views....'

'great wee place next to the best pub in Scotland'.

Room sizes:

Sitting/dining room 19'10 x 18' max (L shape)

Kitchen 11'10 x 9'8 max

Bedroom 1 13'9 x 11'8

Bedroom 2 11'9 x 11'8

Bedroom 3 11'9 x 7'7

Bedroom 4 9'11 x 7'10

More Details

Sorrel Carmichael
Member since: 2002
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
16 December, 2017


Car: necessary

The West Highlands offer a wealth of scenery, history and adventure. Every year new attractions arrive making this the ideal destination for those seeking thrills, families with children and anyone looking for the peace and quiet of the hills.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday chalet in Glencoe in Highland

Property Type:
  • chalet
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • mountain
  • rural
  • Away From It All
  • Sports & Activities
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom - Toilet , Bath (no shower)
    Bathroom - Toilet
    Bathroom - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • 2 doubles, 2 twins
  • Audio Tape Player
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Video Player
  • Garden
  • Terrace
  • 6 garden chairs
  • forests
Leisure Activities:
  • horse riding
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • sailing
  • ski
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Linen and towels are included free. Dogs are charged at £15 each per week.


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(8 traveller reviews)

62% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
Mountain chalet in the heart of Glencoe Valley
average rating of 4.375 based on 8 reviews
Lower Saxony

Lovely place

  • 5 of 5

We (7 adults from Germany and Scotland) spent a lovely Easter weekend in Glencoe. The cottage/chalet was well equipped, clean&tidy and had a living/dining room that easily accomodates 7 people.

It is a great starting point for various hill walks (high and low level walks) in Glencoe and the nearby Glen Etive. We have been outdoors walking every single day of our time there.

The Claichaig Inn was right at our door step - the atmosphere, beer selection and food were superb. And on occasion one can enjoy life music there.

Shopping (food etc) facilities were nearby - either a local shop in Glen Coe village or further down the road a Co-op in Kinlochleven.

  • Review Submitted: 03-Apr-2016
  • Date of Stay: March 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

Fantastic holiday location. The cottage is extremely well kept, clean and tidy. The location is phenomenal in the heart of Glencoe with stunning views right on the doorstep. As a family of 7 seven, there is ample room and facilities for all. Ideal location for walking, sightseeing base or just a chill out holiday. The housekeeper is friendly and very helpful. Myself and my family will definitely be back next year. Would recommend it to everyone.

  • Review Submitted: 13-Aug-2014
  • Date of Stay: August 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

A great base to walk the Highlands

  • 5 of 5

We have been regular visitors over the years.The chalet has been recently upgraded and is very comfortable and warm. Wonderful place to base yourself for walks including Ben Nevis.The pub next door has fine music and friendly clientele.We hope to be back again next year and we would recommend the property to anyone considering a holiday in the Highlands.

  • Review Submitted: 22-Mar-2014
  • Date of Stay: February 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Nice cottage. Stunning location

  • 4 of 5

We have been going to Clachaig cottage for a few years now - usually in October.

The cottage itself has improved year on year (the kitchen was refitted, a new roof was put on, a new hot water supply and so on). The cottage is huge with 4 bedrooms, 3 toilets, 2 bathrooms and a spacious lounge/diner. Frank and Jessie (the couple that look after it) are always very friendly and obliging - nothing is too much trouble.

The setting is stunning - nestled in the mountains of Glencoe. The Clachaig Inn is next door - for a drink or decent pub meal.

The location is ideal for walking or a base for seeing the Highlands - we do both.

We keep going back and have booked again for 2014 - that will be our 8th visit - enough said.

  • Review Submitted: 19-Nov-2013
  • Date of Stay: October 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
north east

of mice and mould

  • 2 of 5

After reading the reviews of the cottage we were really looking forward to our stay there, despite it being more expensive than we have usually paid for staying in this are. The first thing that struck us upon entering the cottage was the very strong smell of mould/damp, this was especially bad in the bedrooms and we noted that upon leaving, all our clothing/baggage had picked up this smell. My partner who is asthmatic had problems during the night due to damp atmosphere.

It also became apparent that we were not the only occupants as the cottage seemed to have its own resident family of mice, note to owners ultrasonic rodent deterrents do not work. All in all very disappointed in the property and feel that the price did not reflect the poor standard of accommodation.

  • Review Submitted: 26-Aug-2013
  • Date of Stay: August 2013
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry to hear you felt our cottage was expensive, it does sleep eight comfortably so it is priced at very good value for a larger group rather than only two. We are very concerned to hear of your worries about damp, I do wish you had called our housekeeper when you arrived who is always available, and would have dealt with any problems right away if she had been made aware. The cottage has been fully booked all summer and nobody else has mentioned anything amiss, indeed we have checked since receiving this and the current guests are extremely happy with everything, but we shall investigate fully to be doubly sure, thank you for bringing it to our attention.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 4

Fantastic holiday - fabulous location

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time, staying in late August and early September. The chalet is situated in a stunning location, deep in the Pass of Glencoe. It’s ideal for walks along the Pass (or up to the ski slopes) or for driving trips further afield. We drove as far as Portree on the Isle of Skye and back in a day, taking the ferry to Skye from Mallaig. We drove along the shores of Loch Ness and took a boat trip out of Fort Augustus, which is a charming town. It was well worth driving around as the scenery in the West Scotland/Glencoe area is out of this world.

Mention must be made of the chalet’s neighbouring pub, The Clachaig Inn, which is warm, friendly and well stocked with good beer and whisky, serving tasty and good value food. The main bar is round the back, as opposed to the Lounge bar which is at the front. Given good weather, sitting outside for lunch whilst looking at the hills is a complete joy.

The chalet’s facilities are good. The kitchen appears to be brand new as do the dishwasher, washing machine and tumble dryer. We can confirm that, as Conrad and Amanda have said, the TV has been replaced and is brand new. Jan Dutch is correct that the signal is not so good, but this has nothing to do with the TV and more to do with the mountainous location of the chalet! We recommend that future guests bring their own DVDs to the chalet which look great on the new TV and DVD player.

We’re surprised that Jan Dutch found the sofas to be back breaking. We found the sitting room and the sofas to be comfortable and easy to relax in. But there again, there were only two of us!

We’ll be back soon.

  • Review Submitted: 16-Sep-2010
  • Date of Stay: August 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
10 0


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday chalet in Glencoe, Scottish Highlands & Islands

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
23 Dec 2017 - 30 Dec 2017
8 night minimum stay
New Year
31 Dec 2017 - 2 Jan 2018
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £15

Email for details regarding rates. Rates can vary if there are fewer people using the house and for Christmas and New Year

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Ask Owner a Question

You might like these similar holiday rentals