Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Hookton Wildlife Retreat - On the South Bay

People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,800 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 6

Stay at Hookton Wildlife Retreat - a South Bay Getaway, and enjoy views of the Humboldt Bay Wildlife Refuge. Rumor has it, this 1850 Farmhouse was once called ‘The Road House’ and was frequented by Captain Ulysses S. Grant when he was stationed at Fort Humboldt.

Upon entering the home, you’re greeted with a spacious living, dining and kitchen area that opens to the hillside through gorgeous French doors. It has hardwood floors throughout the common living areas. The kitchen is fully equipped with newer appliances, plus cooking implements and spices for making home cooked meals. it also has an eat-in bar, with three stools, for informal dining. The french doors lead to a deck out back with a bistro style table, perfect for sitting and enjoying your morning coffee.

The large living room has wonderfully comfortable sofa and love seat as well as a small dining room table, with views of the hillside. There’s also an office, for those that may have business to attend to and a laundry room with front loading washer and dryer. The 1st floor bedroom has a full-size bed with its own full bath and large shower. The laundry room also has a door to the back patio, where you can relax and soak up the sun, BBQ, and eat outside with new table and chairs.

The second and third bedrooms and the second bath are on the second floor with views of the hillside and the south bay. One bedroom offers new queen foam bed, large closet and TV with DVD player. The other also has a queen-size bed, as well as a treadmill for those who enjoy in house exercise! Both bathrooms have tiled flooring; the top floor bathroom has a shower/ tub combo, for soaking at the end of a long day.

There are many nearby places to explore, including a floating pier available just 1/4 mile up the road for launching kayak or paddle board, or one can enjoy walks along the beach at the Mike Thompson Wildlife Area; you’ll never run out of things to do while staying at Hookton Wildlife Retreat! There is a plethora of bird species as well as mammals to spot, so nature enthusiasts will want to bring their binoculars! It’s just a short drive to Ferndale or Eureka for supplies, and 45 minutes from Rockefeller Forest, where you can walk among the giant Redwoods…This is a truly magnificent home, we hope you love it as much as we do!

More Details

Property Manager
Heather
Member since: 2006
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English, Spanish
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within a day
Calendar last updated:
23 June, 2018

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Loleta in Humboldt County

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 0
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • near the sea
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • 2 Queen beds, 1 Full bed
Entertainment:
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay
  • botanical garden
  • festivals
  • forests
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(12 traveller reviews)

66% Complete
33% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Hookton Wildlife Retreat - On the South Bay
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 12 reviews
Oakley, CA
5

Wonderful vacation

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Loved the place. We had deer show up every day including a baby and momma. One evening a young bobcat showed up following the deer. The location was very relaxing. Only concern I had was that the description said it had a bbq but there was no propane in the tank so we couldn’t use it. I also thought that I was going to be able to use the fireplace in the house but upon arrival there was a note saying the owners ask that we don’t use it. Those weren’t a deal breaker but just a slight disappointment.

  • Review Submitted: 18-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: Redwood Coast Vacation Rentals
Owner's Response: Thanks for your feedback regarding Hookton Wildlife Retreat, I am so sorry to hear that there was no propane for you to use, I will be purchasing an additional tank to avoid this in the future, and please call us in the future as I would have been happy to provide a full tank for you! We don't advertise the wood stove in the description, however, I understand that it may feature in a photo or two. As there is forced air heating, the wood stove isn't really needed, and the owner prefers it not to be used. Sorry for the disappointment, sounds like overall you enjoyed the beautiful home and there will be propane on your next visit, which I hope you will book in the future. Thank you for your feedback, it really is valuable to us!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1, ca
4

Hookton

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was more than helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Quiet, low traffic place

  • Review Submitted: 06-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: Redwood Coast Vacation Rentals
Owner's Response: Thank you Doria for leaving a review of Hookton Widlife Retreat. We look forward to having you back again in the future, please look us up at Redwood Coast Vacation Rentals when planning your next trip to the North Coast!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Alpine, CA
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

This house is clean , comfortable , and cozy. It has everything you need for a relaxing vacation

  • Review Submitted: 19-May-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking a moment to leave a message regarding your stay at Hookton Wildlife Retreat! So happy to hear you enjoyed the home, it's located in such a spectacular spot, close to the Humboldt Bay, with lots of spots to take long walks. Please look us up when visiting again at Redwood Coast Vacation Rentals, with over 100+ homes, there's something for everyone!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Santa Rosa, CA
5

Wonderful Spot

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We had a wonderful stay at this beautiful home. We had to cancel some of our planned activities due to the rain, but the home offered a cozy spot to visit and do some crafting. Great location! Thank you...

  • Review Submitted: 12-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: You are welcome! Hookton Wildlife retreat is so nice, secluded, quiet and clean. Folks just love it. We look forward to your return!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Truckee, CA
5

Great house, great location, great stay

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We all loved our stay in this beautiful home in the wildlife refuge. Super clean and super nice. Accommodates 6 people perfectly and the location was perfect for our experience. The fire alarms did go off on our last day at about 8:30 am for like 5 minutes and we were unable to shut them off. There was no smoke from cooking and thought it may be carbon monoxide, but did finally shut off. Overall though a fantastic experience. We'll definitely be back and also recommend to friends/family.

  • Review Submitted: 05-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: Redwood Coast Vacation Rentals
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for staying with us at Hookton Wildlife Retreat. It really is such a nice place. We have since had the fire alarms checked and are working well. We look forward to your return.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Fairfield, CA
5

Great location. Comfortable and clean

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We stayed at the Hookton house for three nights right after Christmas. The location was perfect to explore the many sights in the Eureka area. The house was comfortable and clean. Working with Redwood Coast Vacation rentals was easy. We will definitely be back!

  • Review Submitted: 16-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: Redwood Coast Vacation Rentals
Owner's Response: Well Gosh, thank! Hookton Wildlife Retreat is such an amazing accommodation that folks really love and come back to again and again. We look forward to your return!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Manager a Question

Notes

  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals