HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Francois

Member since: 2007
Speaks English, French

Spacious City Centre 3 Bedroom Apartment

6 Reviews
People8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Separate WC's1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview

Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday apartment in Edinburgh - Great King Street Duplex

Large 3 Bedroom Apartment Sleeping 8 People

This fantastically spacious apartment is located on Great King Street in Edinburgh's city centre being just a 10 minute walk from George Street and Princes Street. It is on the top floor (2 flights of stairs) of a traditional Georgian period town house which was constructed around 1815 and extends over 2 floors with the largest bedroom taking up the entire upper floor. The accommodation otherwise comprises a very spacious living room with feature marble fireplace, separate dining area, fitted kitchen, 2 double bedrooms, single bedroom, bathroom with bath and separate shower and an additional toilet. Wifi Internet access is provided and parking may be available on request for an additional charge.

Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Francois (Property Manager)
Member since: 2007
Speaks English, French

Reviews

3.7
based on 6 holidaymaker reviews

Spacious City Centre 3 Bedroom Apartment
average rating of 3.6666667 based on 6 reviews
4

Great for a big group and short stay!

  • 4 of 5

Great location right in the middle of New Town, 15 mins to the train station and 20 mins walking to old town. The apartment has tons of space which was great for our group of 6, but furnishings are basic. We also had some issues with the tv, but Francois helped us troubleshoot.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 14, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Quite Adequate

  • 4 of 5

This is as advertised and suited our needs just fine. My wife and I with our two children used the apartment as a base to explore Scotland. We rented for 11 days but were traveling elsewhere for five of those days. The shower is very small (less than 3 ft x 3 ft). There is a washing machine which we used a lot but no dryer. Everything functioned and we didn't have any issues. I'm giving a 4 star instead of a 5 because while it was quite adequate, clean and suited our needs, a little investment in things like a larger shower, functioning door latches, usable closets, a little better furniture, some fans, etc would go a long way. Still, if you're looking for a space for your family to spread out in and don't mind climbing stairs to the 3rd floor, this is the place and it is priced accordingly.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great stay in Edinburgh!!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I spent Christmas in this beautiful apartment in Edinburgh. The place was clean, well-appointed and in a great neighborhood. Francois, the owner, is also very helpful and responsive.

The apartment is located 5-10 minutes walk of the most famous tourist attractions.

We loved our stay in Edinburgh and would definitely come back to this lovely apartment.

Francesco

  • Review Submitted: Apr 22, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
2

Family Appartment

  • 2 of 5

potentially a great apartment: central,close to bus routes and essential shops,well appointed, ideal for a large family stay - everything going for it.BUT our stay was spoilt by too much going wrong: the hot water/heating system was not reliable and ultimately broke down completely.(Cold showers on the morning of a family wedding are not funny-) The communication with the street door (from the top floor - 50 stairs up) did not work - so when someone came we had to go down and up every time - several times a day. The inventory of kitchen equipment had not been done accurately. A bedside light did not work. All this suggests that the place had not been checked properly before our arrival. Very disappointing. And added to that, the owner had been very difficult to contact before our arrival: very few emails had been answered.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 2, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is fair to say that the boiler was a serious headache! After your departure we had to re-house two other bookings because there was a serious fault with the boiler and subsequently it took over a week to repair. It is quite a new boiler, being less than 4 years old, so both engineers who attended were surprised that we were experiencing problems especially as this particular model is known for its reliability! Once you reported the problem we did attend to it immediately and arranged for an engineer to visit. He thought it was down to a loss of pressure so he topped up the system and it was working fine. A few days later when the problem was reported again I went straight round and there was no pressure in the system so I topped it up and once again it started to work. Each time a problem was reported it was acted upon immediately. In my experience problems with central heating systems can manifest themselves at any point so it is very difficult to predict when something will fail. Usually when it does go wrong it can be repaired quite quickly, unfortunately in this case it could not be and for that I am sorry but I am not sure what more we could have done. Unfortunately it is not possible for me to check and test all the equipment in the property, and anything relating to the building as a whole, but I do ask my cleaner to try and report any breakages/problems that she comes across. If guests report anything then it can be acted upon immediately so when you informed me that some crockery was missing I said that I could deliver anything that was required straight round but you said it was not necessary. I don't recall the door entry system being mentioned because if it had been then we could have sent someone round to look at it. As for the lamp, this too can be resolved very easily once reported as I carry a selection of spare light bulbs in my car for exactly this situation. In fact we also have a spare lamp in the store cupboard so this also could have been used. I am very sorry that you did not fully enjoy your stay. A seriously troublesome boiler was compounded by a couple of other issues which could have been rectified quite easily had we known about them during your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
5

Genial, Edimburgo preciosa ciudad

  • 5 of 5

Francois muy amable. La casa muy bien situada y se corresponde con las fotos y la descripción. Nosotros estábamos 7 pero perfectamente cabía otra persona más. Las camas muy buenas

  • Review Submitted: Mar 31, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: Homelidays, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

DISAPPOINTING

  • 2 of 5

My family spent 6 days in this apartment as a base for exploring Edinburgh. We give it two stars basically because it is well situated, and the optional (90 pounds) secure garage for parking was welcome.It is however an apartment which I can only describe as suffering from a philosophy of absolute minimum investment and upkeep from its owner, and hence fell well short of our expectations as a welcome retreat after a long day's activities in Edinburgh. As owners of 3 rental apartments ourselves, we were quite shocked to find even basic things like napkins, tablemats & cloths, clothes pegs, etc were not provided. It was also rather scruffy, an impression starting from the entrance staircase and running throughout the apartment, with many windows that couldn't be opened to air the rooms, no lampshades on some roof lights, broken glass in the windows in the upstairs bedroom, and a general lack of any effort to lift the rather depressing tone inside with some form of decoration. The smallest bedroom was frankly a disgrace, with nowhere to store clothes and a sort of dilapidated mini mezzanine under a cracked ceiling used to store some old bed. The walk-in wardrobe in the main bedroom and the utility cupboard with the washing machine were little better. Overall, as a base for a group of youngsters only interested in somewhere to sleep and nothing else, its probably OK. If you're looking for a welcoming family base to enjoy and maybe cook an evening meal in after a hard day's slog round marvellous Edinburgh, as we were, look elsewhere. We would invite the owner to spend a week there with his family and see for himself how they rate it as a family base if he feels our comments are unfair.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 16, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: Homelidays, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is my understanding that part of your disappointment stems from the fact that you were expecting to stay in our other flat in the building. This is because when you first arrived you sent me a message exclaiming that "this was not the flat that you had booked". A quick look at my emails confirmed that in our early exchanges I had stated that the original flat that you enquired about was not available and therefore you may want to consider this one instead. You subsequently agreed that you were happy to book this one so I can only presume that you forgot this email exchange and believed that you had booked the other one. The two properties are somewhat different in style and decor and therefore, unfortunately, your expectations could never be met when you realised your mistake. The owner and his family do stay in the flat from time to time and are constantly making improvements to the property. We also have return custom from previous guests therefore it would appear as though your experience is not shared with all our guests. Fundamentally this is not a 5 star residence and it is neither depicted nor priced as such, however I am sorry that we did not meet your high standards. We do listen to all our guests and we have since carried out improvements such as providing clothes pegs, adding shades to all the lamps and removing the sub ceiling in the single bedroom.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 3

Location

Nearest Airport
7 Miles
Edinburgh
Nearest Train
0.5 Miles
Waverley Station
Car: not necessary

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Stockbridge, Edinburgh

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Summer High
26 Jun 2016 - 4 Aug 2016
3 night minimum stay
£600
for 3 nights
From
£200
£1,050
 
 
Festival
5 Aug 2016 - 29 Aug 2016
5 night minimum stay
£1,250
for 5 nights
From
£250
£1,630
 
 
Summer Low
30 Aug 2016 - 17 Sep 2016
3 night minimum stay
£555
for 3 nights
From
£185
£925
 
 
Autumn
18 Sep 2016 - 30 Oct 2016
3 night minimum stay
£522
for 3 nights
From
£174
£816
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

The rates may vary depending on number of people staying, length of stay and special events. Please contact me for a precise rate. Discounts are available for a longer stay.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates to see total
Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Edinburgh in Edinburgh and Lothians

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 100 m²
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • city centre
Theme:
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

Travellers who viewed this property also viewed...