HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Emelie & Owen Lima

Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks English, Swedish, Afrikaans

Luxury Old Town Apartment With Rooftop Access

63 Reviews
People4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview

Photos and Description of this 1 bedroom holiday apartment in Old Town

This beautifully presented second floor apartment in Edinburgh’s Old Town has a communal roof area with stunning views of Edinburgh Castle - perfect for watching the Edinburgh International Festival and Hogmanay fireworks, or for having a peaceful drink at sunset.

Bread Street is a fantastic location in the heart of the UK’s favourite city (Observer Travel Awards 2012). The best of Edinburgh is on your doorstep. World-class tourist attractions, cutting-edge theatres and vibrant festival venues can be found amidst a throng of Michelin-starred restaurants, artisan cafes and leafy parks just beyond your threshold. Have a wee browse below to see what’s on offer.

This completely modernised apartment benefits from classic Edinburgh high ceilings and large south-facing windows, as well as a brand new kitchen and shower room. Comfort and convenience are high on the agenda, with luxurious Egyptian cotton bedlinen, a well-equipped kitchen, an iPod/smart phone dock and Wi-Fi throughout.

Check-in is from 3pm on the day of arrival and check-out by 10:30am on the morning of departure. Whenever possible, we are happy to arrange an early baggage drop-off or late baggage collection to suit your travel plans.

We provide a friendly and personal service, meeting all guests on arrival to provide keys and show you around the apartment. Our hope is that the apartment will be a home away from home during your stay in Edinburgh.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to get in touch with us. We would love to hear from you!

Emelie & Owen

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Emelie & Owen Lima (Owner)
Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks English, Swedish, Afrikaans

About Emelie & Owen Lima

We are a South African-Swedish couple who love going to new places (especially hot and sunny ones). In 2005 we somehow found ourselves in not-so-sunny, but spectacularly beautiful Scotland, and we are still in Edinburgh today. Combining our passion for property and travel, we always thought it would be fun to have a holiday let, so in 2012 we bought this flat in the perfect Edinburgh location and spent several months giving it a complete makeover. We hope you like it!

Emelie & Owen Lima purchased this apartment in 2012

What makes this apartment unique

Call us biased, but we think this is the PERFECT location to explore Edinburgh (if in doubt, have a look at the list of what's available within 10 minutes' walking distance!). We also love the roof area and the character of the flat, with its high ceilings, bay windows and even an old-fashioned clothes pulley.

Guestbook comments from the owner

The apartment was in a perfect location and very convenient. We found it comfortable and cosy with all the mod cons. Loved the sound system. Also thank you for being such friendly and accommodating hosts - the extended departure time helped us get sorted out easily enough and without any fuss. Great value, great flat and most importantly great hosts. Thank You.
Nov 2013
  • 1 of 10

Reviews

4.8
based on 63 holidaymaker reviews

Luxury Old Town Apartment With Rooftop Access
average rating of 4.825397 based on 73 reviews
4

Great place and location -kind of...

  • 4 of 5

The owners have done a great job making the place inviting including the best wifi connection I experienced in 11 different European countries, lovely kitchen, television, furniture, artwork, and fixtures. The apartment is located between Haymarket and Grassmarket and is close to everything we come to Edinburgh for. The owners also had some snacks, milk, and other items that made the arrival all that more comfortable from the start. Only 4 stars because there is still a bit or work needed with doors not opening/closing easily, the apartment is three flights climb, the immediate area is adjacent to adult type dancing establishments, and is quite noisy at night. For the right person(s) i.e. young, late-nighters, etc, this place is ideal especially considering the owners have priced these factors in.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 24, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing location, great character, great hosts

  • 5 of 5

Had a great time, so close and accessible to everything in central Edinburgh. Great apartment, very comfortable, very cool patio space. Great hospitality with everything you'd need for breakfast provided. Really great group of hosts for such an easy and memorable stay.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the review, Ben. We're glad you had a great time and enjoyed the flat.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very well maintained property with all that we needed for our time in Edinburgh.

  • 4 of 5

The flat itself was lovely: clean, obviously well maintained. Linda left bread/jam/coffee/tea/ milk/water... very nice to not have to get groceries the first day. The location plus and minus are: The proximity to the Royal Mile, and pubs, grocery stores, the tram from the airport is a 10-minute walk; the train station also 10 minutes. The minus, unfortunately is that there are several clubs close by: one across the street and one almost underneath the flat. It was warm in the city when we were there necessitating having the bedroom window open. While there is air conditioning in the living room, having a fan available to help push the cool air into the bedroom would have helped a lot. There was a lot of shouting and singing into the wee hours. For travellers who want to get up early and tour the sites, it made for a broken sleep. But if you want to be close to everything I expect that the trade off is a noisy night.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Toronto
4

Centrally located and well-equipped.

  • 4 of 5

This flat is convenient to Edinburgh sites. It is well equipped and the bed very comfortable. It is a three floor climb with luggage, so not suitable if climbing is a problem - but then all of Edinburgh is a challenge in that case :-)

  • Review Submitted: Sep 15, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review, Anne. For sure, Edinburgh is a great city to visit if you like climbing stairs, not just in buildings, but all around the city as well :-) Linda is always happy to help with the luggage as much as she can.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay at Emelie's flat. Linda met with us upon arrival and went thru everything. The place was so clean and inviting with all the little extras to make the stay comfortable for the three days we were there. It was within walking distance to everything we wanted to see. Thanks for making our stay enjoyable! Heather

  • Review Submitted: Sep 11, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Heather for the kind review and for being great guests!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Light,bright,nicely located,stylish and very comfortable 1 bedroom flat

  • 5 of 5

Coming from the US, we were accompanying our daughter back to uni at St Andrews and on our way, spent two nights at this lovely apartment in Edinburgh. The bedroom was light and nicely decorated with a very comfortable bed. The kitchen and bath were very modern and well equipped. The living room included a very comfortable sofa bed/futon, a small dining table .Windows and nice high ceilings contribute to a feeling of spaciousness throughout. Linda, the mother of one of the owners graciously met us on arrival and very kindly helped carry our heavy suitcases! Note: there is no elevator, approximately 2 flights of stairs. The interior of the building does not reflect how very nice this apartment is.

The location is excellent, several very good restaurants, cafes within 5-10 walk. The Royal Mile is approximately 10 minutes and Waverly train station 10-15 minute walk. We would highly recommend this apartment and would stay here again!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Robbie, for your kind review. We are so happy that you enjoyed the apartment and hope that you had a lovely time in St Andrews as well.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Airport
8 Miles
Edinburgh Airport
Nearest Barpub
100 Metres
Monboddo Bar, Point Hotel
Nearest Golf
2.1 Miles
Prestonfield Golf Course
Nearest Train
0.6 Miles
Edinburgh Haymarket
Nearest Motorway
4.7 Miles
M8
Nearest Restaurant
100 Metres
Bread Street Brasserie
Nearest Beach
4.4 Miles
Portobello Beach
Car: not necessary

Here are some of the things that you’ll find WITHIN 10 MINUTES’ WALK from the apartment:

Tourist Attractions: Edinburgh Castle, St Giles Cathedral, Royal Mile, National Museum of Scotland, Scotch Whisky Heritage Centre, The Real Mary King’s Close, National War Museum, Edinburgh Bus Tours

Cultural Venues: The Royal Lyceum Theatre, The Traverse Theatre, King’s Theatre, The Usher Hall, HMV Picture House, Odeon Cinema, Filmhouse Cinema, Cameo Cinema, Cineworld Cinema (15 min)

Shopping: Sainsbury’s Local across the street for groceries, Vintage and independent shops in the local area, Scottish crafts and souvenirs on the Royal Mile, High street shopping in the New Town, Saturday morning Farmers Market in Castle Terrace

Eating & Drinking: If you’re looking for a local café, Lovecrumbs is only a couple of doors away, and Starbucks, Costa and Caffe Nero are just around the corner.

Spa/Leisure Facilities: One Spa at The Sheraton, Pure Gym, Dance Base, Virgin Active (15 min)

Parks: Princes Street Gardens, The Meadows, The Bruntsfield Links

Business: Edinburgh International Conference Centre (EICC), Edinburgh financial district, New Town businesses (10-15 min)

Local Transport: Lothian Buses offers an extensive network of bus services to get you around, and the following services stop near Bread Street: 1, 10, 11, 15, 16, 24, 34, 35, 47

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Old Town, Edinburgh

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
September
1 Sep 2016 - 30 Sep 2016
2 night minimum stay
£180
for 2 nights
From
£90
£630
 
 
October
1 Oct 2016 - 31 Oct 2016
2 night minimum stay
£180
for 2 nights
From
£90
£560
 
 
November & December
1 Nov 2016 - 21 Dec 2016
3 night minimum stay
£240
for 3 nights
From
£80
£490
£1,200
 
 
Christmas
22 Dec 2016 - 27 Dec 2016
4 night minimum stay
£400
for 4 nights
From
£100
£595
 
 
New Year's / Hogmanay
28 Dec 2016 - 3 Jan 2017
5 night minimum stay
£700
for 5 nights
From
£140
 
 
Winter
4 Jan 2017 - 31 Mar 2017
3 night minimum stay
£240
for 3 nights
From
£80
£490
£1,200
 
 
April
1 Apr 2017 - 30 Apr 2017
3 night minimum stay
£270
for 3 nights
From
£90
£560
 
 
May
1 May 2017 - 31 May 2017
4 night minimum stay
£400
for 4 nights
From
£100
£630
 
 
June & July 2017
1 Jun 2017 - 31 Jul 2017
5 night minimum stay
£550
for 5 nights
From
£110
£700
 
 
Festival (August) 2017
1 Aug 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
£980
for 7 nights
£980
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£240
for 3 nights
From
£80
£490
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £200

A 25% non refundable deposit is required to secure a booking, with the balance due 30 days prior to arrival.

All prices are for 1 or 2 people. For 3 or 4 people there is an additional charge of £10 per night.

Cancellation charges are applied as follows:

More than 30 days prior to arrival - all monies except 25% deposit refunded
Less than 30 days prior to arrival - no refunds

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Old Town in Edinburgh and Lothians

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 43 m²
Location Type:
  • city centre
Theme:
  • Historic
  • Luxury
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • The shower room has been decorated with premium quality floor and wall tiles from Porcelanosa.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • The king size bed is made with luxurious Egyptian bed linen.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • swimming
  • tennis

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties